Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,826 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Edge electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 15 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #192

Aug 222013


  • 37,654 miles


Door sensor...took it in to Ford and they fixed it...but now the problem is back and my car is out of warranty. Did some research and found that this is a problem with a lot of Ford products. This has to stop!!!!

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #191

Oct 012014


  • miles
When my driver's side door is closed, the door open sensor chimes & the door open indicator is lit up on the dashboard. If I silence it, the light remains on and anytime I come to a stop and my foot is removed from the brake, the alarms start chiming again. I took it to the dealership on 10/3/14 for this issue as well as two other issue, one of which is part of the door panel popping apart. When I got the car back, the problem no longer existed. Fast forward to this last month. The door was again becoming an issue. Meaning, the problem existed every time I closed my door but if I kept closing and opening the door, eventually after 5-6 times, the car would register the door as closed. I made an apt telling the service guy that I was having the problem again and we made an apt. I dropped off my car yesterday at 3:30. We got a call at 4 pm stating our car is no longer under warranty as we are over our 36,000 mileage limit (we are at 39,000). I reminded him it was covered because the issue was reported last year when they fixed it. He (sam) told me that he had gone through my invoices and there is no record of this work being done. I then said maybe they fixed it and forgot to write it down. I was told no that could not happen. I said they had to take the door panel off for the other issue and I was told that was nowhere near the sensor. I went to the parts counter and was told that indeed, the sensor is on the Edge of the door and you would need to remove the panel to get to it. They told me that they would not cover it. I then informed them of how many other people are having the same issue so it is obviously not a wear and tear or personal mistreatment issue and that Ford should not be shirking their responsibility and I was told my car was being brought around. Ugh. So it is still not fixed and I am expected to come out of pocket to fix it. I can tell you this.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #190

Aug 202015


  • 67,656 miles
Around the end of August 2015 the drivers door ajar light will not turn off when the door is closed. The door is closed but the door ajar indicator continues to show the door is not closed. It appears there have been hundreds if not thousands of complaints on line with the same latch/sensor problem on Ford products. This is very annoying in addition to a safety issue. Are there any recall notices from Ford concerning this issue?

- Whispering Pines, NC, USA

problem #189

Aug 262015


  • 50,000 miles


This is the second time I will be taking my car in for service for this problem: The driver side door ajar warning keeps coming on. I have to close the door several times to get it to shut off. This happens every time I am driving the car. Apparently this is a known problem with Ford doors.

- Wakefield, MA, USA

problem #188

Aug 152015


  • 31,800 miles
The driver door ajar sensor is malfunctioning causing multiple problems. Doors don't lock automatically when in motion. It causes cabin lights to remain on once driving lights are on creating visibility issues. This also causes some of the door locking options to malfunction. When driving or stopped it generates false alarms or warnings.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #187

Aug 222015


  • 39,000 miles
Door ajar sensor fails to recognize closed door. Consequently, interior lights stay on and doors don't lock. Multiple closings of the door sometimes will trigger the switch.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #186

Aug 102015


  • 42,000 miles


Approximately 2 weeks ago my driver's door ajar warning started coming on when I would close the door. I have to open and close the door several times to get the sensor to recognize that the door is in fact shut (it has taken up to 10X). The dome lights stay on when this is happening, so I cannot drive at night until I get the sensor to recognize the door is shut. A few times the warning and dome lights have come on while I was driving.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #185

Aug 162015


  • 46,588 miles
My door ajar light stays on after closing all doors when all doors are closed. Even after slamming the doors it stays on. Dealership doesn't know why that happened and said has to replace entire sensor.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #184

Aug 142015


  • 73,000 miles
Door ajar warning for drivers side door continues to act like door is ajar even door is shut. Causes interior lights to stay on and chime when vehicle is stopped.

- Veneta, OR, USA

problem #183

Jul 302015


  • 21,500 miles
Right before our 3 year warranty expired the "drivers door ajar" warning light came on. We checked it out and other items and all seemed to be ok. One or two days later it came on again and cleared when we shut the door several times. Now 8 days out of warranty it seems to come on almost all the time and won't clear. Also, the dome lights stay on too. I called the dealer and said it would cost me $125 bucks to diagnose plus repair. He said I could call Ford. I called Ford and spoke to kevin who created case # cas7689552, but got disconnected. His statement was to bring it in to a dealer and then they would decide what they would do for me after inspection. I really thought Ford would just fix this. I then called back and spoke to kendra who was nice but same thing. I asked her what she thought I could expect and she said in the best case I would be responsible for a portion of the bill. I looked online and saw one guy take the whole door off to fix and another who cleaned for a temp fix. There were a lot of other people reporting same problem. This has to be an engineering flaw and Ford knows this. It is also unsafe to drive after dark with your inside dome lights on and your door chiming. Please get a recall on this! I don't know what to do yet but I cannot afford a $500 repair bill on something so stupid as this. Shame on Ford.

- Wood Dale, IL, USA

problem #182

Jun 112015


  • 38,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the driver side door failed to close or lock, which caused the interior lighting to remain on and drain the battery. The contact mentioned that no warning indicators were illuminated prior to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 38,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Port St.. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #181

Aug 072015


  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Edge. While operating the vehicle, the door ajar warning erroneously displayed indicating that the front driver side door was not secured. When the failure occurred, the interior ceiling light would remain on and the doors would unlock. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #180

Aug 032015

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles
Left rear door ajar warning message stays on, even when the door is closed. The interior/dome lights stay on while driving, even at night time, so it is hard to see to drive. The dome lights stay on as even after the car is parked and turned off. The doors do not lock while we are inside our vehicle. This is a huge safety issue for myself, and my growing family. For one, not being able to lock the doors to keep ourselves protected and safe inside our vehicle has me very concerned. This vehicle is suppose to be our family car that I feel safe and secure in with my spouse and children. Also, driving at night while the dome lights continue to stay on prevents me from seeing everything properly at night. I seriously fear for the safety of my family while driving this vehicle this way. This is our family car that needs this door latched replaced due to a faulty latch. Please, send out the recall. Help me protect my family and those around me from any accidents that may happen due to this faulty door latch. I hope this reaches some one who can help prevent my family from any accidents, and who will help others stay safe that have this vehicle problem. Thank you for reading my cry for help.....updated 10-27-15 the consumer stated when the door was locked. The alarm kept going off, because the system was detecting the left rear door was opened. Also, the interior lights kept coming on for a while, and eventually they went out. They would come on periodically since the system sensed the left rear door was ajar. Updated 01/15/16.

- Oak Grove, KY, USA

problem #179

Aug 022015


  • 59,000 miles
Door ajar and latch issue - the door ajar signal stays on when I close my door and then interior light stays on. I then am unable to lock the doors while being in the vehicle and I believe this has something to do with a faulty latch. When I move the latch with my fingers, the door ajar light will temporarily go off but sometimes will even come back on while my car is in motion. I bought the car in April and this is the first time this has occurred.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #178

Feb 182015


  • 37,000 miles
Driver door latch failure. Dome light stays on and warning beep.

- Madison , WI, USA

problem #177

Aug 272014


  • 29,500 miles
The door ajar sensor on driver's door has failed 3 times. The first time was the day we purchased the vehicle. The dealership fixed it. The next time was in February. Now it has failed again. After you enter the vehicle, and shut the door the sensor still reads as the door is open. The doors will not lock the interior lights will not go out, and who knows what else isn't activated.

- Clinton, PA, USA

problem #176

Dec 152014


  • 35,000 miles
- door ajar signal stays on when door is shut - interior lights stay on - unable to lock doors while in vehicle - false door ajar signal prevents driver from knowing if door is actually ajar

- Ancaster, NY, USA

problem #175

Jul 202015


  • 39,338 miles
7/20/15-while traveling in uptown charlotte, nc, my car completely shut off causing me to engage my hazard lights and coast in neutral (in a very high traffic area) to a no parking zone. No diagnostic code appeared but the wrench icon appeared. I ran an onboard system diagnostics and it was clear. Car restarted when put in neutral and I then drove it the rest of the day. 7/21/15- approximately 110+ miles since the prior days problem, the car ran fine until the evening when I was driving 45 mph and climbing a grade around a curve and the car jerked and shut off showing the wrench icon again. There was no shoulder to coast onto and turned on the hazard lights, and prayed no one was behind me causing a collision. After 3 attempts the car restarted in the park position just as a van swerved to miss me in the no passing zone where the car failed. It was after hours for the dealership service department and the car is a certified pre owned vehicle with additional warranty. I filled out the description of the problem and left the car with them until 7/28/15 and authorized allowing a mechanic to drive it home if needed as no diagnostic code was generated. No repairs were made and the car was then drove less than 40 miles when it stopped running again 7/29/15 without warning the third time. Ford corporate has refused to make repairs without a code and the dealership did as well, however, since having a frustrating conversation 7/29/15 with Ford, the dealership told my husband that they will replace the throttle body as I requested last week as this has resolved the issue for other consumers.. this is a problem that is noted many times by other consumers. Please have Ford stand behind the safety of their vehicle before people lose their lives. This gives no warning and can happen anywhere at anytime and Ford's stance is dangerous. Thank you! updated 9/21/15...updated 10/01/15

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #174

Jul 132015


  • 71,000 miles
At first I noticed that even though the door behind the driver was properly shut the door ajar light was still on it was for a few days until now the interiors lights now won't go off when I leave the car and activate the alar.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #173

Jul 212015


  • 31,000 miles
While coming off an on ramp from one highway to another doing approximately 60 mph my 2013 Ford Edge jerked, a wrench popped up on my dash, and it lost power. The accelerator did not work but the car was still idling. Luckily I was in the far left lane and there was an emergency lane on the left so I was able to coast to a stop. When I put my car in park, turned it off and turned it back on it was like nothing was wrong. The accelerator worked and the wrench was gone. However, this have since happened to be two more times and lower speeds. Both times luckily no one was behind me and when I turned the car back on everything worked. I have seen many other drivers who have had this same issue. It appears to be an issue with the throttle body. There should be a recall. This is extremely dangerous!

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?