Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
43 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,385 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #85

Jun 282010

Camry

  • 2,555 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When turning key on to start car there was sudden acceleration that I have never felt and hope never to feel again. At first I didn't know hat had happened and finally realized it was our car and I then turned off the key.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #84

Jul 252010

Camry

  • 5,100 miles
2010 Toyota Camry bought 2 months before recall news / 5,000 miles / had recall work done at a Toyota dealership on March 4, 2010 / on July 25, 2010 while in line at drive-through, I had my foot on the brake waiting my turn in line. Suddenly, the engine began to rev, even though I didn't have my foot on the accelerator but did have my foot on the brake. The back tires began spinning, and although I was mashing down on the brakes as hard as I could, the vehicle moved forward (producing skid marks) and hit the truck in front of me. My Camry pushed into the truck's trailer hitch, bending the rebar in the front of my car, which pushed up the radiator, etc. There was a witness who was standing next to the drive-in window because the restaurant had messed up his order. He reported to the officer that came to the scene that he heard the Camry's engine start revving, and when he looked to see why, he could see that I was trying to get the car to stop. Obviously, the Toyota Camry recall work is not effective. My granddaughter (who was in the car) and I could have been killed if this had happened at higher speed.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #83

Jul 142010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2010 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes to address concerns and observations with vehicle the consumer noticed when driving at highway speeds, when he removed his foot from the accelerator pedal he expected the vehicle to naturally slow down with no braking necessary. However, the vehicle did not respond immediately. The vehicle acted as though the cruise control was engaged. When the engine did respond, there was a 2 to 5 second search pattern engaged with a sweep low RPM to high RPM while it tried to find a performance solution and set point.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #82

Jul 082010

Camry

  • 1,734 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving in reverse the contact engaged the brakes and the vehicle accelerated. The contact applied excessive force to the brake pedal but the vehicle would not stop. The contact was forced to use the emergency brake in order to stop the vehicle. The contact called the dealer and manufacturer, left a message and had not received a return call. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was not repaired. The driver does not feel safe driving the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 1,734. Remailed 11/19/10.

- New Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #81

May 272010

Camry

  • 42,673 miles
My wife drives a 2007 Toyota Solara and was pulling into a parking space in anastasia plaza in St. Augustine, fl and was about to come to a stop a place the car in park when it accelerated over the tire stop, over the curb and through the glass windows and doors and into the sea oats restaurant. She is confident that she never touched the accelerator as her foot was already on the brake to bring the car to a stop and place in park. There were no prior symptoms of this unexpected acceleration. The air bags did not deploy. The car smashed into the lunch counter, which weighs approx. 2 tons) and pushed it 6 feet. There were rubber marks on the floor on the left side as though the front wheel was slipping as it pushed the counter (picture available). My wife contends that her foot was on the brake the whole time. I contacted Toyota as well as my insurance company. Toyota did an inspection of the car on 6/7/2010. I am waiting on the results and expect to hear by 6/9/2010.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #80

Apr 092010

Camry

  • 50 miles
I bought a new 2010 Camry. I complained to the dealer the very next day that the accelerator pedal was too sensitive and the car was not drivable. I was assured that all accelerator pedal recall modifications were done on the car before the sale. I was still not satisfied. The manager of the shop and I did a test drive and after a detailed discussion of the accelerator pedal and design defects we jointly agreed to try and replace the pedal mechanism with one made - not by the us vendor - but by nippondenso -- Toyota's alternate vendor in Japan. To my great surprise the accelerator pedal was of a different design and feel. With the nippondenso pedal the foots position on the pedal is at a much more comfortable angle. But most important of all the response characteristics is a 100% better than the american made pedal. With the us made pedal the car had a "step" response whilst with the nippondenso pedal it has more of a "ramp" response. I was told by the dealer's shop manager that the nippondenso made pedal mechanism does not need the spacer or the floor mat modification either. I am surprised that two vendors making the same part for the same manufacturer to the same specifications and drawings have products that are so vastly different. The only thing common between the pedal mechanisms from the two vendors is its mounting on the floor board. Where is Toyota's quality control? in my opinion there is a strong co-relation between unintended acceleration complaints and the us made accelerator pedal design and its sharp "step" response. Let all those who have a complaint about the unintended acceleration insist on replacing the pedal mechanism made by nippondenso. NHTSA should look into the variations in the design from the two vendors and question as to why Toyota has permitted the vendors to design the mechanisms rather than just build it to Toyota's specifications.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #79

May 282010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

S10 appropriate handling-letter to the secretary from re 2010 Toyota Camry problems the consumer stated his daughter leased a 2010 Toyota Camry and when he drove the vehicle he noticed a certain amount of acceleration when slowing down.

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #78

May 102010

Camry

  • 3,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving approximately 30 mph, suddenly the speed rate increased to approximately 80 to 100 mph. Upon applying the brakes the vehicle failed to slow down and the contact crashed into a utility pole. The contact sustained minor injuries to the muscle areas, cuts and abrasions to the face and leg. The vehicle was completely destroyed and towed to an impound lot. A police report was filed. The cause of failure had not been determined at the time of the complaint. The failure and current mileages were 3,500.

- Gloucester, MA, USA

problem #77

Apr 212010

Camry

  • 400 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving at approximate speeds of 20 mph and depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure however, did perform repairs on the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number 10V017000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The contact believed the failure was caused by a defect in the engine and not in the accelerator pedal. The contact stated there were two other family members who drove the vehicle and had also experienced the unintended acceleration in the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 400 and the current mileage was 450.

- Rockville Center, NY, USA

problem #76

Apr 272010

Camry

  • 70 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated upon starting the vehicle, he placed his foot on the brake pedal and shifted into drive. The vehicle then abnormally accelerated to unknown speeds. The contact was unable to maintain control of the vehicle as it proceeded to crash into three concrete curbs, blowing out the rear drivers side tire. There was also damage to the front drivers side tire. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 70.

- Watertown, MA, USA

problem #75

Apr 262010

Camry

  • 900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving at speeds of 25 mph, the vehicle involuntarily accelerated. The vehicle was put into neutral and the engine exhibited unusually high rpms and continued to accelerate. The contact then shifted into park and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnosis of the failure. The failure did not recur. The failure and current mileages were 900.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #74

Apr 202010

Camry

  • 13,900 miles
Stopped car, shifting from drive to park. Car accelerated. Hit cement buffer in parking lot. Uprooted buffer, dealership picked up car told me two hours later that there was nothing wrong with the car, explained to me how they had checked everything and taken pedal apart. 2010 Toyota Camry I lease had been into dealership 03/05/10 for all recall repairs. Called 911 but they did not come because it was private property and there were no injuries.

- East Lansing , MI, USA

problem #73

Apr 212010

Camry

  • 1,972 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) my 2010 Toyota Camry (purchased March 30, 2010 with the assurance this car was not one of the models affected by the gas pedal problem) had been sitting in my driveway overnight after using it on a 200 mile trip the day before. When I started the car the following afternoon, with the car in park & my foot on the brake the engine roared & the RPM indicator read 3000 RPM. After about 15 to 20 seconds the RPM dropped to 1000 RPM. I put it in gear after it dropped to 1000 RPM & drove it for 1/2 mile ( up to the post office) & the gas pedal seemed touchy. I started it several times thereafter & all seemed normal. This car VIN [xxx] was purchased from lakeland Toyota in lakeland, Florida.

- Lake Wales, FL, USA

problem #72

Apr 082010

Camry

  • 460 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact was unable to brake and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle was at the authorized dealership at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 460.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #71

Mar 302010

Camry

  • 5,000 miles
The driver owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving at approximate speeds of 8 mph and placing her foot in the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The vehicle proceeded to crash into a tree planter and then into a palm tree planter before coming to a stop. There were no injuries or a police report filed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic, testing, or repairs. The dealer and manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The approximate failure and current mileage were 5,000.

- Eureka Springs, AR, USA

problem #70

Aug 102009

Camry

  • 47 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) on 8/10/9 we purchased a new 2010 Toyota Camry le, VIN [xxx]. this vehicle has been recalled at least two times for two defects. No one seems to know what the problem is: Gas pedal, floor mat, electronics etc. Since August we have only driven this vehicle 4,200 miles because are afraid of sudden excel ration and other phenomena that might occur. Moreover, we have lost a substantial sum on this vehicle due to the problems. We have lost confidence in Toyota and its dealership. They lie, mislead, and give out wrong information. There is a real safety problem with Toyota and all they do is deny.

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #69

Apr 102010

Camry

  • 135,000 miles
TL contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While pulling out of the driveway at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into the garage. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by placing it in park and turning it off. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 135,000.

- Essex Junction, VT, USA

problem #68

Aug 142009

Camry

  • 1,500 miles
I purchased a 2010 Toyota Camry in July 2009. I was returning home from visiting relatives in NJ. In early August. I was on a stretch of highway leading into 290 worchester from the mass pike auburn, when I accelerated to pass a semi truck and the accelerator stuck. I reached a speed of 85mph, so I punched the pedal with my feet and it dislodged. I reported the incident to the prime Toyota dealership in saco, me.'s service dept. In Nov. When I brought in the vehicle for a routine oil change. They had me remove the floor mats. I recently had the recall repair, so far there has not been another incident, but I am still leery about accelerating quickly and have not attempted to test pressing the pedal to the floor.

- Saco, ME, USA

problem #67

Jan 042010

Camry

  • 500 miles
Accelerator sticking/ surging.

- Fort Mohave, AZ, USA

problem #66

Mar 132010

Camry

  • 1,715 miles
Stopped at intersection. Placed foot on gas pedal and was attempting to turn right. Car surged with a rapid acceleration through intersection across a raised grass covered curbed median, striking a pole and sprinkler system. Car continued across other side of street into a yard striking a planter. I was unable to complete the turn as the car accelerated. Car came to stop in neighbor's yard after striking planter. Damage to car estimated at $2000. Reported incident to police. Police and firetruck arrived on scene. Airbags did not deploy but my shoulder was injured.

- Denver, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?