CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Cobalt continued to carry the torch first lit by the 2005 model year. To be clear, that torch is burning bright with widespread power steering issues, electrical curiosities and a dangerous ignition switch defect which led to a massive recall by GM. This isn’t a great torch to carry.

The 2006 added it’s own special flare with gas leaks due to cracks in the “return portion of the modular reservoir assembly.” A recall of 2006 Cobalts was issued to fix the problem, but only to vehicles sold in or current registered in Arizona and Nevada, leaving other owners to pay for repairs themselves.

Between this car stalling while driving, giving owners fits with power steering failure and having it be a potential tinderbox because of gas leaks, we felt we had no other option than to award it our “Avoid Like the Plague” badge.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
30 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
121 / 3
Average Mileage:
64,401 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 6 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #221

Mar 052014

Cobalt

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that immediately after receiving repairs for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) he turned on the vehicle but when attempting to turn off and remove the key, it failed to come out. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of failure and refused to provide any additional assistance. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that they would follow up with him. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage were 75,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #220

Jun 052014

Cobalt

  • 110,455 miles
Attention General Motors, I received the many letters your company sent updating the status of the recall on my car. I appreciated your efforts in addressing the situation. I took my car to davis Chevrolet in houston tx to cash in the recall voucher on 5/6/14. On 6/5/2014 I was told that my car was ready. I was not given a receipt. Page 10, may, 2014, bulletin no: 14113B was left in my care. I was given a different style of key, key ring, and the same instructions to use prior to repairs. To add insult to injury, it says to make sure any driver knows about the (same) dangers of the original safety recall letters. I took the car back because it keeps stopping to the degree that I did not drive it unless I necessary. I was told that it may be the throttle from sitting up too long. They said I had to pay for it. I complained about not receiving paperwork. I received paper work that reads the car was not safe to drive. I was given an agent will who I asked if they put in the part that was being built for the car and he said yes. Also, he told me the car was safe even before the repairs. How is the car considered repaired when it has the same limitations as in the recall letters? this remedy does not show any concern for consumers feeling of trust, safety, or comfort in your product. For example, it is a common occurrence for a family member to use a relatives car without the owner knowing it. It would be the most fatal experience to learn about it through that persons death because they did not know (or understand) the terms of what you consider a safe enough result. GM this tells consumers that you do not care. I am asking that you look at my case. I am trying not to take legal action.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #219

Jun 172014

Cobalt

  • 141,420 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated when making a turn, the vehicle intermittently stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. A couple of months later, the contact received recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was serviced under both recalls. However, the next day the failure recurred. The dealer was made aware of the failure and the technician stated that during service the vehicle battery tested low. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the ignition switch fuse had blown and that the battery had tested normal. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 141,420.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #218

Jun 122014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I contacted graff Chevrolet in grand prairie tx about recall notice 14V047/14V171 (GM 13454, 14063, 14113, 14133) in may and was told to come back in June that they would have part available for the recall repair. I went on June 12 and was then told that we would be on waiting list for at least a month for parts to come in. I live with my older mom, and care for my grandmother who has alzheimers, both of which need constant medical treatment and medicines. I use my car to Transport both to their doctors visits and cannot have issues with my car regarding the recall notice. I have trouble with the key not turning the ignition at times, and sometimes the steering wheel will tend to want to lock while driving. These are very serious safety concerns especially when I have my mother and grandmother aboard while driving. I do not know why the dealership told us to call on the following month and now they are telling us we have to be on a waiting list and it may be a month or longer. I need this issue resolved. The ignition issue is a very serious matter to me since this car is my only means of transportation. Please help in having this issue resolved as soon as possible. Due to my need to Transport my mother and grandmother I cannot be worrying about a potential safety hazard. I am afraid to drive this car since it has the potential to create a serious accident, or leave us stranded in the Texas heat if it decides to not release or engage the ignition.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #217

Nov 092006

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall repairs. The consumer stated the key would not release, from the ignition.

- Anthem, AZ, USA

problem #216

Apr 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 88,857 miles
My car was taken to franklin motors on 05/15/2014 to replace the faulty ignition switch 14V047 & 14V171. I was given a rental car in the meantime. My car was returned to me 06/12/2014. That same night when I attempted to turn off my car and remove the key it was difficult. Today, 06/13/2014, I attempted to turn off my car, and remove the key. The key would not turn, the car would not turn off, I could not take the car out of park. After several turns of the steering wheel and jiggling the keys the car finally turned off. My concern is that if the ignition was actually fixed as it should have been why am I having the same issues I had before it was taken to the dealership" I am now scared to drive this car. I have no other means of transportation. I have grandkids that I pick up and I need a safe car that I can trust. I no longer feel safe in this vehicle. Franklin motors once again has my car. What do you suggest I do? how am I to feel safe in this vehicle once it is returned to me again? I want something done to ease my mind. I don't want to have to ride down the road and be one of GM's statistics that something happened to me because of a faulty vehicle that was supposedly fixed" thank you the dealer informed the consumer, the ongoing problems she continued to have, was due to a problem with the gear shifter, and had nothing to do with the ignition. Updated 1/6/2015

- Bardstown, KY, USA

problem #215

May 282014

Cobalt

  • 141,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the power stering assist failed and the steering wheel became hard to turn. The contact stated that the failure occurred as a result of the vehicle being recently repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact to have the dealer perform a diagnostic on the steering wheel. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 141,000.

- Saint Helens , OR, USA

problem #214

Jun 032014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
For months I have been having problems with my ignition switch, I have been calling every week to the Chevrolet dealership closest to my home and each week they tell me to call back next week. Well this week my car finally died on me. Luckily I had parked and went into a store and when I came out the it would not start rather than stalling on the road. So I called the dealership and explained what my car had done and at that time they told me to call triple aaa and have them tow my car to the dealership. I was told that if it was my ignition switch it would be fixed and I could get a rental until the parts come in. Well needless to say I called the towing company (aaa) and my car was towed up there the next day when I called to check on it I was told that it was my starter and now I owe a hundred and two dollars towing fee and have to pay them over six hundred dollars to do the starter work. I could not afford this so now I'm out of more money to have my car towed away from there. I go and buy a starter that cost over two hundred dollars only to put it on and my car still don't work. I am so disappointed in this company and I am afraid of this car. I am not a mechanic and I am not sure what this ignition switch may or may not do if I continue to drive. I was under the impression that I could get a rental according to the news and I am yet to get anyone to even act as if they care. This is a plea for you to help me. I am a single mother of four, working two jobs and this is my only source of transportation. Please help me !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Tunica, MS, USA

problem #213

Mar 012013

Cobalt

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and NHTSA campaign id number: 14E021000 (ignition switch). The contact stated that the key failed to start the ignition. The dealer informed the contact that parts were not available. The manufacturer had been notified of the problem. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- County Club, MO, USA

problem #212

Mar 052014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle cutting off twice. The consumer stated the second time the vehicle cut off, she was hit by an 18-wheeler. When the vehicle cut off, all the lights remained on and the low traction light would come on and go off.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #211

May 282014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers 14V171000 (electrical system) and 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #210

Jan 062014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received the recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the repair has exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dayton, TX, USA

problem #209

Mar 202014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. Contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle current mileage was unknown...updated 08/11/14 updated 08/20/2014

- Weirton , WV, USA

problem #208

Mar 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part was unavailable for the remedy. The dealer informed the contact that the remedy part would not be available until August of 2014. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The a contact had not experienced a failure.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #207

Feb 032014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Contacted dealer to order parts for ignition recall and there is no time frame when parts will come in. Initial recall was in February of 2014, parts still not in and it is now May 21st.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #206

May 282006

Cobalt

  • miles
On May 28, 2006, my husband was driving solo in a rented 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt on an undivided highway leading from the North rim of the grand canyon. The road conditions were excellent: It was 9 am on a Sunday morning with very little traffic, on a straight, dry road with open country on either side. Witnesses to his accident report that after he passed a camper at a normal speed for that highway and began to pull back in front of it, his car abruptly veered off the lane and onto the right shoulder, where he lost control. The car fishtailed, skidded back onto the highway, and rolled over several times. Other drivers stopped immediately to help, but my husband was unresponsive and died a week later without regaining consciousness. All who saw the accident were at a loss to explain how or why it occurred. My husband was an experienced and very careful driver, in good health and alert that morning. The recent news about faulty ignition switches in Cobalts of that era finally provides a plausible explanation. He had long legs and could easily have bumped the steering column or ignition keys during normal operation of a car that was unfamiliar to him. It's far too late to examine the car, but I hope this account contributes circumstantial evidence that there were more deaths caused by those faulty switches than will ever be proven-- or redressed.

- Cornwall Bridge, CT, USA

problem #205

Apr 022014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and states that vehicle was totaled. The consumer stated the vehicle was totaled on April 2, 2014.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #204

May 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to distance he has to drive for recall repairs. The consumer was informed the repairs and adjustments regarding the recall, must be performed by a Chevrolet dealer. Updated 07/27/15.

- Hines, OR, USA

problem #203

Mar 012006

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer requests reimbursement for ignition key lock repairs. The consumer stated the key became stuck in the ignition. The ignition cylinder was replaced. Also, she had ongoing problems with the brakes, which almost resulted in an accident. Updated 06/12/14 the consumer is seeking reimbursement. Updated 07/02/14

- Saint Albans, NY, USA

problem #202

Apr 022014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
While driving the dashboard flashes "power steering" repeatedly. The check engine light came on and then the security theft light came on. As I came to a stop the car began to shake and down shifted hard. As I began to excel from a stop, it also shifted really hard. Also, while driving, my speedometer became erotic. On multiple incidences when I came to a stop by car's RPM dropped below 500 and acted as if it were about to stall. A few times it did stall and would not restart unless I had it in neutral and took off immediately. Another time, as I was waiting in a drive-thru, my shifter began to click.

- Adrian, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?