If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,306 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Oct 012013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On two occasions with the same scenario within a year...the car would begin to shake and pulsate when putting on the brakes. Then would add within a few days would abruptly lunge forward at an increased speed when braking, posing a safety hazard. By then when applying the brakes it would begin to grind and scrap the rotors. The auto repairman examined the vehicle, and said there was not a problem with the brakes but with the rotors needed replaced. He found that the brakes would get stuck which would scrap the rotors due to bad calipers. I have within a year replaced 2 sets of brake pads and rotors.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #37

Mar 222012

Camry

  • miles
When attempting to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and I was forced to stop it by running into a palm tree in order to avoid hitting people and other cars or causing more serious damage.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #36

Dec 042011

Camry

  • 12,000 miles
On December 4, 2011, with my wife and returning from a visit to our children, I was driving our 2009 Camry East from brooklyn in the left lane about a mile onto the jackie robinson parkway at about 4:30 P.M., visibility very good and road dry. Traffic was heavy but moving about 35-40 M.P.H. when it slowed a little in front of me I put on the brake-- but the car speeded up. I repeated the braking and the car speeded up even more. These two attempted braking occurred in about 5 seconds. I saw we would crash into the car ahead. I tried to steer mainly into the space between that car and the one in the right lane so as to minimize damage to them, but the car in front of me went a little faster. Our car, having hit the right-lane car in its left rear, went past that car and into the opened-up space and the shoulder, and into an about three-plus-foot concrete retaining wall, hitting it at an angle with the right front of our car, which mounted the wall on our right-hand wheels and came to a stop there. Air bags had not deployed but tensioned seatbelts hit us hard in the chests. We managed to get my door open and get out. The car was totaled, with about 12,000 miles on it, always carefully maintained. I would add that when Toyota recalled the car in 2010 I brought it in for the adjustments and was interested to learn from the mechanic at the dealership that the adjustments would take awhile because they required modifications to the car's computer. Also, I as well as my wife have been driving, each of us for nearly 50 years, with exemplary records, and neither of us has ever pressed the gas pedal when we meant to step on the brakes. We are writing to you in the hope that still other Toyota customers will not have to suffer the upset that we still feel, or of course worse. (I sent this to you via pdf earlier today.)

- Garden City South, NY, USA

problem #35

Sep 292011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was involved in an accident and after the initial contact operator tried to stop her vehicle but it wouldn't stop. She stated that she was pressing the brake but the vehicle was rolling backwards. She stated that she tried her brakes, tried pumping her brakes, tried putting the vehicle in neutral and tried the brakes again but none of these actions stopped her vehicle from rolling. She stated that she then put the vehicle in park and tried the brakes but the vehicle continued to roll backwards. She stated that at that point she made the decision to exit the vehicle. She was knocked to the ground and dragged by the vehicle suffering lacerations to both her legs. She stated that the vehicle then accelerated forward and finally came to rest on sidewalk and lawn of a residence. While responding medical personnel were treating the accident victim, a member of the fire department reached in vehicle to turn the vehicle off. The vehicle then started rolling forward even though vehicle was turned off and in park.

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #34

Jul 272010

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving when the vehicle failed to stop while the brakes were depressed. The failure occurred three times. When the recent failure occurred, the vehicle crashed into an oil truck. The vehicle was not destroyed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,600 and the current mileage was 43,000. Updated 01/24/12 the consumer stated the accelerator became stuck on more than one occasion. Updated 01/27/12

- Lennox, MA, USA

problem #33

Jun 242011

Camry

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated while attempting to apply the brake pedal the vehicle would not stop and it had to be depressed several times in order for the vehicle to come to a complete stop. The brake warning light illuminated while the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer numerous times for the failure. The dealer reprogrammed the brake system computer. The failure was not corrected and the brakes continued to fail while attempting to stop the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted but did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 26,000 and the current mileage was 26,629.

- East Brunswick , NJ, USA

problem #32

Jun 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Toyota Camry. Consumer states several problems with vehicle to include electrical and mechanical issues the consumer had the vehicle inspected and it was determined there were several components that were defective such as the accelerator pedal, brakes, shocks, exhaust and cd player component and cable burning smell. The consumer is requesting compensation for the body work repairs done to the vehicle after the car accident amounting to $3,890.42. Updated 11/03/11. Updated 12/01/11.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #31

Jun 022011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I was having extreme vibration on my 2009 Toyota Camry when driving over 65 mph on some state interstate. This happened most noticeably when reaching speeds of over 60 mph, and the tires were literally skipping off the road when breaking and you would lose control of the vehicle, which could lead to a crash causing a death. This is on a 2009 Toyota Camry. This was taken into the dealership several times, and it was finally addressed. I called Toyota and they said they did not have a tsb on my situation. They lied. 3. I took the car to the Toyota dealership and they found due to defect in materials used by Toyota motor corporation, that there was premature warpage on the brake rotors. Also the dealership realized Toyota put out a tsb -0169-9 on June 4 2009. Yet when I called Toyota customer care and specifically asked if there was a tsb for brake rotors the customer service rep. Said no. But this was not presented to me until after my car went over 36K miles. My car has 37.7K miles. Yet I took my car in at 35K miles, and this was not fixed under warranty. Toyota customer care refused to even address my problem, and told me there were no tsb bulletins out on this and I spoke to [xxx] at Toyota customer care, and even when I called in August they told my there were not tsb bulletins. Toyota has a serious issues with their brake pads and rotors that can cause the tires to leave the road when braking. I have also called Toyota over a year ago about this and they denied that there was anything wrong. Now I have to pay for the repairs because Toyota failed to notify me and my dealer.this should be a recall investigation as this can lead to a serious accident and even cause death. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #30

Jan 032011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes regarding vehicle stalling in the acceleration process the dealer stated the stall in the acceleration, was caused by the sequencing of the transmission. The stall would occur as the consumer made a rapid change from deceleration to acceleration. The consumer was informed the stall was a built in design feature. The consumer stated to minimize the stall, she must manually down shift the transmission whenever the engine is in the deceleration phase. Recently, a slow moving 18 wheeler unexpectedly pulled into the consumers lane of traffic, while traveling at highway speeds. The consumer stated her natural reaction was to remove her foot from the accelerator, putting the engine /transmission into deceleration mode. As the situation unfolded, she concluded that the rapid acceleration and lane change was the safest method. When the consumer tried to accelerate around the truck, there was no reaction from the vehicle. The transmission delayed responding and when it did respond, it chose a gear which produced no meaningful forward motion, but lots of noise. Consequently, she was forced to brake very hard, but the brakes failed to perform as designed. The next day, the dealer explained there was a factory alert issue on the brake pads. The pads were replaced, and the rotors were turned.

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #29

Dec 082010

Camry

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving 45 mph, the contact heard a noise from the brake pedal and rotor on the driver rear side. The vehicle was inspected and the contact was informed that the brake pad had broken in half and damaged the rotors. The contact called the dealer who stated that the contact would be responsible for repair costs. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000.

- Brooktondale, NY, USA

problem #28

Jul 182009

Camry

  • 303 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very soft brakes in 2009 Toyota Camry. Brakes must be pumped to get any real braking action. At times brake pedal will continue to go down when brakes are pressed with no additional braking action. Toyota claims brakes to be in spec and working properly, the brakes are functioning as designed. I have had this problem since I got the car, new. And, have felt very unsafe, as I never knew when the brakes would effectively slow the vehicle. Even when pushing hard, as in a panic stop, my legs are only so long. Toyota changed a valve twice, but are now saying that this was not necessary, the brakes are fine. I have tried to replicate a brake test done by the Toyota tech service rep, but cannot. The test was to press the brake pedal and rev the car up to red line.

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #27

Aug 152010

Camry

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While traveling at any speed the contact noticed a squeaking sound coming from outside of the vehicle, however whenever the contact applies the brakes the sound stops. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the front brake pads were replaced. However the contact is still experiencing the failure. There were no prior warnings. The failure mileage was 23000 and the current mileage was 25000.

- New Albany, OH, USA

problem #26

Aug 162010

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
The contact 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph he tried to stop the vehicle but the brakes failed and he crashed into the rear of the vehicle in front of him. The contact was injured and transported to the hospital. He suffered neck, shoulder, and back injuries. The police responded to the crash and filed a report but he doesn't have a copy. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that he received a recall notice on September 1, 2010 for the service brakes. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.

- El Cajon , CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 272010

Camry

  • 22,354 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving at approximately 60 mph around a curve, the contact lightly depressed the brakes and the brakes locked. The vehicle began to spin independently and the contact was unable to maintain control of the vehicle. The contact crashed into a guardrail. The air bags did not deploy. The contact stated the skid control safety device did not engage. The contact sustained injuries to his neck as well as other minor scratches and bruising. A police report was available. The vehicle was towed to a local body repair facility where the contact received an estimate of the damages. The contact was awaiting a decision from his insurance company as to what would be done with the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileages were 22,354.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #24

Jun 292010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Toyota Camry le. Consumer states problem with gas and brake pedal according to the invoices, the brake pedal would go down to the floor and the vehicle would continue to accelerate.

- Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #23

Sep 202008

Camry

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. Whenever the contact would start the vehicle, there was an unusual clunking noise coming from the brakes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure could not be duplicated. The dealer advised the vehicle was functioning normally. There were no prior warnings. The failure mileage was 5,000 and the current mileages were 29,000.

- Wooddale, IL, USA

problem #22

May 062010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,750 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact stated he noticed when braking, there was an unusual increase in stopping time. The dealer made unknown updates and changes to the vehicle computer that was to allow the vehicle to stop faster when braking. Afterwards, while braking from speeds of 25 mph, the brakes would not engage and the contact crashed into another vehicle. There were no injuries. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The failure and current mileages were 12,750. Updated 11/19/10. The consumer stated as he was preparing to stop at a light, the pedal would go down very slowly until it almost touched the floor. Updated 11/24/10

- Lynbaylis, NY, USA

problem #21

Mar 042010

Camry

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 30 to 40 mph, the contact stated that a vehicle suddenly stopped in front of him. He applied the brakes but the vehicle did not slow down fast enough causing him to crash into the vehicle. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was at the dealer but had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 15,000.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #20

Oct 182009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving 25 mph over railroad tracks the vehicle accelerated resulting in a crash. The contact did not report any injuries. The contact applied the brakes until the brake pedal touched the floorboard; however, the vehicle did not stop. When the steering wheel locked, the windshield wipers began to function. The vehicle was taken to an authorized Toyota dealer to be repaired for the body damage but it was not examined for the cause of failure. The contact stated that a few months later the accelerator pedal recall was repaired; however, after the repair was performed the vehicle surged forward intermittently until the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the brake system was repaired. The failure had not recurred but there was a rocking noise in the engine. The vehicle was taken to another authorized dealer who stated that the motor mount was cracked; yet, the vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage is 18,000. 5/10/2010 the consumer stated the was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle upon acceleration and when making turns. Updated 06/24/10.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #19

Mar 132010

Camry

  • 9,672 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph. While braking the pedal traveled to the floor without resistance. The vehicle was able to slow down. There was a separate occasion the driver experienced an unintended increase of acceleration. The failure occurrences were intermittent. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 10V017000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal). However, the remedy was insufficient. The failure occurred after the recall remedy repair. Currently, the vehicle is at an authorized dealer for service repair. The failure mileage was 9,672.

- Laurinburg, NC, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?