Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
22 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,460 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Mar 252008


  • 18,000 miles


My wife was dropping off our children at our neighbors house (where they catch the school bus) and when she turned the car around in their driveway it unexpectatly took off on her. Our Corolla crashed into our neighbors large SUV which was no more than 10 feet or so in front of the Corolla and pushed it through the wall in their garage. The Corolla, their SUV, and the wall of their garage were all damaged (about $8,000 total).

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #22

Sep 072008


  • miles
There are different experiences which compels me to write this complain form. It is about a 2007 Corolla which I own. I was experiencing acceleration problem about this car. To put it more precisely the car has a tendency to accelerate at different rate. I am sure it is not because of changing shifts because I also have another Corolla of the same year and model. At first when I start the car and shift to drive more the car has a tendency to jump which is more like when you change a motorcycle gear without clutching. And while I accelerate, sometimes the gas pedal just goes down but the car does not move. When I experienced this I took the car to the dealer and I was told by the mechanic that it was not a problem of the car but it is how some computer chip in the car behaves. This was in 2008. In 2009, I doubt gained strength when I was taking my cousin sister and her friend to my cousins wedding. I was driving through the leveled road in intestate highway and they even raised the question that there is something wrong with the car. Still I experience the problem. Though I believe that its a manufacturing problem because the experience which I have with one car is unusual compared to the other.

- New City, NY, USA

problem #21

May 092008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,598 miles
The contact owns 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 15 mph from the residence driveway. Unexpectedly, the vehicle surged forward into a ditch. The engine exhibited a light smoke. The front passenger air bag deployed with moderate force and caused minor injury to the occupant. The police and fire department were called to the scene. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle front end damages were severe and the vehicle was repaired at a cost of $8,000. The identical failure occurred on a separate occasion. The failure mileage was 5,558. The second incident occurred on October 29, 2009. The consumer was parallel parking and once again, the vehicle surged forward suddenly an only by trouncing on the brake pedal with both feet she was able to bring the vehicle to a stop, narrowly avoiding a collision. The consumer visited the dealer and was informed an advisory had been issued by toyotoa about potential problems and the computer system was replaced in the vehicle. However, prior to the second incident, the consumer contacted and was told there was nothing that could be done unless she saw a red light. Updated 03/12/10. Updated 04/16/10. *ljupdated consumer letter 09/14/10

- Ludlow, MA, USA

problem #20

Feb 042007


  • 5,000 miles


I was in the drive through line at mcdonald's in madison Georgia. After paying for my order, I press the accelerator to move up to the next window and "zoom" my car accelerated and rear ended a truck in front of me. My passenger nor I were injured, just shaken up a bit. The car continued to accelerate even after running into the truck. I turned off the car to stop the acceleration. This incident has only occurred once. However, the car feels like it pushes off quickly most of the time. As a result of the crash my entire front end was damaged and had to be repaired. The Toyota repairman told me they could not find anything that would cause the car to accelerate. They fix the damage cause by the crash.

- Hephzibah, GA, USA

problem #19

Feb 172010


  • 45,000 miles
While driving on a crowded 4 lane street in wadsworth Ohio, my car suddenly lost acceleration, it did not stall but the check engine light came on and the speed reduced to 5 to 10 miles instantly with busy traffic all around me, I put my hazard lights on right away because there were cars coming behind me at normal speed, I slowly moved my car cautiously to the furthest right lane, where I was able to go into a parking lot. This has happened on several occasions, I was able to get the car to my mechanic where he hooked it up to a computer analyzer, the result showed that the control module performance code P0607, which is a computer malfunction, we have contacted a Toyota dealer, we have an appointment for them to do there own diagnosis, and hopefully fix the problem, in the mean time I cannot drive car and not worry about my safety on the road.

- Wadsworth, OH, USA

problem #18

Jun 022009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,939 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact's daughter was driving at approx 35 mph, the vehicle tried to accelerate and lurch forward suddenly and repeatedly. She pulled over and turned the vehicle off. The contact took the vehicle to the dealership and the dealer replaced the ECM component. She had not noticed any problems with the vehicle since the repair. The current mileage was approximately 23,500. The failure mileage was approximately 18,939. Updated 03/24/10 updated 07/19/10

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #17

Nov 052009


  • 14,000 miles


It's a 2007 Corolla. I don't usually drive much before and I do drive a lot since I transfer to college and have to go on fwy. About 3 months ago, once I tried to stop on the road because right light, I left the gas pedal and wait to decelerate and then step on the break, but it didn't, I almost hit the car before me and it's really hard to stop I had to step it really hard. From than time, I began to realize that there might be a problem for it. I cant tell exactly how often it happen, but somehow I know when it goes up to 60mph, and it will decelerate. When it drops to around 45, it stops to drop. And when I go on the fwy, when it hits certain speed like 75, some times it won't slow down even I leave my foot from the gas pedal after I knew the tyt petal problem and the steering problem, I wonder if my car was involved. However, this model is not on the list, I still worried about it. Because tyt might hide the problem, or they did find it now and they will find it later. This week I got a speeding ticket in ca I-5 fwy and I doubt that part of the reason is that the "rare" accelerate problem. I don't know how to fix it because there's no evidence to show the problem right now. I hope that the us will investigate all model from 2000 to 2010 to ensure people safe.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #16

Feb 162010


  • 20,000 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Corolla which upon cruise control activation and/or reactivation speeds up to desired speed (normal) but then feels as if it is stuck in the accelerate mode and will continue to accelerate until it finally thumps or thuds into cruise. I've noticed this about 90% of the time when I impose cc. I have done nothing to attempt to correct the problem.

- Henrietta, NY, USA

problem #15

Feb 062008


  • 3 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions and unexpectedly, there was an increase of acceleration. In addition, when the brakes were applied the vehicle surged and the engine idled excessively. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on ten separate occasions for the identical failures and the technician was unable to duplicate the failures. The dealer stated that the floor mat may have contributed to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired for the malfunction and was traded in for a new 2008 vehicle. The failure mileage was 3. the VIN was unknown. The contact no longer owns a the vehicle.

- Converse, TX, USA

problem #14

Feb 102010


  • 48,000 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Corolla that is not involved in the recall, but I experience jerking on acceleration the first 1 to 2 miles each day. The jerky acceleration occurs on flat surfaces. It seems to only happen on cold starts first thing in the morning. I am concerned that my accelerator or the electronics may be defective. Also, it is hard to control the steering on the highway. The car roams into other lanes easily. I am concerned that some parts on my vehicle may need to be recalled.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #13

Nov 152009


  • miles


I own a Toyota Corolla 2007. I purchased it as a brand new car. I have been encountering many life- threatening experiences for unwanted acceleration while I pushed the brake pedal in my car. I noticed that the unsafe arrangement and design of pedals engage the gas pedal while pushing the brake pedal. In one incident I hardly avoid going underneath a truck just by turning off the car. I really feel unsafe when I drive my car.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #12

Nov 012006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
2007 Corolla S. uncontoled accelleration on three occassions. Car brought to dealer 3 times. Problem not found or resolved as mechanic could not duplicate the problem.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #11

Aug 092009


  • 40,000 miles
We have a 2007 Toyota Corolla. We experienced sudden acceleration two times in the fall of 2009. One time it was on our county road going around a curve. My wife let up on the gas and it sped up. She was able to get it under control and stopped. The other time it was in a parking lot. She had damage to the front bumper for a little under $1000. No report was made since we paid for it ourselves and there was no damage to any other vehicle. We took the car into Toyota and they came to the conclusion that both incidences were driver error. We called Toyota headquarters and they say the same thing since our vehicle is not on the recall list. I don't believe it was driver error. I believe it is in the electronics of the vehicle.

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #10

Oct 052009


  • 10,000 miles
I was in a parking lot, parking my car. Just before I had the car in its parking place, the car went wild, totally out of control. It went up the slope bordering the parking lot, then made a turn, and re-entered the parking lot. It came to a stop when it bumped into two other parked cars.

- Greenbelt, MD, USA

problem #9

Aug 152007


  • 2,000 miles
2007 Toyota Corolla SE sudden acceleration when coming to a stop. This happened 3 times between Aug. 07 to Jan 08. I was able to brake firmly, while the engine revved up, but did not lurch too far ahead. Dealer(Canadian) was notified and said they were unable to duplicate the problem. They looked at the car twice but didn't off any explanation. The car has been ok. Since Jan. 08 note date is approximate in Aug. 08.

- Oakville, On, Canada, 00, USA

problem #8

Oct 162009


  • 20,667 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 25 mph the vehicle accelerated when she stopped at a traffic light and there was a loud noise. The rpms rapidly increased and nearly crashed into another vehicle. The dealer was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was 20,667.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 152007


  • 300 miles
In January 2007 I received delivery on a new 2007 Toyota Corolla. In the weeks following delivery I experienced what I would describe as a stuck accelerator on several occasions. I would be driving and without apparent reason the vehicle engine would race. Following these occasions I would check to see if the mat was on the accelerator, but could not attribute the incident specifically to that. I reported these incidents to my dealer, papas Toyota, in St. Peters, mo, and they reported that they could not find a problem with the vehicle. After the first few months, the incidents seemed to stop. Because of the recent similar issues with Toyota vehicles, I believe that the 2007 model Toyota should also be evaluated.

- Moscow Mills, MO, USA

problem #6

Jul 082009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. While reversing out of his drive-way the vehicle accelerated backwards without intention. After repeated brake application he was able to stop the vehicle. The manufacturer was in the process of being notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,000. The current mileage was 12,000. Updated 12/30/09 updated 12/30/09

- Wiston Salem, NC, USA

problem #5

Nov 022009


  • 32,000 miles
In August 2009 the computer was replaced on my 2007 Toyota Corolla because it died in the middle of the intersection. Since that time, my car will suddenly rev up and accelerate on its own. I took it to the dealer service center a few weeks ago and after having it for a week, returned it to me and stated nothing was wrong. On November 2nd, my car suddenly accelerated pulling into my driveway and I had to knock it out of gear and stand up on the brake to get it to stop. I called the dealer and he said to call Toyota that he would not do anything with the car. I have a car in my garage that I cannot drive for safety reasons, no help from Toyota, and I will never drive it again as I have had re-occurring nightmares because of this incident as my twins were playing in the driveway and I had just passed my son on his tricycle and stopped and put my daughter on my lap to pull into the garage when this happened. I have asked for a full refund on the car and tony stubblefield with reliable Toyota in springfield mo said that the best he could do was allow me to trade it in there. This did happen to me, I have never in my life filed a law suit, and I would like this car taken away and the situation rectified or I will be left with no other alternative but to seek the services of an attorney. This stress is causing me health issues.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #4

Aug 222008


  • 31,000 miles
I was driving coming from my sister in laws house at grandview, Washington leaving around 7:40 am heading home to seattle going West to interstate-82 on Friday, August 22, 2008 with my three kids. I was using my cruise control and stayed on the left lane for about 20 to 30 minutes. We just left yakima city and headed to the fred redmon memorial bridge at around 8:30 am going up hill, in which I saw two tractor-trailer far in advance and both were driving on the right lane. The left lane was open as I drove in to the bridge but then the other tractor-trailer made a change to go to the left lane. I was probably 50 feet away when the other tractor-trailer made the change to the left lane. I was cruising about 50 to 60 mph in which I have to put my right foot on the brake pedal. At first, I thought I step on my gas pedal because the car did not slowdown a bit. I pressed the button to turn off the cruise control and hit the foot brake again and again. I then realized that my brakes did not work. As I was getting too closed to the left lane truck, I panicked and made a change to go to right and rear-ended the Volvo tractor-trailer.

- Kirkland, WA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?