9.6

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
55,500 miles
Total Complaints:
19 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (12 reports)
  2. replace headlights (6 reports)
  3. (1 reports)
2015 Cadillac SRX lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Cadillac SRX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Cadillac SRX Owner Comments

problem #19

Jul 012018

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This problem make it very unsafe to drive at night. Only solution at this time is to drive with brights on at all times.

- Beth S., Dayton, TX, US

problem #18

Feb 192022

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 194,000 miles

I needed another car and I've driven a Cadillac SRX 2008 for eleven years. I loved it, so decided to get one I could afford at this time. I bought the 2015 SRX. It's beautiful and I test drove it during the day. The next night I had to drive 75 miles away to pick up my daughter. I thought something was wrong with the headlights, so the next business day I called my salesman. I left a message and wondered why he wouldn't call me back. Now I know why. I researched this car and see that I'm not alone with this issue. Since they won't replace them, I'm just going to drive with my brights on whenever I have to drive at night. I'd rather get flashing lights at me, than be dead.

- Laura P., Grand Rapids, US

problem #17

Nov 012020

SRX LX 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Have very little light at night, Extremely dangerous. Took it to the dealer, Quoted $1800 + I can not believe GM is going to let people drive around like this>>>>this should be a safety recall before someone gets killed !!!!!

Turnd off the highway onto a less lit jug handle went off the road onto the grass i was very lucky, Amen.

- rwojcikjr, Toms River, US

problem #16

Jan 242020

SRX SRX4 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,126 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2015 Cadillac SRX is the most dangerous vehicle I've ever driven at night with the head lights on. Thought my wife just needed glasses until I drove the car recently at night on an interstate highway, state roads, local roads and neighbor streets. The headlights on low beam are nearly non existent. High beams are perfectly fine. Researching, I noticed others having similar issues and complaints.

We contacted the NHTSB with our concern and was provided a case number (11298929 on 1/13/20). NHTSB indicates there have been several complaints on SRX Head lamps. We then Contact GM Corporate (filed a complaint Case # 9-5751009859). GM HQ indicated we must go to a certified Cadillac dealer to have the lights diagnosed for limited illumination. Baierl Cadillac in Wexford Pa diagnosed the vehicle to have poor illumination (on 1/24/20) at no charge. Baierl Cadillac filed the issue with GM and allowed us to take the vehicle... Within a few hours, the service manager from Baierl called me indicating GM would pay $700 towards a repair that would be $1600. He wouldn't confirm there has been resolution in regards to quality of the head lamp assembly and indicated they may fail again. I'm struggling to understand why I need to pay anything for this problem.

For the record, I would say the dealer was extremely professional with me and said they have had numerous owners with this issue. Clearly there is an issue with the Head Lamp Assembly on this model year. The dealer also told me that changing just the low beam bulbs wouldn't help. The assemblies need to be changed.

I'm not sure of my next move but we will never drive this car, as it is, after sundown unless absolutely necessary. The high beams will remain on nearly 100% of the time unless passing an oncoming vehicle. We will only will turn off High beams at the very last minute. This practice alone is a safety hazard for on coming motorist.

GM you have a problem!!!!

- Leon D., baden, US

problem #15

Oct 162019

SRX Luxury 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

Just cannot see at night. Very dangerous. My wife is scared to ride in the car with me. Dealer wants 1700.00 to replace with same bulbs and admits it will likely happen again. What do I do? This is really unsafe!

- dmiller78, Carmel, US

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Jan 042018

SRX LX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

Why should I have to pay (AGAIN) for what GM knows is a problem with the Low Beams on the SRX model? A friend of ours had hers replaced and then GM reimbursed her the cost! That is unacceptable in my opinion!

- Archie B., Sugarcreek, US

problem #13

Apr 012020

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter from Cadillac back in June2020 (during Covid) claiming they were aware of the problem and recommended I take it to a Cadillac dealer and if they found this to be a real problem they MIGHT reimburse me up to $1600 for the repair. Due to my health issues I was unable to address the issue. I made the appointment with my dealership and visited them today only to be told that GM only covered this issue until the end of June 2020 and would no longer cover any expenses concerning this issue. I'm very disappointed in Cadillac and feel this should be addressed and fixed at GM's expense. I can tell you that this will be the last Cadillac that I will own.

- Rhonda J., Pleasant View, US

problem #12

Aug 012020

SRX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

We are afraid of driving our car, a 2015 Cadillac SRX, at night because you can not see. Later we learnt that there is an inherent problem with the design of the headlight assembly seal. The light assembly is not sealing well allowing moisture inside the the assembly damaging the light bulbs. So, basically you can be driving on the highway and the light could suddenly turn off on you!! Putting you and your passengers in a very dangerous situation.

This is a death and life situation - our 50K dollars car parked in the garage idle for this reason. GM must issue a recall and not a micky mouse document asking owner to pay upfront and submit a claim that might take months to get your money back. During this pandemic most of us are out of work and short on money. GM is not taking enough responsibility to fix the problem. Just replacing the existing headlight assembly with similar one of the same design will not solve the problem. We will run through the same problem again.

GM must come up with a new design and issue a recall immediately, otherwise a new lawsuit against GM will be filed. Many owners are upset about this unpleasant situation, and may I know why a deadline June 30 was set by GM litigation company called Analytics that do not even answer or return your call to bring your car to the dealer. I brought my car to three dealers and non of them have even the parts. In short, I am not happy with GM customer service anymore and I will think twice before I buy another GM car. Best of luck to all.

Aouni Alrabaa

- Aouni A., Sugar Land, US

problem #11

Oct 182019

SRX LX 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,800 miles

click to see larger images

low beams very dim

I was driving to a friends house the night of October 18, 2019. She had already pulled out of her driveway and was waiting on me to park in her driveway because she was driving us to a venue. When I parked in her driveway and entered her car, she told me that as I approached her home, she literally could not tell that my headlights were on!!! She could see the side lights, but the round head lights were not visible to her.

This was very alarming to me because ever since March 2019, I have had issues seeing the lines on the streets at night. I thought it was my vision changing and I needed a new eye glass and contact prescription. Although I had both changed, seeing the lines at night did not improve!!! I had also heard that the industry had converted to LED head lights in the past few years, so lights coming towards me could contribute to me not seeing the lines clearly. However, after October 18th, I began to research if anyone else had issues and found that there were many issues similar to mine!!

On October 28, 2019, I saw another Cadillac SRX owner in the parking lot of a super market and asked her if she had any issues with low beam lights and she said YES!!!!

On November 4, 2019, I followed a friend up a very dark street and asked him to give me his opinion as to whether or not my lights were on. He said yes, they were on, but very dim. He was very concerned about me driving at night!!!

I am very concerned and would like to get more information about the law suit in Michigan. I would rather Cadillac and GM do the right thing and replace these faulty lights with LED lights, but I will join the lawsuit if there is no resolution. Can you please provide me with next steps to assist me with resolving this potentially dangerous issue?

Regards, Doris Lee dlee109.dl@gmail.com

Update from Feb 25, 2020: My 2015 SRX (28,000 miles) was on the right and a small KIA sedan was on the left at a red light (see photo). The KIA"s lights were very bright and the only light illuminating in front of my car was the KIA's. When the KIA took off, there was no light illuminating in front of me on the ground! My car is a danger to drive at night without using the brights in areas where there is not sufficient street lights!!!

- dlee109.dl, Cypress, US

problem #10

Nov 272018

SRX Luxury V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,964 miles

I purchased this vehicle used from a Lexus dealer in 2018 and didn't drive it at night for quite a while. The first time I did I was totally shocked since I couldn't see anything on low beam and had to operate it on high beam. I called the local Cadillac dealer and he claimed he hadn't heard of any problem with lights and he would have to charge me $150.00 to diagnose it and if it needed new headlight assemblies they would be around $750.00 each. I asked about replacing the bulbs with halogen and he said he didn't know but would I bring it around after I had that done so he could see if it made a difference. His denial of the problem clearly was a load of crap based on his denial, knowledge of the cost and wanting me to bring it so he could see it after new bulbs were installed. I did have the bulbs replaced with halogen but it made next to no difference and I need to run it on high beam if I want to see anything and that has oncoming traffic blinking at me once in a while. I see aftermarket headlamp assemblies advertised for as low as $249.99 for both left and right and would like to know if that will fix the problem. Does anybody have information about that? Please let me hear from you. I have filled out the complaint as requested on this site, but have heard nothing in the several months ago that I did that. If the after market replacement works, it wouldn't be too bad, but I can't really see anything wrong with the assemblies currently by just looking at them. Is there a definitive description of what causes this?

- Hank H., bradenton, FL, US

problem #9

Feb 012019

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This X 1,000. This car was dangerous to drive at night on low beam. Never buy another Cadillac!

- emptynest, Leesville, US

problem #8

Feb 202019

SRX LX 3.2L V

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

Low beam lights are failing causing a significant safety issue while driving at night. Low beams do not provide enough light to be able to see. High beams must be used to be able to see the road but the high beams blind oncoming vehicles also causing a safety issue. The vehicle should be recalled to permanently fix this issue.

- David G., Westminster, MA, US

problem #7

Mar 012018

SRX 3.2lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,065 miles

Cadillac needs take responsibility and fix the problem with these cars.

- Clarence W., Seaford, VA, US

problem #6

Oct 182018

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,500 miles

I bought this car in 2016 as a second vehicle to use on trips. I mostly drive my old 1999 Camry. Several weeks ago, my niece was hit by another driver and her car was totaled, since I let her borrow the Camry. I have been driving the car for several weeks now and noticed the headlights are very dim. This is very dangerous because I can barely see the road in front of me. I use the hi beams constantly but have to go back to the dims so I don't blind oncoming drivers. This is both annoying and dangerous. I have made an appointment for service and to have them look at the headlights. Will post on here the outcome of that visit.

- bjarmon2000, H, US

problem #5

May 012017

SRX Luxury

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

The headlights are so dim that I can barely see when driving at night. I have to use them on bright most of the time just to be sure that other drivers can see me. I took it to Cadillac to have them fixed and they told me there's nothing they can do but charge me $1600 to replace the casings.

- Rochelle P., Novi, US

problem #4

Apr 212019

SRX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,025 miles

Finally took car to dealership and ask about low lighting on low beams. Was told that there was a recall for 2016 - 2018 models but not 2015. These recalls were due to reflective part not positioned correctly or does not exist. I am not a mechanic just a annoyed driver. Total cost for replacing headlamps is over $1700. I am almost to a point to trade Cadillac for another car brand maybe I would see better to be safer on road and also be able to travel at night. I feel as if I am limited to only day travel due to unsafe conditions from a car I am paying for. Hope the company recalls and makes vehicle safer to drive for all owners.

- Tammy B., Bennettsville, US

problem #3

Sep 302018

SRX 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

I gradually started noticing a difference at night, thinking it was back roads or the time changing and getting dark earlier. It started getting worse and I thought my eye sight was going bad. I used my husband's truck one night and I could REALLY tell a difference and it was NOT my eyes. It has gotten so bad I have to use my high beams all the time at night and that is dangerous for the oncoming drivers. However, if I don't, the worse case is I don't see them and then an accident occurs. It was really bad last week and I just missed a deer and went into the other lane almost hitting another car.

I had the bulbs replaced and NO better, they said it was a defect with Cadillac and I should get the headlight lens assembly replaced. This is a COSTLY item and the labor, however the dealer is worse. I bought this car wanting a Cadillac all my life and I can't believe GM does not care about the people buying there cars and suv's and they are not cheap. I really am hoping everyone will file a complaint and a recall can be made. This is going to cause someone's death its just a matter of time.

- Norma R., White Marsh, MD, US

problem #2

Nov 012018

SRX Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

GM needs to do a recall PRIOR to a fatality. Even after the recommended replacement by the dealer, the illumination is sub par. We are an accident waiting to happen.

- Carol S., Evansville, US

problem #1

Jun 042018

SRX Luxury V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

The lights are very dim. According to the service manager at dealership they are having issues with the lights and the only fix is to replace the entire unit. I replaced both of the light bulbs and the low beams are still very low and this creates an extreme danger to drive the vehicle at night.

- Jeff R., Jacksonville, US

Not what you are looking for?