Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 8 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Aug 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While approaching a freeway, the vehicle hesitated for approximately three to four seconds. He slammed on the brakes to keep from entering the freeway in front of an eighteen wheeler. Toyota advised him "to adjust his driving habits and get used to it". the contact is terrified to drive the vehicle. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 400 and failure mileage was 140. The consumer provided the repair invoices. Updated 09/07/07

- Dunkinville, TX, USA

problem #52

May 092007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
I don't not if this is a power train issue or not, but this vehicle, 2007' Camry le 4 cylinder can't seem to keep a set speed when in cruise. It is constantly fighting itself to maintain a speed shifting down then up several times. Also, when taking off or slowing for a turn it doesn't seem to down shift into a lower gear. And finally when it does shift it throws you everywhere. I am very dissatisfied with the new Camry for this reason only. I love everything else, but if this isn't fixed, I think this is the end of Toyota buying.

- Beaver Dam, KY, USA

problem #51

May 132007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle's automatic transmission has poor lag and response time when accelerating. When driving 20-30 mph and shifting from second to third gear, the vehicle decelerates and pulls back as if there is no overdrive. The contact stated that he first experienced the vehicle delay within the first 100 miles and it has recurred ever since. The weather is not a factor. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 5,684 and failure mileage was 100.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #50

May 022007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took delivery on brand new 2007 Camry le 4 cylinder automatic transmission with 29 miles on 05-02-2007. Two hours later flew out of town for nearly a week. Came back and drove car for about 100 miles. Problems: Hesitated when turning through intersection then lurched forward when put in drive after backing out of driveway. Driftedto the left. Also, smelled burning oil. A check on internet revealed that Toyota was aware of problems on model xle 6 cylinder. Numerous current complaints by new owners. This was a potential safety issue.

- Newport Beach, CA, USA

problem #49

Dec 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle feels as if it is losing power or downshifting when accelerating from a turn at 10 mph. She stated that it is problematic when changing lanes because of its failure to accelerate properly. The vehicle takes approximately three or four seconds before it gains normal speed. The mechanic stated that the vehicle's transmission was designed to perform in that manner. The current mileage is 2,364 and failure mileage was 100. The consumer stated filed a complaint with Toyota and was informed there were many complaints for this defect. Updated 09/04/04

- Smithtown , NY, USA

problem #48

Sep 012006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Car hesitates when shifting into a higher gear, it does it around 35 miles per hour. Sometimes it shifts very hard lunging you forward. Sometimes when you put it in reverse it goes into reverse very hard. The brakes continue to squeal, hardware has been replaced twice. The transmission shifting hesitation has occurred over 250 times. I am starting to get nervous driving it I am afraid someone that might be tailgating might hit me in the rear.

- Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #47

Apr 262007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car hesitates and jerks upon acceleration which can be very dangerous and could potentially cause an accident.

- Ft Washington, MD, USA

problem #46

Apr 232007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 30 mph the transmission engaged and accelerated without warning. The failure mileage was 100. When changing lanes the vehicle slowed down and attempted to shut off. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. However, they were unable to diagnose it. The current mileage was 9,000. The consumer stated that the vehicle has since been fixed by the dealership. Updated 06/08/07

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #45

Dec 222006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 550 miles
When you try to start from a stopped position, there is hesitation that lasts 3-5 seconds. This has become very dangerous because you expect to move and you don't. I was almost struck because of the hesitation.

- E Falmouth, MA, USA

problem #44

Mar 122007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 565 miles
I bought 2 2007 Toyota Camry, both are 4 cyl cars. When driving these cars, and you come off a ramp or you are at an intersection and you try to accelerate, there is substantial hesitation. This has become very very dangerous at times. On at least three occasions when I tried to accelerate there was a 4-5 second "pause" and then the car kicked in and accelerated. This is dangerous. Take it from a police officer, this is very dangerous.

- E Falmouth, MA, USA

problem #43

Apr 282006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When accelerating from a stop, the car hesitates before moving. This also occurs when negotiating a turn, at approximately 5-10 mph I would press the accelerator but there is a short hesitation before the transmission engages.

- Smithfield, UT, USA

problem #42

Jul 082006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
1 -2007 Toyota Camry 4 cyl auto. Vehicle has a bad acceleration delay 2_ almost hit by a big truck from the back as the car stood almost still for a few seconds. 3. tsb ego56-06 was performed (so I was told) but did not change anything.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #41

Feb 012007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
We recently purchased an 2007 Camry le 4 cylinder/ 5-speed auto, and the hesitation problems had been an extreme nuisance from day one, and the problem may pose a considerable safety hazard. I took vehicle back to the dealership, and the service department said they had not yet heard of any such problems. My service manager and I agreed that the computer system may still have been learning my driving habits, and that it would resolve the problem over time. But nothing changed over the next few weeks. I recently took it back with around 8000 miles on it. The problem was the two-second lag in performance, shifting from first through third gear. Even though the car was running, it felt as though it just didn't want to go. The car hit second gear, and then, nothing! it didn't stall, but it fell flat on its face for about two full seconds before it got up and went. My wife and I believe that this is a potentially dangerous vehicle. The extreme hesitation may present a hazard in traffic when more aggressive acceleration is needed. The car just dies when you try to accelerate. If you round a hard corner slowly enough for the car shift back into first gear, there will be nearly two seconds lag before it shifts up to second. If you have someone following close behind you, it is quite possible that you will get rear-ended. I showed the service manager my web findings, and we scheduled an appointment to have the transmission software updated. After that adjustment, the problem has improved, but is definitely not resolved. Let me end by saying that our dealership has been courteous, helpful, and responsive to our complaints thus far. Unfortunately, this problem appears to be out of their hands until a fix is found, or a problem recognized by Toyota.

- Perkasie, PA, USA

problem #40

Mar 152007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,800 miles
Vehicle surged and had delayed acceleration. Also, had an episode of not being able to go over 10 mph, and had a strong burning smell. Vehicel slipped out of gear under sustained and steady speed, and also between first and second gears when accelerating. The dealer said they could find nothing wrong, and most of these symptoms (surging/delayed acceleration) were normal for the Camry. This is not normal. This is dangerous. The next day the vehicle wouldn't start at all. Dealer had it flatbedded to them. Replaced ECU computer. This did not fix the slipping transmission or the engine surging or delayed acceleration. This vehicle is hard to control speedwise due to not knowing if the car will go when pushing on the gas pedal. Sometimes there is up to a three second delay, other times it surges to high RPM and you shoot forward. A very scary car to drive. Dealer won't/cant fix.

- Terryville, CT, USA

problem #39

Mar 192007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I baught a 2007 Toyota Camry in October 2006. After having the car for 6 months the transmission faled. Prior to transmission failure had a difficult time shifting gears. The car would stall when coming to a stop. There was vibration in the engine. This problem started gradually, then increaseed dramatically. Thiswas a dangerous problem. I happened to be on the highway when the car stalled. Luckely, it was 4am, with little traffic at the time. That morning had Toyota retreive the vehicle. The carwas currently being repair by Toyota.

- Vauxhall, NJ, USA

problem #38

Mar 122007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We purchased a Camry le in mid-January and have brought it in twice since then for issues related to the transmission - continuous shifting (or not) at speeds between 35 and 45 (even when trying to maintain a constant speed without cruise control), hesitation when trying to accelerate to merge or climb a hill, sudden downshifts when braking at slow speeds - and have been sent home both times with the message that it is operating "the way it's supposed to be, " that I just happen to driving at a speed at which it is more noticeable. I find this answer completely unacceptable. I happen to do a lot of city driving - mostly 45 mph and under - so I just have to live with it? the jerkiness of both accelerating and braking could be dangerous, and try as I might to get used to it, it is so unpredictable that I just can't ignore it. My teenage daughter is just about to start driving, and I won't feel comfortable with her driving this car until these transmission problems have been satisfactorily addressed. But first, Toyota must admit that there's a problem!.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #37

Oct 252006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
When car is accelerated from dead stop, as car passes 20 mph, the car surges, hunts for gear, up shifts and downshifts wildly and sporadically, lurching and over-revving to 5,000 RPM or higher. Car cannot be safely driven. When placing car in park the car jumps forward. I am concerned about the safety of the vehicle for my family. Toyota said this issue is normal and the car has to get used to the way we drive it. Car going back into the shop.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #36

Feb 012007

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1/31/2007. Toyota Camry. Engine hesitates while driving under normal conditions. The consumer stated the vehicle exhibits intermittent loss of power when acceleration is needed.

- Croydon, PA, USA

problem #35

Jan 152007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Have brought my 2007 4 cyl Toyota Camry to dealership 4 separate times due to severe hesitation in acceleration since bought new in April 2006. The previous time they reflashed the computer as per the technical service bulletin but the hesitation remains unacceptable and dangerous when entering highway or when in need of quick and even acceleration. The past time they suggested I contact Toyota usa headquarters which I plan to do immediately. Obviously since there are so many complaints on the NHTSA site there appears to be something basically wrong with the design of the transmission. I will be starting the lemon law of NJ process unless Toyota can quickly rectify this very unsafe defect.

- Beachwood, NJ, USA

problem #34

Jan 122007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,999 miles
History: Automatic transmission began flaring when cold after putting around 400 miles on the new car -- gear wouldn't "catch" and would skip gears; in shop for tsb to correct problem, but didn't correct it; in shop again to replace transmission since corporate claimed that would for sure correct flaring problem; additional problems resulting from new tranny including strange whooshing noise on driver side, jerkiness when changing gears, and hesitation when accelerating; back to shop to correct; shop was able to remove whooshing noise, but jerkiness remained and flaring continued albeit at different times than it did before. Failure and consequences: After stopping at a stop light, tried to make left-hand turn to join the interstate merge lane, but car would not supply enough power despite being in drive and pushing on the accelerator appropriately; barely made it across the intersection before having to pull over to shoulder to stop, put on hazard lights, and let other interstate traffic get by; theorizing that the transmission probably got stuck in whatever gear the car was in as I approached the stop light (3rd or 2nd) and then didn't appropriately downshift itself to get up to power coming from a complete stop at the stop light to cross the intersection; because the cars behind me were paying attention and roads free of ice and they saw that the car was not able to get up to speed, I was lucky not to be rear ended. What was done to correct failure: Because it's been in the shop 5 times for bad transmission, not sure what they'll do to correct it -- that is pending. Will likely request buy back due to safety concerns and apparent inability to correct underlying transmission problems.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?