Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 10 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Jan 232014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 101,666 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my 2007 Toyota Camry I have noticed that the front dashboard became very shiny and become very sticky and has since started to deteriorate. The shine coming from the dashboard reflects and causes a harsh glare which makes it very hard to see through the windshield. Also, the passenger side air bag sensor is not working, it remains off no matter what. Not sure if this is related to the dashboard melting but I have searched the internet and have seen several complaints of this same issue.

- Willis, TX, USA

problem #54

Jul 172013

Camry

  • 78,000 miles
When I bought the car I didn't notice that the dash was so sticky. It is really bad like it is melting and if you touch it and your nail hits it. It takes a big chuck out of the dashboard so upset about this. I noticed alot of complaints so sad. It just looks terrible and dusty cause you can not touch it unless your hand sticks to it.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #53

May 032009

Camry

  • miles
My husband and I own a 2007 Toyota Camry which we purchased in 2007 from mike erdman Toyota in merritt island, fl. In 2009, while cleaning the dashboard with a damp cloth with water, I noticed the top of the dashboard was gummy and sticky. I googled information on this in 2009, but there wasn't a lot of information on it back then. Since then, my dashboard had gotten worse and there is a glare on my windshield that makes it very dangerous to drive. On April 17, 2014, I called mike erdman Toyota where we purchased the car and the service area representative, [xxx] told me that they are aware of the problem but they were informed by Toyota that only customers that have been "loyal" customers who have had their maintenance and service work done at the dealership would have the problem fixed. I was appalled that she would say that to me. I told her that I go where I want to go to get my car serviced and I felt that what she just said to me was like blackmail. I asked to speak with a manager but she said she would talk to him. She called me back the same day and said the manager would give me an answer tomorrow (4/18/14). By 5:00 on 4/18/14 when I didn't get a call back, I called [xxx]. she said her boss said the cost of the job would be $1,652. And that they would give me 20% off ($330.). I said why would I have to pay anything for a defective part? she said she didn't know if it was defective. I said it is. All she had to do is google Toyota Camry sticky dashboards and she will come up with a whole lot of people with the same exact problem. She said she doesn't believe everything she reads on the internet. She admitted to me the day before that there was indeed a problem. I informed her I was going to get in touch with Toyota and she said "fine". information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #52

Sep 102012

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The dashboard of my vehicle has become very sticky and shiny causing a visibility hazard due to the reflection on the windshield. The dealer advised that the only "remedy" is to replace the dashboard since I am unable to even touch the surface to possibly wipe off the shine. Toyota (all vehicle manufacturers for the matter) should be charged with the responsibility of installing materials that do not become a hazard to drivers over time.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #51

Mar 012008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
My dash board is melting and it reflect glares on windshield so bad you can hardly see when sunny outside.

- Pageland, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #50

Mar 012012

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
Over the past couple years I have noticed that the dash on my 2007 Camry has started to change. It has become sticky and is starting to peel away from the underlying foam. It appears to be worse on the upper portion of the dash where the sun/heat would shine. When I contacted my local dealership about this issue at my last service they said they were unaware of the problem and that I must have used a chemical to cause this problem. I told them that I had done some research about this and that it seems to be a common problem with this year/model. They told me I would need a new dash. It would take a day and a half to install and cost just under $2100. I purchased this car new December 2006. It has been well taken care of, never used any chemicals on the dash to have caused this issue.

- Leeds, AL, USA

problem #49

Jul 012008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard is melting. Whenever sun is up, reflection from this melted dashboard on windshield is so bad, you can't even see good.

- Marshville, NC, USA

problem #48

Jul 282011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 62,341 miles
The dash has become very sticky and shiny like it is melting. When you drive towards the sun, the glare off the shiny dash is so bad you cannot see out of the windshield. Toyota will not recognize that there is a problem and will only give a small loyalty amount towards the repair since the vehicle is out of warranty. I have been talking to Toyota for since 2011 and they are not willing to help. This is a tremendous safety issue.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #47

Mar 122013

Camry

  • 49,000 miles
I purchased a new Toyota Camry 2007, I have cared for the car well, have kept it in my garage, and do not use everyday. About 8 months ago, I noticed that parts of the dashboard were beginning to peel off. I took my car to the dealership and they told me that this was due to the heat and to not touch it. Over the last four months the peeling on the dashboard has grown worse.the dashboard now looks shiny as if oil has been applied to the surface. When touched it feels sticky. I took the car to the dealership again and I was told it was due to the high temperature in Florida, and that they could not fix it, because my warranty had expire. They told me that this was a common problem with Toyota models manufacture between 2007 and 2010 yet they never did a recall for this factory defect. I talked to corporate and they are willing to pay half. I don't believe this is fair as it is not my fault that Toyota used low quality material that has been unable to withstand heat in Florida. I would appreciate if you could take some action to help address this matter. Thank you.

- Wesley Chapel , FL, USA

problem #46

Jan 012013

Camry

  • miles
I own a 2007 Camry. The dashboard of the car is melting, surface is very sticky, shiny and when touched with finger it is coming off like glue. While driving the surface is so glossy it creates very bright glare from sun light, sometimes it blinds driver's road visibility creating a potential road hazard. Dashboard surface has turned into a very soft material and it can be easily scraped off.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #45

Nov 012013

Camry

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oiliness dashboard is making driving difficult while driving towards sun, it is reflecting the light towards my eyes. When I searched for the solution in internet, I have seen many other people are also having same problem with 2007 Camry.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #44

Apr 022012

Camry

  • 38,960 miles
Dashboard has become sticky and shiny and appears to be melting. This cause an extreme glare on the windshield from the reflection.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #43

Aug 122013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The dashboard near to the windshield is tacky and sticky. It appears that the dash is releasing a chemical similar to glue. I've contacted multiple Toyota dealerships and Toyota directly and they claim to have never heard of this issue. But a simple search of the internet shows this happening nationwide. I did purchase my 2007 Toyota Camry SE new at the end of 2006. My windows are tinted with 20% and I use a sunshade regularly and this problem has become more evident this past month/

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #42

Mar 092013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
I have been driving for 11 years, I have only owned Toyota's. I am extremely disappointed with my most recent Camry purchase. My dashboard is completely coming to pieces!!! its extremely soft and delicate. Cannot be touched in heat or pieces will come off, and deep scratches are made from the passing of a finger nail. I have never seen something like this in my life. I am disappointed in the dash board material. I take well care of my cars, washing it weekly. I will probably reconsider purchasing another Toyota, I thought I was getting my money's worth...apparently im getting what I paid for. What a fail!! its only 6 years old and it looks more worn out than the first Camry I ever owned! interior material is cheap. Honestly considering turning in my 2007 Toyota Camry for a better quality vehicle. Heartbreaking to see my hard earned money come to pieces before I have even finished paying for it. Repairing it out of my pocket is not even an option.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #41

Aug 142013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 16,400 miles
I have a 2007 lecamry and my wife noticed a couple of weeks ago that the dashboard was real sticky I tried cleaning with a rag with water also noticed that the windshield was getting real hazy I tried to clean that even went to a glass company. I called lou fusz in St. Louis, mo. Made an appointment with them on 8-30-2013 they called the manufacture up Toyota they said it was past the warranty she called the extended warranty company up they said it was not covered. Lou fusz came to the conclusion that the dash was causing the haziness on the windshield they said that they could replace the dash for $1600.this dash is dangerous it is putting a chemical called plasticsizes out it bubbles and the dash is comming off this is ridiculous that Toyota can get by with this can a class action lawsuit be brought against Toyota there seems to be a lot of cars all over the country doing this can you contact me on this thank you [xxxx] [xxxx] [xxxx] [xxxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #40

Aug 052013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 86,365 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry and I purchased a extended warranty when I bought the car in 2007 that warranty expired August 1, 2013 a few days after it had expired my driver side visor will not stay up! I do not hang anything on it like cd holder or anything. It is driving me crazy because it makes it very hard to see the road when I am driving and I feel this should be recalled sense there has been multiple complaints for the 2007 Camry with this same situation and it is a safety problem for many Camry owners. The visor sometimes even hits me in the head when I try to get out of my car. I have had many issues with this car from day one and I am not very happy that this has not been recalled yet. Seems like Toyota does not care for the safety of their customers. Also on top of the visor my shock coil broke on the passenger side which the extended warranty did cover sense it happened before August 1st but now the strut is leaking oil on that same side, I brought it to the Toyota dealer in June 2013 and they told me they won't replace it because even though it is leaking oil it is not 100% broken yet and told me the warranty wont cover it until it completely blows! I told them I have a young child that I have to think of this safety along with mine and was shocked that even though it is leaking oil (which is not good) cause at any moment while driving it can bust that Toyota doesn't recognize it, its not like it will heal on its own so I feel it should have been replaced under my warranty that I paid almost $1000 for when I purchased the car! I hope Toyota will recall the visor issue for their customers. I am going to contact Toyota directly on Monday to see if I can get anywhere with this safety issue.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #39

Jun 012012

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
Dashboard has melted and is very shiny. It causes a glare while driving on sunny days. Dashboard peels off when rubbing against it.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #38

Jan 012012

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
I have a gen6 Toyota Camry with a dash that has been getting sticky and seems to be melting. This has been slowly getting worse over the past 2 years. This has never been cleaned with chemicals other than soap and water. The dash closest to the window has become 'glossy' to the point of causing visibility issues and reflection of exterior lighting. I have searched the web extensively and there seems to be no 'one' answer. Some dealers are replacing dash, some are offering to cover materials and some only offering 10-20% discounts. Can you contact me or refer me to the proper department to submit a claim for a replacement. As this is clearly a Toyota 'product related' problem, I would expect that Toyota would have a resolution to fix/replace the dash as needed.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #37

Apr 092012

Camry

  • miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry and the dashboard is melting. The dashboard towards the windshield is always in a liquid state and the rest of the dashboard is soft. In the sunshine and at night under street lights the dashboard reflects a glare onto the windshield that impairs the drivers entire vision of the road. Also on the passenger side of the dashboard the outline of the airbag compartment can be seen. I believe the glare on the windshield is a hazard and due to the current condition of the dashboard the passenger airbag may fail to deploy when needed. The dashboard has not been treated with chemicals that may have caused this problem. It has always been cleaned with a wet wash cloth.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #36

Apr 092012

Camry

  • miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry and the dashboard is melting. The dashboard towards the windshield is always in a liquid state and the rest of the dashboard is soft. In the sunshine and at night under street lights the dashboard reflects a glare onto the windshield that impairs the drivers entire vision of the road. Also on the passenger side of the dashboard the outline of the airbag compartment can be seen. I believe the glare on the windshield is a hazard and due to the current condition of the dashboard the passenger airbag may fail to deploy when needed. The dashboard has not been treated with chemicals that may have caused this problem. It has always been cleaned with a wet wash cloth.

- Naples, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?