Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #219

Jun 082013

Camry

  • 37,460 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving in reverse the vehicle made an unusual sound. The vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a parked vehicle. No one was injured during the crash. A police report was filed. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the sudden acceleration. The manufacturer stated there were no recalls for the vehicle. The failure mileage was 37,460. The VIN was not available.

- Clinton, MS, USA

problem #218

May 232013

Camry

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while attempting a turn, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The contact crashed into the curb and then a tree. The vehicle rolled over and the front driver and passenger side air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained severe injuries to the left arm, which was partially separated. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 60,000.

- Hagerstown , MD, USA

problem #217

Apr 192013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Vehicle was stopped and putting in drive, car accelerated and crashed through garage door and brick frame on 4/19/13 at approximately 11:50am for unknown reason.

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #216

Nov 132009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On November 13, 2009, I applied my brakes to turn in and park my car (my foot still pressing the brake). When my car unexpectedly accelerates about 15 feet and smacks into a building. A $10,000 claim was made against my insurance company. I informed the local Toyota dealership where I purchased the car since the responding officer urged me to get my vehicle checked out. Almost instantly after I began explaining the details of the incident over the phone, they informed me that the gas pedal wasn't the issue and that my car was not included in the recall. I feel like I have been passed over because my car wasn't brand new, even though it was one of the same year models that received an electronic throttle. I received a post card notifying me of a class action lawsuit against Toyota, however it does not pertain to property damage and I'm not sure which avenue to take.

- Sunny Hills, FL, USA

problem #215

Apr 122013

Camry

  • 20 miles
I drove up in front of mosses town hall building in lowndes county al as I tried to put on brakes to park the car it begin to accelerate and jump the parking bumps and hit the building knocking down the wall of bricks and that's when it stopped. I immediately got out of the car and looked and took a look. There were person in the other side of the building who ran out to see were I okay. This was the first and I hope the last incident I had with the car.

- Hayneville, AL, USA

problem #214

Aug 152011

Camry

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated there was a failure with the electronic throttle sensor. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Cloverdale, CA, USA

problem #213

Jan 212013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 42,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was backing out of a parking space. When I put car in drive and started turning wheel to the right, car wouldn't turn and braking did not stop car. It seemed as if accelerator was stuck. Car finally stopped when it hit parked car. Something similar happened about a year ago.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #212

Feb 032012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 41,473 miles
In a parking lot, picking up a friend. Went to drive her home. As I depressed the gas pedal, it suddenly floored itself, engine roared, and the car being in drive, lurched forward towards a row of parked cars. I quickly put the car in reverse, but the car then lurched backwards..... quickly shifted into neutral and killed the engine. Asked my friend to get out of the car. Started the engine, which continued to roar ar high RPM. I then pumped the pedal a few times, and the rar and RPM's subsided. I motioned to my friend to get in, and slowly drove home. Immediately called a neaby Toyota dealer. Arrangement were made and the car was towed to the dealer on Monday, Feb. 6, 2012 ( I was afraid to drive it.) [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fresh Meadows, NY, USA

problem #211

Jun 212011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact was exiting a residential driveway at 10 mph when the vehicle abnormally accelerated and caused the contact to crash into a mailbox. The manufacturer inspected the vehicle and was unable to locate a failure. The contact previously experienced unintended acceleration in 2008 while attempting to park. The vehicle accelerated and the contact crashed into two vehicles. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 58,000. Updated 08-29/11 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired for two seperate accidents involving abnormal acceleration. Updated 06/15/2012

- Pensacola , FL, USA

problem #210

Jul 062011

Camry

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph the vehicle surged forward until crashing into a concrete divider. A police report was filed and the driver suffered minor injuries. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a towing company. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure and current miles were 75,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #209

May 272011

Camry

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 20 mph when suddenly, the vehicle accelerated and the contact was unable to stop the vehicle. The contact crashed into another vehicle and sustained minor chest injures from the seat belt. The contact was able to drive the vehicle from the crash site as the vehicle exhibited an abnormal ticking and rattling. The vehicle was shut off and towed to the local dealer. An investigator was sent by the manufacturer to further inspect the failure who was unable O locate or duplicate a failure. The manufacture would not assist, stating that no failures were discovered within the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 165,000.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #208

Apr 152011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
2002 Toyota Camry xle upon hitting the brake car will continue to jump while still moving forward. It is happening more and more. Almost caused a couple of accidents.

- Maryland , MD, USA

problem #207

Jul 152010

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
In July 2010, I was driving my 2002 Toyota Camry at approximately 40 mph on a heavily traveled two lane highway, accelerating as I approached a grade, when suddenly there was no response from my accelerator pedal. The check engine light came on, and the car stalled. There was a group of bicyclists on the right shoulder. I activated my emergency flashers, and managed with difficulty to pull off the road. I could restart the engine, but the cel remained on, and the car would not respond to the accelerator in any gear. The car was towed to the dealership, where error code P1121 was found. The ECU was replaced, and I was assured the problem had been resolved. This was an extremely dangerous situation that cost me several sleepless nights, and it was fortunate that it did not result in an accident, injury, or worse. On February 17, 2011, I was driving at about 30-35 mph when once again the accelerator would not respond and the cel lit up. This time, the engine did not stall. I pulled off the road and changed gears and depressed the accelerator many times with no response. Finally, the car moved and I was able to drive it the short distance home. After calling the dealership, who agreed the car was not safe to drive until checked, it was towed to the dealer, where the same code P1121 was read. All components indicated by this code were checked and deemed okay. After the dealer contacted Toyota, the car was also checked for grounding and voltage issues. Again, everything checked out okay. The dealership kept and drove the car, trying unsuccessfully to duplicate the problem. It remains there today while we decide what to do with it. The dealership and Toyota are not offering any solutions. I feel that the car is unreliable and unsafe. Research on the internet convinces me this is not an isolated incident, and it needs to be resolved no matter how much it costs. A price cannot be put on life or peace of mind. Please investigate! updated 06/24/11 repairs attached.. updated 01/05/2012

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #206

Nov 112002

Camry 4-cyl

  • 73,720 miles
On Nov. 11, 2010 while driving my 2002 Camry, suddenly the engine accelerate, not brakes function at that time then I took a slope were vehicle finally stop and turn the engine off. Call the auto-dealer for appointment to check failure. Meanwhile only vehicle problem was the revolutions (RPM), too low on Nov. 24, 2010 took the vehicle to the auto-dealer were the mechanic stated, failure was caused by the throttle. Replacement by a new throttle.

- Guayama, PR, USA

problem #205

Nov 202010

Camry

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle independently decelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and diagnosed as a faulty accelerator. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 120,000.

- Pointment , MN, USA

problem #204

Aug 022010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
S10 direct reply-letter to the secretary from (2002 Toyota Camry sudden acceleration) the consumer stated when the gear was placed in reverse, the vehicle went out of control. The vehicle would not stop when the brakes were applied and consequently, the consumer crashed into a building. Updated 01/20/11

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #203

Nov 152010

Camry

  • 89,000 miles
Stuck accelerator pedal 2002 Toyota Camry. I have a 2002 Toyota Camry SE 4 cylinder automatic that has had the accelerator stick under the floor mat several times in the last week. I have been able to pull the mat off the accelerator so far.

- Mt Horeb, WI, USA

problem #202

Apr 212010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 20 mph when the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a brick wall. The contact was injured. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was available. The contact called the manufacturer who advised that someone would get back to her. Updated 1/19/2010 updated 04/20/11

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #201

Apr 012004

Camry

  • miles
2002 Toyota Camry. Appropriate handling- letter from regarding Toyota's recall including the 2002 Toyota Camry the consumer stated in April 2004, the vehicle surged when he applied the brake going downhill into a parking garage. He was able to stop by putting the gear in park. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they were unable to duplicate the problem. In December 2008, as he was coming to stop in a driveway, slightly downhill, the vehicle surged again. He had his foot on the brake in preparation to come to a full stop. There was not much room to stop, so consequently, the consumer crashed into a garage and caused damage to a park car.

- Ossining, NY, USA

problem #200

Dec 012002

Camry

  • miles
2002 Toyota Camry. S10 appropriate handling- letter from regarding Toyota problem the consumer stated she as well as her husband experienced sudden acceleration on three separate occasions which resulted in accidents. The first accident occurred when the consumer was slowing down to make a left turn, when suddenly she found herself in the middle of heavy traffic and subsequently was hit by another vehicle. She was cited for failing to yield. The second time, her husband was stopping on a side street before entering a main street and he discovered he was unable to stop the vehicle and consequently, hit another vehicle. The last accident, the consumer stated the vehicle suddenly accelerated and she crashed into her garage wall causing thousands of dollars worth of damage. The consumer stated prior to the accidents. There were rare occasions, at anticipated stops when she lifted her foot from the accelerator to slow down to place it on the brake, the brake would not engage. Instead of slowing down, the vehicle would lurch ahead.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?