Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
43 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,385 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Apr 092010


  • 236 miles


Got a Toyota Camry le April 3rd 2010, today is April 9th, I was entering a parking slot between 2 parked cars (drivers were inside their cars waiting for the shift to start), the car did an unintended sudden acceleration as I was turning into the parking spot, was about to hit the car on my left, luckily hit the brakes in time. The driver in the parked car on the left was looking at me like I was some crazy guy who didn't know how to drive. Note to readers- I had not taken the issue seriously, didn't even know what exactly was wrong with Toyota, went and got one because they were having good deals, but you don't take it lite, it's a serious issue, you'll feel it only when it happens to you, I'm going to return the car tomorrow, not sure how much I end up spending.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #64

Mar 182010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota. While driving at approximate speeds of 20 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact attempted to brake and the vehicle proceeded to crash into a dumpster. Two occupants suffered knee and back injuries. The police arrived at the scene; however, the contact could not confirm if a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact was awaiting a diagnostic test for the failure. The contact also stated that on a separate occasion, when placing the keys into the ignition, the keys burned the contacts hands. The approximate failure and current mileage was 5,000. Updated 06/03/10 updated 06/10/10.

- Efland, NC, USA

problem #63

Mar 242010


  • 463 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated while traveling at approximately 15 mph. In addition to the acceleration, the brakes did not function and the steering wheel froze. As a result, the vehicle ran over a curb and hit a tree. The contact was injured as a result of the crash. A police report was filed at the scene of the accident. Although the vehicle had the re-enforcement pedal installed and the floormat interference test performed, the vehicle still experienced sudden unintended acceleration. The failure mileage was 463. The current mileage was 600.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #62

Dec 072009


  • miles


I leased 2010 Toyota Camry on 7/27/09 from hudson Toyota, jersey city, NJ. In December 2009 my vehicle accelerated by itself and by applying the brakes the vehicle went back to normal. In January 2010, Toyota reported a recall announcing that my vehicle is falling under their recall campaign. I have not received any notice letter from Toyota regarding the recall fix. On 2/16/10, when I took my vehicle to my local dealer for 5000 miles service, I was told then that my vehicle is under the recall campaign and it will take longer to perform the fixes. Now with all the news has been coming out regarding the lack of Toyota's safety and credibility, and whole other facts: Toyota manufacturer leased to me 2010 Camry with full knowledge about the vehicle defect (sudden acceleration) since 2007.on 3/18/10, I seek resolution for my case by trying to exit my fraud lease agreement. I had my arbitration hearing through national center of dispute settlement at hudson Toyota, jersey city. IżM trying to have Toyota buy back the vehicle (2010 Camry) and refund me the payments I did since 7/27/09. The gentleman-represented Toyota claimed he is the region district manager, have no business card and refused to answer safety questions about their product. He was spending most of the hearing time on his blackberry, the arbitrator from national center for dispute settlement never commented on Toyota's representative behaviors. IżM still waiting for a decision, which most likely to be in Toyota's favor as the ncds lacked the transparency in conducting that hearing. Are there any further actions I should take to exit my lease and get a complete refund, as I donżT feel safe driving their vehicle.

- Seaside Heights, NJ, USA

problem #61

Aug 032009


  • 10 miles
My 2010 Camry has been to the dealer a few times. Know one seems to be able to duplicate the acceleration surge I'm experiencing. I contacted Toyota directly. They sent me to different dealer. Dealer had it for a day and said the same thing "can't duplicate" I think they have all been schooled to say this. I had the service manager ride with me and told him to watch the RPM dial when I go to stop. He saw the RPM dial move up to almost 2000 when I hit the brake. He had me drive another 2010 Camry and it did the same thing. I had a 98 avalon and a 03 Camry that did not do this. He explained to me that this is the way these new cars down sift and it's different than the older Toyota's. he assured me that my car is safe and I have nothing to worry about. After reading all of the other complaints here I'm not 100% sold that this is normal down sifting. I think I'm going to take this to arbitration. I hate to do this because I love my new car...I'm just really nervous driving it.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #60

Mar 192010


  • 3,300 miles
I have a new 2010 Camry. Toyota has a recall also on the floor mat/gas pedal issue. Toyota took a grinder to my gas pedal as their fix per corporate instructions Toyota should do is give it's customers new gas pedals not grind down their current gas pedals. It appears that Toyota just is trying to save money.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #59

Feb 122010


  • 4,000 miles


Car: 2010 Camry le. Twice since purchasing the car in November the car has accelerated on its own. When accelerating to pass, the gas pedal travels to the floor, when it was not pushed that far. Both times I reacted by quickly putting the car in neutral and the pedal immediately returned to its neutral position. No damage, no injuries in either event.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #58

Jan 282010


  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph. When the accelerator pedal was engaged there was an slow response, after several attempts the vehicle resume to normal opeartion. The failure occurred when traveling the speed rate of 30 mph or less. The contact stated it feels as if the vehicle is stalling. The computerized system was reprogrammed previously and after the repair the failure continued to occur. The failure mileage was 100. The current mileage was 1,700.

- Denver , CO, USA

problem #57

Mar 142010


  • 520 miles
I had called Toyota at performance Toyota and told them that out 2010 Toyota Camry was making a strange noise when accelerating. They said they would come to my home and pick up the car on Monday the 8th. No one came. I called oksana my saleslady on the 10th and left her a message on her machine and she did not call back..on the 14th we we're going to church and as we we're pulling into the parking space my husband had his foot on the brake but the car accelerated over 2 concrete parking curbs and ended up in the upper parking lot about 10 feet up the hill. My husband had to keep both feet on the brake but the engine still kept on speeding until it got caught on both concrete barriers. 2 people in the parking lot witnessed this.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #56

Feb 022010


  • 45,400 miles
On February 2, 2010 I was entering my garage and slowly drove in, I then placed my foot on the brake to stop, I then opened the drivers side door slightly as I was about to place the vehicle in park a short revving of the engine began, right before I placed the shifter into park the vehicle jumped into reverse and began to accelerate backwards, causing damage to the drivers side door which flew open due to the reverse acceleration, the wall in my garage, the garage railing, the side panel of the garage were all damaged as a result. I then slammed on the brakes and the parking brakes, placed the shifter in neutral and then turned off the engine, I then called the Toyota corporation and explained the event to them. Their process was slow and not considerate to my needs as a consumer. After several days and numerous phone calls Toyota finally responded and I was told that I was going to have to wait another 4 days for someone else from their regional department to get in touch with me. I finally decided to let my insurance company handle the vehicles damage because I only have one car. After a week in the shop I then took the vehicle a Toyota dealer for them to repair the recall issues. Toyota explained to me that they fixed the recall problems and returned the vehicle back to me.

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #55

Mar 132010


  • 11,500 miles


Toyota Camry xle 2010 with 11500 miles is accelerating on its own and it is taking noticeable longer to slow down. Check engine light is on and (ESC) light is on. However this is not the first time this has happened. The car was taken to the dealer. The first time they said there was debris in the engine however it took them over 30 days to fix it and they did not seem confident they fixed the problem. It is not a consistent problem as it happens unexpectedly. This is not caused by a driver mistake as it can be clearly seen when foot is off the brake and car is in drive that the RPM is higher. Sometimes the opposite happens and the car acts as if it is going to stall and shakes very hard. The approx incident date is the last time it was noticed and the car is no longer being driven. * I wonder if there is a possibility that my cell phone that causes interference with my tv and radio causes an interference with the etc system?

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #54

Feb 252010


  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. After the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign id numbers 10V017000 and 09V388000, vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal, the vehicle would exhibit instances of abnormal unintended acceleration. The unintended acceleration would occur in both the drive and reverse positions. The vehicle did not exhibit the failure prior to the recall repair. The dealer advised the contact to allow the engine to warm longer than usual. The vehicle was also equipped with an electronic sensor that would become familiar with the driver's habits. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 95,000 and the current mileage was 10,000.

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #53

Jan 012010


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. He received a recall letter and took the vehicle in for recall repairs (NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000, vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). Afterward, while traveling at speeds of 55 mph the vehicle began to make a loud revving noise and would start to jerk. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where they made unknown repairs. Within 24 hours, the vehicle continued to exhibit the exact same failure. The dealer was contacted where they refused additional repairs to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current was 5,000.

- Buffalo, MN, USA

problem #52

Jan 102010


  • 10,000 miles
I experienced a runaway acceleration while driving my 2010 Camry le V6 (made in Japan). While leaving the parking lot of my work place I was trying to pull away from a stop sign and the engine revved out of control. As I tried to pull away from the stop sign the tires slipped because it had just snowed. I gave it a bit more gas to get over the snow when the car started to pull away from the stop sign the engine revved out of control. I pressed and held down on the brake, the car continued to pull forward, I put the car in neutral and the engine was at redline for about 10 more seconds then returned to normal. At no time did I floor the accelerator, it was not stuck. I stepped down on the gas just a bit to clear the snow patch and the engine just revved out of control. I am lucky this didn't happen in traffic, and I knew enough to hold down firm on the brake, or there could have been an accident.

- New Hartford, NY, USA

problem #51

Jan 042010


  • 0 miles
I have a Toyota Camry 2010, leased on August 23,2009. We started to notice an intermittent problem that has occurred since Jan. 2010, where the car surges forward. My daughter has been driving the car and it was not until I drove it that we discussed the problem. This March. She just thought it was her imagination. It is a slight set of surges. It does not appear to be any particular time of circumstances, it just does it. We took the car in to have the mats and gas pedal checked and were told everything was okay. This was February 4, 2010 and had the oil changed at the same time. This was before I drove the car and we compared notes. (we do not feel safe in the car) I want to turn in the car!! this is my first Toyota and will be my last.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #50

Feb 152010


  • 14,000 miles
The cruise control on my 2010 Toyota Camry sometimes continues to accelerate the vehicle after I take my hand off the cruise control accelerate lever. The speed of the car continues to accelerate until I hit the brake.

- Providence , RI, USA

problem #49

Mar 072010


  • 4,500 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) [xxx] 1) at red light, turned green, pressed down on accelerator, car sped backwards instead of ahead. Braked, stopped, confirmed car in drive gear 2) gas pedal cut as part of recall, foot has gotten caught under pedal 3 times.

- Ridgefield Park, NJ, USA

problem #48

Mar 082010


  • miles
We bought our 2010 Toyota Camry on 12/31/2010 unaware of the recall that was about to hit. When we started hearing about the recalls, we got on the Toyota web site. Our vehicle that we purchased 2 weeks prior was now on a recall list. When we contacted our local dealer, they said to do nothing, Toyota was sending out a letter the following week with all recall cars listed and when to bring them in. We never received a letter from the company nor the local dealership. When calling to demand this issue be fixed on Monday 3/8/2010, they took my name and number, said someone would call me back, and never did. My car has depreciated, I can't even get out from under it and am scared to death to drive it. I am appalled at the lack of response or concern from this company. I want out of this contract !!!

- Clinton, IN, USA

problem #47

Mar 082010


  • 2,100 miles
This is about the Toyota recall. I own a 2010 Camry. I just had the recall done last week. Since the work has been done I have had nothing but problems with the idle and the engine. Before the recall was done I never had a problem. Something needs to be done before more people are killed.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #46

Jan 112010


  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. She stated while driving 10 miles per hour and making a left turn, the vehicle accelerated forward. The contact stated on one occasion while trying to park in a parking space, the vehicle accelerated forward. She stated on another occasion while driving at 15 miles per hour the vehicle accelerated forward on an incline and had to go up and down a hill. The contact stated the failure has happened several times. The contact stated the manufacturer was willing to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 200. The current mileage was 1500. The VIN was not available. Updated 04-15-10 updated 05/05/10.

- Matick, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?