10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 13
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,264 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #110

Feb 072019

325

  • 213,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the vehicle the glove box department caught on fire.

- Portage, IN, USA

problem #109

Feb 092019

325

  • 146,000 miles
I was receiving a imagine on the on board computer saying that my headlights were not working. Upon inspection inside the headlight's casing, I saw that all of the wiring's protection had completely fell off (probably due to the humid southern climate of North Texas) leaving almost all of the wiring on both sides of my headlights (driver and passenger side) completely exposed. The copper wiring inside is almost all exposed. Obviously this is causing the headlights to short and leaving me with no visibility while driving at night. This is a model without angel eyes, so my drl do not work what so ever. These headlights are completely stock, so this is a factory fault. Very unhappy with this. Thanks BMW for the "fantastic" engineering! should be covered under a recall.

- Sanger, TX, USA

problem #108

Dec 222018

325

  • 140,262 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). After driving the vehicle for two miles to run an errand, the contact returned to the vehicle and smelled burning plastic. The contact opened the hood and saw flames on the left side of the engine block by the firewall. The fire department extinguished the fire. The fire department recorded the event and took pictures of the damage. A police report was not filed. The contact's hand was slightly injured, but medical attention was not received. BMW of louisville (4 autocenter dr, louisville, ky 40299, (502) 287-1501) towed the vehicle and diagnosed that the fire was caused by an oil leak and power steering fluid. The dealer stated that the contact was responsible for the repairs. The manufacturer had an investigator inspect the vehicle who confirmed what the dealer stated. It took the dealer and manufacturer five weeks to come up with their findings. The failure mileage was 140,262.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #107

Dec 032018

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that an unknown warning indicator illuminated, the vehicle hesitated while driving, and there was an abnormal noise when the engine was started. The contact reached out to union park BMW (1900 Pennsylvania ave, wilmington, de 19806, (302) 658-7245) several times pertaining to the failures. A technician was sent to the contact's residence and informed the contact of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). The contact was uncertain if there was an internal electrical failure, which could cause the vehicle to potentially stall and/or catch on fire. The technician indicated that the micro-filter needed to be changed, but the part was not replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

- Bear, DE, USA

problem #106

Sep 012018

325

  • 135,000 miles
When I push the brake for a complete stop, it will stop but miliseconds after that I will get jumpy. It is a safety concern for someone that is not used to the vehicle, it feels like the car is about to hit another vehicle in front of it. It happens when there is a traffic light or when I am going to park my vehicle.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #105

Jul 122014

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system), which indicated that parts were not available. The contact detected an odor of burning wires inside the vehicle periodically. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The dealer and the manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #104

Nov 232017

325

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have replaced the clutch, transmission, fuel pump, spark plugs, battery, and alternator and my car still won't run. Its been parked for a year now with the exception of 15 days.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #103

Oct 012017

325

  • 6,000 miles
Recall 17V-676: Blower motor wiring burning hot air from the vent is in with or without fan on (motion or parking). It is overdue and no response from BMW of America, llc as I kept on calling the office many times since 12/16/2017 letter received. 1/19/2018 6/5/2018 8/20/2018 10/12/2018 to NHTSA 11/5/2018

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #102

Jul 232018

325

  • 120,000 miles
Electronic steering wheel lock. This is in the steering column when it fails the car will not start. It seems to be a pretty common problem. I was hoping there was a recall for this issue, but can not find one.

- Spencer, NY, USA

problem #101

Oct 252017

325

  • 80,000 miles
NHTSA recall number 17V676 BMW still has not issued a response or a fix to this recall, which was sent out in October 2017. Blower motor wiring: This recall involves the wiring for the system, known as the blower-motor, that controls air flow for the heating and air conditioning system. Over time, the connection between the wiring and this system could deteriorate and, in rare cases, could lead to overheating.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #100

Jun 042018

325

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Actuators in all doors failed. Only driver's side door is accessible, but solely from outside and with the manual lock. Cannot access the fuse box to deal with other electrical problems, as it is located in the glove box on the passenger's side. If you lock the car while in it, you have to roll down the driver's side window, and use the key inside the fob to unlock the door from outside in order to get out. They failed while the car was stationary.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #99

Oct 252017

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to I.G. burton imports (509 bay rd, milford, de 19963, (800) 796-9702) where it was confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue, but no further action was taken. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #98

Jul 062018

325

  • 158,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that after the vehicle had been parked for approximately five hours, it caught on fire. The fire department was able to extinguish the fire and a fire report was filed. There were no injuries sustained. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The dealer (BMW of mt. Laurel, 1220 NJ-73, mt laurel, NJ 08054, (856) 840-1400) and the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 158,000.

- Westampton, NJ, USA

problem #97

Dec 012017

325 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Long beach BMW (1660 E spring St, long beach, ca) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/12/18

- Los Alamitos, CA, USA

problem #96

Jun 022018

325

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to South bay BMW (18800 hawthorne blvd, torrance, ca 90504) and the recall repair was performed. After the contact retrieved the vehicle, it overheated while driving 15 mph. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and the check engine indicator illuminated. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer for further diagnostic testing and repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the part may be available, and they would perform diagnostic testing. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #95

Dec 172017

325

  • miles
I received a recall noticed in December 2017 from BMW stating that there was a danger that the car could catch fire. 6 months later I am still waiting. It was recommended not to park in the garage until repaired.

- Walnut, CA, USA

problem #94

Apr 182018

325

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 3 series. When the contact purchased the vehicle from one source motors (10633 northland dr ne, rockford, mi 49341, (616) 951-7068), he was not informed that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). Sharpe BMW (1010 28th St SE, grand rapids, mi 49508, (616) 452-5101) scheduled an appointment and indicated that the air bag repair had been completed, but did not address the repair for the electrical system. The manufacturer stated that the part was unavailable and had not provided a time frame to provide the part to the dealer. In addition, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated, which was a safety concern. Sharpe BMW diagnosed that the floormat sensor needed to be replaced. The dealer and the manufacturer both stated that the vehicle was not included in any air bag recalls to cover the floormat sensor failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available for NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 and parts distribution disconnect for NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000.

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #93

Apr 072018

325

  • 0 miles
I am trying to trade in my BMW 325I 2006. Was told there is a open recall with no remedy at this time. The recall date was October 25, 2017. I was told they cant get the part. So in the mean time I am stuck with a car that I cant trade in and that is a danger to anyone that drive it. I will never buy another BMW because of this.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #92

Oct 252017

325

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that there was a strong odor entering the vents of the vehicle while waiting for months to receive the remedy for NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). In addition, there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel but the vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The dealers BMW of bowling green (325 three springs rd, bowling green, ky 42104, (270) 745-0001) and BMW of louisville (4 autocenter dr., louisville, ky 40299, (502) 287-1501) had been unable to determine when the remedy parts would be provided from the manufacturer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and but was unable to determine when the remedy parts would be provided to the dealers for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Glasgow, KY, USA

problem #91

Mar 142018

325

  • 94,650 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact smelled smoke in the vehicle while driving various speeds when the heater was activated. The contact spoke with critz BMW of savannah (7009 abercorn St, savannah, ga 31406, (912) 354-7000) and was advised that the parts for the blower motor recall were not available and BMW would not have parts for six months to a year. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The NHTSA campaign number was not provided. The failure mileage was approximately 94,650.

- Vidalia, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?