Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2003 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2003 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2003 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
149 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
51 / 4
Average Mileage:
37,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #183

Aug 162010

Camry

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Only owner of 2003 Camry, after pulling into covered parking deck into normal parking space which happens to be on an incline (ramp going up to next level) I felt sudden acceleration in the gas pedal and the vehicle lurched forward. I immediately tried to brake in time, but not before the car jumped over the concrete stopper in the spot and made impact with the concrete ledge ahead. Damage to front fender, hood and left front quarter. No physical injury was sustained. Contacted personal insurance and filed case with Toyota. Toyota will inspect the vehicle and respond within 30 business days. Meanwhile I am responsible for my $1000 deductible and left driving a vehicle that I do not feel safe in.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #182

Jun 202010

Camry

  • miles
Letter from congressman van hollen on behalf of constituent, re his concerns about unintended acceleration of his 2003 Toyota Camry the consumer stated as soon he started the vehicle and made a turn in front of his building, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. He attempted to apply the brakes, but the vehicle did not stop and continued to accelerate out of control. The vehicle continued out of control onto a grassy area, hit three curbs and as a result, the front tires went flat and the wheels were completely bent. The vehicle finally jumped the side of the curb of the parking lot and the front end crashed to the ground. The air bag deployed and the consumer suffered second degree burns on his right arm, and his wife's left hand and fingers were bruised. Updated 08/24/10

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #181

Jul 312010

Camry

  • 80,000 miles
I got in the car and attempted to move it from the garage to my driveway. When I stepped on the accelerator the car surged and spiraled out of control. The accelerator 'locked' and I was unable to stop the vehicle as the brake would not work. The car crashed in my neighbor's yard against his tree.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #180

Jun 082010

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. While in a parking space, the contact was driving at approximately 15 mph in the reverse position with an excessive increase in the acceleration without warning. The vehicle would not stop when the brakes were engaged and crashed into two parked vehicles in which there were no occupants inside. There was no personal injury. A police report was filed of the incident. The contact's vehicle front end passenger side sustained severe damages; and the two parked vehicles sustained minimal damages. The vehicle was driven from the scene and repaired a collision center. The failure mileage was approximately 44,000. Updated 10/15/10 the consumer stated the repair cost was approximately $3000. A Toyota engineer inspected the vehicle and stated there was no problem with the accelerator link or any other components for that matter. Updated 10/21/10

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #179

Nov 042009

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling-letter regarding Toyota problems 2003 Toyota Camry. The consumer stated while on her way to work, she discovered the brakes were no longer functional. The vehicle began to accelerate on its own despite of how hard she applied the brake pedal. The vehicle then went on a grassy area, struck two trees and finally came to rest in a river.. the consumers vehicle was totaled. The consumer suffered a minor injury.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #178

May 282003

Camry

  • 2,000 miles
In 2003, I purchased anew 2003 Toyota Camry SE and within the first month or so had a "sudden acceleration" and a minor accident-- no injuries. I reported details to NHTSA at that time, and to Toyota who denied any liability. A long story. Eventually, the dealer replaced the master brake cylinder @ my request, which is the location of the cruise control cut-off, I believe. I have had no recurrence since then. However, the cruise control is still an issue, for if one just taps the brake to come off control, it does that. But to re-nter the cruise system, the pedal must be lifted manually, or depressed and released quickly, or the control re-engaged at the steering wheel switch. Details of this experience are in my earlier submission. I believe this demonstrates an electronic problem with this system and I felt Toyota was derelict in their handling of my concern and perhaps since then with the whole sudden acceleration problem. I thought you should be reminded and should, perhaps, review my earlier submission..

- Lake Leelanau, MI, USA

problem #177

Jun 142010

Camry

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. While traveling at 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing the contact to crash into a nearby wooden fence. There were no injuries and a police report was filed for the incident. The vehicle was not diagnosed and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 38,000.

- West Caldwell, NJ, USA

problem #176

Jun 092010

Camry

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. The contact was attempting a right turn at speeds of 5 mph when the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle did not stop and proceeded to crash into a wall. The contact attempted to brake but to no avail. She was not injured. The contact was cited by the police and a police report was available. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was contacted. The crash was being handled through her insurance company. The failure and current mileages were 63,000.

- Rontondo West, FL, USA

problem #175

Sep 102003

Camry

  • 1,800 miles
Sudden acceleration in reverse. On 2/18/07 two incidents of sudden acceleration in drive avoiding accident by shifting into N and braking. Info has been forwarded to VRTC on this vehicle.

- Bucyrus, OH, USA

problem #174

May 142010

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 20 mph when the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle and crashed into a tree. The vehicle was towed to the contacts home to be inspected by the insurance company. The current and failure mileages were approximately 85,000. Updated 11/03/10. Updated 11/22/10 updated 11/23/10

- Lewisburg, WV, USA

problem #173

May 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • 45,441 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated when she entered a parking lot, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. She veered to the right away from a brick building and drove over a curb, a sidewalk, a drop down to grass and along shrubs at the base of the building. The consumer was able to bring the vehicle under control. All together, the vehicle traveled about 100 feet or more in a circle in a short period of time. The consumer stated the first time the incident happened was in May 2006 when the vehicle suddenly accelerated as she was backing out of a parking space. The vehicle had been idling for a few minutes with the air conditioner on before she placed the gear in reverse. There was no property damage and the police were not called in either incident.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #172

Aug 092007

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry le. While driving up a hill at approximately 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated while the contact had the brake pedal depressed. The vehicle crashed into another vehicle in front of it. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to two different dealership but both dealers were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was then taken to a local mechanic for repair. The current mileage was approximately 120,000. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 11/03/10.

- Newark Valley, NY, USA

problem #171

Apr 122004

Camry

  • 15,000 miles
My wife drove her 2003 Toyota Camry into a parking space directly in front of a beauty shop in canonsburg, pa. As she moved her foot from the accelerator to the gas pedal, the car accelerated into the front of the shop. At the time everyone, including me, assumed she was wrong and that she had step on the accelerator by mistake. In light of the recent reports about Toyota, I now believe her.

- Eighty Four, PA, USA

problem #170

Apr 122010

Camry

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph when she attempted to stop. When the brake pedal was depressed the gear selector was shifted into the reverse position. The vehicle began to accelerate. The engine was turned off to gain control of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced at the owner expense. The failure mileage was 47,000. The current mileage was 47,000.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #169

Apr 042010

Camry

  • 122,867 miles
2003 Toyota Camry le was running, sitting in driveway, but in park with emergency brake on. Car "took off" in reverse, and only came to a stop when driver jumped into car, pushed hard on foot brake, turned off ignition, and car door slammed into another parked vehicle.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #168

Oct 212009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. While entering a parking space with his foot on the brake pedal at speeds of less than 15 mph, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into a retail store. There were three people inside the store that were severely injured and transported to a hospital. The police were also called to the scene and a report was filed. None of the occupants in the contacts vehicle were injured. The contacts insurance company hired an outside expert to assess the vehicle failure. The expert stated that the floor mat was not properly secured on the driver's side and could have caused the unintended acceleration. The insurance company deemed the cause of the crash due to a possible defect in how the vehicle was manufactured. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000. Updated 05/25/10 updated 06/02/10.

- Skokie, IL, USA

problem #167

Apr 282007

Camry 6-cyl

  • 51,445 miles
Re: notification case #245324 dated on 03/17/2010 the incident happened on a bechtel-tower visitor parking in houston, tx. I passed the entrance gate, made two 90 degrees turns and positioned car between parking lines. Suddenly, I heard a horrified sound coming out from the engine: Motor was roaring like a wild lion. I pressed the brake but it did not prevent the accident. Like a rocket the vehicle ran over the curb and landscaping colliding into a large three. The seat belt saved my life, however the whole front body of the vehicle was smashed and the estimated damage was near $8,000. The bechtel security guard officer was contacted immediately. The incident has been documented and recorded in bechtel security file. Later this year when Toyota "unintended acceleration" problem was revealed I contacted the Toyota motor sales department. They inspected the vehicle and determined that all tests performed safely. For your convenience, the following attachments have been mailed to your office on March 24, 2010: A copy of my letter submitted to Toyota motor sales, U.S.a., torrance, ca. This letter pertains all events and details related to the incident. Report of sterling mccall Toyota testing performed on February 10, 2010. I greatly appreciate your time and consideration. Updated 04/20/10

- Bellaire, TX, USA

problem #166

Apr 252009

Camry

  • 190,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) hello, I know the last thing you people need is yet another complaint about Toyota, but I had an incident last year while driving my father's 2003 Camry. I never filed a complaint with NHTSA or Toyota, because after the incident when I took the car to the local Toyota dealer, they tried to belittle me when I inquired about running a diagnostics on the car's behavior. I really thought it was just one of those things I couldn't go up against, so I let it go. I experienced sudden acceleration while parking the car and the car surged forward and hit another car. Nobody was hurt, thankfully. We got the car fixed, but since then nobody wants to drive the car. It's been sitting in the garage, driven about 3X in the entire last year. I am 38 years old, great driving record, and am totally positive my foot was on the brake (as we were slowing to a stop). I have read other incidents that are almost identical to mine. Anyways, that's it. I am more than happy to provide more information if necessary. [xxx]

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #165

Oct 192008

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling re Toyota problems, owner of a 2003 Camry experience sudden unintended acceleration in November 2008(photos inside envelope) as the consumers mother pulled into her garage, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into the wall, causing significant damage to the bathroom that was on the other side of the wall. The vehicle was inspected and the consumer was informed that the brake and accelerating systems were operating as designed. (daughter wrote in on behalf of mother, owner of the Camry)

- Lewisville, NC, USA

problem #164

May 152004

Camry

  • miles
The contact owned a 2003 Toyota Camry. While sitting idle at a traffic stop, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and proceeded to accelerate through a red light. The contact was able to stop the vehicle without incident. The dealer was contacted and he advised the contact that there were no failures with the vehicle. The contact confirmed she had experienced unintended acceleration in the vehicle on five separate occasions. The dealer was informed again of the failure and the vehicle was replaced. The VIN was not available when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were also not available. Updated 05/13/2010.

- Mount Orab , OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?