9.4

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,000
Average Mileage:
73,650 miles
Total Complaints:
23 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (13 reports)
  2. replace headlight assemblies (8 reports)
  3. replace headlights (2 reports)
2012 Cadillac SRX lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Cadillac SRX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Cadillac SRX Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jun 262018

SRX Luxury 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ever since we purchased this car, the low beam headlights have been terrible. Seems like no lights at all. The high beams are pretty good though. We turn down the intensity on the dash lighting which helps a little. We do not even drive this car at night anymore. I have read online that this is a design flaw from Cadillac, but they refuse to repair.

- dridge122, South Chesterfield, US

problem #22

Aug 012019

SRX LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,999 miles

click to see larger images

low beams very dim low beams very dim low beams very dim low beams very dim low beams very dim low beams very dim

My low beam headlights are a real danger when driving in inclement weather and at night. My light assembly has had condensation for some time but it is progressively worse. Now I can't drive my car after dark. I just found out about the class action lawsuit and my state was not included... How did that happen?

The problem was identified as faulty so didn't this class action suit include all states. Why hasn't GM owned up to the faulty light assembly for the year make and model? I have owned and driven a Cadillac for the last 25 years... I love the drive and the workmanship... but this headlight assembly is defective. I asked my dealership about repairs and was told that it will cost me over $1,000. I just had a catalytic converter replacement for over $2000...

- Rosa H., Evans, GA, US

problem #21

Dec 132019

SRX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 205,357 miles

I just bought this used vehicle a week ago. The husband noticed the issue and replaced the bulbs and actually asked his wife how could she see. The new bulbs did not help. I am afraid to drive my new-to-me 2012 vehicle at night. It has to be very dangerous and I am not encouraged that if I spend a thousand dollars to replace the headlamp assembly that I won't run into the same thing.

- Carla M., Bloomington, US

problem #20

Jun 152018

SRX Classic 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shortly after purchasing this car in 2018 I noticed moisture in both headlights. After researching it I found that this is a common problem in this vehicle. As everyone knows, GM had put out a letter saying they would pay up to $1600.00 toward replacing the lights but the dealerships were charging $3,200.00 leaving me a balance of $1,600.00 to pay out of pocket. As I could not afford to pay this amount I did not take them up on their offer.

I feel that it is too dangerous to drive this vehicle at night so I do my best to never drive this car after dark.

I feel that GM should be held accountable for this design flaw and take responsibility for their mistake.

Thank you,

David L. Spriggs

- David S., Fort Smith, AR, US

problem #19

Jul 082019

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,272 miles

In July of 2019, noticed that front head lights were dim and could only see with high beams on. This makes it unsafe for other drivers and myself. Went to our Cadillac dealership was told that they know of the problem, but GM is not taking responsibility for this. We the customer have to fix it at a very costly price aroun 3000.00. This is our 2nd Cadillac and it will definitely be our last!!!

- Robert M., Hamilton, US

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Jan 312020

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

This is a dangerous problem. You cannot see at night with the low beams on. They are putting people lives at danger. They have agreed to a recall in several other states so they are aware of the problem and the dangers. They need to step up to the plate and repair all these headlights.

- Pamela M., Chocowinity, US

problem #17

Jul 202019

SRX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my used SRX in July 2019. It is a spotless car with only 58,000 miles. I now have 74,000 miles. The lights are horrible and dangerous! I need to use my brights when I can in order to see. I envy approaching cars that have lights at night.

On several occasions, I nearly didn't follow the bend in the road. One evening on a main highway, during the rain I came to a stop light. When the light turned green, I cautiously started driving when I felt a thump thump. I NEVER saw whatever it was if anything. I just saw a flash from the corner of my eye. I slowed down, looked in my rear view mirror, but saw nothing. At the next light I rolled down my window and asked the car that was behind me, "what was in the road and did I hit it?" He said I hit a fox! I felt horrible. I was lucky it wasn't a person! I literally could not see.

These lights are a major accident waiting to happen. One just trades it in and it becomes someone else's problem. I ask you at GM.....would you allow your spouse or child to drive a Cadillac at night? I'm hoping for a recall.

- Linda Lee D., Saratoga Springs, NY, US

problem #16

Jan 012020

SRX Luxery 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

Since purchasing car as certified used from dealership, the overly dim low beams have been an issue. Can hardly see at night, especially in inclement weather. I immediately flagged the problem, and dealership changed out bulbs while under warranty. The problem continued. Well, the low visibility ultimately participated in a recent run in with a bear. Clear night, dry roads, just diminished vision. I just could not see the massive, black body of the animal crossing the dark road. It resulted in $9000 plus in damages. Miraculously, I was not seriously injured in the crash, and insurance covered the claim. Now that it has been repaired and I am back behind the wheel, I am petrified to have a re-occurrence. GM should recall pertaining vehicles and suck up the cost to install HID/LED housing and bulbs. It is unconscionable that, after all the complaints and concerns about this known issue, GM is not approaching this as a very serious risk to safety and that lives may have to be lost before action is taken. I was lucky, the next person may not be.

- Sabrina S., Bantam, US

problem #15

Dec 101929

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

The headlights on my 2012 Cadillac srx are extremely dim. Very dangerous to drive after dark. Almost had a wreck by hitting an object in roadway because it could not be seen because of the dim lghts. Cadillac should be responsible for the repair because of the danger to the owner. Have been some deaths because of this problem . The cost to have this fixed would be around 1,559.00. Since this is a faulty part from Cadillac. It should be recalled and replaced with no cost to car owner. I will certainly keep in mind how Cadillac handles this potentially serious problem before purchasing another Cadillac!

- Barbara H., Henderson, TX, US

problem #14

Dec 102019

SRX Luxury

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

You cannot driver this car at night period. It seems to get worse the more you wash it. I wonder how many deaths will have to take place before GM will have a recall. We should not have to replace these lights up front and sit around and wait for a check to come in. I am not sure who has $1800 a light sitting around to paid out of their pocket and hope GM will reimburse you for it.

- Brandi K., Sylacauga, AL, US

problem #13

Aug 202018

SRX 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,079 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

You can’t can't very well when driving in the dark and have to put a high beam to see good.

Update from Feb 28, 2020: Had the light covers buffed out, didn’t do any good

- Carole B., Mount Vernon, US

problem #12

Aug 012018

SRX Premium 3.2 v6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

Wife has driven a Cadillac since mid 80's as did her father from the 60's until 2014 and always enjoyed the comfort and support if any issues. Her 2012 SRX got to when driving at night I actually questions if the headlights were on and got out to see. A month later got stopped one night by a highway patrol to tell me her headlights seemed to be to dim and suggested for us to get off the road.

I talked to others with 2011-2015 SRX and found everyone was experiencing similar concerns with their lights...Really makes the bright lights seem great. Called our local dealership and even the Cadillac rep and I was made to feel like my car was an isolated problem.

Cadillac responding to me when I had talked to others and seen complaints on line made me lose faith in Cadillac and GM.

My father as well as my father in law both fought in WWII against the Germans and the Japanese and although both have passed now they would not buy anything from either country and I guess out of respect for their desires have stuck with their principles. But now with GM basically lying about there are no issues, I will not hesitate to look at Acura, BMW, Lexus etc....

- Erskine J., Clinton, US

problem #11

Apr 052018

SRX LUX 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,166 miles

Cannot drive at night, low beams are so dim. Replaced at my expense, high-tech LED low beam, no help. Installed fog lights, at my expense, no help. Researched on internet and evidently this is a problem that should have been fixed by the factory. I do not understand, does someone have to get killed to get this problem fixed?????

- jrstables2, Camden, US

problem #10

Jun 012014

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

Originally this car was my sister's and she purchased it in Florida - two years later headlights were EXTREMELY DIM. She didn't do much driving at night, so she ignored it. In 2016, my sister and I traded vehicles because her vehicle didn't have all wheel drive when she moved to Scranton, PA. Anyway, I could not deal with this issue any longer because it was light having candles for highlights and I could not see.

In October 2018 I took the car to the Cadillac dealer to replace bulbs for $165 and there was absolutely NO improvement, and the dealership had the audacity to say they were a little brighter. We spoke about replacing the headlight assemblies at a cost of $2,000 plus labor and NO guarantee this would correct the situation!!

I researched this online and found many complaints about dim highlights and folks spending tons of money on OEM bulb and assembly replacements to NO avail. I wasn't about to risk spending so much money for nothing. This is CORPORATE AMERICA not doing the right thing. GM knows about this and won't do anything about it until the National Insurance Institute Highway Safety makes them.

Shame on GM! People pay a ton of money for these cars and this is what they have to deal with. Anyway, I went to Audio Works in Newark, DE who replaced with TYC headlight assemblies and fitted with Putco Silver Lux Pro LED for the low beams/Fog lights for half the cost. EXTREMELY HAPPY THAT I CAN SEE AT NIGHT WITH SUCH CLARITY AND BRIGHTNESS

- Beryl M., Alloway, NJ, US

problem #9

Dec 202018

SRX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,500 miles

Same issue as I’ve seen others report. Low-beam headlights are very dim, making it very difficult to drive at night. High beam lights can be used but pose a problem to on-coming drivers. Researching repair options, but no confidence that repairs will be cost effective or eliminate the problem.

- Jim W., Charleston, US

problem #8

Dec 002000

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

click to see larger images

low beams very dim low beams very dim

Headlights began to dull and then condensation developed in the left headlight. I spent $800.00 at the dealership to replace them and now the other side is extremely dull. I tried to just change lightbulb however they could not do that. This is an extremely dangerous situation and involves too many people for it not to be a recall.

- Kathleen S., Key Largo, US

problem #7

May 102016

SRX Luxery 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

Low beam headlights have sucked since we bought this car used in 2015 with 38,000 miles on it. Talked to dealer a number of times with no satisfaction. We were told to replace headlamps but that is only temporary. I also tried brighter bulbs which helped a little but still can't see at night. There just doesn't seem to be a final fix for this problem. We are considering trading it in because it is unsafe to drive at night.

- Mark R., Grant, FL, US

problem #6

Oct 062018

SRX Luxury 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

LOW BEAMS ARE SO DIM CAN'T SEE ROAD. HAVE HAD BULBS CHANGED BUT DID NOT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE. GM NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM! DON'T THINK I WANT ANOTHER SRX!

- Trula S., Douglas, US

problem #5

May 132018

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

I cannot drive this car at night because you cannot see the road and you are putting your life and the lives of other drivers at risk. When I am forced to drive at night, I use my high beams which is again, not safe for the other drivers. GM is aware that this is a safety issue but will not do anything to fix the problem. I have spoken with 3 different reps and they do not care.

Update from Oct 17, 2019: I was almost in a terrible accident early today while driving my daughter to school because another car could not see me at all! My vehicle is black, it was dark out and raining. The other driver and I both had to slam on the breaks and my daughter was crying. This vehicle is not safe and there has been no assistance whatsoever!

- Lindy H., Wadsworth, OH, US

problem #4

Mar 022017

SRX LS V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,452 miles

There is a dim headlights problem with the 2012 CADILLAC SRX. We brought it into the dealer for service while the vehicle was still under warranty. At that time We were told that they would change the light bulbs. This did nothing to fix the problem. We let them know that this did not fix the problem. They told us that was all they could do. We began to research the problem and found that this is a known problem with model years 2010-2015.

It seems that GM and GM Dealers have chosen to ignore this known problem. Many have been quoted $1800 or more to replace the headlight assemblies. I recently had a local body shop look at my headlight assemblies. There is moisture in both of the assemblies, picture submitted of broken headlight bulb. The tech stated that this is causing a deterioration of the lens from the inside which is defusing the light as it tries to pass through. He stated that he has seen this problem on other Model SRXs. I am hoping that by submitting this complaint more owners will join me in getting the attention of GM and GM dealers to offer a solution.

- Eddie B., Franklin, US

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?