Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,364 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 5 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #102

Jan 022015

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No oil on dipstick, engine oil light came on whenever vehicle came to a stop. Took more than two quarts of oil to bring it to correct level.

- Northport, AL, USA

problem #101

Dec 012014

Camry

  • 132,000 miles
Excessive oil consumption was noticed in this vehicle around December 2014. The dealer refuses to deal with it considering 1 quart for every 1,000 miles is normal.

- Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

problem #100

Dec 262006

Camry

  • 35,000 miles
We bought this brand new 2007 Camry from dealer back in 2006. It has been maintained through Toyota dealers (longo Toyota most of time) since then. In Jan 2012, the engine sounded abnormal. We took it to the dealer and was told that there was oil "leaking" and the car was out of warranty. We paid out of own pocket to fix the "oil leaking" as suggested by the dealer, but the oil still keeps disappearing after around 2000 miles' driving. Now it is getting worse and worse, I have to check oil level and add 1 quart every 500 miles!

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #99

Jan 202015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 75,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving about 30 miles an hour and approaching a stop sign and suddenly, all dashboard lights come on, the brakes stopped functioning. I lost control of the car briefly but was able to regain it and was eventually able to bring it to a stop.

- Loma Linda, CA, USA

problem #98

Jan 092015

Camry

  • 141,000 miles
I was driving the Camry when I reached a complete stop my check engine light came on, didn't really notice any change, two days later I notice gas consumption has increased. I took the Camry into dealer, dealer diagnosed the check engine to be a faulty O2 sensor. Replaced O2 sensor and drove off to pick up my kids from school, as we are driving home, I came to a traffic light, I stopped and check engine light and ABS light came on idle was disrupted briefly. I proceeded and when trying to stop car the brake pedal had become very tight to were I had to stomp on brakes with all my might to get car to stop. Drop kids off at home waited 15 minutes and started vehicle, ABS light was off but check engine remained on, brake pedal was almost back to normal. I drove car to dealer again, the dealer said it is a faulty brake booster which is allowing too much air into system which in return signals for more fuel to be pumped to compensate vacuum leak. Brake booster not covered under extended warranty, and very costly $1,363.16 parts, labor and taxes, not counting the 4 day rental. This concerns me because I believe this to be a safety issue, if it were my wife driving the Camry with my kids she would not be able to stop the vehicle without any warning. Toyota needs to make this a safety recall before something tragic happens. I looked at Toyota forums and it seems I'm not alone, brake booster for several other Toyota models have gone bad, after 100,000 miles some at 70,000. 2007 Toyota Camry seems like a horrible guinea pig car.

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #97

Sep 272014

Camry

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle and an unknown warning light illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that there was a loud bang sound and smoke appeared under the hood. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 127,000.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #96

Nov 212014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle leaks or burns oil in excess from unknown location or undisclosed location by manufacturer. No oil visible on ground underneath car. Engine was not getting adequate lubrication due to this problem and thus caused engine failure. Vehicle was no longer able to accelerate on freeway and had to be pulled over putting vehicle owner at risk and other drivers on road in danger. The engine is now damaged and is unable to be repaired despite proper maintenance and recommended oil changes as per dealership and owners manual. The engine now has to be replaced. This leakage has been reported by over hundreds of unsatisfied customers and has purposely been disregarded by manufacturer despite the numerous complaints received and made by 2007 Toyota Camry owners. Many of which suffered like this owner and had to pay out of pocket for a new engine despite this being a manufacturer defect that has been neglected.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #95

Nov 012013

Camry

  • 100,000 miles
As I was driving my 2007 Camry, the car just cut off. Prior to cutting off, the battery light flashed and the care hesitated. I waited a few minutes and it crank back up but sputtered. Then the car ran fine. Also, the car is burning a great deal of oil.

- Moody, AL, USA

problem #94

Oct 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
This engine has high engine oil consumption, there is no visible leaks, no blue smoke indication, and oil lamp keeps going of on stops and acceleration. When that happens is because the engine oil is low, even after regular oil changes at mileage and dated recommendations Toyota do have a history of this in late 90' with V6 models due to oil sluggish and appears it's happening again. This is also safety concern cause the vehicle might ceased during operation and can cause an accident on our national highways. Also it is believe that this is manufacturer defect issue and Toyota needs to rectify.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #93

Oct 242013

Camry

  • miles
Excessive oil consumption.

- Finksburg, MD, USA

problem #92

Sep 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hi, I am disappointed with Toyota. On September 23rd, 2014 my "oil pressure light "came on, and then again on 09-26-14. I always regularly serviced my car at the Toyota dealer. At first I said "ok it's time for an oil change", but the miles that I used so far it was not ready to be scheduled for an oil change yet. I immediately knew that there was a problem with my car. I did some research and learned that I was not the only one having this problem. I don't have a couple of thousands to pay for the repair; especially since this is not my fault. Is Toyota planning on paying for this defect for their loyal customers? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #91

Sep 252014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Unit jerks and stalls, burns oil.some times white smoke comes from the tail pipe. Oil has to be replaced constantly after oil change, recommended weight 5W20W is used. I have had to replace burned spark plugs. This is a problem and needs to be on a recall list.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #90

Feb 022014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
In early 2014 our 2007 Camry 4-cylinder was getting a general look over. It was discovered there was barely any oil touching the tip of the dip stick. We immediately had the oil changed by a local mechanic. I then stated to him that the dip stick was showing a tiny amount of oil on the tip of the stick and that it surely had no oil. He then told me that when it was drained it did have some oil remaining. It almost seems that the dipstick does not properly measure the oil. I did some research on the matter and discovered that there is a growing issue involving oil consumption on these engines across numerous models. It also seems bizarre that they state in the owners manual what Toyota considers normal engine oil consumption: 1 quart per 1,200 miles. If the car only holds slightly over 4 liters and the service intervals are 5,000 miles it seems pretty off that they would call that normal. Since the discovery of the oil usage we've kept a close eye on it and are adding oil every 1500 miles. Recently I have been noticing a light blue tint to the exhaust when the car starts and when I drive behind it going up a hill. Issuing a recall would certainly not help Toyota recent recall history and it would be a expensive thing to fix on so many effected vehicles but at this point Toyota needs to be told to recall them. They need to act with integrity.

- Smithville , MO, USA

problem #89

Jun 012012

Camry

  • 115,000 miles
With the 2007 Toyota Camry, I am the original owner and have no complaints up to this point. Each recall or issue under warranty was handled as expected. When I was told that my car was down 2 quarts at an oil change, I was shocked as I had not seen the car leaving oil marks. The car has not been leaking oil, burning oil rather. I have had to check the oil weekly for the last several months and have had to add at least a quart a week. The car is "puffing" white smoke when turned on and while driving. When I took the car to the Toyota dealer, I was told I need an engine rebuild, new pistons, rings, etc and the cost would be $2850. After a total of 3 mechanical opinions, I was told that this may or may not fix the problem. I was guaranteed a one year/12000 mile warranty from the dealer and that this may happen again or other parts of the engine not fixed may fail. I am concerned that Toyota is supposedly America's most reliable car brand and that the engine has failed at this few miles. After reviewing and research, I see that many other of the same complaints are happening to Toyota owners. Please help!

- Lansing , MI, USA

problem #88

May 122014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 135,458 miles
The car consumes oil excessively. More than 2 quarts low after 1500 miles.

- Lockport, IL, USA

problem #87

May 212012

Camry

  • 61,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry SE 2.4L 2az-fe burns through oil at an unusual rate. So unusual that I'm forced to keep a keen eye on it every few weeks. There are no leaks. I bought the car 'certified' from a Toyota dealership and after month of driving it, I noticed the oil being lower than I expected (my normal due diligence of upkeep). When I brought it back to my dealer, they said it 'was normal' to burn through a certain amount of oil. At the time I was not 'burning enough' oil to deem it an issue. The dealership I bought it from was also a couple hours away so going there often was not an option. I also called corporate and they instructed and contacted the dealership where I bought it, to look into it. Only thing I got out of it was an oil change. It's been since 2 years removed since I bought the car and it still burns rapidly, I'm only assuming it's going to get worse. I bought it with 61000 miles and now have 83000 miles on it. Seeing more and more complaints about this severe defect constitutes action on Toyota part, and not through tsb but a recall as costly as that may be if I am to remain a local Toyota fanatic.

- Ludlow, MA, USA

problem #86

Apr 012013

Camry

  • 75,000 miles
I began noticing during my regular oil change maintenance at 3000-5000 miles, that closer to required oil change my oil light would engage during braking. I didn't think anything of it at first, but began noticing it at a consistent rate. When I had my oil changed at 90,000 miles the service person indicated I only had about 1 1/2 quarts removed from the car. I thought I had an oil leak of some sort, but I never have had any significant discharge from my oil pan, oil filter and so forth in my driveway. I went to my son who is a mechanic, and he said he saw little sign of any leakage, and I must be burning it. So he suggested I get online, and look for similar incidents, and now I see 2007 is a popular year for this type of issue. I have yet to bring it to a dealers attention, and see no re-call or manufacturers problem advertised by Toyota.

- Brookeville, MD, USA

problem #85

Dec 292012

Camry

  • 76,520 miles
I took my car for an oil change at 85 thousand miles to a local mechanic, and I was told that my card did not have much oil, of course I blamed them, I thought they were lying. I always have my oil change every 5 thousand miles and did not have a problem before. I took the car to be inspected by another mechanic; he found no oil leaks. The mechanic told me that the problem is with piston rings and it will cost me a lot to fix it. Since I cannot effort to get it fix right now, I been adding at least a 1.5 quarter of oil every 2,000 miles. On December 2012 I had problems with 4 front struts leaking and water pump. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #84

Dec 292012

Camry

  • 76,520 miles
On December 29, 2012 the dealer told me that the water pump was leaking and needed to be replaced as well as the 4 front struts. February 2014 took the car for an oil change 85 thousand miles. Told that my card did not have much oil, of course I blamed them, I thought they were lying. Because I always have my oil change every 5 thousand miles, so I asked them to check their records. I took the car to be inspected another mechanic, the car has no oil leak. I took the car to be inspected another mechanic, the car has no oil leak. I mechanic told me that problems is with piston rings and it will cost me a lot to fix it. Since I cannot effort to get it fix I been adding 1.5 quarter of oil every 2,000 miles.

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #83

Jul 032014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Earlier this year, my 2007 Toyota Camry started producing some whitish smoke when starting the engine. More recently, the engine began sounding noisy when accelerating - more of a rattle or clacking than a knocking sound. I had it checked out and the mechanic didn't see any leaks, but mentioned that it could be engine components that were machined properly and started to show as the car got more mileage. While traveling on the highway a couple weeks ago at 70mph, my car started to lose power and the engine was sounding worse and worse. I managed to get to the shoulder of the highway just before the engine sputtered and died out. When I tried to restart the car, there was a loud banging and clanging in the motor and the motor then died. The mechanic said that my car had thrown a rod and it shredded the motor. My options were: 1) rebuild the motor from dealer parts - $8-9K! 2) have a rebuilt motor installed - $6-7K! 3) have a salvaged motor installed - $5-6K! options 1 and 2 didn't make much sense as that would be very close to the current blue book value. I had my car towed to my local mechanic and managed to get option 3 done for $4500. Still a lot more than I was hoping or needing to spend. Both mechanics mentioned that they had seen a number of 07 Camry with motor problems, including one very recently that was the same as my damage. The salvaged motor I had installed was at 59K miles and I'm really hoping that I don't have similar problems. This makes me very concerned for the quality of Toyota cars.

- Pearland, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?