If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 2
Average Mileage:
55,530 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #57

Mar 062014

Escape

  • 96 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This incident happened back in February of 2014, while I was leaving my house to take my car for an oil change, when I stepped on the gas, it suddenly just stalled at 10mph, so I released the gas and then pressed on it again, the second time was fine, but when I came to a full stop and pressed on the gas, it stalled again, after it passes 10 mph, the vehicle was just cruising continuously. So one time my car stalled again and I almost hit the car in front of me, luckily I did not. For me this is a safety issue as well as a engine/transmission issue. This was not the only time this incident had happened. And just recently I took it Ford for a diagnose and they had told me that it needs a new transmission and they quoted me $4500 to get it fixed.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #56

Mar 202014

Escape

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving into his driveway at a low speed, with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated and crashed into his shad and side wiped his neighbor's house. The vehicle continued to accelerate with force when the contact applied to the brake pedal. The vehicle finally came to a stop when the vehicle crashed into an area of bushes. However, the engine continued to rev and the wheels continued to spin. The contact was the able to turn off the engine. Upon inspection, the insurance company totalled the vehicle. The contact suffered injuries to the neck and body. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 67,000.

- Middlesboro , KY, USA

problem #55

Dec 282013

Escape

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 75 mph, he attempted disengage the cruise control but the vehicle maintained 75 mph. The contact stated that he depressed that brake pedal but the engine continued to rev. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the throttle cable needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #54

Dec 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 190,179 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at 70mph on a highway. I went to take my exit and pushed the button to turn the cruise control off, but that did not slow the vehicle down at all. It kept accelerating all the way up to 90mph. I tapped the brakes but it did not slow the car down. I was afraid to keep my foot on the brakes due to heating the brakes up so much that it would catch my car on fire. I put it in neutral but the rpms revved between 5000-6000 so I switched back in to drive. When I finally had an area where there were no other cars around me I slammed on the brake pedal to slow it down as much as I possibly could before putting it into park. When it was in park the rpms jumped all the way up to 5000 and sounded as though the car was going to blow up so I turned the car off. Then I opened the hood and removed the cruise control cable. I have had the recall done on this vehicle and never had a problem with this til now. My car is no leaking oil and smells like something is burning. I have contacted Ford and they seemed as though this was an unimportant issue. They stated that they were not responsible for repairs. This should be an issue for them since they are the ones who fixed it in the first place with the last recall they had on this issue.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #53

Sep 292013

Escape

  • 172,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently to speeds of 88 mph. The contact applied immense pressure to the brakes but to no avail. He then maneuvered the vehicle to the side of the highway and turned off the ignition. Upon further inspection, he found that the accelerator cable was the cause of the failure. The vehicle had been recalled six years earlier under NHTSA campaign number: 04V574000 (vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 172,000.

- Ottawa, IL, USA

problem #52

Aug 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving 55 mph the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact applied immense pressure to the brakes to no avail. The contact crashed into five vehicles. The contact suffered bruises to her legs. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 135,000. Updated 12/5/13

- Pauldon, AZ, USA

problem #51

Jul 012012

Escape

  • 156,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle emitted a burning odor and the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The contact mentioned that sometimes the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for inspection, but the mechanic was unable to locate or duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 156,000 and the current mileage 162,000.

- Buffalo , NY, USA

problem #50

Aug 082012

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V353000 (vehicle speed control: Cables). The manufacturer was notified who informed the remedy part was unavailable and the expected date was mid August 2012. The dealer and manufacturer were unable to provide an arrival date. The contact had not experienced failure with the throttle.

- Vidor, TX, USA

problem #49

Oct 032012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 135,320 miles
Vehicle has begun to accelerate unexpectedly since early September. There has been at least four incidents involving vehicle suddenly accelerating when its was at low speed or stopped (with foot on the brake). The accelerations last a few seconds and lurch the car forward. The vehicle has been taken to Ford for the recall notices involving the cruise control cable (11S24B on 30 June 12 and 12S37B on 20 Sep 12). This vehicle did not experience this problem prior to the recall repairs.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #48

Apr 202012

Escape

  • 173,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that as the vehicle was shifted into reverse, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into the contact's home, a nearby fence and finally a tree. The failure ceased once the vehicle crashed into the tree. The contact sustained injuries to the face, neck and the right foot. The passenger sustained minor lacerations to the face and shoulder. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who inspected the vehicle and located the failure at the cable throttle stick. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V353000 (vehicle speed control cables) in August 2012. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and denied assistance with the repair. The failure and current mileage was 173,000.

- Orange Park , FL, USA

problem #47

Oct 042010

Escape 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter ( a teacher) was driving the vehicle on I94 to work in 2010 with the speed control set. The vehicle speed increased and she hit the brake, but the accelerator was stuck and she could not slow the vehicle down as it over-powered the brake. She did not know what to do and called 911. The police officer told her to put the vehicle in neutral and turn the key off after she got the vehicle under control. She was extremely lucky no one was ahead of her on the expressway. The accelerator remained stuck after she had pulled off the road with the motor off. I went to get her and the vehicle. I was able to release the accelerator by hitting it hard with my foot. I carefully drove the vehicle home. I was able to recreate the accelerator sticking on the expressway several times. I reported this to Ford (dearborn) and told them they had a problem, however, they did not seem interested in investigating the issue, and suggested I pay a dealer to fix it. I have driven the vehicle, without using the speed control and being very careful to accelerate slowly (as my daughter still has my vehicle). But, now I will take it a dealer and Ford (thanks to the government and the vehicle safety law) will pay to fix it!

- Marblehead, OH, USA

problem #46

Jan 272012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 119,483 miles
[xxx] was driving her 2002 Ford Escape when, while accelerating up a hill, the speed control throttle guide rotated up into the appearance cover and became latched in a rib. This resulted in a wide open throttle, and [xxx] was unable to slow or stop the car. The brakes then overheated and failed, and she sped through town until she swerved to avoid another car and crashed. Her car rolled several times, and [xxx]was killed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #45

Dec 112011

Escape

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while attempting to enter the highway, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact was unable to stop the acceleration and shifted into neutral, applied the brakes and activated the emergency brakes but to no avail. The vehicle would not respond and the contact crashed into a vehicle, followed by a pole. The vehicle then ignited in flames. The contact was injured as a result. There was a police report filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #44

Dec 102011

Escape

  • 68,500 miles
While driving at normal speeds on ice-glazed winter roads in fairbanks, ak, I approached an intersection and took my foot off the accelerator to prepare to slow down. Instead of dropping to idle speeds, the engine accelerated up to 3500-4000 RPM. I shifted the automatic transmission to neutral and was able to stop the car with the brakes, but the engine continued to race at high-throttle until I shut off the engine. When I restarted the engine it behaved normally for several days; but the problem came back intermittently several times over the next several weeks; and every time, shutting off the engine was the only way to stop it. Ford's database showed my car had undergone a recall in 2005 to fix a similar problem. In January 2012, stanley Ford in kenai, ak 'supposedly' replaced the throttle cable and throttle body assembly for $572, but it didn't solve the problem. The uncontrolled acceleration occurred several more times, as before, until a second repair in February 2012 by seekins Ford in fairbanks, which replaced a PCV and tubing, and did a complete tune-up for $992. Since then, there have been no more issues with the accelerator.

- Kasilof, AK, USA

problem #43

Apr 072012

Escape

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the accelerator became stuck in open throttle and caused the vehicle to accelerate. The contact also mentioned that the accelerator pedal would become stuck sporadically and would not allow the contact to accelerate. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The vehicle was not taken for diagnosis or repair. The failure was mileage was 110,000 and the current mileage was 114,000.

- Spring Lake, MI, USA

problem #42

Jul 012008

Escape

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while parking at less than 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated abnormally to 15 mph. The contact had removed his foot from the accelerator pedal when vehicle accelerated. The vehicle crashed against the foundation of the garage in the contact's home. The contact sustained neck injuries as a result. The vehicle was taken to the mechanic for inspection and there were no failures found. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was 104,000. The failure mileage was 77,000.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #41

Jan 272012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles
Attorney for driver's family and media reports indicate that the vehicle was being driven immediately after purchase in the phoenix / mesa area along Arizona state route 87 towards payson. The final approach to payson involves a prolonged upward grade, which would have required heavy accelerator use by the driver. Along the way, the driver was unable to disengage the accelerator or otherwise bring the vehicle to a safe stop. The vehicle struck other vehicles as it traversed an intersection, and rolled, ejecting the driver, who suffered fatal injuries. A subsequent inspection of the vehicle documented that the cruise control cable connector was lodged against the underside of the engine cover and that the throttle was open to 84%. the vehicle had received the accelerator cable replacement for recall 04V574 in January of 2005. (note: This record was received via telephone interview between ODI investigators and counsel for the driver's family in late June of this year. It has been added to our complaint file to document the incident for an investigation opening. It will be updated as appropriate as more information is received)

- Payson, AZ, USA

problem #40

Sep 202011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The problem began with the rpms dropping to under 300 when idling at a stop sign or stop light. Vehicle would also die with no warning. Problem progressed to revving up to over 4000 rpms when in park either at first start or after driving and shifting into park. Problem has progressed to surging and revving from normal driving speed of 65 mph and 1500 rpms to 2500 rpms forcing me to brake to keep the vehicle under control or at the posted speed limit. Problem has also progressed that when attempting to idle at a stop sign or stop light, rpms will remain elevated at 1500 forcing me to brake very hard to keep the vehicle stopped. When shifting into park the rpms will rev up to 4200 rpms.

- Paradise, CA, USA

problem #39

Nov 192011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving or passing approximately 55 mph, the accelerator pedal jammed. The contact depressed the brake pedal to the floor, but the vehicle continued to accelerate. The contact was then able to turn the ignition off and stop the vehicle. The vehicle was later towed to an independent mechanic and they informed the contact that the cruise control cable was the cause of the failure. The cruise control cable was disconnected to remedy the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 147,000. Updated 04/19/2012 the consumer stated the cruise control cable was disconnected after the 4th occurrence.updated 04/30/12

- Croton, OH, USA

problem #38

Dec 232005

Escape

  • 58,448 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated to accelerate from a stop and would not accelerate beyond 2 mph. The vehicle eventually began to accelerate at normal rates of speed. The failure recurred whenever the contact accelerated from a stop. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that a computer chip within the vehicle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 58,448.

- Ferguson, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?