Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
102 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
58 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 8 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #237

Mar 052010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Toyota Camry 4-cylinder non hybrid vehicle. I brought my vehicle in for the required recalls and while I was in line with other cars to drop it off, I needed to move up about 30 feet. I had my foot on the brake and gear in park. I started the car and put the shift lever into drive with my foot still on the brake. The engine started to rev up, but with my foot on the brake, it did not move. I quickly put the shift lever into neutral and shut the engine off. A Toyota employee came over and tried to reproduce the situation, but could not. I have a problem with the recall fix. If the car accelerates for no apparent reason and I put my foot on the brake, the acceleration is supposed to stop, but in the time between sudden acceleration and my foot hitting the brake pedal, I could have an accident. My wife and I am very wary about driving this car.

- Seabrook, TX, USA

problem #236

Mar 102010

Camry 6-cyl

  • 44,600 miles
My car is a 2007 Camry xlev6, and was not listed as part of the Toyota recall (it has locking mats). Pulled into driveway at my home, with foot on brakes as I touched auto garage door opener on visor. Car gear was in D. as I removed foot from brake to gas pedal to pull into garage, and lightly placed foot on accelerator, instantaneously engine revved, pedal went to floor, tach zoomed and auto jetted into garage. I immediately hit brakes with both feet, attempting to disengage transmission from D and put into N. gear shift erratically plunged into R and car began to go backwards with engine throttle wide open. Again, with tires squealing, smoking & laying rubber, I tried to jam gearshift to N or P, and car jettisoned forward hitting garage wall at full force. With millisecond recovery, I held onto gearshift all the time my feet were on brakes again tried to force it into P, and it again went to R, (must pass N and R to get gear into P) then again forward in another direct hit against garage wall, breaking the wall open and splitting sheetrock as auto nearly popped through to laundry room and gas furnace. I held the push-button in while simultaneously forcing gear shift again to reach P. engine went from full-bore open to a stop. This event was so frightening. Had it occurred minutes earlier I was in commute traffic and in residential area returning home from metro. Pedestrians and schoolkids were in the area. I exited car to run into house, call for help. Damage to garage wall (and laundry area) is substantial, but was minimized to the auto due to a set of four tires against the garage wall which provided some cushion. Bluetooth phone (hands-free car) would not disconnect. I borrowed neighbor's phone to call husband and police/fire. Emergency firetruck team arrived to ensure no gas line break, fairfax police officer also on site. After repeated attempts & long wait times to talk with Toyota, I was told not to move car, wait 10-30 days to investigate. Here sits.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #235

Sep 262009

Camry

  • 37,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) the incident: Accelerated gas pedal the incident took place on crain hwy, glen burnie at the intersection of crain hwy/aquahart rd on 9/26/2009. I was traveling on crain highway when I came to a stop at a traffic light. I applied pressure on the break. And thought I had come to a complete stop when my 2007 Toyota Camry ce had unexpectedly jolted forward. I immediately applied both feet on the brake pedal and said "wow that was weird" I didn't think much about the incident other than I just being a freak malfunction. Only until the recent recalls of my Toyota model was it brought to my attention that I may have experienced the accelerated gas pedal malfunction with my vehicle. No accidents were a result of the incident; however I was shaken up a bit. I received a recall notice from Toyota in late January explaining that my 2007 Toyota Camry was part of a recall to replace the driver's side floor mat and that I was going to receive more information about recall locations in early April/May. After reading newspapers and watching news reports of the public recall announcement identifying the Toyota models that was part of the recall involving accelerated gas pedals. My 2007 Toyota Camry was part of the models identified so I took my vehicle to darcars Toyota of baltimore, 6000 eastern ave, baltimore md on January,10, 2010 and was turned away claiming my vehicle was not part of the recall. I received official notification from Toyota on 3/8/2010 with instruction on where to go and information about the recall on my 2007 Toyota Camry ce purchased May 2006. I have made an appointment with my local Toyota dealership to have my vehicle serviced. VIN # [xxx]

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #234

Jan 242008

Camry

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Toyota Camry 2007. The issue is not a sticky gas pedal but a hesitation when trying to accelerate. Then obviously the car does lunge forward when acceleration catches up. My car has not had an accident as of yet, but it is disturbing when it occurs while in traffic. I am getting the so called repair on March 12, 2010. This hesitation does happen often, but it is not constant. I just feel that most of the car owners do not realize that the hesitation is part of Toyota`S problem. Therefore no one is explaining the real issue. The date I am putting in is an approximate date, since this issue has been on going for quite sometime. The service people at the Toyota garage kept saying it was how the computer was designed to work, when I did inquire about my issue.

- Brownsville, PA, USA

problem #233

Mar 052010

Camry

  • 57,434 miles
2007 Toyota Camry recalled had the new parts installed @ dealership. After which I experienced the accelerator sticking and not slowing down without pressure to brakes. Returned to the dealership and they said they couldn't duplicate the problem, found no fault codes and rechecked the fixes they had previously installed. The problem still remains, the car doesn't decelerate when you let off the accelerator and in fact had an instance of it speeding up and decelerating freely on it's own. The dealership informed me there is nothing they can do as their computers didn't find anything wrong but as the owner of this vehicle there is clearly something wrong with it that I do not feel safe driving this vehicle.

- Monticello, IL, USA

problem #232

Jan 032009

Camry

  • 40,000 miles
I own 2-2007 Camry. 1. already when to the dealer for the recall for one of the cars. I still feel stick pedals and some acceleration, not too mayor but I feel it in highway as well in stop sign. The other car (this one have a big problem I feel more the problem in this one more than the other)will be in the dealer 3/17/2010 to try to fix the problem. I hope and this will work cause we're afraid of driving this cars. A).-gas pedals and brakes.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #231

Jun 162009

Camry

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 45 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated. To stop the acceleration the contact had to apply extreme braking pressure. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. The current and failure mileages were 23000.

- Coburn, PA, USA

problem #230

Apr 162008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,700 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that since the vehicle was purchased, the throttle did not seem to respond normally; it seemed to be very sensitive responding violently even with the slightest tap on the accelerator pedal. The driver experienced the problem every time she depressed the accelerator pedal. The contact took the vehicle to the dealership and the dealer repaired the vehicle according to recall 10V017000 vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal. However, the driver is still experiencing the same problem. The current mileage was approximately 23,400 and the failure mileage was approximately 11,700. Updated 05/04/10. Updated 06/28/10

- Bismarck, ND, USA

problem #229

Mar 092010

Camry

  • miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry built in Japan. I noticed that it is not included in the acceleration or floormat recalls. Do the cars built in Japan not have the same problems as those built in America" if not, what is different that excludes my car from the recall" my VIN # begins with a "J".

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #228

Feb 102010

Camry

  • 88,332 miles
On Feb 10, 2010 my 07 Toyota Camry accel pedal stuck on me, 5 days after the recall was done on it. It revved from 2000-4000 rpms, I had to brake hard for it to stop and regain control. Took it into Toyota, they looked at it, returned the car and told me "nothing was wrong." On March 4, 2010 it happened again, this time it accelerated from 20 mph to 40 mph in a split second, and I almost hit the car in front of me. Again I had brake hard to gain control of my vehicle. Toyota again looked over my car, and again came up with nothing wrong with my car. So that is two times after the recall was completed that my has accelerated. It also did accelerate before the recall.

- Roy, WA, USA

problem #227

Dec 192008

Camry

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car lost control for no reason, could not brake and got totalled.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #226

Feb 152010

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry is dangerous and defective. I have being saying since my first maintenance check at the dealer that the car doesn't seem to be working the way it should. Now it has been recalled for a "sticky pedal". the problems I have are not a sticky pedal problem. The car lurches at times when accelerating. It lurches forward from stops. I have already hit a curb because of it just a couple of weeks ago. I have video footage of the road and the damage to the car from hitting the curb. I can email you the video footage. The car also seems to drift momentarily as if there is a steering synchronization lapse defect. When I mentioned these both to the dealer a year ago, the dealer's service tech said it was just the safety feature of the car working properly. There are split seconds when the steering wheel does not control the car while it is driving. This all seems to happen randomly. I wonder if Toyota programmed the car to do this on purpose to increase the number of times I would need to have the car serviced. The dealership has so far refused to take the car back and cancel my lease. So I am still driving this unpredictable car every day. There is something wrong with this car.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #225

Mar 012010

Camry

  • miles
Was parking my 2007 Toyota Camry in parking lot between two cars when my car suddenly accelerated causing me to hit two cars in the spaces adjacent to the parking space I was entering. These cars were in front of the space I was entering. This occurred after recall repairs to the gas pedal were made on 2/11/10.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #224

Jan 292010

Camry

  • 68,000 miles
Prior to the accident I had my vehicle serviced. I got and oil changed, changed front and rear brake pads and replaced two tires. I asked the Toyota dealership about the recall and whether or not they could fix the problem then and even stated I received the notice in the mail. I was basically turned away I was told that I had to wait to receive my second notice in the mail and that by then they should have the parts to fix the problem. Prior to having my car serviced my car accelerated before however I thought that it was due to the traction on my tires and worn pads. Little did I know that I would soon find that was my no means the case. A little over two weeks after having my maintenance done on my vehicle I was headed to work on the highway it had just stopped raining when my car picked up in speed to well over 75 mph. From there everything happened so fast. The car was accelerating I panicked given a car right in front of me I steered over to the right lane to avoid the collision and in doing so I hit water on the road which caused me to begin to hydroplaned. My first reaction was to brake however that didn't work it only caused me to hydroplane more spinning about 5 times over a ditch and landing in between two trees. Everything about this accident was a nightmare. I accrued several expenses one totaling my car which I haven't even had a year as well as back and neck pain. I not only notified Toyota and made several attempts to have the problem resolved I also contacted the national headquarters of Toyota Inc and still nothing has been done.

- Lake Charles , LA, USA

problem #223

Jan 142010

Camry

  • 17,538 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that he noticed problems with the rack and pinion steering. When he drove approximately 20 mph, the vehicle would pull to the right and when he drove over a bump in the road, he had to hold the wheel tight in order to control the vehicle. He also stated that when turning the wheel to the left or the right, it would lock. The dealer told him not to let go of the steering wheel while driving over a bump in the road and that there was nothing wrong the vehicle. When the recall repair was performed, the dealer told him once again that there was no problem with the vehicle. After the recall 10V017000, vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal repair was made, the accelerator pedal stuck for the first time; however, he was able to stop the vehicle by applying the brakes. He called the manufacturer and was unable to get any assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was 18,562. The failure mileage was 17,538.

- Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #222

Feb 142009

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry that is not covered under their pedal recall because it has a VIN # that begins with a J. however, we have experience one unexpected engine acceleration and are nervous about the safety of the car. The incident was this past February 14, 2009.. my husband was driving the car with two business client as passengers. As he was driving on the fdr drive in manhattan, the car accelerated unexpectedly for approximately 15 seconds. The incident was noticed by all. I have been using this vehicle, but have recently begun using my parents car as I hesitate to drive my children in a car that might do this again. I have expressed my concerns to Toyota, but have only received a stock E-mail response thanking me for my communication.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #221

Jan 012009

Camry

  • 21,000 miles
I bought a Toyota Camry in July 2007 at the Toyota dealership in fremont, ca. I had been experiencing a lag in acceleration for the past year or more. My repeated requested for the service people at the stevens creek Toyota dealership where I take the car for my service, are not getting the problem the proper attention and they say it is normal. Based on the VIN, my vehicle doesn't qualify for the recent recall criteria for any replacement of the electronic throttle. What can I do to get this corrected before any mishap results from this?

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #220

Feb 182010

Camry

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While attempting to slow down to exit the highway the gas pedal became stuck. And when she depressed the brakes, the brakes failed to operate and collided into the vehicle in front of her. The driver frontal air bag did not deployed. A police report was filed with the Tennessee police, report 10-189917. The vehicle was totalled. Ther contact received injuries to her neck. The failure and the current mileage was 103,000.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #219

Mar 082010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry suddenly accelerated the consumer stated he occasionally used his cruise control. At times it was necessary to depress the brake to temporarily cancel the cruise control. Upon pushing the resetting lever, the vehicle accelerated to the extreme. The engine roared until the original speed was obtained.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #218

Feb 182010

Camry

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While attempting to slow down to exit the highway the gas pedal became stuck. When she depressed the brakes, the brakes failed and she crashed into the vehicle in front of her. The driver side frontal air bag did not deploy. A police report was filed with the Tennessee police, report 10-189917. The vehicle was totalled. She received injuries to her neck. The failure and the current mileage was 103,000.

- Columbia, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?