Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 5 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #159

Jan 222010

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Camry driver experienced sudden unintended acceleration through stop sign(s) into yard and concrete barrier, resulting in property damage and death. Updated 05/10/10 updated IVOQ 08/26/10 updated 9/29/11

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #158

Mar 012004

Camry 4-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
1992 Toyota Camry would not go into gear. The consumer stated he had to push the shift lock override button to get the gears to work. While driving on a 4 lane road, with the cruise control activated, the consumer came upon a red light with cars stopped. He touched the brakes to deactivate the cruise, but instead the engine revved up. The harder he pushed the brakes the faster the engine ran. He finally pushed the cruise button on the stalk and the vehicle was under control. The dealer found the brake light switch had an open circuit.

- Tyrone, GA, USA

problem #157

May 082007

Camry

  • 36,239 miles
2002 Camry le was parked in large mall parking lot. When started and put into drive, car began to accelerate as I pressed the accelerator pedal. As I applied the brake, the car continued rapidly accelerating by itself even though my foot was off the pedal. Brakes did not function at all; car continued to increase speed. I downshifted to neutral and car suddenly stopped with a jolt. I drove the car to local Toyota dealer where it was tested. Result:"could not duplicate concern. Vehicle operating as designed." This happened only once. Car now has 51,000 miles on it.

- Oak Forest, IL, USA

problem #156

Feb 242002

Camry 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While parking the vehicle at approximately 2 mph. The vehicle unexpectedly accelerated and lunged forward. The driver was able to stop the vehicle. The identical failure occurred on a separate occasion. The driver floor mat was removed before the failure occurrence. The failure and current mileages were 150,000. The consumer stated is seemed the vehicle accelerated more, each time he applied the brake harder eventually, the vehicle did slow down and returned to normal operation. Updated 03/29/10

- Hamilton Square , NJ, USA

problem #155

Sep 012009

Camry

  • 55,000 miles
2002 Toyota Camry SE V6 - around September 2009 I began to notice sudden surges in acceleration while driving between 40-45 mph. Without changing the position of the gas pedal, the vehicle would surge-hesitate-surge several times then suddenly stop the behavior. Since then, I notice it occurs at least once every 3 out of 4 times I'm driving the car. To me, this is not related to anything on the floor or the gas pedal itself. It appears to come from within the engine or other component. No repairs have been investigated or performed. I am considering a visit to the dealer.

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #154

Dec 102004

Camry

  • miles
I was using the cruise control, set at 70 mph, on an aprox 4 hour trip. At one point the car accelerated to a little over 90 mph then decreased it's speed back down to where it was. I turned the cruise control off and drove manually the rest of the way home. The next time I had it at the dealer for service I mentioned this and they shrugged it off saying they hadn't heard of anything like this happening. I have not had the problem again.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #153

Nov 092002

Camry

  • 1,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased a new 2002 Toyota Camry 7-16-02 and the accelerator surged while backing out of the driveway 11-9-02 causing it to strike another parked vehicle and stopped 6 inches from striking a house. The total damage was almost $10,000. We told the Toyota dealership and they said it had to be an operator error because they never heard of another acceleration problem. The dealer never offered to do a diagnostic check and they told us to go to a dealer closer to our home if it happened again. In 2004 we read an article about sudden acceleration problems with the Camry and Lexus vehicles. We looked on the NHTSA web site and under speed control complaints we saw a complaint of a 2002 or 2003 Camry accident exactly like the one we experienced. We sent a letter to Toyota Inc. 4-18-04 at P.O. Box 2991 in torrance, ca 90509 and Toyota never responded back. We never experienced sudden acceleration in the 2002 Camry again and eventually sold it. We have a copy of the Toyota letter. There was a neighbor that witnessed the accident and said the Camry made a loud acceleration noise. My wife put both feet on the brakes to bring it to a stop.

- Erlanger, KY, USA

problem #152

Nov 092002

Camry

  • 2,700 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry purchased brand new. While traveling at speeds of 50 mph, she switch lanes to avoid a construction area. The vehicle then abnormally accelerated without warning or driver intent. She attempted to depress the brakes, however the brakes were not responsive to driver input. She also attempted to maintain control of the vehicle but the steering wheel was also non-responsive and the vehicle continued to accelerate in and out of traffic. The vehicle then swayed to the left and crashed through a metal guard rail. The contact was hospitalized and suffered neck injuries.the she was diagnosed with post-traumatic stress disorder. Cause of the failure was inconclusive vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 2700. Updated 4/13/10 updated 05/10/10

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #151

Jul 072008

Camry

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Toyota Camry le. While driving 60 mph the vehicle accelerated, swerved to the side and he engaged the brake pedal. The contact crashed into the median and became unconscious. The vehicle also rolled over multiple times. The contact was hospitalized for several weeks and sustained multiple injuries. The contacts injuries have confined him to a wheelchair for several months. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact has not notified the manufacturer. The insurance company was contacted immediately. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 74,000.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #150

Feb 242010

Camry

  • miles
Today, I was exiting a parking garage. After the arm went up, I moved my foot from the brake and moved it to the accelerator pedal, gently, realizing that there were people and other cars in the same exit area. The car "peeled out" leaving rubber marks accelerating at a high speed even though I had taken my foot off the accelerator. I hit the brakes hard and the car skidded to a stop about three car lengths from the garage exit at which place there is a large traffic and pedestrian circle before you enter the street again. There was a policeman at the exit who jumped out of the way when he saw my car accelerate. I immediately turned the car off. The policeman came to the car to see if I was okay. I was shaken but not injured. The policeman asked permission to enter my car. I exited and he turned on the ignition and put the car in drive, moved forward, and then in reverse and moved backward. It seemed to be okay. As the car exited the garage when the acceleration happened, the car sideswiped one of the yellow 4 foot poles causing minor damage to the rear right door and back fender panel. Fortunately no person or car was hit. I drove the car to the Toyota dealership where I bought the car and they are keeping it overnight to check it out.

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #149

Feb 232010

Camry

  • 32,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving 38 mph the vehicle surged and accelerated going into traffic as she depressed the brakes pedal, the vehicle would not slow down. She shut the engine off immediately after she made a right turn. The vehicle was driven slowly back to her home. She called the dealer informing them of what happened and requested that they have the vehicle towed to a repair facility. The dealer told her she would have to pay for a diagnostic test. The Toyota manufacturer was difficult to reach when she called them. The failure mileage was 32,3000.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #148

Jan 012008

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated while driving 35 mph when he tried to stop the vehicle it continued to accelerate into an intersection. The vehicle eventually stopped on it's own. The Camry is a 6 cylinder vehicle and the mechanic who looked at the vehicle stated that the 4 cylinder had a gas cable and a 6 cylinder has electronics. The mechanic thought the problem was caused by the electronics. The contact also hit a wire when the vehicle accelerated which prevented him from making the right turn. The failure mileage was 52000. The current mileage was 56759. Updated 04/01/10 updated 07/14/10.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #147

Oct 202002

Camry

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While the contact was attempting to exit a car wash at 5 mph. The vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing it to crash into a pole. No one was injured. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. There were no prior warnings. The current mileage was 84000. The failure mileage was 8000.

- San Brumo, CA, USA

problem #146

Dec 072008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. She stated that while driving at 5 mph when parking the vehicle with her foot on the brake, without a warning it accelerated on its own. She crashed into a cement pillar and there were front end damages. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed and the police was contacted and a report was filed. Toyota has not been contacted. There have been repairs done to the vehicle. After the crash, it happened one additional time. The failure mileage was 55000 and current mileage was 65000. Updated 5/3/10 the consumer stated the incident happened when the vehicle was in reverse, fortunately the consumer was able to get the vehicle under control. Updated 06/10/10.

- Wayland, MA, USA

problem #145

Jun 242009

Camry

  • 78,650 miles
I did not notice any malfunctions of my car prior to the event that I am reporting. In June of 2009 I was pulling into a parking space in a parking lot. My foot was lightly on the brake and I nearly at a complete stop when my car lurched forward like a rocket. My car jumped the curb of the parking spot, sideswiped a row of mailboxes on my left while traveling across an small island of lawn and shooting over another curb on the other side of the island. My vehicle came to a stop on the other side of the parking lot approximately 15 feet short of ramming the side of a parked car. Both of my feet were on the brake pedal, both of my legs were fully extended with my knees locked and my entire body was fully extended with all of my weight applied to the brake pedal. I immediately placed the car in park and turned the engine off. The left front quarter panel of my car received minor damage from hitting the mail boxes. There was a witness from the veterinary clinic where the event occurred who saw the accident. Because my foot was on the brake and not on the gas pedal I do not believe that this event occurred because of a mechanical problem with the accelerator pedal or floor mat.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #144

Feb 142010

Camry

  • 163,000 miles
Car starts and shifts into gear ok, but no response from gas pedal, car would not rev up or respond at all.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #143

Sep 032009

Camry

  • 90,000 miles
My 2002 Toyota Camry accelerated suddenly as I was turning into a parking lot causing me to hit a parked car.. the car that was hit was totaled & my car had $3400 worth of damage. At the time of the incident in Sept. 2009 I did not know that Toyota's were having a problem. Now in light of the recent recalls I believe my car has an acceleration problem.

- Norwood, NJ, USA

problem #142

Nov 062009

Camry

  • 102,000 miles
Unanticipated acceleration.

- Somerset, MA, USA

problem #141

May 282004

Camry

  • 19,197 miles
While entering my garage Toyota Camry 2002 surged and crashed through neighbor's garage hitting her car. Incident was tossed aside as an isolated incident by Toyota when I contacted the main company. I also filed a complaint through NHTSA. Nothing was done to correct problem. Car was sold in 2007 after surging continued.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #140

May 142008

Camry

  • 31,998 miles
After backing out of driveway into street, when I shifted from "reverse" into "drive", car suddenly had no acceleration. Engine was running, but no movement or ability to "rev" engine. Repair at Toyota dealer stated: "code P1121 diagnosed & replaced accelerator position sensor.

- Chico, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?