10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,287 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2000 BMW 323 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 BMW 323:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 BMW 323 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Jan 082015

323

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323I. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Barneget, NJ, USA

problem #32

Jan 052015

323

  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The vehicle had not experienced a failure.

- Paridise Valley, AZ, USA

problem #31

Sep 012014

323

  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323ci. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair.the dealer and manufacturer informed the contact that the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lantana , TX, USA

problem #30

Nov 202014

323

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made of the issue. The contact had not experienced any failure.

- Los Angelos, CA, USA

problem #29

Dec 022000

323

  • miles
I just became aware of the passenger airbag recall. I was sitting in the passenger front seat as we were going 30 mph hit the curb when the airbag came out ended up rupturing, shooting debris out onto my face resulting me to lose my left eye...updated 12/02/14

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Oct 142014

323

  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323ci. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #27

Oct 222014

323

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323I. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact has not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #26

Sep 112014

323

  • miles
Air bags deployed while vehicle was in motion. Recall for vehicle airbags in effect, however my situation was found to be unrelated to the recall. I advise the recall be re-investigated to include spontaneous air bag deployment.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #25

Aug 112014

323 6-cyl

  • 54,300 miles
Air bag not replaced in a timely fashion. Car is unsafe to drive. BMW provides no date for its repair, as parts are not available.

- Summit, NJ, USA

problem #24

May 162012

323 6-cyl

  • 105,034 miles
The airbag icon on the instrument panel stays on. My machanic told me this means that a passenger sitting in the front seat does not activate the sensor in the seat and, as a result, the air bag would not deploy in case of a collision. So I asked them to repair it, after paying about $700, about 8 months later it popped back on, so I'm seriouly looking to trade this car.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #23

Feb 222014

323 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323ci. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated and continued to stay lit. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician decided to clear the code on the computer as a temporary remedy. The remedy failed to repair the failure and the air bag sensor has continued to illuminate. The vehicle was to be inspected by an authorized dealer. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V348000 (airbags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 8/11/14

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #22

Mar 072014

323 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The airbag icon on the instrument panel stays on. This means that a passenger sitting in the front seat does not activate the sensor in the seat and, as a result, the air bag would not deploy in case of a collision. There are many references to this problem posted on the internet. It seems to be the very same problem recognized by NHTSA for certain 2006, 2007 BMW's and for which a product recall has been issued. It is clearly a manufacturing/design/safety defect and it should be recognized for recall and repair immediately.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #21

Oct 162012

323 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 198,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323I. The contact stated that while traveling 65 mph, the vehicle traveled over a pot hole and the side air bags deployed haphazardly. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 02V223000 (air bags: Side window) but was told by the manufacturer that the recall was closed and that the vehicle was never included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 198,000. Updated 12/21/12 the consumer stated that upon hitting the pot hole chunks were taken out of both left side alloy wheels. Also the two left side tires were blown out. Updated 1/7/2013

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #20

Jul 142009

323

  • miles
On July 1, 2009 recall repairs were made at united BMW roswell, ga for a recalled airbag module. A week later my 2000 BMW 323I was parked and all of a sudden the front airbags deploy. The dealership was notified and a tow truck was sent to pickup and return the vehicle to the dealership. After a day of diagnostic work on the car the dealership states the car was involved in front end collision. BMW North America was notified after diagnostic test and is currently being "investigated"....

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #19

Mar 062009

323

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 BMW 323ci. While driving between 40-45 mph, the front driver's side tire exploded. The contact lost control of the vehicle and ended up on the median. Shortly after, the rear driver's side tire exploded. While the vehicle was still on the median, the air bags deployed on the passenger side. The driver was the only occupant in the vehicle and was not injured. She pushed the vehicle half of the distance towards her residence and the tow truck took it to the service center. The insurance company informed her to file a complaint on the air bags. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #18

Oct 182008

323

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 BMW 325I. Sporadically, the air bag warning indicator would illuminate on the instrument control panel, which indicated that the air bags were inoperative. The vehicle has not been inspected to determine the cause of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,000 and current mileage was 110,000.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #17

Feb 232008

323 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 BMW 3231. While driving approximately 50-55 mph, the side air bags deployed for no apparent reason. The contact's left arm was bruised. The vehicle will be taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The current and failure mileages were 140,000.

- Middlebury , IN, USA

problem #16

Mar 012007

323

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2000 BMW 3I. The air bag module failed. The manufacturer stated that recall# 02V223000 was repaired in July 2003. The dealer stated that this failure usually didn't occur after the vehicle has been repaired. The contact spoke to an air bag engineer, who also stated that this type of failure should not occur if the vehicle was less than 10 years old. The contact was the owner at the time the vehicle was repaired and wasn't notified that the recall repair was done. The contact stated that the repairs were at her own expense. The current and failure mileage were 16,000.

- Alameda , CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 292006

323 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 69,000 miles
(1) I was driving my 2000 BMW 323I on a feeder road, at about 40 mph. The car has approximately 69,000 miles. (2) the side airbags (driver's side) unexpectedly deployed with no apparent reason (no collision, no road bumps). The engine automatically cut off and emergency lights automatically went on. I was able to restart the car, drive it home, and avoid being hit by other cars. (3) I checked the NHTSA website and apparently there had been a recall in 2002 on 2000 BMW 323I for this very reason. However, I never received a recall notice from the maker despite the fact that I have always religiously taken the car to BMW dealers for oil change and repairs, and despite BMW has my address since it regularly mails advertisements to my residence. The next day I took the car at the local BMW dealer for repairs and asked about the recall. They told me that based on the VIN, my car was not among those involved in the 2002 recall. They also told me that they were unsure as to weather BMW would own the defect and pay for repairs since the car is out of warranty. Thus, I got my insurance involved to get a second opinion on the problem. I am still waiting on a solution of this issue.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #14

Aug 112000

323

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2000 BMW 323I brakes made a weird noise and when in a collision the airbags failed to deploy. The air condition made a noise. Updated 12/27/06.

- Fresh Meadows, NY, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?