Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
137 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
70 / 5
Average Mileage:
37,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 4 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #178

Jul 292010


  • 83,000 miles


The contact owned a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving down a hill at 25 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated up to 60 mph. The vehicle began spinning. The contact was unable to stop the unintended acceleration. The vehicle crashed into a tree but proceeded to accelerate. The contact then crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact suffered unknown injuries.the vehicle was towed to a scrap yard.. the failure and current mileages were 83,000.

- Arlington, MA, USA

problem #177

May 292010


  • 78,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while trying to park the vehicle with her foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated. The vehicle crashed into the vehicle in front of her rolled backwards and crashed into the vehicle again. The contact stated that this was the second time the acceleration failure occurred. There were no injuries. The first time the contact was able to stop the vehicle from accelerating. After the first incident Toyota told the contact that her vehicle was not a part of the accelerator pedal recall. Toyota inspected the vehicle, but would not respond to the contacts calls and explain what was wrong with the vehicle. The contact is unable to drive the vehicle. The failure mileage was 78500. The current mileage was 79100.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #176

Jul 062010


  • 29,269 miles
The gas pedal raced to the floor board, the auto raced across amedian, went up an embankment a cross ahighway came down on the other slope, we hit a tree at ahigh rate of speed and the air bags did not deploy. We are lucky to be alive, the auto was a total loss. State trooper and ambulance was on scene. Allstate is handling claim. Just the fact that the air bags did not deploy should tell you something?

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #175

Jul 202009


  • 15,935 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving into a parking space approximately 4 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into the parking lot barrier. The contact sustained injuries to her back. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The body damaged was repaired, but a diagnostic test was not performed to determine the cause of failure. The failure mileage was 15,935 and the current mileage was 18,740.

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #174

Jul 062010


  • 29,000 miles
While traveling to atlantic city on 7/6/2010, I began to exit at exit #7 on the garden state pkwy., the accelerator pedal stuck to the floor board, I could not control the auto, my wife and I traveled across a field, went up an embankment across the highway went down the other side and hit a tree at ahigh rate of speed but the air bags did not deploy. Car was a total loss, but we escaped with minor injuries.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #173

Jan 112010


  • 29,618 miles
My name is [xxx] and I am an attorney practicing in wheaton, Illinois (telephone number [xxx] ). on January 11, 2010 our client, [xxx], was involved in a two-car motor vehicle accident involving her 2005 Toyota Camry. Upon exiting a car wash, she placed her car into drive (from neutral) and the car immediately accelerated although she had not depressed the accelerator. As the car began accelerating out of the parking lot, she tried to brake but the brakes were nonreponsive. Upon exiting the parking lot, her car struck a car in the roadway. As a result, she suffered a broken leg. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #172

Jun 222010


  • 84,702 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving at approximately 15 mph in a residential area, the vehicle abnormally accelerated without warning. The contact applied the brakes but to no avail. The vehicle continued to pick up speeds and jumped a curb, crashing into the living room of a nearby house. He sustained injuries to his back, neck and knees. The contact stated he had previously experienced the failure but believed it to be driver's error. A police report was available. The contact stated his insurance company was handling the investigation of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and current mileages were 84,702.

- Riverside , CA, USA

problem #171

May 152010


  • 18,693 miles
On May 15, 2010, a sunny day, dry streets and warm temperature, I had come to a complete stop about 3 1/2 feet behind one car waiting at a red light at a very busy intersection. With my foot solidly on the brake my Toyota Camry engine began to rev, and in just seconds, there was a "sudden unintended acceleration" and my 2005 Camry crashed into the car ahead of me which had a wrap around rubber strip in the rear bumper. The crash bounced my car back over a foot and a half. I went from a total stop to a "run away" 2005 Toyota Camry. Had I been the first car at the stop light and my Toyota had accelerated into that busy intersection, there would have been a fatality. Two young men witnessed this accident and came running to help. There is a police report. And no citations were issued. I phoned the dealership and the car was towed to them. I was wearing my seat belt but my neck was snapped. On June 7, 2010 Toyota phoned to say this vehicle had been inspected and "there is nothing wrong with it" and that Toyota is neither liable or responsible. No repairs were made and the car was returned to me on June 9, 2010.. ironically about 3 weeks prior to my "sudden unintended acceleration" another resident of our independent living retirement community with an identical model Toyota had the same thing happen. Her car crashed into the cement wall of the underground parking garage and there was extensive damage and she was also told that there was nothing wrong with her Toyota. I will never be behind the wheel of that car again when it is started. It is dangerous, and the trauma it has caused will not be given a chance to be repeated. My car is showroom quality with only 18,000+ miles. Toyota has offered nothing to help replace this vehicle. I understand that beginning in 2011 Toyota vehicles will have an "override brake system" which surely indicates the company knows something is seriously defective in their engineering and designing.

- Urbandale, IA, USA

problem #170

Jun 132010


  • 60,000 miles
Our 2005 Toyota Camry suddenly accelerated. The driver applied slight pressure to gently accelerate at intersection in response to the traffic light turning green. The car responded as if the gas pedal was depressed to the floor and raced forward, responding to the brakes when applied. Fortunately no damage occurred.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #169

Sep 122005


  • 7,509 miles
Vehicle with only 7,509 miles suddenly accelerated, hitting other parked cars and a light pole.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #168

Jun 102010


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated the dealership continued to tell her nothing was wrong with the vehicle.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #167

Jun 032010

(reported on)


  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states vehicle lurches forward the consumer stated when accelerating from a stop, or a near stop, the vehicle would hesitate, then lurch forward. The service department was aware of the problem. The technician had a bulletin from Toyota explaining that he needed to updated 06/18/10.

- Bayside, CA, USA

problem #166

May 252010

(reported on)


  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration causing a crash the consumer stated he experienced sudden acceleration on several occasions. Separate occasions. The first incident happened when he approached an intersection within an enclosed parking lot building. When he applied the brake, the vehicle suddenly accelerated forward at an incredible speed and crashed into three parked cars. The other two incidents occurred on christmas day 2009. The consumer was at a street intersection near his home where he narrowly missed a car. The second time, his vehicle drastically accelerated which caused him to crash into his garage. The dealer advised the consumer to remove all of the floor mats. See also ODI 10312088

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #165

May 172010


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while pulling into a parking space with the brakes applied, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into a pole. The air bags did not deploy upon impact and the driver suffered unknown injuries. The police were called and a police report was filed accordingly. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop for insurance purposes. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 30,000.

- Huntington Beach , CA, USA

problem #164

May 072010


  • 38,639 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle abnormally accelerated while shifting from park to drive. The contact attempted to apply the brakes to no avail. The vehicle proceeded to crash into a dumpster. The dealer and manufacturer stated that the failure could be diagnosed within seventy days. The contact was not pleased with the response time due to the safety risk. The failure mileage was 38,639 and the current was 38,647.

- Everett, MA, USA

problem #163

May 062010


  • 36,256 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph with her foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into various things in the garage. The vehicle came to a stop upon impact and the engine was shut off. The dealer stated that there were no recalls related to her VIN and they could not offer any assistance. The vehicle was towed to a local repair facility. The contact is concerned about the safety risk and refused to drive it. The failure and current mileages were approximately 36,256.

- Bear , DE, USA

problem #162

Oct 232009


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While traveling at speeds of 40 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning for approximately 5 miles before decreasing in speed without driver interference. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer sent a representative to further inspect the vehicle but has yet to inform the contact of the findings of the investigation. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 65,000.

- South Field, MI, USA

problem #161

May 032010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,700 miles
Was parking car in an underground parking garage, pulled into parking stall, almost completely stopped when the car suddenly lunged forward over a cement curb, and crashed into the cement wall which was only about two feet in front of the car. Fortunately, I was wearing my seat belt. The air bag did not deploy as the car was almost completely stopped when incident happened. The wall was just scratched, but the shopping cart stored on the curb section in front of my stall was smashed. The front bumper of the car was knocked out of place, and I don't yet know what other damage was done. The car was towed to the Toyota dealer and we are waiting for an adjustor to make a determination. This car was not on the recall list. If this were just a faulty brake problem, the car would have been stopped completely when it hit the curb instead of jumping up over the curb and crashing into the wall. The first thing that I checked was to make sure that my foot was on the brake, and it was. Updated IVOQ 07/13/10 updated IVOQ 07/22/10. The consumer received a letter from Toyota, stating they were closing her file. The vehicle was inspected and no manufacturing defects were found. Updated 11/05/10 updated 01/26/11.

- Urbandale, IA, USA

problem #160

Apr 272010


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that after driving in reverse, she shifted the vehicle into drive, it accelerated, crashed into a vehicle and was destroyed. The police arrived and a police report was filed. One of the passengers were injured. The vehicle was towed for further investigation by the contacts insurance company. The failure and current mileages were 30,000.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #159

Apr 252010


  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving an approximate speeds of 5 mph and exiting a driveway, the vehicle abnormally accelerated at a rapid speed. The vehicle proceeded to drive over a concrete curb and into a neighbors driveway, crashing into a parked vehicle. The passenger of the vehicle was transported to the hospital and sustained injuries to the head, a cracked spine and several bruises. The vehicle was towed by her insurance company to a local repair shop where the contact was awaiting an assessment of the damages. The failure and current mileages were 30,000. Updated 06/21/10 updated 07/01/10.

- Pacific Palisades, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?