Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
137 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
70 / 5
Average Mileage:
37,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #138

Dec 212008

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Toyota Camry - I [xxx] have been experiencing the same acceleration problems as the 2007-2010. Twice I have been in two accidents due to acceleration problem and had to go through my insurance company fix, this has been happening since 2007, my daughter has almost been in what could have been two major collisions. I feel like I am driving a death trap. I have written Toyota regarding this matter with no response from them. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Manchester, CT, USA

problem #137

Jun 042009

Camry

  • miles
Sudden acceleration of vehicle.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #136

Mar 122010

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving at speeds of 5 mph and pulling into his driveway, the contact slowly depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The vehicle proceeded to crash into the rear end of a parked vehicle in his garage. This was the first and only unintended acceleration incident with the vehicle. The failure mileage was 49,000 and the current was 49,000. Updated 06/28/10

- Warminsterta, PA, USA

problem #135

Feb 162010

Camry

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving at speeds of 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning, causing the contact to crash into the vehicle ahead of him. No one was injured during the crash and a police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed by the dealership and the contact noticed prior to the crash that the steering wheel and steering column would occasionally vibrate. The current and failure mileages were 18,000.

- Sun City West, AZ, USA

problem #134

Nov 192005

Camry

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While the contact was attempting to pull out of a parking space traveling at 5 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The contact crashed into two vehicles. No one was injured during the crash. A police report was filed for the incident. The dealership has not been contacted. The current and failure mileages were 3000.

- Syosset, NY, USA

problem #133

Sep 012009

Camry

  • 179,199 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving 10 mph, he experienced several incidents of abnormal acceleration. In each incident, he was unable to initially bring the vehicle to a stop until placing the vehicle in neutral and coasting to a stop. The dealer advised there were no recalls on his specific vehicle. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 179,199 and the current was 182,000.

- Danielson , CT, USA

problem #132

Dec 302009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 25mph and the vehicle surged forward. The contact depressed the brake while slowing down to complete a turn. The dealer was informed and they inspected the vehicle. The dealer did repair the vehicle but never informed the contact of what the failure was. The vehicle has not experienced any other failures since then. The approximate failure mileage was 55000 and the current mileage was 60000. The consumer also stated the vehicle had a steering problem and it would cost $500 to repair. Updated 03/22/10.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #131

Feb 262010

Camry

  • 54,000 miles
Had a 3rd unintended acceleration in my 2005 Camry. I was able to stop car by shifting into neutral along with brake application.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #130

Mar 012010

Camry

  • 21,000 miles
On Mar. 1 2010 my wife was driving in city traffic at 30 mph when she rear- ended the car ahead. Her head hit the steering wheel and was rendered unconscious. The air bags never deployed despite major front end damage. Her memory of what happened was lost but she felt the car had jumped or surged just before. She was driving a 2005 Toyota Camry which has not yet been recalled.the car was totaled and Toyota doesn't feel the car might have a problem. When witnesses went to help, my wife had both feet on the brake pedal, the Toyota was still running at a fast idle and she was just beginning to regain her wits but could remember only that the car had jumped ahead. As Toyota has not included the 2005 Camry in it's recall I feel that maybe it should. My wife was not on the cell phone nor was she drinking or on medication. She is a safe driver and I believe the car raced ahead on its own.

- Willard, MO, USA

problem #129

Nov 112009

Camry

  • 116,520 miles
Sudden acceleration 2005 Toyota Camry.

- Fort Dick, CA, USA

problem #128

Aug 182009

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Toyota Camry- complained a year ago that the accelerator pedal was sticking- I have invoice and they said it was the fuel injector but now I am suspicious- in addition the thing that holds my floor mat in place to prevent it from sliding near the pedal broke off and that is not recalled recall my 2005 since it needs to be and I have invoices for the repairs before the recalls were announced which should be proof enough the car was messed up- 2005 with 50,000 miles- car is an extra car that is rarely driven......

- Deerfield, IL, USA

problem #127

Feb 242010

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
I was driving home after a brief commute (~10 miles) and was in my driveway waiting for garage to open and when I stepped on the accelerator gently to enter the garage, the car seemed to surge forward. I stepped on the brake with all my strength and the car stopped in time and I turned the ignition off.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #126

Aug 152009

Camry

  • 90,000 miles
2005 Toyota Camry. Car was being driven through town and had stopped at a red light. Light turned green and when accelerator was pressed to turn right car suddenly over accelerated and started to accelerate on it's own even when slamming on the brakes. After a few more seconds the car did decelerate and was able to be stopped. No further occurrences since then. This year model should be included in Toyota's recall for defective accelerators.

- Hartwell, GA, USA

problem #125

Aug 082009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated and rear-ended a vehicle. The vehicle continued to accelerate uncontrollably off of the road. The driver avoided striking a pedestrian and crashed into a parked vehicle. The air bag deployed with the level of impact involved. The police was called to the scene. The driver sustained multiple injuries, and died of the injuries three months later. The other vehicle driver suffered minor injuries. The failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 4/26/10

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #124

Oct 272008

Camry

  • 19,776 miles
The car revs for no apparent reason and the rpms go very high. First time in Oct 2008 backing out of a parking the revs shot up. Toyota service found nothing. Second occasion July 2009 while at a light the rpms shot up for no apparent reason. Fortunately foot was on the brake, so no damage done. Also noticed that even after letting foot off the gas pedal the revs would not come down for some time. Non Toyota service station looked at it, and cleaned the throttle plate. Third occasion in Jan 2010 my wife was driving downhill when suddenly there was a surge and the car RPM's shot up for no apparent reason. She hit the brakes hard and everything went back to normal. I took the car to Toyota and they could not find anything. They blamed it on the floor mats, which I disagreed with as there is a reasonable clearance gap between the gas pedal and the mats. A week later I left the car with Toyota for 3 days and they drove it for two test runs and the manager took it home (158 miles) and they could not recreate the problem. Toyota have told me there is not a problem with my 2005 Camry as it's not on the recall list. I disagree with this statement.

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #123

Jul 182005

Camry

  • 19 miles
We purchased a 2005 Toyota Camry in 2005. The first day I drove it the car hesitated on acceleration to change lanes it was lucky that it didn't cause a wreck. I took the car back to the dealership (I don't remember why) but I asked them to check it and the guy I talked to just said it was because of the fuel injection. The guy didn't offer to check it, he just made that statement. The hesitation happens any time and it always feels like someone is going to rear end us while the car is deciding what it wants to do. On the freeways in California people go 70 miles an hour that makes it a hazard to drive a Toyota on the freeway. The Toyota also has a mind of its own, sometimes when I have my foot on the brake preparing to stop the engine seems to be trying to override the brake to keep going. It feels like the car is trying to increase the speed when I am trying to slow down. I have been concerned about it but I just figured Toyota was not going to do anything about it. Now my husband does not want me to drive the Toyota.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #122

Feb 182010

Camry

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving 5 mph into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing the contact to crash into 2 vehicles. No one was injured during the crash. A police report was filed. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 76,000.

- Topfield, MA, USA

problem #121

Jan 172010

Camry

  • 83,300 miles
My 2005 Toyota Camry has had no problems and has been maintained as recommended for 5 years up to the date of the accident which occurred on January 17, 2010. I was pulling into a parking spot at approximately 1 mile per hour, lightly touched the brake and instead of stopping the car lunged forward (self-accelerated) up over a concrete block onto a sidewalk and came to a stop when it hit a heavy metal railing. An 8' section of the rail was broken off and fell 4' away from the car. I reported the accident to the police and to my insurance company. A tow truck driver got the car moved, checked the brakes - which he said were working properly - and suggested that the accident may have been caused by a stuck throttle. Neither the floor mats or the gas pedal caused the problem. The damage to the car came to $2200 but nothing was done to fix the problem because Toyota has not recalled this year vehicle and the forensic mechanic who inspected it felt that it was a computer problem and the solutions offered by Toyota would not address the random acceleration problem.

- La Crescenta, CA, USA

problem #120

Jun 022008

Camry

  • 44,316 miles
Vehicle will excel after lightly touching the gas pedal from stopped position.

- Lebanon, KY, USA

problem #119

Dec 102009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 5 mph into a parking space almost coming to a complete stop, the vehicle accelerated over the fence, hit some boulders and then crashed into a tree. There was front end damage to the front bumper and under carriage. There were no injuries. The police were not notified. The vehicle was towed to a local dealer where she was able to purchase another vehicle. The Toyota manufacturer was not called. The failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 04/16/10. Updated 07/07/10.

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?