Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
43 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,385 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #105

Mar 092013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My son was driving on I35 in Kansas. Had cruise control set to 78 mph. He indicated speed stated to increase on an uphill segment and speed reach ~ 100 mph on down hill side before he brake and regained control of vechile. Car was acquired in October/November 2009.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #104

Mar 112013

Camry

  • 44,000 miles
I entered a parking spot and was moving slowly toward parking lot's wall at the minimal speed just above zero (0) mph, suddenly car increased a speed in a second on its own and crashed into a parking lot wall - short distance & sudden and unexpected acceleration didn't allow time to press the brakes. Car's whole front is damaged: Hood, lights, windshield glass (broken by my head), radiator and bumper. Also, after the crush smoke/steam was coming out of the car and the driver's door jamed. I sustained a head injury as a result that airbags didn't deploy and my body was projected into a windshield.

- Syosset, NY, USA

problem #103

Apr 192012

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph and attempting a turn, the vehicle began to decelerate independently. Once the contact completed the turn, the vehicle then began to accelerate independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the cause of failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and sent a mechanic to further inspect the failure but again, the failure could not be diagnosed. The failure mileage was 19,000....updated 03/18/13 updated 03/29/2013

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #102

Aug 312012

Camry

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while parking, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning and crashed against a wall. A police report was filed and the driver sustained a bruisded knee. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 36,000.

- Bridgeton , MO, USA

problem #101

May 082012

Camry

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle accelerated abnormally. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by applying the brakes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The dealer was not able to find any failure within the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that they would further assess the failure. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 39,000. The VIN was not available.

- Cottage Grove , MN, USA

problem #100

Jun 272012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
On January 18, 2010 my wife and I bought a Toyota Camry, SE model from arlington Toyota, jacksonville, fl. A few months after we bought this vehicle, Toyota company recalled this vehicle model due to the possibility that the accelerator gets jammed on the floor mat, which may cause the vehicle to accelerate unintentionally. We took our Toyota Camry to arlington Toyota on July 8, 2010 to resolve the recall problem. We have been driving this vehicle and had been running fine until an accident happened. On June 27, 2012, about 7:00 P.M., my wife and I went to tire plus car care, just West of hodges blvd on atlantic blvd and about a mile from where we live. My wife and I were approaching a parking space in front of the tire plus car care. As she was slowly parking, an unintended acceleration occurred at the speed of about 40 ? 50 miles an hour hitting the curb, the tree and irrigation pipe on the mound of landscape in front of tire plus car care. At home, after we left our vehicle to tire plus to assess the damages on my car, I discussed the accident scenario with my wife. I asked her if she could have possibly hit the accelerator while parking and she firmly said no. Her reaction to the sudden acceleration, being so close to the parking curb, was to stop the car and therefore she would have just hit the brake firmly as her right foot was already on the brake while attempting to park. The Toyota vehicle recall that might have been turned-in to resolve the accelerator getting stuck on the floor-mat may still have problem of unintended acceleration. My wife and I would like to share and escalate our experience so we could hopefully warn other owners and help prevent possible serious accident that may occur to consumers by a recalled vehicle that unintentionally accelerate.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #99

Oct 122010

Camry

  • 8 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning while driving 15 mph. The contact was able to bring the vehicle to a stop by applying the brakes. The vehicle also exhibited an electrical failure that caused the instrument panel lights to blink and the radio to fail. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8 and the current mileage was 44,290.

- Hampton , VA, USA

problem #98

Aug 122009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving downhill with the cruise control engaged, the vehicle accelerated more than intended. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the contact was informed that the vehicle was performing normally. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 500 and the current mileage was 12,000. Updated 05/15/12 the consumer stated he noticed a problem with the cruise control while on a trip. He set the cruise control at 60 mph. As he traveled down a hill on a moderate grade, the vehicle quickly reached a speed of 71 mph. He disengaged the cruise control many times since and it would not control the speed of the vehicle on a down hill grade. Updated 05/23/12

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #97

Feb 252012

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was shifted into reverse and there was a rapid increase in engine rpms. The contact then shifted into park and shut the vehicle off. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 16,000.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #96

Jan 012012

Camry

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph and depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a commercial building. There were no injuries due to the crash. The police were notified and a report was available. The vehicle was then towed to an authorized dealer and was pending an investigation. The failure and current mileages were approximately 20,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #95

Mar 252011

Camry

  • 24,055 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Friday, 25 March, 2011 at about 4 pm, my wife experienced a sudden deceleration event on our 2010 Toyota Camry. She made a right turn & in about a half mile, the Camry suddenly slowed to less than 10 mph from about 40 mph. She pulled into the first parking lot to the right and shut off the Camry. She said no matter how much she pressed on the accelerator, the car was not responding to the accelerator. She said the check engine and the stability control lights were on. She tried restarting the car and drove a little in the parking lot, the 2 dash lights were on, but it was driving ok. She drove the car slowly approximately 5 more miles to our home. I arrived soon & I checked the codes with my diagnostic tool, and the ECU was showing an active P0121 (throttle/pedal position sensor a, circuit range performance). So we drove the car slowly to atlanta Toyota, 2345 pleasant hill road, duluth, ga 30096. During the drive to the dealership, the dash lights went off. I reported the code P0121 to the service rep, and the driving symptoms. The next day (Saturday, 26 March 2011) atlanta Toyota called me reporting that there were no codes in the ECU. I repeated the code that I had read. The rep stated they would check again. Again atlanta Toyota called me, stating no codes found, and they had test driven the car and could not replicate the problem. They did replace the accelerator pedal assembly. On the drive home from the dealership I noticed that the clock time had changed about 30 minutes, and all the radio presets were gone, as if the battery had been disconnected.I inquired and the dealership rep said the battery had 'not been touched'.my concern is this Toyota may have reprogrammed my car due to the sudden deceleration issue, (hence the clock & radio changes), and they are not being forthcoming regarding repairs. All they will say is, there were no codes.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #94

Jan 162011

Camry

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While attempting to park, with the brakes pressed, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning, causing the contact to hit a tree. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they refused to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was informed who took a complaint. The contact was awaiting an investigation from the manufacturer and was informed not to have the vehicle repaired until the investigation was complete. The current and failure mileages were 6,000. A police report was filed.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #93

Oct 112010

Camry

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving 75 mph, the contact heard a clicking noise and the vehicle jerked as if it were going to take off. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where it was repaired (repair information unavailable). The failure occurred again. The vehicle was taken to another dealer where it was located. The manufacturer had not been notified. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 19,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #92

Jun 172010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 2,956 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the recall repairs for recalls 09V388000 & 10V017000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) were performed mid-June 2010. The vehicle suddenly accelerated forward after the contact shifted into drive. The contact turned off the ignition to stop the acceleration. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer but the dealer could not guarantee that the problem would not occur again so the contact refused to take it back. The vehicle was returned to the dealer. The current mileage and failure mileages were approximately 2,956. Updated 01/24/11 updated 03/16/11

- Rincon, GA, USA

problem #91

Sep 242010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact was traveling 2 mph and attempting to park when the vehicle suddenly accelerated abnormally, causing the vehicle to crash into a nearby wall. No one was injured and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed for the failure. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileage was 4,500. Updated 01/04/11 updated 01/31/11 upated 02/14/11

- Port Washington, NY, USA

problem #90

Sep 262010

Camry

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving 15 mph the brakes failed to engage. She applied pressure to the brakes and the vehicle lunged forward. The contact drove on the median which stopped the acceleration. No injuries were reported. Toyota was notified and the vehicle was towed to the dealer; however, they could find any failures with the brakes. They also would not indicate their findings in writing. The failure and current mileages were 13,000. Updated 11/21/11

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #89

Jun 092010

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while the vehicle was idling in the neutral position (manual transmission), the RPM's being to race at high levels. The contact shut the vehicle off and restarted but the RPM's continued to race. The contact had to restart the vehicle three times in order for the vehicle to function properly. The failure occurred on two occasions with smoke emitting from the bottom of the engine on one occasion. The contact took the vehicle to an authorized dealer for a diagnostic test but the dealer could not find a cause for the problem. The contact stated the contact believed vehicle was unsafe to drive and no longer wanted the vehicle. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Bridge Port, CT, USA

problem #88

Sep 222010

Camry

  • 2,500 miles
2010 Toyota Camry was parking, driver had foot on the brake and the car accelerated up onto an embankment and over a small tree. The driver could not stop the car. This Toyota was just purchased in May 2010. The car is currently impounded for further investigation.

- West Warwick, RI, USA

problem #87

Sep 012010

Camry

  • 20,400 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while parking the vehicle with her foot on the brake pedal the vehicle accelerated without driver intent. The vehicle crashed into a brick wall and into some bushes. Upon impact with the wall, the vehicle was still trying to accelerate. The owner shifted into in reverse and the acceleration stopped. The vehicle was driven to her insurance company and then to her residence. Toyota stated that they would send an investigator to inspect her vehicle. Toyota case # 1009011318, reference # 1009011505 was filed. The police is available. The failure mileage was approximately 20,400.

- West Memphis , AR, USA

problem #86

Aug 272010

Camry

  • 2,800 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact was in reverse and when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle abnormally accelerated forward. The vehicle was shut off and when restarting, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The contact had not experienced the failure before. The dealer was contacted and she was able to secure an appointment for diagnostic testing. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileage was approximately 2,800.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?