Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #139

Nov 282009

Camry

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After picking up her mail at her condo mailbox area, my mother (93 years old but in good health) started up her car, heard a loud roaring noise, thought it was an airplane flying low overhead (it was her car engine), and put the car in reverse to exit her parking space. With the throttle jammed for some reason, the car took off very fast in reverse in an uncontrolled manner, circled around several times over curbs, grassy areas, side swiped a sign pole, and came to a stop finally after backing (crashing) into anther condo unit across the street from where she lives. Obviously she was very scared after this very fast uncontrolled backward ride, but happy to find that she had not been injured, or that she had not hit another car or person. The car (2002 Camry) was towed to the local Toyota dealer where it was repaired over a period of several weeks (body and mechanical suspension parts) and checked over. No obvious reason was found for the throttle jam was found. She did have an extra floor mat on top of oem mat to better protect from wear and wet weather. She said she did look later to see if the floor mat had gotten out of place to have caused the incident, but it did not appear to have moved out of place enough to have caused the incident. Fortunately, the throttle jam has not occurred again.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #138

Dec 222005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
The contact previously owned a 2002 Toyota Camry. The consumers wife backed out of a parking space and then shifted the gear into drive, when the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The consumers wife was unable to control the vehicle failed and consequently, she crashed into two unoccupied parked vehicles. The driver sustained no injuries. The police was called to the scene. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop and repaired for the damages. The contact no longer owns the vehicle. There was concern regarding the safety of that year, make and model vehicle. Updated 03/10/10. Updated 06/24/10.

- North Kingstown, RI, USA

problem #137

Dec 062009

Camry

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 5 mph into a parking lot in reverse, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into another vehicle at a high rate of speed. The vehicle continued to accelerate in a complete circle, across two parking lots and crashed into a boulder before coming to a stop. The contact was unable to stop or control the vehicle when it accelerated. There were no injuries. A police report was filed at the scene. The manufacturer was not contacted. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were under 116,000.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #136

Nov 102009

Camry

  • 64,503 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Toyota Camry. Once or twice in the last 90 days, the accelerator pedal appeared to "stick" and cause the vehicle to accelerate while driving in-town. Only by applying the brake pedal hard was driver able to bring vehicle to a slow-down condition. Driver reports it has not happened again. However, in light of the recall affecting newer Camry models and the fact that owner does not know if this situation will occur again, it is requested NHTSA contact owner for more details and may wish to extend the investigation back to prior years of Toyota Camry models to confirm or deny the existence of a problem. Note: Owner checked and the floor mats are not binding the accelerator pedal in any way.

- Hobbs, NM, USA

problem #135

Nov 032008

Camry

  • 43,600 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While the contact was pulling out of a parking space the vehicle suddenly accelerated causing the vehicle to crash through the contacts garage and into her home. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where the contact was informed that there were no problems with her vehicle. The contact noticed prior that the vehicle would occasionally surge without warning but would immediately correct itself.there were no injuries and there is no police report. The current and failure mileages were 43600.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #134

Jul 012009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. She stated that the vehicle accelerated twice and it was not due to the floor mat. The first incident occurred while pulling out of the garage with her foot on the brake pedal. However, she was able to bring the vehicle to a complete stop by applying the brake. The dealer advised her to the floor mat out of the vehicle. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 26,000. Updated 03/10/10 the consumer stated the second incident occurred after she backed out of the driveway. Updated 05/06/10.

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #133

Sep 012006

Camry

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

02 Toyota Camry accelerated on it own X prob corrected itself as I was taking car out of drive X only happened once.

- Bucksport, ME, USA

problem #132

Jan 202010

Camry

  • 80,700 miles
Sudden acceleration--when pulling into a parking spot with the car nearly stopped, it suddenly made a loud racing noise and accelerated over two cement parking space curbs. The car landed in the adjacent parking lane and the driver was able to stop it in about 3 car lengths. Driver had foot on brake and was nearly stopped when sudden acceleration occurred. The car had accessory winter floor mats. However, the mat was not near gas pedal. VIN number starts wit a "J" indicating it was built in Japan. Toyota mechanic found "engine splash and driver front fender liner ripped loose, driver side subframe scratched and dented (cosmetic), driver front fender liner rubbing tire causing noise. Nothing was done to address acceleration problem when initially taken to Toyota service center. After expressing concerns, service director called and said that he would do an acceleration test on the car. Car was repaired at Toyota dealer and independent body shop. The sudden acceleration problem has occurred only once.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #131

Dec 292005

Camry

  • miles
While driving to work in a Toyota Camry 2002, the car in front of me slowed down and stopped for a red light. Believing that I had enough room to stop my Toyota Camry safely I applied my brakes but the car did not slow down and hit the car in front of me. There was minor damage to the vehicle that was struck but my Toyota Camry was totaled. The road condition was wet from rain but not unsafe to drive. I fully believe that I was applying the brakes with enough pressure to safely stop the car before hitting the vehiclein front of me but my Toyota Camry vehicle did not stop or slow down. Please note that traffic accident happened on December 29, 2005. A police report was filed and on file. I did not receive a ticket. Originally I thought it was just an accident until the January 2010 recall of certain model year Toyota with the accelerator sticking.

- Stockton, NJ, USA

problem #130

Sep 132009

Camry

  • 87,477 miles
Follow up to complaint 10060829 I have the Camry now 8 years. The problem as described in the original complaint has showed up off and on for the years I have had the car. Most of the time on the freeway. Just a few seconds, never did I lose control of the car. Then in beginning Sep 09 the check engine light came on. I had auto zone get the code, but they could not read anything. I had a hard time starting the car after that. I had my mechanic check out the car the next day. Nothing was found. Fourteen days later, driving out of a strip mall parking lot, the car engine revved violently, no sticking pedals, not even touching the gas pedal. And check engine light came on again. Next morning no problem whatsoever to drive to the repair shop. It took the mechanic a while to diagnose the problem. He replaced vehicle speed sensor, 9/14/2009. Since that timei have not noticed the sudden unintended acceleration yet. The repair bill was just under $ 700. Asked mechanic if this was normal wear and tear. He said no. Tw*

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #129

Aug 222009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Originally I opened ODI 10060806 / DE04021 in early 2004 to report sudden and short surges of acceleration with my 2002 Camry le. This problem has continues periodically without warning since my original report. The last occurrence was in reverse about 5-6 months ago. I am very disturbed that Toyota has now recalled later model year cars with similar problems but continues to not address earlier models which first reported the problem in PE04021, DP05002, and DP06003. I called this morning and was told I would need to re-issue a new ODI to get the NHTSA to re-open this investigation. I have additionally opened cases locally and at the corporate level with Toyota, as I want this problem documented against my VIN number. Please, help the owners of the 2002 model year cars that started these investigations originally before there are more deaths or injuries as the problem still exists.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #128

May 042005

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry le. While driving approximately 5 mph into her garage, suddenly, there was an unintended increase of acceleration. The vehicle failed to slow down and crashed through the interior walls of the garage. There were no personal injuries. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and repaired for the body damages. The technician was unable to determine the cause of failure. There was a separate occasion the identical failures occurred with severe injuries sustained to the two occupants in the vehicle. The police and fire department were called to the scene. The vehicle was completely destroyed. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #127

Dec 232009

Camry

  • 130,739 miles
We have 02 Toyota Camry le, 4 cyl. On 12/23/09 we experienced a power loss. Fortunately it occurred in our driveway; the engine would idle normally, but there was no power from depressing the accelerator pedal. The car was towed to a local garage. The corrective action was the replacement of the gas pedal assembly. This is all electronic, our part cost was $447.75 plus labor and taxes. I think this component should be considered as a potential in the Toyota recall.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #126

Dec 232009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that as soon as he shifted the vehicle into drive, it accelerated on its own. The vehicle drove over the curb and into a snow embankment before crashing into a stone wall. The contact did not call the police or need to go to a hospital. The contacts insurance company towed the vehicle so that it could be repaired. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the crash to file a complaint. The contact is concerned since a passenger could have been seriously injured when the crash occurred. The failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 1/28/10 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 02/03/10.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #125

Nov 162009

Camry

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while at the stop light her foot was on the brake and without warning the vehicle lunged forward and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The crash caused damage to both vehicles. The contact called the manufacturer and a mechanic from Toyota national headquarters retrieved data from the vehicle. The contact stated that the service manager at a local dealer stated that the manufacturer saw nothing wrong with the vehicle. The contact stated that if the other vehicle was not in front of him it would have accelerated into on-coming traffic. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Torrent, CA, USA

problem #124

Jul 072004

Camry

  • 19,000 miles
Unintentional acceleration of 2002 Toyota Camry le model with stability control. (this car was manufactured in the us and purchased in folsom, ca in March 2002. Within the first two years the car experienced two cases of unintentional acceleration. Fortunately, speeds were low as the car was in the process of stopping. Both times the engine suddenly raced and the vehicle would not stop. The dealer said it was not aware of any problems and it must be the way the car was driven. The second time the dealer checked the systems and could find nothing. The problems has not recurred. There is the possibility of a problem in the software that may have been corrected without our knowledge.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #123

Dec 192009

Camry

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 10 mph in reverse, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into a pole. She shifted gears into drive and the vehicle continued to accelerate and crashed into a wall. There were no injuries. There was extensive damage to the front and back end of the vehicle. The vehicle will be towed to a Toyota dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The police and fire department arrived; however, no police report was filed. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #122

Sep 172009

Camry

  • 39,000 miles
My wife was pulling into the garage and the automobile just took off. Luckily she was stopped by the end of the carport by concrete steps. Second, my wife and grandchild where at shopping center. My wife was backing out of a parking space and the car, as before, just took off at full throttle. This time she went into a 180 degree spin and struck three other autos, with extensive damages to our cat and others. We have taken the automobile two times to the dealer and they say they find nothing wrong. Being that this condition has happened twice, so far, both my wife and I are very concerned and would like this problem solved.

- Riverside,, CA, USA

problem #121

Oct 292009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While in traffic, the vehicle suddenly accelerated into another vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. Since the technicians could not identify the cause of the failure, no repairs were made. He traded the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 47,000. Updated 12/08/09. Lj the consumer stated after stopping at a red light, it then changed to green and then suddenly the engine RPM's race and the vehicle accelerated at full force and crashed into another vehicle. The consumer had damage to his bumper, but no damaged to the other vehicle. Updated 12/10/09.

- Columbus, NJ, USA

problem #120

Jun 022003

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry le. While driving into a parking space and applying pressure to the brake pedal the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated. The vehicle came to a complete stop immediately after an aggressive force was applied to the brake pedal. The identical failure occurred on a separate occasion without warning. The cause of the failure has not been determined. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. Updated 11/23/09 updated 11/24/09

- Melrose, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?