ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,432 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #106

Sep 012018

325

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I push the brake for a complete stop, it will stop but miliseconds after that I will get jumpy. It is a safety concern for someone that is not used to the vehicle, it feels like the car is about to hit another vehicle in front of it. It happens when there is a traffic light or when I am going to park my vehicle.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #105

Jul 122014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system), which indicated that parts were not available. The contact detected an odor of burning wires inside the vehicle periodically. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The dealer and the manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #104

Nov 232017

325

  • 190,000 miles
I have replaced the clutch, transmission, fuel pump, spark plugs, battery, and alternator and my car still won't run. Its been parked for a year now with the exception of 15 days.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #103

Oct 012017

325

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall 17V-676: Blower motor wiring burning hot air from the vent is in with or without fan on (motion or parking). It is overdue and no response from BMW of America, llc as I kept on calling the office many times since 12/16/2017 letter received. 1/19/2018 6/5/2018 8/20/2018 10/12/2018 to NHTSA 11/5/2018

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #102

Jul 232018

325

  • 120,000 miles
Electronic steering wheel lock. This is in the steering column when it fails the car will not start. It seems to be a pretty common problem. I was hoping there was a recall for this issue, but can not find one.

- Spencer, NY, USA

problem #101

Oct 252017

325

  • 80,000 miles
NHTSA recall number 17V676 BMW still has not issued a response or a fix to this recall, which was sent out in October 2017. Blower motor wiring: This recall involves the wiring for the system, known as the blower-motor, that controls air flow for the heating and air conditioning system. Over time, the connection between the wiring and this system could deteriorate and, in rare cases, could lead to overheating.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #100

Jun 042018

325

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Actuators in all doors failed. Only driver's side door is accessible, but solely from outside and with the manual lock. Cannot access the fuse box to deal with other electrical problems, as it is located in the glove box on the passenger's side. If you lock the car while in it, you have to roll down the driver's side window, and use the key inside the fob to unlock the door from outside in order to get out. They failed while the car was stationary.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #99

Oct 252017

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to I.G. burton imports (509 bay rd, milford, de 19963, (800) 796-9702) where it was confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue, but no further action was taken. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #98

Jul 062018

325

  • 158,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that after the vehicle had been parked for approximately five hours, it caught on fire. The fire department was able to extinguish the fire and a fire report was filed. There were no injuries sustained. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The dealer (BMW of mt. Laurel, 1220 NJ-73, mt laurel, NJ 08054, (856) 840-1400) and the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 158,000.

- Westampton, NJ, USA

problem #97

Dec 012017

325 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Long beach BMW (1660 E spring St, long beach, ca) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/12/18

- Los Alamitos, CA, USA

problem #96

Jun 022018

325

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to South bay BMW (18800 hawthorne blvd, torrance, ca 90504) and the recall repair was performed. After the contact retrieved the vehicle, it overheated while driving 15 mph. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and the check engine indicator illuminated. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer for further diagnostic testing and repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the part may be available, and they would perform diagnostic testing. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #95

Dec 172017

325

  • miles
I received a recall noticed in December 2017 from BMW stating that there was a danger that the car could catch fire. 6 months later I am still waiting. It was recommended not to park in the garage until repaired.

- Walnut, CA, USA

problem #94

Apr 182018

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 3 series. When the contact purchased the vehicle from one source motors (10633 northland dr ne, rockford, mi 49341, (616) 951-7068), he was not informed that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). Sharpe BMW (1010 28th St SE, grand rapids, mi 49508, (616) 452-5101) scheduled an appointment and indicated that the air bag repair had been completed, but did not address the repair for the electrical system. The manufacturer stated that the part was unavailable and had not provided a time frame to provide the part to the dealer. In addition, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated, which was a safety concern. Sharpe BMW diagnosed that the floormat sensor needed to be replaced. The dealer and the manufacturer both stated that the vehicle was not included in any air bag recalls to cover the floormat sensor failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available for NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 and parts distribution disconnect for NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000.

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #93

Apr 072018

325

  • 0 miles
I am trying to trade in my BMW 325I 2006. Was told there is a open recall with no remedy at this time. The recall date was October 25, 2017. I was told they cant get the part. So in the mean time I am stuck with a car that I cant trade in and that is a danger to anyone that drive it. I will never buy another BMW because of this.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #92

Oct 252017

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that there was a strong odor entering the vents of the vehicle while waiting for months to receive the remedy for NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). In addition, there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel but the vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The dealers BMW of bowling green (325 three springs rd, bowling green, ky 42104, (270) 745-0001) and BMW of louisville (4 autocenter dr., louisville, ky 40299, (502) 287-1501) had been unable to determine when the remedy parts would be provided from the manufacturer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and but was unable to determine when the remedy parts would be provided to the dealers for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Glasgow, KY, USA

problem #91

Mar 142018

325

  • 94,650 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact smelled smoke in the vehicle while driving various speeds when the heater was activated. The contact spoke with critz BMW of savannah (7009 abercorn St, savannah, ga 31406, (912) 354-7000) and was advised that the parts for the blower motor recall were not available and BMW would not have parts for six months to a year. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The NHTSA campaign number was not provided. The failure mileage was approximately 94,650.

- Vidalia, GA, USA

problem #90

Oct 252017

325

  • 0 miles
Oct 25,2017 manufacturer recall numberna NHTSA recall number17V676 we are now in Feb 2018 and nothing has been done about this and I am having problems with my heating air conditioning..

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #89

Jul 142017

325

  • 84,000 miles
Complete loss of electrical power while driving, usually from 30 to 70 mph, on a city street, country road and interstate highway. This has happened multiple times since buying the car second hand in July 2017 to the present January 2018. We will no longer drive the car since it is quite frightening to lose power while driving 70 mph on the highway in traffic. Also, several times there is no electrical power at all in the car after stopping the car and trying to restart it. The battery has been tested and is charged and working normally. There is a recall for the positive battery connection and cable to the terminal connection at the cabin fuse box which can wear out and fail for bmws starting in 2007 that cause the same problems. Our car has the same problem but why is it not included in the recall ?

- Mount Pleasant, NC, USA

problem #88

Nov 142017

325

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (niello BMW, 2020 fulton ave, sacramento, ca 95825, (916) 486-1011) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was unable to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact noticed a burning odor inside the vehicle. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 131,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #87

Aug 242017

325

  • miles
The vehicle won't start, and steering wheel is locked. The vehicle was parked in the garage, I was able to start the car initially, but 20 minutes later, the car would not start and the steering wheel locked. I tested the alternator and the battery, but still not able to start or turn the steering wheel. Upon researching the problem, it seems to be the an issue with the elv locking system.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?