Print this page

6.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,466 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Ford Mustang engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Ford Mustang Owner Comments

problem #18

Aug 282018

Mustang

  • 70 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on the dallas, tx highway 35- rlthornton headed sound in the peak of traffic in the fast lane (far left hand lane) going about 35miles and car stops. My feet was pressed on the acceleration but the car would not move. No engine warming or lights came on. The cars behind be began to swerve and brake to keep from hitting me. The abrupt engine shut off could have caused accidents or even worse fatalities. (my life) because the car was unmovable and failed to start, 911 had to be called for assistance with getting me out of arms way of other drivers and on the right side of the highway. I called the dealership, to inform them of the matter. Had the car towed at the expense of $120 dollars. 2 days have passed and my car hasn't been looked it. I was told that they might get to my car by Friday, 8/31 and that no rentals were available. My biggest concerned is the safety of my life and others. After researching around it appears that others have also experienced this problem. The Mustang is Ford biggest seller but consumers have the right to know of any issues such as this being reported. Why, because lives matter.

- Red Oak, TX, USA

problem #17

Jan 012017

Mustang

  • 5,000 miles
The power went out while the engine was running, while moving steering wheel froze, ,took to have fixed and power train was damaged from repairs but told it was fixed, but the dash screen keeps going out. Now 3 recalls 2 for seatbelts, front and back, and the cooling system is being recalled for a hose or system malfunction that could cause a fire. Already had the air assembly fixed, now this latest recall. All around this is an unsafe car to drive, it only has 11,000 miles on it and it has had major defects and sever things go wrong. It's a lemon

- Caldwell, ID, USA

problem #16

Apr 282018

Mustang

  • 2,500 miles
On 4/28, 2018 while driving on Florida's turnpike at 65 mph without warning the car decelerated and lost power, going into limp mode. Luckily no accident happened, but clearly a serious safety issue.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 012016

Mustang

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear differential traction control clutch pack failure

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #14

Oct 092017

Mustang

  • 46,000 miles
Car in motion; on 10/09/2017 - I was driving 80 mph (which is the legal speed limit), on major Texas highway 130 toll road, engine stalled, car hard to control, difficult to pull off the road to safety. Attempted to restart car several times, after 7 or 8 times it finally started. It had a rough idle, and continued to stall out 6 more times for the remaining 30 miles until I reached my home. There are no stores, or safe places to pull off of the road on this toll road, and it is a very long stretch of highway to be left stranded on. I've contacted Ford service and they said there is nothing they can do, my car is a 2016 Mustang which I bought brand new...

- Hutto, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 012017

Mustang

  • 22,835 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, carbon monoxide entered the vehicle through the air conditioning vents, which caused the contact to have headaches and nausea. Medical attention was not required. The vehicle was taken to the friendly Ford of crosby dealer located at 2425 us-90, crosby, tx 77532; (800) 568-9561 where the gas kit was refilled. The contact stated that the dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact stated that the odor was getting worse every day. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted at 800-568-9561 and was made aware of the failure. The manufacturer informed the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer and a case number 12966085 was provided. The approximate failure mileage was 22,835.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #12

Oct 192016

Mustang

  • 4,572 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchase date 4-16. Eight documented visits to dealer/repair. Other visits where service adviser said to return when system failures were happening, as problem would resolve before I arrived at service. Re water inside, driver door issues, sync, camera/stereo electrical issues include doors will not unlock at times, takes multiple attempts to be granted access into car, thus causing safety concern. Sync goes out fairly regularly including phone function, back up camera, stereo. Currently in shop again since 7-3-17 @ 9 am.(16 consecutive days this trip). Safety concern of most importance to me is the fact that car has lost power multiple times on highway and thankfully has not yet been in a major accident. Quick reflexes of drivers behind me are only reasons that accidents have been avoided thus far. I am told by dealer that this is a throttle body malfunction. Throttle body has been reprogrammed after a near rear end accident ( highway/ intersection/turn). Throttle body went out with no warning car instantly decelerated with no acceleration capability. One week later throttle body fails again causing a near accident that would have been fatal in nature due to the speed of traffic on highway. My 7 yea old was in rear seat. My children are no longer for any reason allowed in the vehicle since October 2016. Throttle body has yet again been replaced June 2017. Third attempt to repair this car with no indication that this is a repair, it seems to be merely a repair attempt as this process of attempted repairs has caused 3 near rear accidents. This car has proven itself to be a danger on the road and a major safety hazard for anyone inside or outside of this vehicle while it is in motion. Low mileage is indicator of how untrustworthy vehicle is to me. It is only driven by me, no passengers allowed. Only driven if another car can not be borrowed. Unresolved issues.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #11

Feb 152017

Mustang

  • 16,000 miles
Takata recall. The issue with my car is that the engine is shutting off while coming to a stop. Whether the clutch is engaged all the way or if it's just in neutral. Suddenly the RPM's just drop to zero and I would have to restart the car again by hitting the start engine button. This had happened multiple times in the past few couple of months. Other than that the car still runs smooth and everything else is fine. I have almost 18000 miles on it. I really hope Ford could figure out what the problems is.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #10

Apr 122017

Mustang

  • 5,000 miles
Engine oil cooler tube assemblies leak brought the car to the dealer twice problem not fixed, yesterday 4/12/17 brought the car again for the same problem, the service department is saying the coujld not finish the job today and wants to keep the car over the weekend for further repairs. We paid good money for this car, we want to use the car instead of having the car I N the repair shop!

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #9

Nov 132016

Mustang

  • 12,600 miles
Rough idle with no throttle control while in drive. Engine died and wouldn't restart. Was taken into Ford for similar problem a few months ago and I reported it here. The first repair was recorded as a defective throttle body. This car is not safe!

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #8

Sep 122016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It has a little over 5000 miles on it and it is using oil excessively. It is using a quart of oil every 600-900 miles and is getting worse. I have brought in to Ford twice. Both times they said I would need a new engine. But, I just received a call from them last Friday on 10-21-16 and they said they are not going to be putting a new engine in the car as they fear the new engine will do the same thing. They said they "may have a fix next spring." I called Ford customer service and their regional rep called me back. She only offered me a maintenance plan for free oil changes. This is worthless to me and my current problem as it doesn't need oil changes and does nothing to address the problem. Since they admit they have a problem with the engine and have no repair for it, I asked them to buy the car back. They refused.

- Forest Lake, MN, USA

problem #7

Sep 232016

Mustang

  • 6,100 miles
I bought a new 2016 Mustang in April. I was driving uphill at 40 mph. All of the sudden the engine cut off. When the engine went off a large wrench came up on the display and it said see manual. I tried pressing the start button but it would not start. I had to come to a complete stop, put the car in park and then was able to restart it. This could easily lead to death! if this would happen on the beltway or I-95 I could get killed. The car didn't overheat and all the gauges showed normal. Now I am afraid to even drive it; I don't want to be killed or kill someone if the engine stops.

- Parkville, MD, USA

problem #6

Aug 282016

Mustang

  • 8,300 miles
The car suddenly lost power and no acceleration was possible. The trouble light came on. Car would only roll at 10mph with engine power. The gas pedal would not control the motor speed. Car would not shift. This happened when I just pulled in to a parking lot. I was able to use the emergency flashers to get the car home using side streets at 10mph. Last year a guy in his 2015 Mustang asked me if I had this problem as he explained the same situation when I also owned a 2015 Mustang. I didn't have that with the 2015, but I just bought it when we talked. I know what he means now. As my 2016 did what his 2015 did with a loss of power.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #5

Aug 162016

Mustang

  • 5,100 miles
During normal driving during 5pm traffic, the car shuddered, a wrench icon came on the screen, the car lost power and would not accelerate. The vehicle was in motion at the time on a 4 lane road with multiple other vehicles in close proximity. After pulling over and shutting the engine off and on 2-3 times, I was able to drive approximately 2 miles to dealership. Service department seems to think it is a defective electronic throttle body.

- Ridgeland, MS, USA

problem #4

Aug 032016

Mustang

  • 11,814 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Mustang. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle slowed down to 2 mph. The service light illuminated and the vehicle was towed to a dealer. The tow truck driver stated that the failure may be due to the fuel line. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,814.

- Brielle, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jul 052016

Mustang

  • 4,300 miles
I just purchased my brand new 2016 Mustang less than 6 months ago and have already been having issues with it. I was stationary waiting at the stop light and shifted into 1st gear 3 times and my car wouldn't budge. I turned off the engine and restarted it to move it out of the street. The engine light came on briefly then shut off. A week later I was driving approximately 60 miles per hour on the freeway and my vehicle suddenly stalled with no warning. I do not remember the engine light being on this time. I just took my car into the dealer and they said it was a bad throttle body.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #2

Jun 032016

Mustang

  • 5,400 miles
Lost power in insanely busy irving/dallas intersection near major highway - could have been a huge accident! 5400 plus miles. Ford 2016 Mustang, V6 from a standing position, second car in line at red light. Light changes, traffic starts to move, I stepped on gas and nothing! had to creep across two lanes of busy traffic and limp up onto a sidewalk as that there was no breakdown shoulder. Than god the curb was about 2 to 3 inches high. Wrench icon on dash: "see manual". turned engine off and back on - rpms surged to the red and then dropped to below 1000. Tried the off/on thing about 3 times - same results. Engine was chugging, missing, even exhaust was chugging like some old jalopy! checked the electronic gauge readings - everything was normal except the vacuum pressure - it was between 5 and 0! after several calls to dealership, Ford roadside assist and tow company; turned car off again - 30 seconds to a minute later, restarted it - and it was running perfect - engine light however was on. Vacuum level was running between 17 and 20. Towed to dealership; it's a week now and I have just learned from them that it's the throttle body. Was told that "Ford had a bad batch of these" on this engine size (V6). The part is on back order. The dealership service rep stated it's taken as long as a "couple of months" but Ford is getting faster at getting the part out, so it could be a week to two weeks to get it in. I have seen reports of this same issue on carcomplaints.com for Explorer - from Jun 5th 2016 - stating that Ford had 7000 throttle bodies on back order! this is an exceptionally dangerous situation with these things losing power like this on highways and in major traffic. Ford needs to issue a recall on this throttle body!

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #1

May 092016

Mustang

  • 7,800 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Mustang. While driving 45 mph, a loud abnormal noise emitted from the engine and the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the engine was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 7,800.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?