Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
102 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
58 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #337

Aug 252014

Camry

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while parking the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #336

Aug 012014

Camry

  • 88,000 miles
When driving brake and ABS light comes on and speedometer goes to 0 mph also ac stop working. Went to a Toyota dealer they say it's the battery. Tested the battery got 12V, told them I'm not stupid. Toyota forum shows a lot of people having the same problem. What Toyota waiting for to place a recall for this problem that can be fatal ?

- Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #335

Aug 022014

Camry

  • 96,000 miles
Several warning lights on the dash illuminated, including the stability control and brake lights, along with a warning on the dic that said "check vsc." There was also an intermittent loss of braking ability/brake pedal pressure.

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #334

Jul 252014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 76,251 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving her 2007 Toyota Camry when the "check vsc" error code came on at which time the brakes became very mushy. We took it to a mechanic the code showed that the brake actuator is failing. So now we will have to pay over $2,000 to get this common problem fixed.

- Orange, TX, USA

problem #333

Jul 182014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The same year and model Toyota Camry has already had a recall for the same problem in the hybrid version for the exact same part. While driving the car the speedometer goes to zero, the tachometer needle goes up and down like crazy, the ac cuts off and the temperature sensor cuts off. The parking brake light and the ABS failure light come on the dashboard showing the brake system has failed. The cars does stop but with hesitation. I have no way to know if the brake light are working during the failure so I am concerned I am going to get rear ended because the driver behind me won't know I am stopping. There is no way to know if this issue will get worse and there will be a point where it will not stop. I called Toyota and opened a case #1407190530 and was told that they had no such issues showing in their database. I told them it shows up thousands of times on google and was basically told, who are you going to trust thousands of people or Toyota? I asked him to check for any notes on the model dealing with the ABS ECM or the ABS actuator. He told me they had none and that I had to bring it to the dealer and have them check it. This seems like a great scam for them, the car gives a code U0073 showing the problem is the ABS, so the dealer gets to charge a couple of hundred dollars to run tests to then tell you the 3 inch square part cost $4000 to replace because they are the only ones that make it. You buy the part it cost them $50 to make for $4000 with labor or your don't have a car. Having read through hundred of posts online from people with the exact same issue, with the exact same part I feel that there should be a recall on these cars. Toyota has a bean counter mentality where it has figured out the number of acceptable dead and how much legal fees they can pay before it is worth fixing an issue. Deaths before the loss of profit should be the Toyota slogan.

- Winter Garden, FL, USA

problem #332

May 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 149,995 miles
I bought this car from a small dealership with around 149700 miles 2weeks later a vsc message came on with a couple of lights after investing online found out is a manufacture problem and then after further check found out it was taken in to Toyota to verify that same problem I got so I called them they told me is the brake actuator was bad and the cost is 3500 thank you

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #331

Jun 092014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For two years now, the "check vsc" light will come on intermittently. It has happened both when I am in motion as well as stationary. At that time, several other lights on the cluster such as the ABS light will come on. The brakes become very sluggish but I can ultimately stop the car. The warning lights will eventually go out, usually after I turn off the car and restart it. Once the warning lights are off, the brakes work normally. The brakes are now making a barking sound when depressed. My mechanic says I need a new ABS system which will cost thousands of dollars.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #330

Jun 052014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 108,763 miles
On June 5, 2014 I was driving my 07 Camry at approximately 40 mph when the ABS, brake and vsc warning lights came on. It took more effort to engage the brakes in the car and I drove the car to keyes Toyota. The vehicle was checked and several codes were identified. C012 rear speed sensor rh circuit, C0215 rear speed sensor LH circuit, C1331 open circuit in left front circuit, U0073 control module bus off. Service writer found that the ABS actuator was shorting out intermittently and advised that the vehicle may not be safe to drive. He advised that the vehicle was not covered under warranty and that the repair would cost approximately $2,750 plus tax. I was not able to pay for the repair at this time. On 6-9-14 contact was made to Toyota and they advised that there were no recalls or tsb's for the ABS system on non hybrid 07 Camry even though the symptoms experienced and the repair codes were similar. Toyota declined assistance and advised that if they did do a recall I could submit for possible reimbursement of the repair. In researching this I found over 125 ABS related complaints reported to NHTSA. In addition there are numerous complaints on the internet with persons who have experienced the very same symptoms some of which have almost been involved in collisions. This seems to be the very same issue that the 07 hybrid Camry was recalled for and yet nothing is being done for the non hybrid version. This to me is a safety concern that should be recalled.

- Panorama City, CA, USA

problem #329

May 252014

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
I purchased my 2007 Toyota Camry in July 2006, new. At approximately 50K miles, when turning corners my engine sounded like it was stalling, the accelerator did not work, and a "low engine fuel" warning came on. I took my car into the dealership and was assured by the dealership that there was nothing wrong with my car. This same incident occurred at least 7 times since and each time I was assured by the dealership that there was nothing wrong with my car. My car was still under factory warranty, and then my extended warranty when these incidents first occurred. I'm now at 108K miles. For the past two weeks while driving and turning corners, the "low engine fuel" warning displayed briefly. Since the dealership previously assured me that nothing was wrong with my car, and my car had 2K more miles before my next oil change, I continued to drive my car. Then on Sunday, June 25th I decided to have auto zone take a look at my car. To my utter surprise, there was absolutely no oil on the stick when the auto zone guy checked my oil levels. I purchased two quarts of oil and the auto zone guy put the oil in my car. The following Saturday I took my car to my usual Toyota dealership and explained my experience. The service advisor informed me that my piston is probably worn out and oil is probably leaking into my engine, which would be a $4K repair cost. As I stated to the service advisor, at any moment my car can conk out while driving, because oil is leaking into my engine and the only time a warning appears is when I turn corners. If I'm driving on a highway where speeds are in excess of 80 mph, and my car conks out because oil is leaking into my engine, that is a huge safety concern. A service technician who overheard our conversation stated, "yeah, the engines on those cars are a piece of junk." Toyota refuses financial responsibility.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #328

Jul 202007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while traveling 5 mph, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 31,239 and the current was mileage 34,000. Updated 07/28/14 MA the consumer stated the accelerator pedal did not engage smoothly, as there was some hesitation, when pulling off from a stop. Updated 07/29/14

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #327

May 032014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 119,525 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car hesitates to stop at times, isles up and acts as it wants to take off, and jerks as I'm driving it. It shoes on the dash to check vsc system.

- Oxford , MS, USA

problem #326

Oct 242013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I had my rear brakes installed at hollywood Toyota in October of 2013. As I left the dealership once the job was complete, my ABS light, the brake light came on, my speed odometer stopped working along with my ac which started blowing hot air. I took the car back the following day and got the runaround. The Toyota mechanic said it was the alternator since it was new, and it was giving to much amps. I immediately took the car back to the place the alternator was put in. The problem still existed after going back and forth with the problem. My service tech [xxx] said I would have to pay to have a diagnostic test done on the car. Of course I got mad! when I bought the car in I had no problems with the vehicle. The Sunday before my last visit to hollywood Toyota, it started raining, which caused my windows to fog up inside and me driving in a ditch because of poor visibility. Not from the outside, but from the inside everything became fogging in the interior of the car, where I either had to make contact with a car in front of me or go off into the ditch to avoid an accident from whipping the window trying to see in front of me. When, I saw hollywood Toyota not wanting to except responsibility for the actions it has caused! I contacted Toyota corporate and they in turn allowed me to take the car in for another diagnostic without cost. After leaving the dealership, the problem was no better then I took it in. But in addition to me taking it in. I went online and saw I was not the only one who had problem with the ABS, brake light style coming on along with the speedometer not working. After dang near pulling what hair I have left out, I am reaching out to you to help eliminate this problem before a major accident occur and lives are lost, because someone else who's ac may not be working on the account of the electrical system failing would be a tragedy. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #325

Sep 152008

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator nelson on behalf of constituent re permanently and severely disable in a runaway Toyota crash cause by unintended acceleration. The consumer stated the vehicle was purchased brand new in April 2007. The vehicle was serviced regularly at the Toyota dealership and it was taken there 9 times between April 2007 and August 2008. The vehicle would shake, lunge and vibrate. Also, there was a brief burst of unintended acceleration incidents, which were reported to the dealership. The consumer and her daughter complained multiple times to the dealer about the defective vehicle. The dealer refused to do anything, and told the consumer to keep driving it. On the morning of September 15, 2008, as the consumer was driving, the vehicle suddenly accelerated out of control and the brakes failed to stop or slow down the vehicle. The consumer crashed into a flat bed truck head-on carrying concrete. The engine came through the floor of the vehicle and crushed her right leg. Her foot had to be surgically re-attached and her leg was almost amputated. She also had a broken left hip, crushed chest, severe concussion and a deep laceration on her eyelid. The jaws of life had to be used to extract her from the crashed mangled smoking vehicle.

- Fairfield, FL, USA

problem #324

Apr 012014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
I started my car and the "check vcs system" light as well as other indicator lights came on. After a few seconds they went away. I proceeded to drive down the street as normal. About 30 seconds into my drive, traveling at approximately 15mph, the "check vcs system" light as well as other indicator lights came on again. When I applied the brakes right after the indicator lights came on I discovered that I had no power brakes. I had to press on the pedal extremely hard for the car to come to a stop. This is a very serious and dangerous situation and I hope you can investigate this problem with Toyota.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

problem #323

Nov 222013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
I was driving my car with my mother in it taking her to a doctor appointment. I was entering onto I-95 northbound from route 273 trying to merge into traffic, I was almost on the highway. The car suddenly accelerated and catapulted us across 4 lanes of traffic. The police said I hit another car, spun around and ended up facing the oncoming traffic stopped only by the guardrail. My mom had to be extricated from the car. I recall applying the brakes and the car not stopping, I also tried to put on my left turn signal but that would not work either. I later learned that the 2007 Camry (nearly 4 million of them) had been recalled for sudden acceleration problems. I was told by Toyota that nothing was wrong with my car but there is no way I intentionally went across 4 lanes of interstate highway traffic. Really"?" my car was totaled. My mother was injured and was hospitalized from that day until mid December. It was a very difficult time. I would like for Toyota to take responsibility for their malfunctioning product and do the proper justifiable, compensatory thing. The other driver was injured and I believe her car was totaled as well.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #322

Mar 032014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
While my son was traveling to school the vsc light came on the warning panel. At that time the brakes were hard to operate and took a few seconds to reengage and the brakes locked up bringing the car to a skidding stop. After a minute the lights went off and he was able to travel again, but the same incident happened again the next morning taking my other kids to school when the roads were icy! this is a situation where someone will be killed behind faulty equipment being ignored by Toyota on the 2007 Camry hybrids.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #321

Feb 272014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Like many others with this particular car (hybrid), check vsc system warning came on along with many warning lights on the car and the brakes stopped functioning properly. Instead of normal breaking, it now takes pushing them all the way down sometimes. Toyota dealer quotes $2600 for the same repair (part replacement) that lots of other people are griping about online? especially since the part is only available from Toyota. The car does not feel safe to drive under these conditions. There are many complaints about the very same problem. For example: www.consumeraffairs.com/news/feds-investigate-braking-problems-in-Toyota-Camry-hybrid-012814.html here's 7 pages of gripes: www.toyotanation.com/forum/105-Camry-hybrid/401450-2007-tch-check-vsc-system-code-C1391.html here's 11 more pages on a website someone created especially for this particular issue: Https://www.checkvscsystem.com/guestbook.php and there's many more. Please do something. Toyota's official stance is to claim "no recall" and leverage being the only source of the part to make a killing off of this (apparently) mass problem (for this car).

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #320

Feb 052014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 62,750 miles
The car experienced sudden rapid acceleration and went through the wall into my kitchen causing over 14000 dollars worth of damage and 8100 worth of damage to the car.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #319

Dec 122013

Camry

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck, causing the vehicle to accelerate rapidly. The brake pedal was depressed repeatedly however, the vehicle did not stop accelerating until the contact placed her foot under the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was able to resume normally and was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000.

- Roslyn Heights, NY, USA

problem #318

Nov 042013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 69,535 miles
Driving my Camry hybrid this morning on the way to work, stopped by gas station for snacks and drink, brake system completely failed upon backing out of my stall. Brakes would not work going forward or in reverse. "check vsc system" message appeared on my dash. Looked it up in owners manual. Told me brakes worked but to drive slow. Immediately drove home. Had to stop at multiple four way stops, nearly wrecked twice. Vehicle is very dangerous. Luckily no one was hurt or killed. This is a major safety issue that Toyota needs to resolve! turns out it is my ABS accumulator, Toyota wants $2500 to fix. I want Toyota to fix it for free since it is a safety system malfunction on a low mileage vehicle.

- Ammon, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?