Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,609 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #20

Nov 282015


  • miles


Goodyear tires new as of Aug 2015, hit a curb, tire blew.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #19

Sep 102015


  • miles
Goodyear 215 60R16 tires new as of Aug 2015. Hit a pothole, tire blew, $4K damage.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #18

May 112014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 108,678 miles
On October 4, 2013, I purchased 4 tires from dealership. The 4 tires brand: Cooper CS4 215/60R16. On May 11, 2014, returning from dinner with family, the front passenger tire immediately went flat resulting in calling aaa roadside service. I took the tire back to the dealership and was informed that there was a huge lump on the sidewall of the tire. It was stated that I must have hit a pothole, which I had not. I had to replace the tire. I have all documentation regarding this event.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #17

May 202014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 56,100 miles


I bought a used 2009 Toyota Camry that the dealer had installed new general altimax hp tires on, size P215/60R16. After about 45 miles of driving the TPMS light came on and I found the front driver side tire down to 18psi. While putting air in the tire I noticed a large bubble in the sidewall. I put the spare on and returned to the dealer who replaced the tire at no cost to me, saying it was defective. Today, I went to have my tires rotated and the tech told me he could not touch the passenger front tire as it had a huge bubble in the sidewall. This tire has a total of about 14,000 miles on it. The bubble is about one third of the entire circumference of the tire. Upon closer inspection also found a smaller sidewall bubble forming on driver side rear tire. These tires must all have defects. I will have to replace all tires as it is unsafe to drive with tires that could blowout at any moment.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #16

Oct 172012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 72,528 miles
Drove home from work about 6:30pm (central) last night (10.17.2012). Parked in enclosed garage. Sat in the kitchen with my family. Heard a pop sound minutes later after parking. Went outside to investigate source of sound. Looked around car and discovered front passenger tire flat.the tire had blown just sitting in the garage! took tire off this morning and discovered it has a 1.25 inch tear in the inside about half way between rim and the tread. There are no visible punctures or intrusions of foreign objects. To me this incident is strange in and of itself. But I am filing this report because this is the second time in a month that a general altimax rt tire has failed in an unexpected manner on my 2009 Toyota Camry le. The other incident happened on 09.16.2012. It was raining and I was driving on a city street at no more than 20-25mph. The tire failed with many evenly spaced long tears along the walls radiating from the center/rim out all around!

- Spicewood, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Dec 292011


  • 20,333 miles
Toyota Camry with 20,000 miles tires have tread separation and pulls hard to the left. Alignment did not help. Repair shop identified the tire problem.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #14

Apr 152011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry with Bridgestone turanza el 400 tires, line size: 215/60R/16. While parked, the contact noticed the front and rear driver and passenger side tires were severally worn. The contact had the tires replaced. The dot number was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000. Updated 01/20/12

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #13

Dec 042011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
The air-tires symbol is on although Toyota changed a tire($236) for me.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Pre-mature tire wear on MY2009 Toyota Camry le sedan.

- Shoreham, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 152010


  • 12,000 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Camry le that I have owned for less than two years. Currently has less than 13,000 miles. The 40,000 mile Bridgestone turanza tires, size 215/60/16 that came with this car, have worn down to 5/32 within 18 months. That is 1/2 of the tread gone. Minimal city driving with very little freeway driving. Always properly inflated and rotated every 5,000 miles.I have had to replace the tires. I did not replace them through the Toyota dealership. I purchased quality tires elsewhere. It is ridiculous that a consumer spends over $20,000 for a vehicle and must replace the tires with so few miles. After reading all of the negative reports about these tires from consumers, I did not complain to Toyota or Bridgestone, because it is apparently a lost cause. I am totally disgusted with Toyota and the poor quality they have been selling over the past few years.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #10

Dec 152009


  • 11,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry with Bridgestone turanza el 400 P215/60R/16 tires. While driving approximately 5 mph making a left turn with snow weather conditions the tires started spinning making it difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians stated to contact the tire manufacturer. The tire manufacturer was contacted and stated that Toyota needed to be contacted since the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The contact stated that the tires failed prematurely. The tires have not been replaced. The failure mileage was 11,000.

- Saline, MI, USA

problem #9

Mar 252010


  • miles
Email from the office of congressman on behalf of constituent re acceleration problems in Toyota Camry models. The consumer stated the recall was performed on Feb 5, 2010 regarding the sudden acceleration problem. However, on March 25, 2010 as the consumer removed the gear from park to drive, with his foot on the brake, the vehicle began to accelerate and roar, the RPM's had redlined and the vehicle began to move forward and the brakes would not stop the vehicle from moving forward. The consumer put the gear in neutral and the vehicle was still accelerating. The consumer then immediately shifted the gear into park and the vehicle came to a screeching halt. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer for an inspection. However, the inspection revealed nothing wrong with the vehicle. Also, the tires had to be replaced due to excess wear, despite the tire rotations that were performed every 5,000.

- Cohoes, NY, USA

problem #8

Jan 072010


  • 22,537 miles
Brand new 2009 Toyota Camry with 22,557 miles on it was forced to replace one tire. The tire began repeatedly losing air three months prior to replacing it. 6/26/10 I purchased 3 more new tires because they didn't meet safety inspection requirements and were losing air. We were putting air in the tire 2-3X weekly. We had to replace all four tires by 30,000 miles and we waited much longer than we should have. It is ridiculous to pay 30K for a car and need new tires before 2 years. I am very disgusted with Toyota. It is a safety risk to drivers and their families. The tires a poor quality.

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #7

Jun 232010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Ltr fwd on behalf of (NY) re his leased 2009 Toyota Camry le defective tires, after being driven only 25,000 miles the tires are worn, reply to massapequa park, NY ofc. The consumer stated the tires were always properly inflated and rotated. The consumer contacted Bridgestone to inquire about a replacement price, but was told they could not offer any assistance because Toyota had contracted to have their automobiles equipped with lower rated mileage tires in order to achieve a higher mph.

- Seaford, NY, USA

problem #6

Mar 012010


  • 20,000 miles
I had to replace the tires on my 2009 Camry at around 25,000 miles. The low pressure tire light came on after I had just had it serviced. The master mechanic at work check the tire pressure and each tire was 8 - 10 pounds low on pressure. I took it to Toyota in North augusta, SC and the rude service manager told me that when I had it serviced a top technical signed off as rotating and airing the tires and that had it been another technician he might believe they didn't air the tires. He only aired the tires, didn't check valve stems or for tire defects. The light kept coming on and I went back a couple more times I believe. He finally determined making the statement "this is common. Since it was my second Camry I disagreed with him and then he responded "it is common in this model". he said you could drive out of here right not and it might come on again.....I replied "I'm not buying this and left". the light did come back on within the week or two. I looked at my front tires and was shocked! the front tires were worn out with hardly no tread left on them. I immediately took it to a tire dealer and replaced the "Firestone Bridgestone" tires with another brand of tire...........that has been nearly 5,000 ago and the light has never turned on. There is a definite defect here with the car of tire dealer. Tires should last a long longer than 20,000 to 25,000 miles on a new car especially. If others are experiencing this problem, Toyota needs to be reimbursing car owners for replacement tires....maybe they purchased defective parts at a low cost just like they did with the brakes....had I not taken care of the tire problem it could have resulted in a blow out and endangering of my life and others. The service manager was extremely rude and did not make any attempt to research for an existing problem, which became evident after a few trips in there. His and Toyota's disregard for safety has really changed my opinion of Toyota.

- Mccormick, SC, USA

problem #5

Feb 122010


  • 20,000 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Camry. Just after 20,000 miles, tires are worn-out. The dealer who sold me the new car asked me to change tires. I bought this car less than 2 years (a brand new car at that time). If tires can last only 20,000 miles, these tires (on Camry) must be poor quality. I think Toyota must recall to fix this problem because this could put driver/passengers at risk.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #4

Mar 082010

(reported on)


  • 5,000 miles
2009 Toyota Camry tires had to be replaced at low mileage. The consumer stated he began to hear a noise at 5000 miles.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #3

Mar 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Toyota Camry le sedan. Consumer states steering problem, a continued pull to the left which apparently cannot be corrected without replacement of tires. Two hours after leaving the dealership, the low tire pressure light illuminated. The consumer went back to the dealer where it was determined the tire had a slow leak. The dealer found a nail near the sidewall of the tread. The consumer purchased two front tires. After he left the dealership, he noticed the pull to the left was gone. The consumer was informed the original tires were of poor quality and would not last much past 25,000 to 30,0000 miles.

- Paw Paw, MI, USA

problem #2

Aug 222009


  • 2,000 miles
Uncontrollable acceleration on a family trip several times. I took it to vanderstyne Toyota dealership in rochester, NY. They said it was insignificant. Normal occurrence and wear. Also, car is not even a year old and standard Michelin energy tires are worn badly even with regularly scheduled maintenance rotation and balance! they have no warranty on tires!

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #1

Aug 152009


  • 19,000 miles
My 2009 Toyota Camry has premature tire wear on all 4 tires before 20,000 miles. Firestone will not address problem nor will the dealer even though all tires were rotated according to dealers recommendations. The vehicle was purchased in March 2008.

- Matteson, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?