2017 GMC Acadia drivetrain problems: vibration

Vibration

2017 GMC Acadia

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your GMC dealer.

7.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
50 miles
Total Complaints:
3 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (3 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2017 GMC Acadia drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 GMC Acadia Owner Comments

problem #3

Feb 282017

Acadia SLT-1 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I picked up my 2017 GMC Acadia on February 28, 2017. This vehicle was a dealer trade because our local dealer didn't have one with the equipment I wanted and in the color I wanted. I test drove an Acadia Denali that the dealer had and was pleased. My salesperson drove to a neighboring state to drive back the Acadia I now have. I live about 20 miles from the dealership. The night I drove it home involved city stop and go driving then about a 12 mile stretch of 4 lane highway before arriving in the small town I live in. Just before I got on the highway I felt a slight vibration in the steering wheel and assumed it was rough road. Once on the highway I felt the vibration again and it felt like I ran over the rumble strips that are on the side of the road and along the center stripe. The vibration faded away. I approached a slow moving car and had to slow down before changing lanes to pass. As I passed the car and got up to 60/61 mph I felt the vibration again. Once again it slowly faded away. This happened 3 more times in that short stretch of highway. This is an AWD equipped Acadia and I was driving it in 2 wheel drive. Now I'm concerned. I told my husband about it when I got home and he said he would drive it the next day to check it out. A couple of days went by and he finally drove it the following Friday and he felt the same thing. He agreed that something isn't right and that we should take it back to the dealer. That day I started googling the situation and have come across many other 2017 Acadia owners with the same problem. The disturbing part is that no one can diagnose the problem, and from what I'm seeing, GM claims it's normal. This is NOT normal! I still have not registered my Acadia because I am finishing out a lease on a Buick Lacrosse that's been a dream car. The Acadia is sitting in my garage, and frankly, I'm hesitant to drive it or register it. It really makes me sick to look at that beautiful vehicle and not know whether the problem can be fixed or not. I called our dealer on Friday and made an appointment to have them take a look at the truck next week. I'm trying to stay calm and give the dealer a chance to diagnose and fix the problem. I thought I did my homework before leasing the Acadia, but I obviously didn't do enough research.

Update from Mar 16, 2017: March 16, 2017. The Acadia has been at my dealer since March 7. They have replaced the rear transmission mount and the vibration is still there. They plan to replace the front transmission mount and I fully expect the vibration will still be there.

Update from Mar 27, 2017: March 27, 2017. Upgrading the front and rear transmission mounts has not eliminated the vibration in my Acadia. My dealer has given all info to GM Technical and they said they are going to send a field engineer to inspect and drive my truck. I am hoping that the field engineer can figure this out.

Update from Jun 2, 2017: My issue has finally been resolved! I received an email from another Acadia owner with the same problem giving me the number of a service bulletin that fixed the vibration. The service bulletin is 17-na-168. It recallibrates the ECM (computer) I took my truck to my dealer yesterday and an hour later the vibration is gone! So very happy to report this, and I hope this helps others with the vibration issue.

- Anne S., Mohawk, NY, US

problem #2

Oct 202016

Acadia SLE 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles

This vehicle was a order out of a new model so there was no opportunity to test drive this unit prior to purchase. That said I would counsel anyone one considering the new body style 2017 Acadia with the new 3.6L V6 engine, to do a complete evaluation of the car you are considering for this problem.

Here is the issue,.. there is a very audible drumming and vibration felt in the steering wheel and seats when the engine is in the V4 mode in two wheel (FWD) mode when the engine RPM's are between 1500 and 1750. This engine speed unfortunately corresponds to a highway speed of 56 to 63 miles an hour (MPH) and an in town speed of 28-40 MPH depending on the gear (which is precisely where most of my driving occurs). To add insult to the situation we had an occasion in the last few day to require the AWD to be engaged at interstate speed of 70-75 MPH (now with the engine in the V6 mode) and the drumming and vibration was constant, very concerning, annoying and unpleasant and did not cease until the vehicle was stopped and switched to the FWD mode.

I have had the vehicle to the GM dealer who is extremely helpful and they confirm the problem, I also drove an identical model on the lot and it has the same issue. GM technical line was consulted and denied knowledge of the issue, suggested re-settling the driveline by loosening running the mounting points, then retighten to specs the motor and transmission mounts along with the exhaust system. This was done and resulted in no improvement, GM was informed and reported back that this was a "normal operating characteristic".

I again would advise anyone to completely evaluate any 2017 Acadia (new model) with the 3.6L V6 engine for this issue before purchase. In fact with so many other great crossover vehicles available in this class look elsewhere.. consider yourself cautioned.

Update from Nov 28, 2016: Now with over 2700 miles on the vehicle I am certain the vibration and drumming occurs at all times. It just seems to presents itself unacceptably at the times indicated in my initial note. What that means as far as a cause and solution,.. I am not sure but back to the dealer once again this Friday. I will update on the results of that visit.

- Greg W., Stratford, WI, US

problem #1

Aug 272016

Acadia Denali 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles

There is a very unnerving vibration which occurs at all speeds while trying to maintain constant speed. It is similar to when you have a window open while driving a n SUV , that baffling sound, but this happens whiles windows are closed. I had the car at the dealers for 10 days and they confirmed the problem on my car and the other 2017 Acadia's on the lot. They had no fix and now I have a $52,000.00 vehicle I can stand to be in!! They worked with GM tech and tried many things and came up with Zero! I think a lemon law or buy back should be started now before any more of these car are put out.

- Sandy G., Cutchogue, NY, US

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?