2011 Buick Regal drivetrain NHTSA complaints: Power Train

NHTSA — Power Train Problems

2011 Buick Regal (Page 1 of 2)

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,976 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Buick Regal drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Buick Regal:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Buick Regal Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Mar 262020

Regal

  • 156,013 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the city road and my car just shut off and lost all power to everything. I almost got hit. I then turned my car back on and the service stability trac light came on and the check engine light was flashing. I could nearly get it to go at all and my car was shaking and sputtering. It was the scariest thing I have ever dealt with. I had it put in the shop on 10/26/2018 and now it just happened to me again and its 03/26/2020.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #28

Oct 142018

Regal

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Buick Regal. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The contact started the vehicle normally after a few minutes. According to the contact, the carfax report indicated that the transmission was replaced prior to him purchasing the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 133,000.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #27

Sep 122019

Regal

  • 73,000 miles
Reference the below background information on GM's L4 - 2.4L 4 cylinder engines: Please reference document id: 4821148 #12313D: Special coverage - engine balance chain and fuel pump - (June 6, 2017) this special coverage bulletin was provided by my mechanic at midas from the alldatapro.com website. Special extended warranty repairs are supposed to be covered via this bulletin for 120,000 miles or 10 years for GM vehicles that have the L4 engine including the 2011 Buick Regal. My 2011 Buick Regal is definitely exhibiting all symptoms / problems that are well known with the General Motors L4 - 2.4 L four cylinder engine. See information below about oil consumption and engine performance symptoms: Https://www.msn.com/en-us/autos/research/seven-engines-to-avoid-like-the-plague/ar-aavz7vm#page=3 I am a former GM powertrain division engineering / salaried employee where I had a 20 year career background with engines and transmissions. The L4-2.4L engine is a known safety hazard as the engine can fail while under normal operation on a highway or city street with potential catastrophic results. Even with the mechanic oe bulletin referenced above, GM refuses to cover expenses for permanent repairs for the 2011 Buick Regal. Instead dealership customer service representatives are instructing vehicle owners to just add oil frequently. (note: The low oil indicator is also defective.) please also reference the class action law suit below: Https://www.classaction.org/media/berman-et-al-V-general-motors-llc-joint-notice-of-settlement.pdf GM corporation customer service, professional mechanics, and GM's dealership network (Buick and Cadillac) all are fully aware of the catastrophic safety consequences that this engine poses to the general public; yet, a comprehensive recall and appropriate extended warranty coverage is being denied.

- Charter Township Of Clinton, MI, USA

problem #26

Aug 262019

Regal

  • 123,964 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Whenever I am driving my vehicle for an hour it starts to stall or sputter in traffic and the engine dies completely. It will restart but still continues to hesitate when accelerating. I've taken it to a mechanic and no error codes pop up when this happens so they do not know the cause or how to fix the issue.

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #25

Jul 062019

Regal

  • 60,000 miles
2011 Buick Regal purchased from show room floor in 2011. Presentative maintenance up to date. No warning lights. Something terribly wrong with transmission, engine. While driving on city street approaching interstate at 25 mph, car starting stalling, puttering, losing power. Pulled over, put in park. Then car would not go into gear. Would accelerate but would not go into gear or move. Had to be towed. First thing dealer service center suggest is $3000 transmission. Car only has 60,000 miles, one owner. No way! no prior symptoms or warning lights, in fact onstar diagnostics currently showing no issues found with engine/transmission system. This car is unsafe and should be recalled!!! 2011 Buick Regal diagnostics report from your 2011 Buick Regal as of 07/08/2019 no issues found

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Feb 052019

Regal

  • 93,000 miles
Our cur completely shut off all power lights engine everything doing 80 mph on interstate 84 in Idaho. A semi seen it happen jumped in the middle of both lanes to block traffic so we could get to the shoulder. In a no cell phone area 13 we disconnected the battery and had to shift srive it in limp mode. No alert lights came on we took it yo a certified dealer to find the pistons, timing chain and other things are ntoken GM/ Buick was notified they decided to decline assistance because we are out of warranty 93K miles on the car and over 5,000$ in repair and possibly another 2100$ to repair the cadilitic converter. We were in a no cell service area and had to drive in the shoulder now the headlights won't turn on at all either. The car never alert us it just shut off the dealer says the oil was very low again no oil light came on with that yhe dealer says therecould be a BCM/ECM communication issue costing $1200 to $2500 to fix. They can't assess completely until the piston/ timing belt issue is fixed but the car is not communicating the steering is now super tight and the only yhing it says now is service stibilatrac and the mechanic didn't even bring that

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #23

Dec 172018

Regal

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Icar only has approx 86,000 miles. Was riding down street car shut off. It turned right back on but it was making a very loud noise. Parked it. Next morning went to start it and it wouldn't. had timing silenoids and starter changed. Car is read no codes and it still went start. Had taken to another shop for second opinion. They said I needed a motor. Where am I to get $2800

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #22

Dec 182018

Regal 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Buick Regal. While driving at an undisclosed speed, the check engine warning indicator illuminated and an abnormal noise was heard coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to Liberty Buick GMC (9028 E independence blvd, matthews, nc 28105, (704) 708-8000) where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. On another occasion, while driving, there was an abnormal noise coming from the engine. It was discovered that the engine oil was below the low marker on the dipstick. The contact was informed that there was no oil leak evident; however, there was an excessive amount of oil consumption. The vehicle was not repaired a second time. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and provided case number: [xxx]. the approximate failure mileage was 64,000. Consumer stated transmission and engine failed. Parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #21

Oct 282018

Regal

  • miles
I was sitting in my brothers yard with my car crunk up and when I began to put it in reverse it started making a strange noise. So when I put it back in park the noise stopped. So I put the car back in reverse so I could back out his driveway, but this time the car wound not move. So I put it in drive to see would it go forward and it did for maybe a hundred feet but it would not switch out of second gear.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #20

Sep 072018

Regal

  • 47,500 miles
Vehicle had 45000 mile's when I bought it in Oct 2017 and now has 47500 miles. Car had no problems and drove and looks like new. Last week (09/07/18) it started bucking going down road at @30mph, then would jump into gears at stop. Then did not want to go into reverse. Would not shift out in forward gears. Manual would not work either. We were stuck in traffic at busy intersection...all in about 10 minutes time. Limped to aamco transmissions and left it...diagnosis was needed to rebuild transmission..cost;3400.00 have read this has happened on other 2011 models. Should have been a recall..45000 miles is still like new and this should have and could have been avoided..I was lucky to have not been in an accident. Was just driving normal in city when happened.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #19

Jan 052018

Regal

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought my car from a reputable dealer. The car was a fun toy for me to drive. My 2011 Regal apparently had has a transmission problem. The shop says needs a new transmission because everything is sealed and can't be serviced. Anyway multiple times I'm on the road and in town and the car drives okay, but as soon as merge onto the high way the car stalls. Heres what happens as soon as I merge onto the high way the RPM's go way up. The trassmission is stalled.the car won't accelerate. Multiple times I've almost had an accident. The instrument cluster has "D" flashing and engine light is off. I pull over the side of the road turn the car off, and then restart the car and then it works again. This sucks. It honestly a 50 50 chance the car transmission will stall when I merge onto the highway. I feel this is a recall issue. Manny people have complained about this recently around the same millage of mine. Around 100,000 miles. Only problem is Buick takes blame on the same problem with the enclave, but not the Regal. What a shame.

- De Pere, WI, USA

problem #18

Aug 182017

Regal

  • 77,710 miles
I'm writing about a concern I have regarding the transmission design for the 2011 Buick Regal. I purchased my car from a reputable dealer with a clean car fax in 2014. The car had roughly 45,000 miles on it, and every bit of maintenance has been performed at the appropriate intervals since I purchased it 3.5 years ago. During the time that I've owned my car, I have put an additional 30,000 miles on it total. I haven't driven it on the highway since July of 2015, and my trips are shorter than 4 miles one way. On my way to work a couple of weeks ago, my transmission completely failed without warning. I was almost broadsided twice, turning left around a roundabout. I was driving roughly 30mph, and without warning it lost power. The "check engine" light flashed, and the car stalled trying to switch gears as I accelerated. When I went to put it in park, it will slide into reverse but doesn't move in any direction. I was forced to push it uphill in a parking garage, so my tow truck driver could come and tow it to my mechanic. I had it towed to my mechanic, who informed me that this design has a fatal design flaw causing the transmission to fail. The enclave has been recalled as well for exact same failure. I then got a second opinion from his transmission expert, who was dumbfounded I was needing to replace a transmission in a car that has accumulated 30,000 miles total in 4 years time. Both my mechanic and my transmission expert informed me that the enclave had been recalled for the exact same failure, and they personally knew of Buick Regal owners who had their transmissions fail without warning. If I had been going faster than 30mph, or been on the highway, it could have been fatal! I spoke with my attorney, who advised me to file complaints with Buick, the ftc, and the NHTSA.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #17

Jul 032017

Regal

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Buick Regal. The contact stated that the vehicle's shifter was not functional. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle's was towed to a local Buick dealer where the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of failure and opened a case. The failure mileage was approximately 48,000.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 032017

Regal

  • 120,000 miles
While merging onto a busy highway, the transmission would not shift into 3rd gear. It lost power and almost caused an accident. There was no previous warning of a transmission problem. The traffic was heavy because of the holiday weekend. With little room to merge, I attempted to speed up with traffic when it failed. I was forced to pull over and limp along the side of the road in second gear until the next exit with cars flying by at 70-80 mph. This was caused by the "wave plate" in the transmission coming apart according to the transmission shop. They also said this is a very common problem with these transmissions. Buick knows about this problem as listed in 2007-2009 recalls but does not do anything for 2011 models. There is also a pia bulletin pi0780A for this exact same problem and model year. GM refused to take responsibility for it. There are several forums with the same problem. It it going to get someone killed.

- Middleville, MI, USA

problem #15

Jul 062017

Regal

  • 67,000 miles
Buick Regal 2011 is currently at 67K, the vehicle had transmission replaced at 63K. The automobile continues to stall as there seems to be concerns related to the acceleration/power of the car at times, vehicle doesn't display the power it should be driving with. In addition automobile is making a squeaking noise from the water pump or belt when vehicle air conditioning is ran (either in motion or stationary).

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #14

May 192017

Regal

  • 60,800 miles
Takata recall - my Regal is 2011. I have not had any problems prior to this. My service stabilitrak ligh began coming on along with ABS light. I also explained the check engine light would come on after filling the tank and it reduced to 3/4 of tank. Last week all lights came in on car as I was parking. Took the car into to be serviced. The dealer completed a diagnosis advising I had a leak from my fuel pump. Needed new fuel pump, fuel injectors. For the ABS problem needed new bearings and sensors. I drove away for second opinion. The next day while driving slowed for a traffic light and pressed gas to take off the car would not accelerate. The engine was running. I had to turn car on and back off to get to move to the center of the road during rush hour. I sat there for a min. Was able crack and get to a safe place off the major road. I got a second opinion having the car towed to Firestone. They also saw a fuel pump code and mentioned the timing chain. I had car towed to the dealer. They replaced the fuel pump on my way home on the interstate. I slowed for the exit and hit the gas. The car stalled again. I was afraid at that point. The dealer cannot tell me what the exact issue is with the car. It is still there for diagnostic now. They had to escalate and still no answer. They are using trial and error to resolve the issue which is a dangerous and expensive joke.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #13

Feb 052017

Regal

  • 89,000 miles
My vehicle issue is that the exhaust valves were bent due to a valve cover bolt that released and damaged head valves and head on motor. This is a factory issue due to the bolt releasing. I am being held responsible for vehicle and only owned vehicle for less then 2 years. For replacement head cost and or replacing the motor itself is a costly situation. My vehicle was parked in city limits and when attempting to start, would try to turn over but just keep spinning without full crank. I shouldn't be replacing the motor on vehicle that is still well under 100,000 miles and no major issue prior.

- Little River, SC, USA

problem #12

Dec 202016

Regal

  • 82,000 miles
Check engine light illuminated at 82000 miles. Using the scan tool from a local auto parts store, I observed that the obd-II codes were P0016 and P0017. Around the time that the check engine light came on, I noticed that the shifting done by the automatic transmission seemed jerky, and that the engine was noisier than usual even when idling. Generally the miles on this car accumulate from equal time spent on both city and highway conditions. The engine rough idle and choppy gear shifting were apparent during both types of conditions. The check engine light remained lit for five days before I took it to the dealership for diagnosis. Dealership diagnosis said "jumped timing chain front guide came apart P0011 P0014 P0016 P0017 set in system." The dealership replaced the timing chain using a time chain kit, replaced the intake and exhaust actuators, and replaced the oil and filter. Three days have passed since the repair was made, and the engine seems to be operating normally.

- Madison Hts, MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 092016

Regal

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Buick Regal. While driving 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was not able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the transmission module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000.

- Locust Grove, GA, USA

problem #10

Sep 292016

Regal

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Buick Regal. While the vehicle was idling at a red light, it failed to accelerate without warning. The contact had to push the vehicle off the road. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission control module failed and needed replacement. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?