Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,331 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #96

Nov 212014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles


Vehicle leaks or burns oil in excess from unknown location or undisclosed location by manufacturer. No oil visible on ground underneath car. Engine was not getting adequate lubrication due to this problem and thus caused engine failure. Vehicle was no longer able to accelerate on freeway and had to be pulled over putting vehicle owner at risk and other drivers on road in danger. The engine is now damaged and is unable to be repaired despite proper maintenance and recommended oil changes as per dealership and owners manual. The engine now has to be replaced. This leakage has been reported by over hundreds of unsatisfied customers and has purposely been disregarded by manufacturer despite the numerous complaints received and made by 2007 Toyota Camry owners. Many of which suffered like this owner and had to pay out of pocket for a new engine despite this being a manufacturer defect that has been neglected.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #95

Nov 012013


  • 100,000 miles
As I was driving my 2007 Camry, the car just cut off. Prior to cutting off, the battery light flashed and the care hesitated. I waited a few minutes and it crank back up but sputtered. Then the car ran fine. Also, the car is burning a great deal of oil.

- Moody, AL, USA

problem #94

Oct 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
This engine has high engine oil consumption, there is no visible leaks, no blue smoke indication, and oil lamp keeps going of on stops and acceleration. When that happens is because the engine oil is low, even after regular oil changes at mileage and dated recommendations Toyota do have a history of this in late 90' with V6 models due to oil sluggish and appears it's happening again. This is also safety concern cause the vehicle might ceased during operation and can cause an accident on our national highways. Also it is believe that this is manufacturer defect issue and Toyota needs to rectify.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #93

Oct 242013


  • miles


Excessive oil consumption.

- Finksburg, MD, USA

problem #92

Sep 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,800 miles
Hi, I am disappointed with Toyota. On September 23rd, 2014 my "oil pressure light "came on, and then again on 09-26-14. I always regularly serviced my car at the Toyota dealer. At first I said "ok it's time for an oil change", but the miles that I used so far it was not ready to be scheduled for an oil change yet. I immediately knew that there was a problem with my car. I did some research and learned that I was not the only one having this problem. I don't have a couple of thousands to pay for the repair; especially since this is not my fault. Is Toyota planning on paying for this defect for their loyal customers? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #91

Sep 252014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Unit jerks and stalls, burns oil.some times white smoke comes from the tail pipe. Oil has to be replaced constantly after oil change, recommended weight 5W20W is used. I have had to replace burned spark plugs. This is a problem and needs to be on a recall list.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #90

Feb 022014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


In early 2014 our 2007 Camry 4-cylinder was getting a general look over. It was discovered there was barely any oil touching the tip of the dip stick. We immediately had the oil changed by a local mechanic. I then stated to him that the dip stick was showing a tiny amount of oil on the tip of the stick and that it surely had no oil. He then told me that when it was drained it did have some oil remaining. It almost seems that the dipstick does not properly measure the oil. I did some research on the matter and discovered that there is a growing issue involving oil consumption on these engines across numerous models. It also seems bizarre that they state in the owners manual what Toyota considers normal engine oil consumption: 1 quart per 1,200 miles. If the car only holds slightly over 4 liters and the service intervals are 5,000 miles it seems pretty off that they would call that normal. Since the discovery of the oil usage we've kept a close eye on it and are adding oil every 1500 miles. Recently I have been noticing a light blue tint to the exhaust when the car starts and when I drive behind it going up a hill. Issuing a recall would certainly not help Toyota recent recall history and it would be a expensive thing to fix on so many effected vehicles but at this point Toyota needs to be told to recall them. They need to act with integrity.

- Smithville , MO, USA

problem #89

Jun 012012


  • 115,000 miles
With the 2007 Toyota Camry, I am the original owner and have no complaints up to this point. Each recall or issue under warranty was handled as expected. When I was told that my car was down 2 quarts at an oil change, I was shocked as I had not seen the car leaving oil marks. The car has not been leaking oil, burning oil rather. I have had to check the oil weekly for the last several months and have had to add at least a quart a week. The car is "puffing" white smoke when turned on and while driving. When I took the car to the Toyota dealer, I was told I need an engine rebuild, new pistons, rings, etc and the cost would be $2850. After a total of 3 mechanical opinions, I was told that this may or may not fix the problem. I was guaranteed a one year/12000 mile warranty from the dealer and that this may happen again or other parts of the engine not fixed may fail. I am concerned that Toyota is supposedly America's most reliable car brand and that the engine has failed at this few miles. After reviewing and research, I see that many other of the same complaints are happening to Toyota owners. Please help!

- Lansing , MI, USA

problem #88

May 122014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 135,458 miles
The car consumes oil excessively. More than 2 quarts low after 1500 miles.

- Lockport, IL, USA

problem #87

May 212012


  • 61,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry SE 2.4L 2az-fe burns through oil at an unusual rate. So unusual that I'm forced to keep a keen eye on it every few weeks. There are no leaks. I bought the car 'certified' from a Toyota dealership and after month of driving it, I noticed the oil being lower than I expected (my normal due diligence of upkeep). When I brought it back to my dealer, they said it 'was normal' to burn through a certain amount of oil. At the time I was not 'burning enough' oil to deem it an issue. The dealership I bought it from was also a couple hours away so going there often was not an option. I also called corporate and they instructed and contacted the dealership where I bought it, to look into it. Only thing I got out of it was an oil change. It's been since 2 years removed since I bought the car and it still burns rapidly, I'm only assuming it's going to get worse. I bought it with 61000 miles and now have 83000 miles on it. Seeing more and more complaints about this severe defect constitutes action on Toyota part, and not through tsb but a recall as costly as that may be if I am to remain a local Toyota fanatic.

- Ludlow, MA, USA

problem #86

Apr 012013


  • 75,000 miles


I began noticing during my regular oil change maintenance at 3000-5000 miles, that closer to required oil change my oil light would engage during braking. I didn't think anything of it at first, but began noticing it at a consistent rate. When I had my oil changed at 90,000 miles the service person indicated I only had about 1 1/2 quarts removed from the car. I thought I had an oil leak of some sort, but I never have had any significant discharge from my oil pan, oil filter and so forth in my driveway. I went to my son who is a mechanic, and he said he saw little sign of any leakage, and I must be burning it. So he suggested I get online, and look for similar incidents, and now I see 2007 is a popular year for this type of issue. I have yet to bring it to a dealers attention, and see no re-call or manufacturers problem advertised by Toyota.

- Brookeville, MD, USA

problem #85

Dec 292012


  • 76,520 miles
I took my car for an oil change at 85 thousand miles to a local mechanic, and I was told that my card did not have much oil, of course I blamed them, I thought they were lying. I always have my oil change every 5 thousand miles and did not have a problem before. I took the car to be inspected by another mechanic; he found no oil leaks. The mechanic told me that the problem is with piston rings and it will cost me a lot to fix it. Since I cannot effort to get it fix right now, I been adding at least a 1.5 quarter of oil every 2,000 miles. On December 2012 I had problems with 4 front struts leaking and water pump. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #84

Dec 292012


  • 76,520 miles
On December 29, 2012 the dealer told me that the water pump was leaking and needed to be replaced as well as the 4 front struts. February 2014 took the car for an oil change 85 thousand miles. Told that my card did not have much oil, of course I blamed them, I thought they were lying. Because I always have my oil change every 5 thousand miles, so I asked them to check their records. I took the car to be inspected another mechanic, the car has no oil leak. I took the car to be inspected another mechanic, the car has no oil leak. I mechanic told me that problems is with piston rings and it will cost me a lot to fix it. Since I cannot effort to get it fix I been adding 1.5 quarter of oil every 2,000 miles.

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #83

Jul 032014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Earlier this year, my 2007 Toyota Camry started producing some whitish smoke when starting the engine. More recently, the engine began sounding noisy when accelerating - more of a rattle or clacking than a knocking sound. I had it checked out and the mechanic didn't see any leaks, but mentioned that it could be engine components that were machined properly and started to show as the car got more mileage. While traveling on the highway a couple weeks ago at 70mph, my car started to lose power and the engine was sounding worse and worse. I managed to get to the shoulder of the highway just before the engine sputtered and died out. When I tried to restart the car, there was a loud banging and clanging in the motor and the motor then died. The mechanic said that my car had thrown a rod and it shredded the motor. My options were: 1) rebuild the motor from dealer parts - $8-9K! 2) have a rebuilt motor installed - $6-7K! 3) have a salvaged motor installed - $5-6K! options 1 and 2 didn't make much sense as that would be very close to the current blue book value. I had my car towed to my local mechanic and managed to get option 3 done for $4500. Still a lot more than I was hoping or needing to spend. Both mechanics mentioned that they had seen a number of 07 Camry with motor problems, including one very recently that was the same as my damage. The salvaged motor I had installed was at 59K miles and I'm really hoping that I don't have similar problems. This makes me very concerned for the quality of Toyota cars.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #82

Jun 112013


  • 100,200 miles
The engine light goes on before the scheduled oil change because there is no oil and the stick is dry. Because of this problem I have to refill the oil frequently. I was told by the service people that the oil is burning out, which has a negative effect on the environment.

- Ossining, NY, USA

problem #81

Jun 082010


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was burning excessive oil and the low pressure oil warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was confirmed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Bluffton, IN, USA

problem #80

Dec 262013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 112,187 miles
Vehicle has been maintained at two area Toyota dealers since purchased. Maintenance intervals were closely adhered to, and no problems were ever reported by the service people regarding engine performance or oil consumption. During a December 2013 vehicle service at an authorized dealership, service technician reported that the oil pan seal and the valve cover gasket needed to be replaced due to oil leakage. I (owner) inspect vehicle frequently, and knew this was not the case. Between vehicle servicing dates, I checked the oil and found it to be too low to register on the oil dipstick. I added the grade of oil indicated on the oil fill cap and made an appointment at an independent certified auto shop. I also inspected the engine frequently for leakage at the oil pan and valve cover, and observed no oil leaks.the independent certified shop inspected the vehicle, and found no signs of leakage. The independent certified shop performed the routine service, including oil change, and provided the Toyota 2011 service bulletin that described the excessive oil consumption and Toyota's own suggested repair. This lead me to research the engine, and I found that this is likely a significant and widespread defect that Toyota identified as early as 2008. As a commuter, I fear the excessive oil consumption could lead to premature engine wear, resulting in catastrophic engine failure.

- Canby, OR, USA

problem #79

Dec 242013


  • 140,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage was 148,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #78

Sep 022013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry with miles of 127,000 that is burning oil about every 1000 miles driven on it. The car is taken care of oil is changed every 3000 miles. It does not leak. I do not understand why so many people are complaining on this matter and nothing has been done to fix this problem. I have owned 3 other Toyota's and have never had this problem before on any of them. If Toyota knows about this problem why is this not been recalled. I have also been told by a Toyota mechanic that the 2007 Toyota's do have bad blocks in them and Toyota is not doing anything with this problem.

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #77

May 252014


  • 50,000 miles
I purchased my 2007 Toyota Camry in July 2006, new. At approximately 50K miles, when turning corners my engine sounded like it was stalling, the accelerator did not work, and a "low engine fuel" warning came on. I took my car into the dealership and was assured by the dealership that there was nothing wrong with my car. This same incident occurred at least 7 times since and each time I was assured by the dealership that there was nothing wrong with my car. My car was still under factory warranty, and then my extended warranty when these incidents first occurred. I'm now at 108K miles. For the past two weeks while driving and turning corners, the "low engine fuel" warning displayed briefly. Since the dealership previously assured me that nothing was wrong with my car, and my car had 2K more miles before my next oil change, I continued to drive my car. Then on Sunday, June 25th I decided to have auto zone take a look at my car. To my utter surprise, there was absolutely no oil on the stick when the auto zone guy checked my oil levels. I purchased two quarts of oil and the auto zone guy put the oil in my car. The following Saturday I took my car to my usual Toyota dealership and explained my experience. The service advisor informed me that my piston is probably worn out and oil is probably leaking into my engine, which would be a $4K repair cost. As I stated to the service advisor, at any moment my car can conk out while driving, because oil is leaking into my engine and the only time a warning appears is when I turn corners. If I'm driving on a highway where speeds are in excess of 80 mph, and my car conks out because oil is leaking into my engine, that is a huge safety concern. A service technician who overheard our conversation stated, "yeah, the engines on those cars are a piece of junk." Toyota refuses financial responsibility.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?