Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,653 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Aug 062010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At about 75000 miles my Camry started burning 1+ quarts of oil between oil changes. Now at 84000 miles it is burning 1.5+ quarts between oil changes. With this increased excessive burn rate the car must now be monitored regularly to prevent engine from running out oil and ceasing up the engine. From discussions on several websites this is a known problem which effects a lot of Camry and which Toyota refuses to correct. They state a quart burned in 1200 miles is normal which is a really stupid thing to say. Toyota once again is failing to step up to owning the problem. Also, as all these engines are needlessly burning thousands of quarts of oil due to low reliability parts, we are very much creating a lot of air pollution. I wonder what the epa thinks of this?

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #47

Oct 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 111,265 miles
I purchased this vehicle from sheehy Nissan on Sept. 25, 2010, with 89,720 miles, one previous owner and no accidents/damage reported to carfax, after having a state inspection done of all major systems. I have the oil changed at regular intervals (most recently, Sept. 23, 2011 at 110,990 miles) and had 100K mile servicing done on July 19, 2011. The engine failed during a drive to New York. Climbing the bridge out of Delaware, the rpms abnormally increased. I saw the oil light illuminate, turned off the radio, opened the window and heard the engine making loud noises. I pulled to the shoulder on the approach to the New Jersey turnpike. When the car came to a stop, the engine stalled and would not restart. The temperature gauge remained at the mid-way point, but a greasy film covered the back bumper. Aaa towed it back to my shop, where mechanics said they could not get the engine to turn. They said the oil pump had failed. Oil was in the engine but wasn't circulating, and they found fresh oil and metal shavings in the pan. I paid $3,819 for a complete engine rebuild for a four-year old car. Searching the internet and this website, I see a number of owners of 2007 Toyota Camry highlighting problems with the car's engine, including sludge build up. I have received no information from the dealer about recalls. The used car warranty covered the engine but its duration was 30 days or 1K miles, whichever came first. In addition, the sun visor on the passenger's side continually slips, obscuring the view of traffic on the right, and will not remain in place - a problem I see other owners of this vehicle report. I don't see a place to enter this, but there were no injuries or deaths because I was able to pull out of traffic while the engine was still running.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #46

Jan 162010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
The 2007 Toyota carmy has excessive oil consumption issues and it is concluded that it is a engine defect as no car should lose a quart every 600miles!

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #45

Feb 182011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 110,123 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Camry SE burning oil on engine. Dealer advised I would need a new engine at a cost of $7200 to replace. Dealer advised to check oil every 1000 mile. Although I don't see oil leaks, I am having to add oil every 1000 miles. Dealer's service tech attributed it to not getting the oil changes, however, I have service records to prove otherwise as dealer maintained by 3 Toyota dearlers. With 115K miles and still making payments, dealer advised new engine, gasket and seals would correct the problem. I am learning of other 07 Camry owners with same problem.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #44

Mar 092011

Camry

  • 80,942 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated the vehicle was consuming oil at an excessive rate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was advised to bring the vehicle back after 1,000 miles so they could further diagnose the failure. The failure had yet to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and they informed the vehicle was out of warranty and that there were no active recalls. The manufacturer offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 80,942.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #43

Mar 272011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle began shaking violently. The contact replaced three sets of motor mounts as a result of them breaking. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and referred her to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage 50,000 was and current mileage was 52,000. Updated 06/07/11 updated 1/19/2012

- Childersburg, AL, USA

problem #42

Apr 162010

Camry

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. Before the contact changed his oil, he noticed that the dip stick indicated a low oil level even though the vehicle was only driven 2,000 miles. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told that the vehicle was operating normally. The failure mileage was approximately 46,000 and the current mileage was approximately 81,000.

- Worchester, MA, USA

problem #41

Aug 182010

Camry

  • 86,300 miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Initially when the car was turned on the brake light, and ABS light would come on along with the tachometer, speedometer would begin racing while in park. At this time the engine cooling system would go down to "C" this happened half a dozen times and it was taken to Toyota dealers. I spent $618 for repairs and I was told the car was fixed. Toyota dealer also stated I was able to drive the car and there would be no problems. After spending money for repairs within 24 hours the problem began again. Now this time not only when you were in park would the lights come on the began coming on while I was driving. So I could not tell what speeds I was doing and unable to tell if I had brakes when the light came on. So it was taken back to the same dealership and this time they want to replace skid control ECU/actuator per tech line and want me to spend over $2000 to fix the problem even though I have a bill of sale that states problem was fixed just days before.

- Carlyle, IL, USA

problem #40

May 302010

Camry

  • 31,374 miles
Drove approx. 1/4 mile car lost power, with a strange metal grinding noise, all warning lights came on (lost power steering & brake capability) then stalled. Put vehicle in neutral then turned engine off and let sit approx. 2 or 3 minutes. Car restarted. Took vehicle into dealer: Tech stated performed St insp. No codes & health ck & diagnostic test performed on the vehicle is as the manufacturer intended. Mileage on vehicle: 31,374. 2007 Toyota Camry le auto.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #39

May 212010

Camry

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 10 mph the contact applied the brakes and noticed that the oil light had appeared on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the engine was burning the oil. The dealer added oil to the engine; however, the failure continued to occur. The failure mileage was 70000 and the current mileage was 81000.

- Stock Bridge, GA, USA

problem #38

Aug 212009

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman kagen on behalf of constituent re compensation for Toyota repairs and car rental costs note: Letter forwarded from consumer product safety commission the consumer stated the vvt-I oil line is a rubber hose which routes a high pressure flow of hot engine oil outside the engine block. The rubber deteriorates over time and can unexpectedly break or rupture from 19,000 to over 100,000 miles and can lead to very expensive repairs when running the engine without oil causing severe engine damage. Most owners reported there was no warning from the oil or check engine light and they discovered the problem when they noticed a puddle of oil on the ground. The manufacturing fix was instituted in North America plants in April 2008. The assembly fix was to replace the defective metal and rubber assembly with an all metal oil line. The consumer stated her vehicle lost oil suddenly with no warning. When the consumer approached her vehicle, she noticed a large amount of oil underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was purchased. They were unable to do the repairs, so the vehicle was towed to another establishment where the engine was replaced. According to the letter written by the establishment that replaced the engine; the vehicle's engine had locked up, the engine was tight and oil was all over the engine compartment and under the vehicle. When the engine was removed, they found spun bearings, and the crank and two rods were no good.

- Arbor Vitae, WI, USA

problem #37

Aug 212009

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
S10 appropriate handling owner of a 2007 Toyota Camry vehicle had a defective vvt-oil line that cause severe engine damage. The consumer stated the vvt-I oil line is a rubber hose which routes a high pressure flow of hot engine oil outside the engine block. The rubber deteriorates over time and can unexpectedly break or rupture from 19,000 to over 100,000 miles and can lead to very expensive repairs when running the engine without oil causing severe engine damage. Most owners reported there was no warning from the oil or check engine light and they discovered the problem when they noticed a puddle of oil on the ground. The manufacturing fix was instituted in North America plants in April 2008. The assembly fix was to replace the defective metal and rubber assembly with an all metal oil line. The consumer stated her vehicle lost oil suddenly with no warning. When the consumer approached her vehicle, she noticed a large amount of oil underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was purchased. They were unable to do the repairs, so the vehicle was towed to another establishment where the engine was replaced. According to the letter written by the establishment that replaced the engine; the vehicle's engine had locked up, the engine was tight and oil was all over the engine compartment and under the vehicle. When the engine was removed, they found spun bearings, and the crank and two rods were no good.

- Arbor Vistas, WI, USA

problem #36

Dec 292009

Camry

  • 77,231 miles
Car had a burning oil smell that grew stronger during one day. Finally heard a small ticking noise as I came close to home, smell was worse and I connected the two... hurried home 5 blocks away. Oil trail behind my car to the home. Checked oil, required 4.5 quarts of oil to bring it back to level. Researched on line Toyota owners forum, mention of oil pipe from crankcase to upper head area leaking. A rubber hose that connected two metal hoses failed on other Toyota, ravs and something else. Called Toyota regarding oil leaks.. gave them my VIN # and was informed that my car didn't fall into a service bulletin about the problem, and mileage was over 60K... even though it was exactly like the other cars that are covered. Called the local dealer, brought the car in, related to the service writer my experience as a service writer and mechanic, asked if he could make exception or check with area rep. He did, repair as were covered for me, but only because I knew what I was talking about and a good service writer. Concerned that many others that don't have mechanical experience or good ears won't catch this, engine damage will result if not caught in time and Toyota has not issued a recall for a wider range of cars that have the same issue. They replaced the rubber hose in between the two lines, apparently there is a better fix, a completely metal oil line that prevents oil breaking down the rubber hose.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #35

Mar 302010

Camry

  • 60,800 miles
Heard a load noice on a Camry hybird 2007: And wheni took the car for service check, the dealer informed me with a failed water bump not covered under Toyota warrenty -at a low low milage 60,800

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #34

Mar 102010

Camry

  • 38,721 miles
Attn: Defects investigations office. 2007 Toyota Camry with 38721 miles that is owned by and used as an undercover police vehicle accelerated without explanation on March 10, 2010. The operator, who is a sworn officer, advises that his foot was not on the accelerator and the vehicle increased in speed and engine revolutions without explanation. The event occurred over the course of approximately 1/10th of a mile reaching speeds just over 60 mph. The acceleration event corrected itself. There was no injury or crash associated with the event. The vehicle in question had completed a Toyota recall service program # ssc90L to address acceleration issues with this model vehicle on March 2, 2010. The vehicle was returned to the henrico police on March 3, 2010. The extremely short period of time between the recall service and this sudden unanticipated acceleration event gives reason to believe that the recall service was not effective in correcting the acceleration issues associated with Toyota brand vehicles. The vehicle was parked shortly after the event and is currently secured by the henrico police. The vehicle has not been driven or examined by any parties since the occurrence of this acceleration event. In light of the fact that this vehicle had recently completed the required acceleration recall service and has been secured since the date of the occurrence, this Agency believes that this vehicle is an ideal candidate for examination by the Office Of Defects Investigation to determine the origin of this unanticipated acceleration event. The vehicle in question is outfitted with Toyota brand floor mats which are tethered to anchors in the floorboard of the vehicle.

- Richmond , VA, USA

problem #33

Apr 012009

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling re Toyota problems fm owner of a 2007 Toyota Camry. When the consumer attempted to start the vehicle, it wouldn't start. The consumer checked the oil and discovered there was no oil on the dipstick. The dealer kept the vehicle for three days to replace the battery, alternator and cables. The dealer advised the consumer to check with another dealer about the vehicle burning oil. The oil was about 2.3 quarts low. The short block, gaskets and seals were replaced. A couple of week later, oil was on the garage floor. The consumer returned to the dealer and they replaced the seal again.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #32

Mar 032010

Camry

  • 62,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry le continues to have runaway unintended acceleration despite the vehicle undergoing a series of modifications at a Toyota dealership in auburn, ca. It has happened prior to be fixed and has happened once since being fixed.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #31

Feb 042010

Camry

  • 28,000 miles
At the speed of less than aprox 15-20 miles on a turn, car spun off and lost control. Caused wheels to crash into curb, and severely damaged. Noticed oil on the tire surface. Moved car out of toad way. Car spilled lot of oil. The Toyota dealer assessed, and told us that the oil hose (vvt-I) has ruptured, causing oil leak. Toyota later informed that there is a so called "limited campaign" to replace these hoses. They are denying that the oil leak was the cause of accident. They have not done any thorough investigation. The written response from does not even satisfactorily explain their reasoning for denying claim.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #30

Apr 172009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 15,066 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry le. The contact stated that the vehicle used over a quart and a half of oil in less than 5,000 miles on average. He first noticed the failure in April 2009. He took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that there was no oil consumption problem. He wrote letters to the manufacturer but received no response. The vehicle had not been repaired to-date. The current mileage was approximately 20,800. The failure mileage was 15,066. Updated 03/15/10

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #29

May 302007

Camry

  • 124 miles
We have a 2007 Camry xle and the car surges when the cruise control is on and going up a hill. If the cruise is set for 67mph the car has a about 2300 RPM. Going up a moderate hill, the car downshifts and goes to 3400 RPM. It then surges to 4700 RPM which puts the drivers head into the head rest. The issue has been going on since we bought the car in may of 2007. We called our local dealer(topsham, Maine lee Toyota), and they said it was what the computer was programmed to do. I asked again the 1st time I had it in for service and received the same response. It does only happen with the cruise control on, so we have learned to shut off the cruise control going up any hills. We have a 2nd issue with our 2007 Camry which Toyota refuses to fix. If the rear defrost is turned on while the radio is on, the radio goes dead. The radio antenna and defrost wires are in the same window, and one is shorting out the other. I was told that since no fire occurs to turn off the radio while the rear defrost is on. I have read many similar issues on the internet and told Toyota such.

- Topsham, ME, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?