Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How can we give the 2006 Camry our "Seal of Awesome" when the NHTSA data shows engine problems in the triple digits & multiple deaths/injuries/crashes etc?

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2006 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

In other words, it's our opinion that the 2 deaths & other injuries/fires/crashes reported to the NHTSA are significant, but (unfortunately) not out of the ordinary for any vehicle, once you factor in the effects of the extended national media coverage of Camry unintended acceleration issues.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2006 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
56 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
34 / 2
Average Mileage:
32,969 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Feb 012009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration. The consumers wife was driving on the interstate with the cruise control engaged, when all of a sudden the vehicle in front of her slowed down. When she put her foot on the brake, the vehicle started going faster. There were cars on both sides of her, but she was able to swerve to the right just missing the vehicle in front of her. When she removed her foot from the brake, the vehicle began to slow down. One year later, while pulling into a parking lot, the consumers wife was going about 5 mph about to pull into a parking space, she put her foot on the brake and the vehicle lunged forward. She shifted the gear into neutral and shut off the engine and stopped within a foot of the pole. A month after that incident, she was traveling down the freeway and when she applied the brake to prepare to exit, the vehicle accelerated. She took her foot off the brake and the vehicle slowed down. The consumer contacted the dealer and was told his vehicle was not included in the recall.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #51

Aug 082006

Camry

  • miles
I am writing about my current car, a Toyota 2006 Camry, because it relates to an accident I had with my 2005 Camry. I am aware that Toyota has not recalled the 2006 model. When I start up my 2006 Camry after it has been in park, with the engine off, for as little as a 5 minute stop or overnight in the garage, when I shift into drive and release my foot from the brake, the car moves by itself, fairly rapidly, without my foot touching the accelerator. After about 3/4 of a mile along the road during which I alternately apply the brake and lift my foot from it, still not touching the accelerator, the car finally begins to operate normally requiring for the first moment some pressure on the accelerator. When I return home, regardless of how far or long I have driven, after pausing to open the garage door (by remote) I ease my foot from the brake pedal and the car glides into the garage on is own. While I am able to control the car safely so far I am uncomfortable with the situation because I had a major accident with my 2005 Camry in August, 2006. It happened as I emerged from a car wash. When I shifted into drive from neutral, the car accelerated itself and stuck in high speed, at least 80 miles per hour. I am sure that I tried to stop it by applying the brakes immediately and certainly in the end before I purposely crashed into a tree after a terrifying drive dodging people, cars, and buildings. I survived although sustaining a back injury which necessitated an operation, but the car did not. I did not communicate with Toyota about it and do not know if my insurance company did. Last week I took my 2006 Camry to my Toyota dealer and described what is happening with the car and they assured me that this "independent" acceleration is normal and intended by the manufacturer.

- Truro, MA, USA

problem #50

Nov 132008

Camry

  • 149,189 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) vehicle surging. Did on 11/13/08 from 65 to 78 mph. Also low speeds in town from 20 to 35 mph. 2 times wife told me and above happen to me and once in town. Took to dealership. Test drove 11 miles nothing. I made dealership correct wording on repair order. Has done 4 more times but not on recall list. On March 6th read in press enterprise a car driven by [xxx] suddenly sped up to 100 mph on euclid - same day chp officer died. Problem; mine and [xxx] vehicle is a '2006 Camry not on recall list".. taken once since then have been trying two days to get Toyota corporation. If 2006 Camry not on list why above death and my surging... called your number and told could file on line.... very concerned since done about 3 times since and especially reading about the woman whose same model as mine died.....

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #49

Dec 012005

Camry

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No crash. We have a 2006 Toyota Camry that we have complained to the dealership since we bought the car in late 2005 about its sudden surge of acceleration. The dealership repair shop has never been able to find the source of the problem.

- San Pedro, CA, USA

problem #48

Feb 092008

Camry 6-cyl

  • 10,629 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. While driving in a parking space at approximately 1-2 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a vehicle. A police report was taken but there were no injuries. Before the failure occurred, another driver of the vehicle stated that the engine revved slightly a few times. He called the dealership and was told that they would charge him a fee to perform a diagnostic test. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 19,500. The failure mileage was 10,629. Updated 04/13/10. Updated 10/08/10

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #47

Jul 022008

Camry

  • 25,000 miles
2006 Toyota Camry accelerated on its own while the brakes were being pressed. It jumped the concrete parking marker and went into a huddle house restaurant.

- Andalusia, AL, USA

problem #46

Feb 042010

Camry

  • 35,236 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on a familiar rural road at approximately 45 mph. Anticipating slowing down before approaching the village where the speed limit is 30 mph, I took my foot off the accelerator. At the moment I lifted my foot from the pedal, the car suddenly accelerated on its own for about two seconds, and then, again on its own, went back to normal. This is the first and only failure I have experienced while driving this vehicle. I took no remedial action (other than reporting the incident to my husband.)

- Schodack Landing, NY, USA

problem #45

Jan 122009

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
My car 2006 Toyota Camry had sudden accelerate from stopped position at a yield and hit the car in front though damage to the front car was not significant. I still could not figured it out why this would have happened since I drive carefully. No other accident on the record since I started driving from 2003. It happened around 9am on my daily route to workplace. Recently I heard about Toyota recalls for Camry 2007 to 2010. But I am not sure if my car also have similar problem. Once I visited to service center after the incident for regular service then they mentioned that my car's brake & gas pedals need clean-up or I have to get it replaced. Since they told little higher amount I told no for repair. I am not sure if my Toyota Camry 2006 too have the problems described in recall. I have incident reported with my insurer and can provide claim number, documents, insurer info etc as required. There were no charges paid to any vehicle in this minor incident till now but insurer has kept this incident open till now if other party makes new claims. I still think why my vehicle had sudden acceleration so thought to report this incident with dot.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #44

Apr 032006

Camry 4-cyl

  • 3,606 miles
The contact owns 2006 Toyota Camry. The contact pulled in to parking space and the vehicle accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. Both vehicles endured body damage. The contact has spoke to the manufacturer and was told that her vehicle was not on the recall list. The vehicle continued to surges at times whenever the contact applied the brake pedal. The failure mileage was 3,606 and the current mileage was 29,000. Updated 03/30/10. Updated 06/17/10

- Wildwood, MO, USA

problem #43

Jun 182006

Camry

  • miles
I bought my 2006 Camry in October 2005 and have been complaining to claremont Toyota, the dealership where I bought the car, of the sudden acceleration and braking problem since about 2006. It's an intermittent problem that I have had to deal with since I bought this car. My complaints have been that the brake pedal drops to the floor and then the car accelerates forward and that the car accelerates on its own. The service writers have dismissed my complaints and given many excuses such as: When I left the car there to have them check out the problem they said that the problem could not be repeated so the car was fine, another time I was told that the new cars have ABS brakes that drop down to the floor, and at a different time they said that with these new cars the rear brakes had to be adjusted at every oil change and etc. There was an incident in 2006 when I was at a stop and some pedestrians were walking across the street. The car did stop but all of the sudden the brake pedal hit the floor and the car started to move forward. I had to pump the brake pedal a few times in order for it work again. Thankfully the pedestrians had not passed infront of my car yet. I don't remember the specific date but I do know it was in 2006. On 2/20/2010 I had my husband take the car to get an oil change at claremont Toyota. I had my husband take the car because I do not want to lied to or given another excuse because I don't know much about cars. My husband mentioned the problem about the brake pedal going down to the floor and sometimes having to downshift or use the parking brake to slow down the car and was told that this condition exists due to the ABS system sensing the rotation of the tires and that the car would eventually stop. My husband then mentioned what we had been told about the rear brakes and the service writer grinned and said that the brakes do not need adjustment. I do not feel safe driving this car because it feels as if it has a mind of its own.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #42

Feb 162010

Camry

  • 19,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife slowly pulled into a parking spot in a supermarket parking lot. As she hit the brakes to come to a stop, the vehicle begin rapidly accelerating and before she could react the car jumped a curb and across a grassy strip and hit a parked car. She has a cracked spine and other injuries. The front end car damage was considerable (estimate $5800) and there was considerable front end damage to the other vehicle. Our vehicle had been in for 20,000 mile service just the week before.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #41

Mar 302007

Camry

  • miles
My Toyota Camry 2006, purchased on 3/29/06 was involved in two major accidents and it was totalled after the second major accident which occoured on 3/30/07. On the first major accident, my wife who was driving the vehicle, tried to stop the vehicle at the signal, instead it raced forward on its own and hit another vehicle. On the second major incident, after stopping the car and allowing another car to pass on the same road in the opposite direction, she made a left turn and the car accelerated uncontrollably and hit a big tree standing at an elevated part of the road. By looking at the scene anybody can come to the conclusion that some kind of malfunctioning of the acceleration mechanism has happened. In both of these major accidents, none of the air-bags deployed. The same car had another similar incident but no property was damaged and therefore, that incident was not reported to police but a co-worker drove the vehicle out of the retaining pond. In this incident, my wife after parking the car, tried to pull it a little further and then the car jumped across the concrete bump and fell into the retaining pond. Luckly there was no water.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #40

May 302008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,773 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. While driving uphill approximately 5 mph and making a right turn into a driveway the vehicle began accelerating over 80 mph and within seconds the vehicle went airborne over a retaining wall and into someone's yard. The tires blew out when the vehicle landed on the ground and the rpms continued to increase until she turned the engine off. She received injuries to the right knee, ankle, cuts and bruises. The insurance company investigated the crash and concluded that the floor mat caused the failure to occur since it was not hooked to the mat. The insurance company also determined that the vehicle was destroyed; however, she sold the vehicle to the salvage yard. Toyota concluded that her VIN was not included in the recall; therefore, they would not assist her with the cost for the damages. The current and the failure mileages were 19,773. Updated 03/19/10. The consumers insurance company concluded an unhooked floor mat was the cause even though there was no evidence it was jammed under the pedal at the time of the inspection. Updated 07/14/10

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #39

Aug 172008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. While driving 5 mph into the drive way the vehicle continued to accelerate while her foot was on the brake pedal and the collided into a fence. She was able to stop the vehicle by slamming on the brake pedal. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. A Toyota engineer concluded that there was no manufacturers defect after test driving the vehicle. He was also unable to recreate the failure stated in case number 200808180560. The vehicle front end of the vehicle was repaired. She has not experienced the acceleration failure again, but she has noticed that the brakes were slow to respond. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage 42,000. Updated 3/24/10 after making a left turn, into her driveway at 5-10 mph with her foot on the brake, the vehicle would not slow down. The consumer stated she hit fence and continued into the backyard. After slamming down hard on the brake, the vehicle finally stopped. Updated 07/01/10.

- Phenix , AL, USA

problem #38

Jan 012010

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
The brake does not work every time when I drive the car on rough road such as snow and ice road, and repairing road. I went to Toyota dealers trying to solve the problem, but they said that is due to the anti-lock mechanism! this is really dangerous. I drive very slowly when road is rough.

- Park Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #37

Jun 202008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that when the driver was at a traffic light she noticed that the engine began to rev and lunge forward. She was able to control the vehicle by engaging the brake pedal. A few months later, the issue recurred. The driver was able to control and stop the vehicle from accelerating. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealership or speak with the manufacturer regarding the failure. The contact stated that the failure has not occurred since 2008. The vehicle had not been repaired to-date. The current mileage was approximately 74,000. The failure mileage was 32,000. Updated 03/10/10 updated 05/06/10.

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #36

Jan 312010

Camry

  • 32,000 miles
I have Toyota Camry -2006 model which was bought new in Feb 2006. It has approx 32,000 miles on it mostly driven by myself, 37 year man as of today and my wife(31 years) also drives sometimes since last two years. Last Sunday 01/31/2010 my wife, myself and my two sons were inside car and my wife was driving this car and was stopping car in drive way. We were almost stopped and suddenly it accelerated and my wife was screaming that it is not stopping even she almost standing on brakes. Meantime it hit closed garage door and went inside garage with high speed. Right mirror went inside the garage wall and finally its car front hit base of gas-water heater and car stopped. Windshield was fully damaged, upper hood was bended, right mirror was broken and front of car was also hit but airbag did not pop up because right side mirror could have reduced speed before front hit gas-water heater. Big tragedy was avoided because water heater was gas based and it was on. Also right side both doors were touched to wall so cannot be opened. My two sons 2 years and 8 years were inside care and left side back door had child lock so only door can be opened was driver side which my wife was driving and she was scared to death with this incident. Luckily fire did not start and we all were able to come out safely. I called local Toyota dealer twice and he refused to listen me saying this car 2006 Camry is not part of Toyota recall and if you have to report this incident call Toyota's corporate number. I call Toyota number twice and they also mentioned that this model is not part of recall. I clearly told them that I wanted to report this incident so other people will know that something could happen with this model car also. At the sametime I called my auto insurance company and they advised me to tow car to repair facility. As of now repair is in progress and I am expecting to get car by end of next week. I would like NHTSA to investigate this type of incident.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #35

Oct 122008

Camry

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. While attempting to stop at a stop sign, the contact noticed that the brakes would momentarily disengage increasing his stopping distance. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 36000.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #34

Dec 042009

Camry

  • 37,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Camry crashed at 6:40pm of Dec. 4, 2009. When I was near to exit 65 of highway 26 (beaverton, or), the car in front of me put on brakes. I put on brakes too and the distance between my car and the car in front of me was about 50 meters. But my car accelerated until it hit the car in front of me. Historically I knew my car automatically accelerated sometimes. But it seems only last for a few seconds when I drove it downhill. Currently Toyota's recall only includes Camry model after 2007. I think Camry 2006 should be investigated too.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #33

Dec 152009

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
When I turn on the engine, my 2006 Camry engine does not return to normal idling either at all or not for a long period of time. It doesn't go back to normal idling speed - - the car will continue to roll forward and the brake must be applied to keep it from going forward.

- Deerfield, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?