Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
102 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
58 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 10 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #197

May 082008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles


I own a 2007 Toyota Camry 4 door, 4 cylinder, automatic. My wife and two daughters also drive this vehicle. I have had the recall for the mat, gas pedal, and the computer reprogrammed and serviced by the dealer. Our problem is; we start up the car and move into traffic, we turn the air- conditioning on high. We pull up to a red light and stop. We push down the accelerator and have to push a little harder to get the vehicle moving. We enter the intersection and go to make a left turn, we are moveinat approximately 3 - 6 M.P.H. the transmission is in 1st gear and then nothing. The car hesitates and will not shift into the next gear. My next reaction is to press the accelerator harder, no response, push harder and then the car will accelerate. This hesitation is dangerous. It is long enough to cause a collision. I know and expect power to be drained off the engine when air conditioning is used. We have had other vehicles with ac. This is unlike any other hesitation or sluggish acceleration. I repeat: It is dangerous! I have told the dealer three times about this but they do not recognize the importance.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #196

Jul 012007


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The driver stated that after she purchased the vehicle, it started to accelerate intermittently on it's own when she drove in reverse or drive gears. The vehicle began to shake excessively. The struts on the vehicle were also defective. The dealer was notified several times and she had not received a response from them when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 10,000. The current mileage was 62,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #195

Jan 182010


  • 51,036 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) twice my 2007 camary accelerated without warning and almost caused crashes. Complained to Toyota and took the car in was told mine was not part of the recall!!!! basically told their was nothing they could do for me. It was said it was probably my aftermarket mats. Well I never moved my mats and once I finally shut the engine off while in park ( at 5rpm's ) the car reset. My mats were no where near the pedal. !!!!!!!!!!! and the car started up just fine. Sound like a computer problem. Our car has never shifted properly from the day we took it off the lot. It is like hesitant and wont respond normally, again like a computer malfunction. When you press the gas it jerks you and doesn't shift properly. I don't feel safe in my vehicle and I am left in limbo. I have to use my car and I have 3 children. Listening to the stories and having it happen to me personally I am deeply troubled that nothing has been solved for my car as well as others, again my car is not part of their recall please take careful note in this piece of information, because twice my car wouldn't stop and I am told their is nothing they can do for me because my car is not in the recall. Please help us. [xxx]

- Yulee, FL, USA

problem #194

Jul 092009


  • 50,000 miles


Back in July 2009, coming to a stop on bond road and waterman in elk grove, ca my 2007 Toyota Camry xler accelerated and hit SUV in front of me. No injury was caused, major damage to front end of my automobile no damage to SUV. Took car to folsom Toyota, reported incident, they said they would look at car, at the time was not advise of problems Toyota was having with accelerator. Was told nothing wrong with car, then vsc alarm was coming on, then that battery in two (2) year old car needed to be replaced. I told them that it was the key battery, they insisted that it was the car battery. Which I questioned because it said key battery. Then replaced the battery, the company who sold me the battery when car was only two yeas old. Then when we brought old battery back to them as a core. The guy questioned that there was nothing wrong with the battery. The green eye was still green and he thought there was nothing wrong with battery. The car dies twice leaving myself and daughter stranded at my daughters dance class where I have to call my father a retired mechanic to come and jump my battery. Then I went to elk grove Toyota and asked them to check battery in key they replaced the battery in key and the problem was solved. In September 2009 I received letter requiring that I take floor mats out of car. But still the car would accelerate especially when putting cruise control. So now worried to drive car. The floor mat were never the cause of acceleration.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #193

Dec 102009


  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry traveling at normal speed (approx 30 mph--w/in limit), sudden acceleration of vehicle caused vehicle to hit parked car and flip over on driver's side. Driver sustained head injuries, severe memory loss, 2 broken ribs, fractured knees, loss of balance, requiring walker for mobility, as well as psychological injuries.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #192

Jan 142010


  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 5 mph into the driveway with her foot was on the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated on it's own and crashed into a tree. The driver and the passenger were injured. A police report was not filed. The dealer was not notified. The failure mileage was 22,000.

- Pine Bluff, AR, USA

problem #191

Mar 012010


  • 89,000 miles


Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I received a Toyota safety recall notice on my 2007 Camry. The notice described three separate repairs/remedy to my vehicle. The first repair involved installing a metal shim in the gas pedal assembly, which I had the dealer perform. The second "remedy" involved a technician cutting a section off the end of the gas pedal and cutting out a section of padding from under the drivers floor pan carpet. I declined this work as I have a newly designed awfm properly secured in place and do not believe this "remedy" would retain the oem quality of the vehicle - Toyota should redesign and install a new gas pedal instead. The third repair involved installing a brake override system. Of the three repairs, this is the most important as it offers a broad level of protection against unintended acceleration versus the narrow level of protection provided by the other two. When I called my Toyota dealership to have the brake override system installed they refused to do the work without also performing the gas pedal and carpet padding modification "remedy". I explained my dispute over this work and was given the number to Toyota customer service. After a forty minute wait I explained the situation to the Toyota customer service representative hilda. She also stated that Toyota was unwilling to install the brake override system without doing the other modification work. When I asked her for a reason she stated that Toyota agreed to NHTSA to do the work as a single recall. When I pressed her to determine if the NHTSA required Toyota to only perform the work if both the repair and "remedy" were done together, she stated she was unable to help me further and provided me with a case number ([xxx]). what do I have to do to make my vehicle safe" why is cutting up a vehicle without committing to properly repairing it at a later date considered acceptable"

- Putnam, CT, USA

problem #190

Jan 142010


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that there was a metal bar that caused the accelerator to stick. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact was informed that the VIN was recalled. The dealer told her that they would put her name on a list over a month ago and they would call her. The contact is very disappointed since she has called several times and has only been able to leave a voicemail. No one has returned her calls. The contact has not experienced any failures at this time. The current mileage was 53000.

- Hull, GA, USA

problem #189

Feb 142010


  • miles
We own a 2007 Toyota Camry and have gone to our local dealership to have the recall taking care of. And to our surprise our gas pedal was cut to a size much smaller than its original version. We have never received notification of this solution for this recall, nor have seen anything on the media that states this is what is being done for a solution. The gas pedal in this format is unacceptable and my foot does not sit properly on the pedal as it should and did before this adjustment. We feel that a new gas pedal should be installed. We purchased this vehicle new and should be entitled to new parts for recalled items, not damaged items in a new vehicle. Is there anything you can do to assist with this matter or address Toyota Corp regarding this solution?

- Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #188

May 152009


  • 28,000 miles
When heading South on 57, and speeding up, my car kept on accelerating after I took my foot off the accelerator. I had to press on the brake with both feet in order to slow it down. It has only occurred once, on the date below. The car is going to be taken to the dealership to get the defective part replaced.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #187

Jul 052009


  • 23,342 miles


Sudden forceful acceleration of a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid, not due to floor mat or sticking gas pedal (VIN number started with a J so was not part of subsequent recall for gas pedal problems), while easing into a head-in parking space. Forcefully hitting the break did not slow the vehicle and it only stopped, and was totaled, when it was steered into a concrete light pole to avoid entering a busy street. The acceleration was so forceful that the car hit and went over two approximately 8" concrete sides on a planter and only stopped when the right front tire and right front portion of the vehicle hit the concrete light pole. The force was sufficient to cause the right front seat passenger severe soft tissue injuries to the left chest that took 6 months to fully heal from the restraint of the tri-point seat belt.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #186

May 192009


  • 10,083 miles
On May 19, 2009 I was involved in a rear end accident. This occurred due to a faulty accelerator mechanism that caused unexpected burst of speed.this was the was the only occurrence of this problem. Toyota had a recall and did the required repairs.

- Belmont, CA, USA

problem #185

Feb 262010

(reported on)


  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry pedal issues the consumer stated twice in the 4 years he has owned the vehicle, the engine would rev while in park. The first time it happened, he thought he inadvertently hit the accelerator. However it happened more recently and he knows for a fact it had nothing to do with the gas pedal. Recently, the consumer noticed a serious hesitation problem while driving. Sometimes when the consumer pressed the pedal, the vehicle accelerated smoothly, other times it seemed as though there was no gas going into the engine, and then all of a sudden the vehicle would take off. The consumer believed the problem was transmission or fuel injected related.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #184

Feb 172010


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately between 30-35 mph on normal conditions. The "cruise control control" warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. There were several attempts of braking and the warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure occurred intermittent. In addition, there was an increase of acceleration unexpectedly. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 10V017000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal). The vehicle was repaired for the recall defect. The technician was unable to locate the electrical malfunction with the warning indicator. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Medway , MA, USA

problem #183

Feb 252010


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. She stated upon starting the vehicle, the engine rpms increased suddenly and roared very loudly similar to an explosion. She could not shut the engine off and the vehicle began shaking violently as if it was prepared to take off at full speed. She attempted to contact the dealer, however she could not get through. The manufacturer had not yet been contacted. She was not aware if the vehicle was under recall or not. The failure and current mileages were 60,000.

- St. George, UT, USA

problem #182

Apr 072006

Camry 4-cyl

  • 25 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. She stated that while driving 25 mph when she stopped and proceeded to move forward, she was hit from behind by another vehicle. When she applied the brakes the vehicle accelerated on its own and failed to stop until she applied extreme pressure to the pedal. She sustained major injuries to her hip, chest and was put on life support. The vehicle was towed. A police report was available. There were no damages to the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired. Prior to the first failure the vehicle accelerated previously. The dealer was contacted and they stated that her VIN was associated with the recall for the accelerator and brake pedal. The failure mileage was 25 and the current mileage was 3666. Updated 4/26/10 the consumer stated when she attempted to stop at a stop sign, the vehicle continued to accelerate into an intersection. She was hit by oncoming traffic. The consumer was involved in two accidents where the vehicle would not stop and subsequently she was hit by another vehicle. Updated 06/18/10.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #181

Jul 052009


  • 35,500 miles
My car is Camry, 2007. I had an accelerator pedal fault experience on the way home from New York city to boston at night on July 05, 2009. My wife and my mother in law were in the car. The Camry suddenly lost of power after I tried to accelerate speed by pressing a little on the accelerator pedal. We were on uphill, not steep, just regular on I-84, 90 miles away from boston at that moment, the speed was 60 mile/H. the reason I tried to accelerate was I found my car could not run faster than 60 mile/H when it went uphills on the trip. I saw the speed slowly drop from 60 to 34 on the top of the hills. Then I tried to speed it up every downhill before the next up uphill. Finally we made up get home. The next day, July 06, 2009 I brought my car to Toyota at watertown, MA. After inspection, I was told my car lost memory. My car got re-calibration. Now car is running well. But since there were much failure report related to the accelerator pedal for Toyota cars, so I reported this failure with my car to you as reference. Below are some check information : a auto transmission feels harsh shifting won't go over 60 mph. Cause: ECM calibration update. Action: EG8025 ECM calibration enhancement shifting performance. Auto shop: Toyota at watertown, MA.

- Watertown, MA, USA

problem #180

Jan 112010


  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. He stated that while the vehicle was parked and shifted into neutral gear with his foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated on its own. The vehicle crashed into a rail. The vehicle was damaged. A police report was taken. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 37000 and the current mileage 38000.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #179

Jan 012010


  • 52,300 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving at speeds of approximately 45 mph and depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle was hesitant to pick up speed. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was contacted to address the failure. He received an interim letter from the manufacturer pertaining to the floor mats and was advised to remove them. He then contacted the manufacturer to determine when the repairs were to be performed on the vehicle. They advised him that he would receive a letter in the mail on a later date and that they were being sent out in waves. Several weeks later, he contacted the manufacturer again to determine when he would receive his recall letter and he was told his vehicle was not under recall and was safe to drive. The contact asked for something in writing stating that the vehicle was safe to drive and they refused. The failure and current mileages were 52,300.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #178

Feb 172010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Unintended acceleration in cold weather: This has been a problem since I first bought the car new in 2007 ( 2007 Toyota Camry le 4 cyl engine, automatic transmission). This occurs during cold weather ( less than 30 F) and during the first 20 minutes of driving. Problem description: When I am driving with light pressure on the accelerator and remove my foot to slow down, the car abruptly slows down after 1 to 2 seconds (tachometer drops from 1800 RPM to 1000 RPM) and makes a clunking sound. After 1 to 4 seconds, without touching the accelerator pedal, the car will then speed up ( another clunking sound from the drive train). The tachometer jumps from 1000 to 2000 RPM approximately. This occurs in all gears and is severe in 3rd gear when I take my foot off the accelerator and begin to brake. The result of this malfunction is immediate skidding on ice or snow cover surfaces. If I am in a turn, the car will start skidding in an uncontrolled manner. I live in new england so the roads are often slick in winter. I had reported this to service shortly after buying the car and was told it's normal, they can't reproduce the problem, they have no diagnostic faults, they can't find my service records, etc. I am reporting this because this could cause sliding accidents in winter weather and may have caused accidents in the past, particularly with people who are not prepared for this event.

- Bedford, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?