Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.2

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,287 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #9

Sep 152005

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I brought my 2002 Ford Escape in for its 45K mile service and was told by the dealer that the rotors needed replacement. I said the pads have not yet worn out though. They said I was lucky to make it this far. Most Escapes have them wear out at 30K or less due to poor quality and too thin rotors. Dealer said cost to replace rotors and pads will be $338 including labor to replace.

- Long Valley, NJ, USA

problem #8

Apr 222005

Escape 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
My name is nicole williams, I purchased a Ford Escape SUV on August 22, 2002 from day Ford in pittsburgh, pa on August 22, 2002. I have been have many problems with my vehicle since I purchased it. Prior to moving to Florida in June, I had the car serviced again and was told I need new rotors, brakes and tires.I moved to Florida, and on January 2005, I had to replace the clutch because it had rust and corrosion on it. The service tech question all the rust under the vehicle and I told him that I did not know why there was so much. N March 18th, I was in a car accident and my front end was damaged. I had the car taken to matthew currie Ford, where they service my car. I picked up the car on April 20, 2005 and was still having problems with it. I thought it was from the accident. I was told on April 21, 2005 that I need new spark plugs. I told them that I was not paying for it and that they need to call aig. On April 22, 2005 the service manager called me to tell me that my car had water damage and that it was purchsed this way. I then got a rental car and I called dayford to see what they had to say and how they were going to fix the problem. At first I was told that they did not sell me a car with water damage. Then he said he would call me back. Well I have not heard anything from them. Over the weekend I found out that my car was purchased from Kansas City on July 20, 2002 and then serviced on July 27, 2002 by dayford. The sevices were engine serviced, vehicle serviced, suspension system serviced, brakes serviced, state inspection completed, miscellaneous service performed, emmissions system serviced and lubed oil and filter changed. These services were completed with only 3 miles on the car. I pulled the information from carfax and that what it says.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #7

Feb 192005

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,500 miles
2002 Ford Escape with 36,000 miles on it. I had the front brakes survived for the first time on this car and found that rotors cannot be turned even one time on these cars without bringing it below specs. I had to replace both rotors at a cost of $199. I complained to Ford about this and was told that this was part of normal wear and tear. I have never owned car that had to have rotors replaced with this low mileage before I do not accept this is a normal situation. It is a case of Ford putting cheap throw away parts in cars and not disclosing this information to buyers at the time they purchase the car.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #6

Dec 202004

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has been recalled 3 times for safety defects. At 25000 miles I was told that I needed to replace the rotors. It is too early for this to be occurring and have found information that this seems to be a complaint that has been frequent on this car make. They replaced the eccellerator cable and now the car seems to be sluggish in eccellerating from a stopped position.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #5

Sep 182004

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Went in to a Ford dealership in garden grove, ca. I was getting a routine oil change and tire rotation. I was told I needed a complete brake overhall. I balked at the suggestion of the Ford associate. I stated "my Escape only has 23,000 miles on it and your telling me it needs new rotors, pads on the front, and shoes and drums in the rear". he looked straight at me and said yes you do. I went home took off the tire and discovered it to be true.. the brakes on my 2002 Escape are worn out after 23,000 miles. What kind of garbage is that. I'm not hard on my brakes either. If I have to replace them again at 43,000 miles I am going to be very pissed off. If it does happen. I will be trading it in, and it won't be for another Ford.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 162004

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,085 miles
(1) ce light on again (2) vehicle not idling normally (3) vehicle not advancing from stop (4) smell burning oil from engine when shut off, no visible oil leak found on driveway (5) rattling from lf of the vehicle; speed of rattling directly related to speed of vehicle; starts around 25 mph. (6) driver's seat lurches forward on seat track when braking; only occurs with lighter weight drivers. Took vehicle to dealer for the 30K mile check & to have them address the issues. Dealer did the following - issues 1-4: engine covered in oil upon inspection (second oil leak); leak coming from the front cover & oil pan; dealer replaced the front cover gasket, oil pan gasket, valve cover gaskets, upper intake gaskets, & oil filter; dealer replaced the catalytic converter monitor sensor again (third time). Issue 5: dealer did not hear noise coming from lf of vehicle; heard a noise from rear of vehicle; rear lift door latch loose; adjusted/oiled it. Issue 6: dealer compared problem with other Escapes; found to be a normal condition of power driver's seat to have some play in it (this is very unsafe; seat lurches forward 1-2in when braking; I'm a short female who struggles to sit a min of 10in from the sw for the ab; moving me forward another 1-2in in a crash is not safe). Dealer found front brake pads/rotors below specs; stated that this is normal for 30K miles; seems too soon. Several complaints filed to NHTSA regarding excessive brake/rotor wear. Vehicle was in the shop 7/16-7/23. Dealer paid for a rental car (third time). Picked up vehicle & drove it off lot; heard rattling from the lf of vehicle. Took it back & a mechanic went on test drive with me, heard noise. Took it back & inspected vehicle together. I noticed the weather stripping on the left side of the windshield was cracked & detaching from vehicle. Had been slapping outside of apillar when driving, making noise. Dealer stated they would order new part & I'd have to bring vehicle back again to have it installed.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #3

May 132004

(reported on)

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While applying the brakes consumer heard a loud noise, and vehicle vibrated uncontrollably. Consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle, and drove it to the dealer for inspection. Mechanic determined that brake rotors needed to be replaced due to worn out parts.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #2

Dec 122003

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
While driving at any speed, the engine was rumbling. The dealer could not duplicate or correct the problem. There was uncontrollable jumping and or kicking. The dealer replaced one defective part and was told that the rumbling noise would need to be investigated by Ford engineers. Ford did not know what was causing the noise, but say it was not dangerous. The vehicle would shake at certain speeds and cd's would get stuck in the cd player. The rotors were replaced because they were out of round, the stabilizer end links were replaced

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #1

Nov 042003

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When the brakes were applied there was a delay before the vehicle stopped. Dealer stated that vehicle needed rotors and pads replaced.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?