CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,202.00
Average Mileage:
94,242 miles
Total Complaints:
246 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (155 reports)
  2. rebuild engine or check oil frequently (38 reports)
  3. replace engine (28 reports)
  4. Toyota Canada's head office told me that it is acceptable fo (7 reports)
  5. dealer said it's normal (3 reports)
  6. replace piston assembly (3 reports)
2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #226

Aug 082016

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,239 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After having regularly scheduled oil changes, I am having to put in 1-2 quarts of oil at least twice before the next scheduled oil change. This is very costly and irritating. Any time that I do not check it (because the light does NOT come on) I run the risk of having the engine blow up.

- , Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #225

Dec 212015

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Hi, This is regarding excessive engine oil consumption in my 2007 Toyota Camry LE. I bought it on Feb 16, 2007 in Idaho and have been extremely diligent about oil change every 5000 miles. I have all service records. The car currently has 88000 miles as of Jan 22, 2017 and I started noticing this problem at 75000 miles or so. I came to know about the recall from a friend and went to the dealer in Dec 2015 where they did the 1200 miles, 1 quart consumption test. The result was negative so the dealer gave a pass.

Few months later I randomly checked the dip stick and there wasn't a trace of oil on it. There was no red engine light and I dont even know if I was running my car dry or at a very low level. I immediately added oil to the engine and went to the dealer again (Piercy Toyota in Milpitas). They did the same 1200 miles test and again give it a pass. I went online and read about similar complaints where Toyota has recommended adding 1 quart every 1200 miles. I have been adding 1 quart ever since. So after every oil change at 5000 miles, I have to add 1 quart 3 times in between the oil change which I find extremely absurd. It could be possible that engine is consuming even more.

Toyotas are known for reliability up to 150k, 200k miles, mine hasn't even reached 100k yet. I seriously believe there is a problem in the engine but don't know where to go to get this problem fixed. Thanks

- , San Jose, CA, USA

problem #224

Jun 102015

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 185,000 miles

First of all, there was a recall for oil consumption for 2007-09 Camry models a couple of years ago. I know this because Toyota sent notices out then to see if our car was affected. They offered to do a oil consumption test for a thousand miles of normal driving. Of course they found nothing wrong and we're still adding oil to this damn car at least every 2 weeks!! As of today 12/21/2016 the car is making a not so good sound from the engine which means this is getting worse. To make things worse,I was at the dealership this morning for buy back appraisal and the salesperson told me some of the cars that had the same problem were fixed free of charge! I'm going to fight this because I should'nt have to shell out several thousand dollars for something we did'nt do. I'm writing Toyota and will problably contact a lawyer.

- , Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #223

Jan 012017

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the second owner of this 2007 Toyota Camry. I did not know this make/model had engine oil consumption issues. I continued to tell the dealer it burns oil. Finally in early 2017 they say lets run an "oil consumption test." This was the first I heard of this type of test. They performed this test with no charge to me. The car failed, used 2 quarts for 1100 miles. They then told me I was outside of the window that Toyota would repair. Never was I told about this type of problem, repair, timeline, nothing. I called Toyota CEC and again was told sorry, outside of timeline. This is extremely frustrating and this will be the last Toyota I ever own.

- , Cold Spring, MN, USA

problem #222

Nov 142008

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

bought Camry in 2008 second owners car has always used oil but in the last 60,000 miles is using over a quart every 1,000 miles

- , Fair Grove, MO, USA

problem #221

Dec 312016

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,998 miles

in the last oil change notice that only 4 quarts came out of the engine, took the car to the dealer for the oil consumption test, the oil level at that time was perfect because we just change the oil, the dealer seal the system and requested to drive the car for 1300 miles, upon return to the dealer i was told that the car was ok and that it was not burning engine oil, after that an engine oil change was perform and to my surprise only 4 quarts came out instead of 5 quarts, so the vehicle is burning oil about a quart for every thousand miles. the problem still exist.

- , Rio Grande, Puerto Rico

problem #220

Dec 222016

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,846 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car uses oil excessively. The manufacture will repair engine if falls with in warranty period even though it is a noted defect. This problem appeared after warranty, thus not covered.

- , Marietta, GA, USA

problem #219

Oct 312016

Camry XLE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,000 miles

Toyota has a 'Warranty Enhancement' program for certain vehicles that exhibit excessive oil consumption. My 2007 Camry will burn 3 quarts in a month. There are 2 means to coverage. Primary "Until October 2016 regardless of mileage". Secondary "10 years or 150,000 miles from first use, whatever comes first"

Toyota has Jun. 13 2006 as first use. This was purchased as a used vehicle. Vehicle was brought to dealership Nov 29, 2016 for the Oil Consumption test. Test was completed Dec 28, 2016 and dealership confirmed that the warranty would cover the repair, however when the dealership put the repair through Toyota, it was denied saying the coverage was exceeded. At no time did dealership indicate warranty would not be honored.

If you go by the Primary coverage timeline, it was only missed by a few weeks (October to November) Having purchased the vehicle used I had no idea the issued existed and more so I'm being penalized for having the original owner take delivery Jun of 2006.

We are talking about a repair of $3000 plus, at best, for a issue know to exist and missing the primary coverage by just a few weeks. Toyota should have been a bit more lenient for a loyal Toyota owner however they are hiding behind a policy that can easily bed waived for only a few weeks missed

So upset and disappointed and I will never buy Toyota again

- , Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #218

Dec 092015

Camry LX 2.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

Have recorded documentation from dealer. Dealership gives run around refuses to acknowledge problem, Refuses to fix. Gives misinformation, Documents incorrect mileage, provides no documentation for rules or guide lines of recall. No notification ever received in mail or other wise. Had to find out on my own.

- , Hartford, SD, USA

problem #217

Aug 152014

Camry LE 2.4L Dohc

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,939 miles

I own a Toyota Seqouia SR 2002, Toyota Camry LE 2002 and Toyota Camry LE 2007. Both the Sequioa 2002 SR and Toyota Camry 2002 LE does not have excessive oil consumption problem and very happy with both of them. I do my oil change at 4 to 5 months interval or 5,000 miles or whichever comes first. If I do the same for my Toyota Camry LE 2007, my oil will be bone dry and surely fail due to thermal expansion and overheating. Every 3 weeks I have to add a quart of oil or a little less to bring the oil to the lowest hash mark on the dipstick. I drive the car for an average of about 900 to 1000 miles every 3 to 4 weeks. I cannot remember the last time I had an oil change on this car because I put a quart of oil every 3 to 4 weeks. If I do not add oil in 4 to 5 months like I do with my other Toyotas, I will for sure breakdown as a result of low oil or no oil at all.

Passport Toyota in Marlowe Heights, MD did the test. The manager Chris Brown said that they followed the criterion in testing. The dealership went ahead and did all the markings on my engine after the oil change (which my daughter did not ask) where I was charged (NO REASON FOR THE OIL CHANGE!) and was advised to drive the car for 1100 miles and bring it back to the aforementioned dealership. AT THE END OF THE TEST, the manager, Chris Brown claimed he only added two-thirds (2/3) of a quart of oil to bring the level up. My daughter did not witness the process when the oil was added to the engine because the manager claimed the shop was backed up. She went home and she has to call back in about three (3) hours which the manager claim will be ready in forty-five minutes. The manager just handed her the result and says that it is free of charge and the car passed the criterion established by Toyota.

Anyway, Toyota needs to correct and accept the fact that they made a mistake and should recall and fix the problem on excessive oil consumption. Piston rings are evidently not doing the job. Also, the owner should witness the procedure when oil was added to the engine. Anyone can claim that they only added a few drops of oil. What a ploy! This is just too much of a problem that it became a topic of discussion among Toyota owners like me all over the place. For now, I have to monitor my oil very so often because as per Toyota, my car's oil consumption is but normal. If this is normal, how come my other Toyota's are not having the same issue and all other cars I owned for the past 30 years of my life driving cars. Recall should be and the only solution for now so that Toyota can redeem itself.

- , Suitland, MD, USA

problem #216

Nov 012015

Camry 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My mother has been attempting to get Toyota to fix the issue with excessive burning of the oil. Her car burns enough oil prior to the 1,200 mi checkup to be absolutely bone dry. Appears that even if it ends up burning her engine, they may deny her in covering repairs. She is a new widow and is now on fixed income.

- , Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #215

Aug 142014

Camry LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 121,000 miles

Low oil light is annoying but worrisome. I am afraid the engine will go bad at some point.

- , Aguadilla, USA

problem #214

Jun 102016

Camry LXE 4 cyl 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 149,000 miles

My 2007 Toyota LXE Camry is using 4 quarts of oil between changes. Just found out so are others having the same problem. I don'r know who to complain to.

- , Cookeville, TN, USA

problem #213

Oct 012008

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

Always have to add a quart of oil per 1000 miles. Now I must add every 600 miles.

- , Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #212

Apr 102011

Camry LE 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Problem start more then 5 years ago when car mileage was approximately 75,000. Took it to the dealer. Car was checked (they did 3 oil changes all 1000 mile apart) and told me that car is consuming 1 Qt. for every 1000 miles which is normal (I did not agree with this statement, because my previous Toyota never burn any oil even after driving 5000 miles). So I started calibrating myself and found out that car is burning 1 Qt. at every 600 miles (v/s 1 qt./1000 miles, as per dealer). Now (10/21/2016) car has 133,800 miles, and engine is burning oil at the rate of @ 1 qt per every 225 to 250 miles. So burning rate is increased from 600 miles/qt. to 225 miles/qt. And rate of burning is increasing day by day. The sound of engine is started changing from last two weeks and I am feeling that engine is making more noise and giving me less power.

One Toyota mechanic told me that your car engine may die any time. I kept on pouring oil (2 qts at a time when I see engine oil sign) . I am going to call Toyota company to report this problem.

- , Olney, MD, USA

problem #211

Oct 012015

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,206 miles

The 2007 Camry is burning engine oil really bad.

Had it checked with local Toyota dealership, it obviously failed the oil consumption test. It cannot even finish 2000 Km testing millage then the engine oil light popped up.

The Toyota dealer reported this issue to Toyota Canada. It is been almost haft year I am still waiting to get it fix cuz Toyota Canada keeps saying they are doing R&D on the piston ring and waiting for the parts to be available to get my car fixed.

I have to go to the local dealership every month to put engine oil in just in case it runs out. It is really frustrating and exhausting.

- , Edmonton, AB, Canada

problem #210

Sep 262016

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,750 miles

After 1200 miles, I took the car back to Toyota for second part of their Oil Consumption test, and was told it didn't use any oil. After picking up my car up from my trusted mechanic (who said 2/3 of Toyota's recommended repairs totaling over $1600 were not true), I was told he had to ADD OIL b/c it WAS LOW. This is yet another example of Toyota lying to customers so they do not have to incur costs or issue a valid recall. They claim burning oil is "normal", and only if their "test" proves so, they would replace the piston rings - they are lying about these test results to avoid having to do the expensive repair.

- , Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #209

Jul 012016

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,000 miles

My car seems to be burning oil. I'm adding a quart every month or so. It looks as though this is a consistent problem. I'm hoping for a recall because I love my Camry!

- , Rogers, MN, USA

problem #208

Jun 012012

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

On 6/2012 my 2007 camery LE 2.4 engine, started to burning oil at around 90,000 miles, i started to add oil without realizing how much oil i was butting in to the car. that continued a years, at that point i was spending to much money on oil. I would add a quart of oil every 1,100miles. fast forward to today (9/16) am adding 2 quarts of oil every 800miles. I called toyota to voice my concern, they said my car had an extended warrenty until Oct 31, 2016. they schedule an appointment with a local dealer for an OIL CONSUMPTION TEST. ON 9/19/16. Thank you for your cooperation towards this matter

- , Jackson Hieghts, NY, USA

problem #207

Oct 072015

Camry LE 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 144,000 miles

My 2007 Toyota camry goes thru almost as much oil as it does gas!!!! I have taken it to the dealership twice for the oil consumption test(what a joke) only to be told that it doesn't met the criteria to be repaired by the dealership, Every time we take it somewhere for an oil change, we are told by the mechanic that it was practically out of oil......how much damn oil would it have to consume to be covered by Toyota. y it sounds like everyone with this problem is being told to just deal with it and add oil as if it's a normal occurrence with kind of car!!! I used to think Toyota was the most reliable car on the road, but after being treated like a fool by the dealership, I will never buy another Toyota as long as I live!!!

- , Antwerp, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?