Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2004 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2004 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2004 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
111 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
49 / 3
Average Mileage:
44,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #185

Feb 252013

Camry

  • 40,653 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated to 40 mph without any warning. The vehicle crashed into 5 other vehicles. There were no injuries. The police were contacted and a report was available. The vehicle was later towed to an independent mechanic where it was deemed destroyed. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised him that an investigator would come out and inspect the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were approximately 40,653.

- Monterey Park, CA, USA

problem #184

Jan 182013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 51,284 miles
After entering a parking lot my mother-in-law was turning into a spot when the car suddenly accelerated thru the spot and was heading for the concrete wall. She was able to turn it to the left, run over the curb and in to a snow bank. She was unable to back the car out and had to be towed out. There was damage to the front end, but the airbags did not deploy. The tow truck driver said that she could drive it home and she managed to do so, but she was scared to do so. It is now sitting in the driveway and will not be driven until we are satisfied with the repairs to the acceleration problem. I am still waiting to hear from the dealer?.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #183

Dec 252012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 107,400 miles
I was approaching a freeway in atlanta, ga. As the connector curved, I was driving about 35 mph and gently brake about 200 feet from the freeway. The car immediately and violently accelerated, throwing my head back against the headrest; I brake harder but there was no response from the car; the car seemed to pivot on the right front tire and the rear end flew to my left about 240 degrees or so and struck the guard rail with the left rear quarter panel and bumper. The car then, continuing at high speed, ricocheted off the guard rail and the rear end pivoted toward the road, making the front bumper strike the same guard rail. The second collision scraped the paint off the center of the bumper but the impact seemed stronger than the damage would indicate. The second impact did stop the car. I make this report because my car was not one of those recalled by Toyota for this problem; but, believe me, it happened.

- Talking Rock, GA, USA

problem #182

Dec 062012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 29,235 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Defective gas pedal sensor prevented the vehicle from moving.

- Claremont, CA, USA

problem #181

Oct 092012

Camry

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that after he pulled onto the highway and attempted to enaged the accelerator pedal the vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact was able to merge to the shoulder safely. Also, the contact mentioned that the engine light had illuminated. The vehicle was later towed to the dealer who diagnose that the electronic throttle body failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 94,000. The current mileage was approximately 94,200.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #180

Oct 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Toyota Camry. Consumer states vehicle lost power while driving the consumer stated the throttle body was replaced. The consumer stated Toyota updated the part, but never informed her.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #179

Jul 202012

Camry 4-cyl Diesel

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Please note that I filed a complaint through phone on 9/4. the complain number is 10473713. But it was too brief. And I don't know how to add additional comment (see below). And just found out I can file it through online. So, I did. Below is the letter which briefly describes the sudden unintended acceleration happened on 7/20/2012. Note that this sua also happened in early 2010 when my wife was driving this same car. Here are the events: 1. I was driving my car to a parking slot. Just a couple of feet before I reached the parking position, the car all of a sudden moved forward violently with "full throttle" for a few feet then stopped by me. The car hit the right pillar of the pavilion. (the left pillar was about one to two feet before my left rear mirror.) 2. I was able to stop the vehicle and said to my wife (she was on the passenger seat), "what's going on this car?" at the same time I was planning to back it out. 3. it then all of a sudden the car moved forward again with full throttle. (at that moment, my left hand was still on the steering wheel and the right hand was on the gear handle.) before I had a chance to shift the gear, this sudden acceleration caught me completely off guard. The car hit the mailbox and veered toward the left. It went down the slope and stopped at the street facing left. 4. between the first stop and the second sudden acceleration it probably lasted two seconds. 5. note that this sudden acceleration already happened once in early 2010 while my wife was parking the car to a parking slot.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #178

Jul 202012

Camry

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while traveling 2 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without any warnings. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a mailbox. The vehicle was destroyed. The crash caused no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 83,000.

- West Lake, OH, USA

problem #177

Jun 232011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 47,280 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while turning left at 5 mph and attempting to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated across a cement median. The contact was able to avoid a crash when the vehicle came to a stop on its own. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer sent an engineer to examine the vehicle, who could also not locate a failure. The contact also experienced sudden acceleration while stopped and while shifting into drive. The contact was able to safely turn the engine off. The dealer replaced the throttle control assembly, but the failure continued. The failure mileage was 47,280 and the current mileage was 53,312. The consumer stated the drivers side doors were damaged. The vehicle grazed the concrete base of a lamppost in order to avoid a collision with a parked vehicle. Three (3) other incidents of unintended acceleration occurred in March 2008, February 2008, and March 18, 2012. Updated 09/18/2012

- Daytona , FL, USA

problem #176

Jun 192012

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the driver was traveling 15 mph when the vehicle began to accelerate uncontrollably. The driver attempted to brake, but the vehicle failed to respond. The driver attempted to turn off the vehicle. However, the vehicle was unresponsive. The driver crashed against the pavement, a fence and then dove into a creek. The air bags did not deploy. The driver sustained a concussion and injuries to the back and neck. The vehicle was destroyed. The police were called and a police report was filed. The current and the failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 08/16/12...updated 03-10-16

- Valley Cottage, NY, USA

problem #175

Apr 212012

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a sudden acceleration that caused the vehicle to jump a curve and crash into brick steps. The vehicle was towed away and repaired. The contact hurt their wrist in the crash. The vehicle was repaired and it was reported that nothing was wrong with the vehicle per the dealer. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileage was 70,200. The VIN was not available.

- Mitchelville, MD, USA

problem #174

Jun 092012

Camry

  • 74,300 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 15 mph the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle but the vehicle stalled a second time. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic. The technician stated the throttle body assembly would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 74,300.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #173

Feb 132012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
I was slowly pulling my 2004 Camry into a perpendicular parking space in a public parking lot, with my foot on the brake pedal. As I approached the curb to come to a stop, the car suddenly leaped forward at what seemed like full throttle, jumped the curb, lunged up a flight of three concrete steps, and crashed through the glass doors of the entry of the building. More often than not, at the hour of the day when this incident occurred (3:30 pm), there are small groups of young people waiting for rides or chatting in front of this facility. By some miracle there were no people present on the sidewalk in front of the car or coming out of or going into the building when this happened. Truly a miracle that no one was hurt or worse. There were no witnesses. The police had the car removed by flatbed to a body shop yard. I later learned that the police had driven the car in the body shop yard and commented that the car drove without issues. I subsequently received a careless driving citation in the mail. A local media report of the incident, cribbed from the police blotter, stated that the police believed the cause of the incident was driver error. There is not the least doubt in my mind that my foot was firmly on the brake pedal, which went to the floor and did not stop the car! the car acted on its own as if possessed! I will never drive this car again! I bought a new car and took a huge loss on the value of the Toyota by selling it for parts to a local mechanic for a tenth of its retail value so it would never find its way back onto the road to threaten other people with injury or death!

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #172

Feb 132012

Camry

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 1 mph, the vehicle accelerated abnormally with the brakes applied. The vehicle crashed into a building and there the contact sustained minor injuries. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop and a police report was filed. The dealer was contacted and a claim was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 105,000.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #171

Feb 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 84,203 miles
While driving on freeway, all of a sudden when I tried to press accelerator pedal to accelerate, nothing happened, and vehicle started to slowly slow down. I pulled over to side of road, turned off vehicle and restarted. Vehicle accelerate fine after that. Check engine light on. The Toyota dealer checked and found throttle body failure and replaced it. Cost more than $1300.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #170

Nov 172010

Camry

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle had a recurring failure with unintended acceleration. The failure would occur when driving at any speed. The contact crashed into a pillar and damaged the front passenger side fender. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the dealer was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The manufacturer advised the contact that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 95,000 and the current mileage was 101,600.

- Manchester , NJ, USA

problem #169

Nov 192011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 40,300 miles
Saturday afternoon 19 Nov 2011, the accelerator on my 2004 4-cylinder Camry became uncontrollable -- inexplicably slowing to a crawl and/or surging forward seemingly independent of how hard I depressed the gas pedal. I barely got to a local mechanic without being hit from behind or smashing into the vehicle in front of me. The mechanic told me the accelerator pedal sensor had died, and replaced it at a cost in excess of $600!!! I've seen reports that this is relatively common in this "fly-by-wire" design and am very concerned that Toyota has not recalled this model to correct the problem. No way should such an issue arise after only 40000 miles on my car. I contacted Toyota about reimbursing me for correcting this safety design defect, and both the local dealer and Toyota customer care told me in no uncertain terms where to go -- the local director of operations almost literally telling me to F...O..!

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #168

Nov 122011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
The left front tire ( new tire, I punched 4 new Michelin tires 7/11) on my car popped. I am not sure if the car pedal got stuck first, everything happened fast. Steering became impossible and the car when side to side as I attempted to steer the car. The stewing wheel would turn, but it didn't work. The major thing is that I couldn't operate the car because of the pedal getting stuck and the steering was impossible after that. The car was taken to carriage cage auto repair by aaa, who recommended I take it there, since the car could not be driven. I then went to the er room for care. Nationwide insurance was notified, they gave an estimate of over five thousand dollars to repair the car. Toyota in lake city, wa -bruce in auto care was notified regarding the pedal becoming stuck. I will have to take the car there once it is repaired. I wonder how safe is the car and what can be done about it.

- Shoreline, WA, USA

problem #167

Oct 062011

Camry

  • 77,941 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle would not accelerate after the brakes were applied in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was shut off and upon restart, the failure continued. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who informed the contact that the throttle body unit failed. The mechanic replaced the throttle body unit and informed the contact that the new unit was modified differently than the original. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 77,941.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #166

Sep 192011

Camry

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after numerous attempts. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the mechanic advised that the throttle body assembly malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The contact did not have the throttle body replaced. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Largo, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?