2015 Hyundai Sonata windows / windshield problems: panoramic sunroof has annoying noise

Panoramic Sunroof Has Annoying Noise

2015 Hyundai Sonata

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Hyundai dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

5.8

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
3,200 miles
Total Complaints:
13 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (11 reports)
  2. adjustment to the sunroof, seal (1 reports)
  3. dealership applied lubricant to rubber seal (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2015 Hyundai Sonata windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #13

Dec 202015

Sonata Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2015 Sonata Limited 2.4L. Early on, I was hearing a knocking noise from the back like something was loose. I brought it to the Hyundai dealership and they could not hear the noise even though I told them how to reproduce it. I brought it back again for the noise and drove with the mechanic and pointed out the noise to him. He insisted it was in the back deck in spite of my comments that is sounded like the retractable sunshade frame for the panoramic roof. The dealer removed the back deck and put foam pads under the deck to keep it from rattling. Since this was not the problem it did not fix the issue. I brought it back again and this time they said they lubricated the track and it did seem quieter for a few days. Then it came back worse than before. Like lubricating something with WD40 that needs grease. I have brought it in several times and each time no resolution. I forget all the fixes they have tried. I have mentioned it to the service manager every time i am getting service and he indicated Hyundai didnt have a fix for the problem so no use in dropping the car off. My car is approaching 3 years old now and still no fix. I asked that the District Manager for parts and service drive the car. He wouldn't even talk to me himself. He just told the service manager to tell me it was normal. But in spite of it being normal they were replacing the sunroof seal. What! The sunroof seal is not the problem and not even near where the noise is. Such BS! It has been a problem for almost 3 years and they have tried various fixes and now it not really a problem but they want to fix something nearby that is not a problem and say that is the fix and close the district manager file. If the panoramic sunroof/sunshade are not a problem then why discontinue it for the 2018 Sonata?

- Michael C., Metairie, US

problem #12

Jan 292016

Sonata Sport 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles

My 2015 is equipped with the panoramic sunroof, and since the 3 day of ownership my sunroof has rattled. The sound is similar to that of a baby rattle. The sunroof pops and moans while constantly rattling, the car has been at the shop twice for this issue, once for 48 hours, the 1st time the dealership said there was a TSB and that they fixed the rattle. I made it 10 feet off of the lot before turning around to report it wasn't fixed.

The tech placed even more lube on the roof, which got onto my leather seats, and that didn't fix it. When I dropped the car off the 2nd time they had the car for over 48 hours, I was told they are aware of the issue, they contact Hyundai, but not fix is available for my roof yet. I was told to follow up periodically to see if they have a resolution yet. It have been 5 months and still no fix with the issue only getting worse. This issue has made me regret buying this car, because driving isn't much fun when your car sounds like it will fall apart,

Update from Aug 22, 2016: After filing a complaint with Hyundai and calling in every other day for a mo the and a half Hyundai sent my complaint to the Texas regional office. Hyundai agreed to install a brand new panoramic roof assembly. This was a $5000 repair and the dealership could not complete it, my car was sent off to a local body shop. They provided me with a loaner and it took a week to complete, but overall I am satisfied.

Update from Oct 11, 2016: My sunroof was completely replaced and works beautifully. The issue now is that the body shop who did the work damaged several panels that are all coming lose or rattling. This means I am having to run to the dealership every other week with a new issue. My driver side A pillar had to be repaired due to a missing clip. Both panels on the driver side and passenger side where the seatbelts are have been ordered and will be replaced shortly,

- stangmac8183, Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 152016

Sonata Limited 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 12,000 miles

When I took the car into the dealership for the secong oil change, I was told there was a recall on the seal. It started rattling a little after that. It got increasingly worst. I finally isolated the rattle. The panoramic moonroof.

It seemed intermediate. I believe now the speed of the car put enough pressure on the car to prevent it from rattling all the time.I am taking it to the dealership tomorrow. They say they have never heard of a recall on the seal now.

Update from Apr 3, 2016: Dealer fixed under warranty. They did tell me it might have to be adjusted every 15-20 thousand miles.

- Bill P., The Colony, TX, US

problem #10

Sep 012015

Sonata Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As soon as I got the car, I noticed the panorama roof making noise. I sprayed a bit of WD40 on it, cleaned off the gaskets, and it lasted a few days. Took it to the dealer to have them look at it, and I got the usual "unable to duplicate". Seriously?

- David E., Seaford, NY, USA

problem #9

Oct 012015

Sonata Limited 2.0T 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles

Noticed an annoying creak in the panoramic sunroof at very low mileage. The sound comes and goes, and the severity of the noise varies. Others have stated a recall was announced for this, however, my car doesn't seem to be listed as those affected.

- delrey, Towson, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Sep 012015

Sonata Limited 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles

I also had the experience as others on this forum. I started hearing rattling noises from my brand new 2015 Sonata Limited two months after purchase. I drove it for about a month hoping it was nothing serious and would eventually go away. It didn't. In fact, it got louder and more annoying. I took it to the dealership and the specialist told me that he applied some lubricant to the rubber seal and it solved the issue. I did not hear the annoying rattling noise for another two months. One day my wife was driving on the freeway when it exploded (more in another post).

- benjaminj007, Minneapolis, USA

problem #7

Sep 152015

Sonata Limited 2.4L Gdi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Constant rattling of the panoramic roof. Very annoying. Brand new car should not be making this much noise. And it has gotten progressively worse. I cannot stand driving the car!

- Edward K., Ny, USA

problem #6

Apr 152015

Sonata Ultimate 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,051 miles

I have this car less than two months and I am driving it mostly on highway. The squeezing or creaking noise that is coming top of my head is just annoying! and it is getting worse everyday.

There is no recall or fix from manufacture for this problem, and for me it is already big let go from Hyundai Canada without having bluelink, TPMS, android car and none heated steering wheel.

Now I know why people are going for other brands rather than Hyundai.

Going to talk to the dealership for this and other problems.

- Ali M., Prince Albert, SK, Canada

problem #5

Apr 012015

Sonata Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

I bought my 2015 Sonata Limited in November 2014. I recently, for the first time, opened the panoramic sunroof (I'm in Pennsylvania and the weather hasn't been nice since I bought it). Since then, there has been an annoying rattling noise coming from the sunroof when it is closed (the noise doesn't occur when the sunroof is open or tilted up). While I've otherwise been very satisfied with the vehicle, this really makes me question the build quality.

- Kenneth P., Dresher, PA, USA

problem #4

Jan 172015

Sonata Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

Purchased my 2015 Hyundai Sonota Limited in January 2015. Within a few weeks I began hearing a creaking noise in the Panoramic Sunroof. I have taken the car to the dealership 4 times to get this corrected. The last time was last week where they provided me a rental while they kept it overnight. Took the Service Guy on a ride with me so he could hear the noise. He wanted to keep it overnight to take apart the roof after saying he had figured out the issue. I went in the next day to pick up the car and was hearing the noise even before getting out of the parking lot.

The noise is very annoying and I want it fixed. I am tired of waiting 2 or 3 hours every time I take the car in and then the problem not being resolved.

- David B., Nashville, TN, USA

problem #3

Nov 212014

Sonata Limited 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Like others who have this problem, this is very annoying. I went to the dealership to see if they could pin point the issue, but because the noise is random, they could not.

- Demond E., Tampa, FL, USA

problem #2

Mar 182015

Sonata Sport 2.0T 2.0L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles

Whenever I drive my car I am annoyed by an increasingly frequent yet intermittent creaking sound coming from the headliner of the roof. Some days are better than others, sometimes worse. Whenever I drive over uneven pavement or a bump in the road the creaking and/or rattling will occur. This should not be happening with a brand new car. My car is equipped with the panoramic sunroof.

Update from Jul 2, 2015: PROBLEM SOLVED!!!!!

I took the car into my wonderful local Hyundai dealer and they were able to duplicate the problem. They cleaned and lubricated the rubber seals of the moonroof tracts with a silicone spray. Now all the annoying creaking noises have stopped.

Update from Dec 27, 2015: They have cleaned and lubricated the rubber seals of the sunroof tracts several times now. This has significantly helped to reduce the creaking and/or rattling to a minimum. However every single time after the treatment is applied the noise problem will reoccur several months later. On my most recent visit to the dealership they cleaned and lubricated the rubber seals of the sunroof tracts again; but this time to my surprise the treatment actually made the problem worse and now my panoramic sunroof is creaking and rattling louder than before.

Update from Mar 29, 2016: The annoying creaking noise from my panoramic sunroof continues... The service adviser at my local Hyundai dealership admitted to me that he is not aware of any true permanent fix for this problem. Upon researching this problem online I stumbled upon many complaints of spontaneous sunroof breakage in many different Hyundai and Kia models equipped with a panoramic sunroof. Apparently there is currently an active NHTSA investigation and 2 recalls regarding this problem on the Veloster, and a class action lawsuit against Hyundai already started. Whenever I am driving my car I always make sure the sun visor is completely closed in the event that spontaneous sunroof breakage were to occur. As a result of this I am being robbed of extra sunlight or daylight coming into the vehicle, not to mention the added safety and convenience of being able to look up to view a traffic signal at an awkward intersection. One of the primary reasons I paid extra money for the Ultimate Package was to have a car equipped with a power glass sunroof, and despite my past positive experiences with Hyundai I feel as if I have been cheated. I am tired of driving in fear wondering if my panoramic sunroof is going to shatter on it's own.

- soccerguy48025, Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #1

Oct 282015

Sonata Sport 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7 miles

I purchased my 2015 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T Sport with every option available ( Ultimate Package ) which included the panoramic sunroof. From the first day of ownership I noticed an unusual, intermittent annoying creaking noise coming from the headliner/sunroof area, it was hard to pin point. The annoying creaking became more constant and louder and I was able to pin point it to the sunroof. I have since learned that this is a common problem that Hyundai has known about for a very long time. I find it unacceptable for Hyundai to know about this problem and not correct it prior to customers purchase. My car is currently at the dealership for this problem, so I will report the solution or fix if there is one.

Other than that annoying problem I have enjoyed my Sonata very much and feel that I could not have purchased a car with more features and value for the money😎 time will tell ! Our family switched from BMW to Hyundai about 3 years ago, and we now own a 2013 Elantra Limited, a 2013 Sonata Limited 2.0T Sport with Tech package and my new 2015 Sonata Sport 2.0T with Ultimate package. We also purchased another 2013 Sonata Limited and a 2013 Elantra Limited for my niece and nephew respectively. We've been happy so far , but none of the vehicles has surpassed 35,000 miles yet. We hope our commitment to Hyundai was the right choice?!

- stevevw, Los Gatos, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?