Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2004 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2004 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2004 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
111 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
49 / 3
Average Mileage:
43,769 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 4 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #144

Feb 072010


  • 62,000 miles


My 2004 Toyota Camry fails to decelerate when I take my foot off of the gas peddle. It has behaved this way since I bought it in January of this year. It frightens me in lieu of the recalls made on Toyota vehicles. Now my 'needs maintenance' light is on in the dash.

- Saint Albans, WV, USA

problem #143

Nov 172009


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving, the vehicle would not accelerate and the check engine light illuminated. The contact turned off the vehicle and restarted it; however, it would not accelerate past 10 mph. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the contact was informed that the failure was caused by the throttle body; the mechanic advised her to take the vehicle to an authorized dealership. The failure occurred again while the contact was driving to the dealership. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where the contact was informed that they could offer no assistance. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that there was nothing they could do about the problem. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 106,000. The failure mileage was approximately 86,000.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #142

Sep 112010


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle lost power and the check engine warning light illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle but the vehicle would not accelerate over 10 mph. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where it was diagnosed as a failure in the throttle body. The vehicle was then towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed as a failure at the oxygen sensor and throttle body. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 110,000.

- North Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #141

Jul 242004


  • 80,000 miles


While driving at approximately 45 miles per hour our 2004 Toyota Camry suddenly decelerated, and was only able to move forward very slowly. After pulling the car off of the travel lane and into a safe location, it was noted that the check engine light was on. The car could be driven very slowly (approximately 2-4 miles per hour) with the accelerator depressed completely. After about 45 seconds the car would accelerate to 35-40 miles per hour and stay at that speed with the accelerator completely depressed. The car was unsafe to operate with these accelerator problems. We had the car towed to a Toyota dealer who informed us that the electronic throttle control computer had failed, and that the entire electronic throttle control computer must be replaced.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #140

Oct 172009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 43,593 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated. The brake pedal was applied repeatedly and the vehicle continued to accelerate. Suddenly, the vehicle began to slow down on its own. The failure occurred twice. The contact stated that the third time, the vehicle exhibited unintended acceleration while driving in a parking lot, at which time a police report was filed. There were no personal injuries or vehicle damage. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was in the dealers possession for fourteen days to perform further inspection of the acceleration failure. The contact stated that the vehicle was not repaired, and the technician was unable to determine the cause of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 43,593. Updated 08/24/10. Updated 08/25/10

- Tewksbury, MA, USA

problem #139

Jun 222010


  • 73,915 miles
My wife was pulling her 2004 Toyota Camry into a parking space, car in drive with her foot lightly on the brake with the car suddenly accelerated. The brakes were of little use and the only thing that kept her from crashing into an office building was a small retaining wall that stopped the car. The car is now at an auto body shop with over $7,000 in repairs to be made.

- Cold Spring Harbor, NY, USA

problem #138

Jun 052010


  • 67,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact was parking the vehicle when the accelerator pedal became stuck causing the vehicle to crash into a building. There were no injuries. The entire front end of the vehicle was crushed and the windshield was broken. The vehicle was towed. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #137

May 222010


  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving 55 mph the vehicle accelerated twice as she depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle failed to slow down. The vehicle inspected by the twice dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. She did not notify the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 44,000.

- Tewksbury, MA, USA

problem #136

May 222010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at a very low speed, the vehicle suddenly accelerated when she took her foot off the accelerator pedal to brake. The vehicle went uphill and crashed into large rocks. The contact turned off the ignition but the wheels continued to spin. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership for inspection but the dealer stated that no failure was found. The failure occurred on two more occasions. The current and failure mileages were approximately 44,000. Updated 6/19/10 updated 07/27/10

- Tewksbury , MA, USA

problem #135

Mar 072007

Camry 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving approximately 2 mph there was an unexpected increase of acceleration causing the vehicle to crash into a steel pole. The frontal airbag deployed with the level of impact. The contact sustained severe injuries to the head and neck. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The body damages to the vehicle was estimated at the cost of $16,000. The cause failure had not been determined at that time. In addition, the identical unintended acceleration failure occurred four years later. There were no injures in that incident. The vehicle is in the process of being repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 23,000. Updated 09/22/10. Updated 09/23/10

- Lincoln , NE, USA

problem #134

Mar 202007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,190 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated she was at a car wash. She stopped the vehicle and put it in neutral/ when the vehicle was completely washed, the green light illuminated to indicate the contact could proceed. She put the gear into drive and lightly pressed the accelerator pedal, then suddenly the vehicle accelerated two to four seconds to a speed of 30 mph. The vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning, causing the contact to crash into a nearby pole. The contact sustained injuries to the head and neck. A police report was filed accordingly. The vehicle was not diagnosed for the failure. The failure mileage was 26,190 and the current mileage is 54,000. Updated 09/22/10. The consumer stated she turned the wheel slightly to avoid hitting a concrete wall, and instead she hit a light pole. The consumer stated she had no control over the vehicle. The repairs were completed on the vehicle. Updated 09/22/10

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #133

Jan 282009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving at 5 mph, a vehicle in front stopped short so the contact used extreme force on the brake pedal to stop. However, the brakes did not engage and the vehicle suddenly accelerated, crashing into the vehicle in front. The passenger sustained neck injuries. The vehicle was inspected by an authorized dealership but the dealer could not find the cause of the acceleration. The failure occurred again but the contact was able to stop the vehicle to prevent a crash. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was approximately 37,000.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #132

Apr 252010


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While reversing, the contact noticed sudden acceleration and crashed into a building. The contact shifted into park and had not been moved. The contact was injured and a police report was filed. The rear of the vehicle was damaged by the impact and the insurance company planned to have someone inspect the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were approximately 60,000.

- Plover, WI, USA

problem #131

Apr 232010


  • 138,000 miles
While exiting ez-pass toll my vehicle's engine revved up out of control, as if the accelerator was being floored when I was just barely touching it. I released the accelerator and was able to shift into neutral, apply the foot brake, and pull over safely. Check engine light came on. Took the car in to the dealership and I'm waiting to hear back from them.

- Concord, NH, USA

problem #130

May 152009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration. As the consumer was turning into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated to what sounded like maximum rpms. The vehicle side swiped another vehicle, jumped four or five curbs and plowed into a landscape before coming to a stop.

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #129

Mar 252010


  • 86,000 miles
The 2004 Toyota Camry SE was driven about 25 miles on the freeway prior to the accident. I was parking in a hospital parking garage. My foot was on the brake as I was parking. The car was about 3 feet from a concrete wall, then the car accelerated forward. The car crashed, ruined the bumper and other parts beneath the fiberglass. I had a large bruise from the seatbelt and my 6 month old daughter was screaming in the back seat. I got us out of the car quickly, the car however was still trying the go forward into the wall since it was still in drive. I got back in and turned the car off. The police would not come and file a report since it was on private property, so we filed a report with the hospital's building security. The car was towed to a Toyota collision shop and still remains there today. We have been waiting for Toyota to come out and "inspect" the car and we cannot move or fix the car until they have their inspection. This was about a month ago. We have been getting nothing but the run around from Toyota both at the dealership where we bought the car and from the national corporation of Toyota. We will be seeking a lawyer.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #128

Jun 012005

Camry 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that she had experienced vehicle speed control problems three times. The first occurrence was on a dry sunny day travelling about 25 mph. The vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. She was able to stop the unintended acceleration without incident.the second incident also involved unintended acceleration. The brakes were applied and she was able to bring the vehicle to a stop. On the third occasion, while entering a parking lot, the vehicle began accelerating and the brakes were immediately applied. The vehicle began jerking and accelerated backward into the roadway. The vehicle then lunged and accelerated forward, back into the parking lot, and proceeded to crash into a concrete barrier. The vehicle sustained front end damage. The manufacturer was contacted and advised there were no recalls on her vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 14,000 and the current mileage was approximately 15,000. Updated 05/18/10. Updated 06/15/10 updated 07/19/10

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #127

Feb 032010


  • miles
2004 Toyota Camry. Consumer states the engine surged and the car lunged forward as he was parking. The consumer stated the vehicle ran over the curb, across the sidewalk and struck and damaged a column on the front of a building. The vehicle sustained damage to the right front resulting in a repair bill in excess of $4,000. On a previous occasion when exiting the freeway and making a right turn, the engine surged between gears but when it engaged, the consumer did not notice a problem. Six months later the same thing happened.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #126

Dec 302009


  • miles
2004 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration causing a crash. The consumer stated while descending down her driveway, the vehicle accelerated out of control and would not stop. When she turned the wheel, the vehicle climbed an embankment and crashed into a tree.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #125

May 152004


  • 19,915 miles
On May 15, 2004 I was involved in a 1 person auto accident in my 2003 Toyota Camry le. I had just purchased the vehicle less than 30 days from the time of the accident from a certified used Toyota dealership (stone mountain Toyota). My car spun out of control as I pressed the accelerator to pull out of a store parking lot. I was unable to stop the car by braking and ended up rolling over an embankment and on to railroad tracks. I was wearing my safety belt at the time. I was able to get out of the car and away from it as I feared it was going to blow up. I had no idea of what went wrong as it accelerated so fast. Obviously, I was terrified and remain emotionally and physically damaged from this event. I was transported to the er via ambulance and was evaluated for injuries. My main injuries were general body, head, neck, and back pain. Subsequently, a lumbar fracture was found years later on a scan for another medical issue. I still suffer from low back pain and the event haunts me. Especially since I told the police, ambulance workers, insurance company, and the managers at the dealership about what happened. No one investigated the accident further as if I was not making any sense. I also missed a few days of work and wages because I am an rn and couldn't perform my job due to the pain. I am really upset about the recalls because it doesn't include earlier Toyota models and I reported this incident 6 years ago when I had my accident and nothing was done. Thanks for your time..

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?