Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
652 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Nov 102001

Escape 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalls while traveling at approx 40 mph. Dealer has been unable to correct problem after 4 repair attempts. Has involved manufacturers field service engineer who also has been unable to correct problem. Manufacturer claims they are going to repurchase vehicle due to stalling problem.

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #54

Jun 052002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Vehicle stalled while traveling downhill without warning. This is a new replacement vehicle that I got from the manufacturer because my previous vehicle had the same problems. Very dangerous and needs to be taken seriously.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #53

May 292002

Escape

  • miles
While driving my 2002 Escape stalls--no power--no brakes. The power steering goes out the the engine light come on.

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #52

May 282002

Escape 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalls for no apparent reason while traveling down hill.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #51

Apr 252002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
On two occasions, while coasting down a hill near my home, the engine of my 2002 Ford Escape XLT has quit. I discovered this when I tried to accelerate at the bottom on the hill, only to find that the gas pedal didnT respond. On the first occasion, I pulled over and stopped, put the car in park, and restarted it without any problems. On the second occasion, I put the gear selector into neutral and quickly restarted while coasting along. On both occasions, cars in back of me had to brake sharply to avoid collision. Both instances were in April 2002, about three weeks apart. At the time, the car was about 5 months old and had been driven about 5500 miles. I took the car to the dealer on 5/23/02. The invoice says that they performed a wds test, reburned and updated the processor. There is no evidence that new parts were used. Handwritten notes on the paperwork indicate a technical service bulletin was used to guide the repair, but the number wasnT given.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #50

Jan 092002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Bought vehicle 11/1/2001. The first time, 1/9/2002 with only 1547 miles, let off of gas, coasting down hill, approx 40 mph, car died, lost power steering and brakes. After coasting to a stop, car restarted. Dealer replaced powertrain control module relay. 2nd time, on 5/3/2002, with 3949 miles, similar conditions, car died, lost power steering and brakes, car restarted after coasting to a stop. Dealer changed the fuel mixture in the computer. I have serious doubts that this has fixed the problem.

- Shawnee, KS, USA

problem #49

Nov 112001

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving and without warning, vehicle stalls, consumer has taken vehicle to dealer and is currently waiting for a new part that may not correct the problem.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #48

Aug 012001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Consumer comments that while going downhill, the engine would stall, the engine would turn off, and engine light would come on also causing consumer to loose power steering and brakes, dealership replaced the fuel lead.

- Pylesville, MD, USA

problem #47

Aug 012001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Consumer comments that while going downhill, the engine would stall, the engine would turn off, and engine light would come on also causing consumer to loose power steering and brakes, dealership replaced the fuel lead.

- Pylesville, MD, USA

problem #46

Apr 242002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
PE 01 043/engine stalling: Vehicle stalls while driving 30 mph, vehicle was able to restart. Dealer notified.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #45

Mar 192002

Escape 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2nd failure occurred 4/16/2002, while driving engine quit, no warning steering became stiff, braking was difficult, both incidents occurred while I was going down a hill coming out of a curve. I was able to get the vehicle off the road both times with some dificulty. I will be taking the vehilce back to dealer 2nd time on 4/22/02, first time they upgraded the PCM, apparently this was not the problem, if it happens again, after 2nd time to service, I will pursue wv lemmon law. I have just made the first payment on the vehicle. The first occurance happend 4 days after purchase.

- Cross Lanes, WV, USA

problem #44

Apr 192002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle stalled twice at various speeds. At dealership at this time.. while in motion vehicle cut off. Consumer was able to start the vehicle and proceed. A week later the same thing occurred. Vehicle was taken to the dealership where it was explained the vehicle deprogramed itself and had to be programmed back.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #43

Mar 252002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
2002 Ford Escape XLT 4X4, built 2/2002, has stalled two times since taking delivery on 2/28/2002. Incident 1: 3/25/2002, 8:30am, humid conditions, driving approx. 30-40mph, slight downhill grade, 1/4 tank gas, no A/C, coasting (mileage = 686). Incident 2: 3/30/2002, 2:00pm, rained in morning, driving approx. 30-35mph, level grade, shortly after slight upgrade, 1/2 tank gas, no A/C, coasting (mileage = 844). Both incidents, vehicle stalled without warning. Dash lights illuminated, no power steering or braking. Due to no shoulder on road, driver re-started on fly by switching into neutral and turning ignition key. Vehicle re-started immediately. Brought into dealership on 4/2/2002. After latest suggested Ford tests showed no out-of-ordinary conditions, dealer returned vehicle on 4/8/2002 to owner without any repairs or explanation for stalling incidents. Note: 2002 Escape is replacement vehicle for 2001 Escape reacquired by Ford Motor Company due to exact same stalling behavior. Please advise.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #42

Apr 182002

Escape

  • miles
On 4/15/02 after driving for approximately a 1/2 hour on a clear day at about 35-40 mph on slight downgrade without any indication car stalled. Lost all power including the steering and brakes and almost wrapped myself around a tree. Brought car to dealer and they replaced the PCM. Two days later my fiance was doing 60 mph on li expressway when again without any indication the car stalled almost causing a major accident. Called mcdaniel Ford and was told to call aaa to have car towed to dealer but they said they could not provide a loner because it wasn't figured into the cost of the car and that they have never heard of any such problems with the Escape. Called aaa three times the first call at 2 pm on 04/18/02 and they could not get a tow until 04/19/02. Contacted Ford on 04/18/02 and representative said that there were no similiar complaints and no recalls but to contact the dealer.

- Glen Head, NY, USA

problem #41

Apr 162002

Escape

  • miles
While traveling on highway vehicle shutdown without prior warning. Dealership is aware of problem.

- Crossland, WV, USA

problem #40

Dec 152001

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
PE 01 043/engine stalling:consumer states vehicle stalls intermittently while driving, vehicle has been to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the problem. Dealer updated computer software and there have been no failures since service, but difficult to know if fixed due to intermittent nature of problem.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #39

Apr 092002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle has stalled twice at 35-40 mph, dealer has replaced delta pressure feedback sensor, eec relay, idle air control and did wds selftest, data logger road test.vehicle stalled in rush hour traffic. Consumer lost power steering and brakes, however consumer was able to slow to a stop, vehicle started right back up. Again when the vehicle stalled, consumer took it to the shop where they checked ground connections, replaced the idle air control unit and athe throttle body. Consumer was informed that they could not guarantee a 100% fix because they did not know what was really causing the prolem. Also, the alternator went out 5 days after consumer purchased the vehicle.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #38

Apr 012002

Escape 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer states that while driving 20-25 mph the vehicle stalled out and died the dealer has inspected the vehicle and could not find problem. Nlm

- California, MD, USA

problem #37

Jan 292002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
On first occasion vehicle shut down, dash lights came on, power steering and brakes failed. Needed to coast into a parking lot. Vehicle restarted and was able to get home. Only had vehicle 1 month. Took vehicle to dealership, (not point of sale) and had vehicle inspected. Was told that they were unable to duplicate the problem and that it was due to excessive amount of other keys on primary key ring, to remove the keys due to they were interfering with the path and shutting down vehicle. Removed the keys and continued to drive. On 4/9/02 was driving in exact location as previous incident, going about 35-40 mph and same thing happened. Had put a file cabinet key on key ring, thought was same issue, didnt' report again. On 4/11/02 while traveling on much busier and much more dangerous road, vehicle again stalled. No safe shoulder to pull off onto and unable to restart while in process. Was luckily able to coast onto side street, breaks and steering were not functioning properly, had to roll to stop. Able to restart and get to work. Will notify dealership asap.

- Middlefield, OH, USA

problem #36

Feb 212002

Escape

  • miles
Vehicle stalls without prior warning at anytime. Dealership is aware of problem.

- Pitt, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?