Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
54 / 1
Average Mileage:
50,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #84

May 152015

Camry

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A car caked out of its parking space on the street into traffic as a was about to pass which made my car hit them in the rear and sent me into a tree and the airbags never deployed that caused me to have a concussion and spit my head causing me to bleed

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #83

Oct 182008

Camry

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving at an unknown speed, another vehicle crashed into the front of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained back and neck injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was taken to the contact's residence and then to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000. Updated 10/18/16

- Asbury Park, NJ, USA

problem #82

Jul 202016

Camry

  • 88,100 miles
July 2016, check engine light came on. Diagnostic indicated code P171. Was advised it was a laundry list of systems to check for this code. ( replaced the following; flex pipe, 02 sensor, spark plugs and fuel pump. For a total of 1400.00) while driving on I-95 at 60 mph, airbag light, brake light, ABS light and seat belt light all illuminated at the same time. Techometer surged out of control, engine temp gauge displayed no reading and speedometer went to zero. Oh and yeah, the ac that was blowing very cold air switched to warm or hot. All of these issues happened at the same time on the highway at 60 mph. Ironically, the check engine light did not illuminate and the mechanic is unable to determine the cause as there is no code issued from the computer for this very dangerous problem. This problem happens randomly and there is no warning. The engine performs normal during this issue with the exception of the ac that fails every time. This issue can and has happened when the car is sitting parked with engine running and while in motion. I am so afraid that this eventually will cause a serious accident or death. And the most annoying part is no mechanic can tell any of us why this happens or how to fix it. Please, please, help us before the worst happens.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #81

May 242016

Camry

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall nothing has happened so far. Because the 2007-2011 Lexus ES was recalled for some regions, I was wondering if the 2007-2011 Toyota Camry should also be recalled as well, since the Lexus ES is based on the Toyota Camry.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #80

Mar 082016

Camry

  • 97,000 miles
After rear-ending a car at approximately 30mph, my seat belt released and air bags failed to deploy. My seat belt had been tightly locked in place otherwise it would have pulled back to "not in use" position. I could have been killed. I believe my car is unsafe in a serious accident.

- Los Altos, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #79

Mar 212016

Camry

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 32 mph over a sheet of ice, the contact depressed the brake pedal lightly and the vehicle spun to the right and crashed into a tree. The air bags did not deploy. The contact suffered bruising and minor cuts on the right hand that did not require medical attention. The manufacturer was notified. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 114,000.

- Lynnfield, MA, USA

problem #78

Nov 122015

Camry

  • 168,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, another vehicle collided into the front end of the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained minor injuries to the back and hip. Medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed and deemed destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 168,000.

- Palmayra, VA, USA

problem #77

Jul 082015

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #76

Oct 082015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Car accident - October 8, 2015 - air bad did not deploy during a head on accident with another car. Place - islandia, New York - I was on the northbound lane of veterans highway on the right side of a two left lane turn to sycamore lane. I had the green left arrow and proceeded to make a left turn. A car from the southbound lane of veterans highway passed a red light and hit me partly head on while I was making left turn to sycamore lane. The air bags did not deploy during the accident and even the safety officers of suffolk county police mentioned this. The accident report is suffolk county police #zr44174vt6Z3..updated 10/28/15 updated 11/03/15.

- Islandia, NY, USA

problem #75

Jul 202015

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #74

Jul 152014

Camry

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The seat belt did not securely hold me in when the car behind me hit me, I was at a dead stop and was rear ended, the air bags also did not deploy, and my face hit the steering wheel. The force of the rear ending pushed me into the SUV in front of me, the car was totaled. I suffered a concussion, whip lash, wrist and elbow injury and lower back was hurt after the impact. I was wearing my seat belt thankfully otherwise I could have hit the wind shield.

- Brunswick, ME, USA

problem #73

May 082015

Camry

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 25 mph and attempting to make a left turn, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle failed to stop. As a result, the contact crashed into a street light and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact also stated that the brake warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000.

- Orange, NJ, USA

problem #72

Aug 132015

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Vanleer, TN, USA

problem #71

May 052014

Camry

  • miles
Dashboard recal as the title aptly suggests, my Camry's dashboard has melted due to the extreme heat. My windshield has no tint and I sometimes forget to put up the windshield foil cover when I park. The dashboard now feels very sticky and when I leave the car under the sun for a long stretch, I can actually rub off some of the dashboard's rubber coating surface if I touch it. It also has several scratches due to accidental hits from fingernails and such, and a lot of scratches from the bottom of the windshield foil cover (yes, the dashboard is now that soft). I'm afraid to apply anything on it as this might just make its condition worse. My last option is to use a dashboard cover to hide the scratches and prevent the dashboard from getting damaged further. My concerns with this option are: Where do I buy a good/decent-looking dashboard cover for my car? (my dashboard is color black). I'm based in fort buchanan, guaynabo and would this get in the way of the passenger airbag? any other suggestions aside from my idea above, please do not hesitate to express them. Help desperately needed. Thanks jose luis rosado 787-692-6684 today I have attempted in contacting you on the number you provided with a negative result. The number rings and immediately goes into a occupied mode. (877) 855-8377 none responsive.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #70

Jun 202015

Camry

  • 98,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Toyota Camry le about 55 miles an hour on a three lane interstate freeway. I was in the slow lane and my car suddenly and violently turned to the left, causing the car to hit a large rv in the center lane. The car continue spinning across the fast lane (it's amazing no cars were in that lane because traffic was fairly heavy). The back end of my car hit the center cement barrier hard (car totaled) and I came to a stop on the inside shoulder facing the opposite direction of where I was originally traveling. The airbag did not go off and the locking part of the seatbelt didn't seem to work. I could have been easily killed or killed someone else. I will contact Toyota. There is no excuse for this.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #69

Nov 012010

Camry

  • miles
1. plastic strip on passenger side airbag keeps popping open. 2. the whole dashboard is sticky and melting; and the sun burned a spot on the front of the radio.

- Port Charlotte , FL, USA

problem #68

Nov 192013

Camry

  • 86,000 miles
On 11/19/2013, I flipped my 2007 Toyota Camry. The air bags never came out. I reported to Toyota corporation and they never offered an explanation for this.

- Little River, SC, USA

problem #67

Feb 142014

Camry

  • miles
My dashboard is sticky and seems to be melting has a glare in the windshield, and the side window casing over airbags along windshield windows is warped and keep poping out exposeing wires.I bought this car one year ago and as I was told it has never been in a wreck. I don't have money to fix these problems so what am I to do?

- Hueytown, AL, USA

problem #66

Apr 102015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota camera the air bags lights on for the drivers side and passenger side on and the seatbelt light on.

- Flemington, NJ, USA

problem #65

Feb 092015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Dashboard peeling and sticking...airbags on passenger side.

- Victoria, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?