10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,700 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Subaru Legacy seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Subaru Legacy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Subaru Legacy Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Jan 192017

Legacy

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata inflators;the air bag warning light has been flashing on &off &now it's on all the time, the bag was supposed to have been changed by the dealership on Jan. 19 2017 @ northpark Subaru here in san antonio tx.,how can I verify that the bag was indeed replaced & why did the airbag light started to flash after the bag was replaced a short time afterwards, not all the time, but every now & then & now it's on all the time " is it safe to drive & how can I confirm that the recall was indeed preformed ? when I picked up my car, to me it looked like it had'nt been touched, to be honest, but I did'nt question it @ the time, am I wrong to think that ? any way I was not told which bags were replaced, driver side or pass side or both, I don't know, can you help ??"

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #23

Oct 202016

Legacy

  • miles
Takata - psan inflator, never notified.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #22

Jul 222016

Legacy

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V359000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called Liberty Subaru (201-261-0900, located at 55 kinderkamack rd, emerson, NJ 07630) where it was confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The contact mentioned that he was placed number 12 on the waiting list. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bloomfield, NJ, USA

problem #21

Jul 062016

Legacy

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V361000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #20

Mar 312017

Legacy

  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall: My car's been listed since last June. No contact whatsoever from Subaru even though that's what I was told to expect. This is unacceptable. Luckily no incident so far, but the fields in this complaint form require dates, etc. So I'll use today's date.

- Hood River, OR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Mar 312017

Legacy

  • 60,000 miles
Takata recall: My car has been listed for the recall since June 2016, but I have never been once contacted by Subaru to come in for replacement. I have no incident, fortunately, but the field below requires a date, so I'll enter today's.

- Hood River, OR, USA

problem #18

Jun 152016

Legacy

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V359000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Floyd, VA, USA

problem #17

Jul 012016

Legacy

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V361000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #16

Aug 152016

Legacy

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V359000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bordentown, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jan 252017

Legacy

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 102016

Legacy

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. It has been 7 months since the recall date of June 10, 2016. There has been no information or contact by Subaru since the original recall notice. My local Subaru dealership says they do not have the replacement airbags and have no information as to when they will. Please request Subaru expedite the recall process.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #13

Jun 012016

Legacy 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V359000 (air bags) was received in June of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/05/2017 updated 01/18/17.

- Montoursville, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 112016

Legacy 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received a manufacturer recall for the air bags and the dealer was unable to supply the part for an unreasonable time frame. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was contacted to determine when the parts may be supplied to the dealer. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 01/27/17 updated 01/31/17.

- Laconia, NH, USA

problem #11

May 252016

Legacy

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V359000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lancaster, PW, USA

problem #10

Jul 152016

Legacy

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V361000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Evanston, WY, USA

problem #9

Jun 102016

Legacy

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V359000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- New Lisbon, WI, USA

problem #8

Jul 182016

Legacy 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V361000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer placed the contact on a waiting list in late July but did not give a specific date for when the part would become available so the contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/10/17

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #7

Aug 012016

Legacy

  • miles
Takata recall: Several weeks ago I received a notice in the mail saying that there was a recall on the airbags in my Subaru. The notice said not to let anyone ride in my car in the front seat. It also said that replacement airbags would be installed at no cost and that I would be notified when the new airbags are available. My complaint: It has been several weeks. I cannot drive with anyone in my front seat and I am getting tired of waiting to find out when the new bags will be available. I've heard nothing else! the replacements need to be installed very soon! I went to this website (https://vinrcl.safercar.gov/VIN/vinlookup) to find out more about this recall and there was the following notice: If the manufacturer has failed or is unable to remedy this safety recall for your vehicle in a timely manner, please contact the NHTSA vehicle safety hotline at: 1-888-327-4236 or tty: 1-800-424-9153 or file an online complaint with NHTSA.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #6

Aug 312016

Legacy

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pacific Grove, CA, USA

problem #5

Aug 262016

Legacy

  • 240,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Subaru Legacy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V361000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The air bag indicator illuminated. The approximate failure mileage was 240,000. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lynn, MA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?