Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.7

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,091 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #11

Oct 222005

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle had a slight odor, back fired on two occasions, and ran poorly. In October 2005 the vehicle hesitate D at 20 mph. The mechanic diagnosed the failure as the ignition coil and replaced it for $400. In May 2006 the vehicle ran poorly and back fired again. The mechanic diagnosed the failure as the coil once again and was replaced at 52,980 miles. In July 2006 the vehicle ran poorly for a third time. The Ford dealer stated that two coils failed at 53,011 miles. In April O 2007 the contact felt the vehicle ran poorly again, and took it to the dealer, suspecting coil failure for the fifth time. The current mileage is 60,000, and failure mileage was 47,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #10

Oct 222006

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The key lock cylinder has been defective for quite a period of time in that it allows me to take out the keys when the vehicle is in drive or reverse. Car has rolled on some occasions. So far I have caught the problem before anything is damaged but I know for all the cars I have owned it is not proper that the keys can be withdrawn while in drive. I just reported it to the Ford dealer 10-22-06 and they said it was not correct but there had been no recall so probably I would have to repair at my own cost.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #9

Sep 052002

Escape

  • miles
Ive found many complaints on this problem and they all said they same thing that the reprogramming the computer in the car dont work and thats how they tried to fix mine I wish they would have warned me more before buying this vehicle ive found too many complaints on the same situation.

- Athens, TN, USA

problem #8

Aug 142002

Escape 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on a rural road, speed 45 mph, car stalled, lost brakes and steering. Pulled over, turned off key and restarted car. Car ran fine all the way to the dealership. Dealership tested "eec" system and tested "ok". ran messages and found tech service bulletin dated 2/11/02. Reprogrammed PCM and did complete tsb. Car now runs ok. I asked them if my company should notify employees who own this vehicle and/or if Ford should be notifying the general public. They said no. Problem intermittent and no way to find the problem unless it happens. Not pleased with this answer. What if I had been on a highway?

- Rochester, NH, USA

problem #7

Aug 022002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle stalled twice at 40 mph. Dealer replaced PCM sensor and reprogrammed computer.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #6

Jul 192002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
The first incidence (may-2002), while driving approximately 40 mph the engine shut-off and the steering lock. Luckily the vehicle came to a stop at the side of the road with no injuries. The vehicle eventually restarted and was returned to the dealership. They reprogrammed the PCM and said the problem was fixed. The same thing happened about 6-weeks later along the same stretch of road, and luckily again nobody was hurt. The vehicle was again returned to the dealer. This time they said that they can't find anything wrong and gave it back to us without a fix. I am afraid that next time it happens it will be in traffic and someone will be injured or killed. This vehicle should not be on the road.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #5

Jun 012002

Escape 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After 1st incident, Ford replaced air idle control valve eec relay; after 2nd incident, Ford replaced fuel pump relay and eec relay again. There is no warning when vehicle stalls, it occurs when driving and immediately steering and brakes fail.

- Concord, OH, USA

problem #4

Mar 192002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
2nd failure occurred 4/16/2002, while driving engine quit, no warning steering became stiff, braking was difficult, both incidents occurred while I was going down a hill coming out of a curve. I was able to get the vehicle off the road both times with some dificulty. I will be taking the vehilce back to dealer 2nd time on 4/22/02, first time they upgraded the PCM, apparently this was not the problem, if it happens again, after 2nd time to service, I will pursue wv lemmon law. I have just made the first payment on the vehicle. The first occurance happend 4 days after purchase.

- Cross Lanes, WV, USA

problem #3

Apr 182002

Escape

  • miles
On 4/15/02 after driving for approximately a 1/2 hour on a clear day at about 35-40 mph on slight downgrade without any indication car stalled. Lost all power including the steering and brakes and almost wrapped myself around a tree. Brought car to dealer and they replaced the PCM. Two days later my fiance was doing 60 mph on li expressway when again without any indication the car stalled almost causing a major accident. Called mcdaniel Ford and was told to call aaa to have car towed to dealer but they said they could not provide a loner because it wasn't figured into the cost of the car and that they have never heard of any such problems with the Escape. Called aaa three times the first call at 2 pm on 04/18/02 and they could not get a tow until 04/19/02. Contacted Ford on 04/18/02 and representative said that there were no similiar complaints and no recalls but to contact the dealer.

- Glen Head, NY, USA

problem #2

Dec 152001

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
PE 01 043/engine stalling:consumer states vehicle stalls intermittently while driving, vehicle has been to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the problem. Dealer updated computer software and there have been no failures since service, but difficult to know if fixed due to intermittent nature of problem.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #1

Jan 292002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle stalled at 35-40 mph. Dealer replaced ecc power relay. Mileage was 5162 miles. Vehicle stalled again at same speed on 15 April 2002, dealer reprogrammed tcm.

- Akron, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?