Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,227 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Apr 022013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 63,296 miles


Took my vehicle in to Ford dealer due to check engine light stuck on. Diagnostics pulled 2 codes, P0011 & P0012. These 2 codes are major engine problems!! both solenoids need to be replaced, and possibly have to replace both cylinder heads and cam shafts if head and camshafts show wear = thus a very very expensive engine repair cost for me!! the Ford dealership said this is only covered under warranty up to 60,000 miles: My Escape had only 63,296 miles on 4-2-13, the day I went to the dealership. I'm climbing up the tree at Ford Motor Company an feel I have a "lemon" Ford vehicle!! I want to know why Ford Motor Company did not send out any recall notices to 2009 Ford Escape owners regarding this major-major engine malfunction = serious engine repair costs to me due to their negligence !! I am over the warranty timeline by 3,296 miles !!! I should not have to pay for this engine repair !!

- North Bonneville, WA, USA

problem #17

Apr 052013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 69,282 miles
2009 Ford Escape with 69,282 miles spontaneously goes into limp mode, causing deceleration in traffic. Car cannot be driven until it is stopped, the engine turned off, and fuel pump restart button pushed. The car will then start and can be driven. This has happened at least 4 times now in the past 12-18 months. It has happened at highway speed (60-70 mph), city speeds (35-40 mph), and today at 15 mph going down my street. It has happened each time driving on smooth, paved roads. One incident was driving home at approx. 6:45 pm on smooth, paved rural highway at 55 mph after 15-20 minutes driving. Had to call tow truck and have car towed to dealership. Dealer found no problem. One incident was Nov 2012 while driving on smooth, paved highway at approx. 60 mph after driving approx. 2 hours. Most recent occurrences were 4-4-13 at 6:45 pm after driving 55-60 mph for 20 minutes on paved road. Next incident 4/5/13 at 11:30 a.M. driving 15 mph on residential street, engine cold. Today the engine light went on and despite stopping the car, pushing the fuel pump reset, and restarting the car, it still will not accelerate and cannot be driven. I will now have to have my car towed to the dealership and, according to Ford customer service, repairs paid for at my expense. There is currently no recall and there needs to be. This is a known problem that has generated many complaints. The situation is unacceptable and makes the car unsafe to drive. I am afraid to drive this car on the interstate. An unreliable car is not worth owning. This is my first Ford and it will be my last. I will not buy another Ford.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #16

Dec 042012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
The car stalled while driving. I pulled over and tried to start the car again. It started and then stalled again. When tested by my mechanic the code came up as a bad throttle body and had to be replaced. Since the car was out of warranty I had him replace the parts and had to pay $300 for parts and labor.

- Branchburg, NJ, USA

problem #15

Mar 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 56,500 miles


Car stalled while moving forward after backing out of parking space. Car had operated for 15 minutes before pulling into space, then immediately backing out without stopping engine. For approximately a year and one half yellow service engine light intermittently comes on then goes off after few driving cycles. Car also hesitates and jerks during acceleration randomly and frequently. Service dept of used car dealer where purchased car has detected no defects and has not replicated problem when car left at shop.

- Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

problem #14

Mar 012013


  • 43,000 miles
Driving approximately 45 miles per hour when the vehicle lost acceleration. The engine continued to run but would not accelerate. Was able to pull over to the side of the road and engine continued running. Turned the engine off and back on and engine did accelerate for approximately 1 mile before repeating the failure. Pulled over once again and repeated the process and was able to make it home (about 3 more miles). Took the vehicle to the Ford dealership next morning and diagnosis is a bad throttle body. Repair cost North of $400. This also happened a few times within a year of purchasing the vehicle but was not repeatable and the check engine light / diagnostic codes apparently didn't fire.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #13

Feb 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 40,300 miles
My wife and I were driving home from supper at a restaurant. We were on a busy city street doing about 30 mph, when the car suddenly lost power and slowed to around 1 to 2 mph. We managed to ease the car home(around 2blocks) amid horns blowing and lights flashing from other drivers.the engine light had come on and showed a picture of a wrench. When I explained to the lady at the Ford dealership the next day, she seemed to know right away that it would be a wrench showing, which made me assume that they had this problem before.....bill for repairs was $545.

- St.Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #12

Sep 152012

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles


I recently read in a newspaper about an engine probe for Ford vehicles and would like to add that I have also experienced this problem with stalling and/or surging engine in my 2009 Ford Escape limited. I believe my car had experienced this "limp home mode" on the circuit board. On this particular day, I was driving in traffic and then all of a sudden I felt as though I could not accelerate the car at all. The rest of my trip home (approx. 25 miles) the car wouldn't let me surpass about 20mph. I was very scared but wanted to at least get the car closer to my home. I thought the car was done for. Yet, after letting the car rest for about an hour at home, I started it back up and it drove fine. I just wanted to share this experience of yet another person who could contribute to experiencing a malfunctioning circuit board.

- Sayville, NY, USA

problem #11

Mar 292012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 71,552 miles
On 3/29/12 I was driving on a main road and the car just stopped working, all the lights came on and I had no power. I pulled to the side, luckily no one was near me, and put the car in park. I called my husband to come over and when he arrived, he tried to start the car again and it started right up. I drove it to the Ford dealer service center and they discovered it was the throttle body that was defective. Since the car was not under warranty I had to pay. In December 2012 the same thing happened and after several times I brought it in again. I was told that it was most likely (they are never sure) the throttle body again but they were not sure. I paid for a replacement again. In February 2013 after 2 replacements it is happening again. Of course they cannot tell for sure if it is a bad throttle body so I now have a recording device attached to my car so if it happens again I can press the button and it will record what the engine was doing. Maybe they won't have to guess again"? my life is on the line every time this happens while driving, not theirs, not Ford's. is Ford waiting for a fatality before they do something"

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 152011


  • 41,000 miles
While driving on the highway the car lost power and luckily I was able to coast to the side of the road safely. The engine was running and everything appeared to be functioning properly. Since the car was no longer under warranty, I brought it to a repair shop and they were not able to reproduce the failure. When I brought the car to the Ford dealership they knew immediately what the problem was and replaced the "drive-by-wire" part; the service representative mentioned that they had seen this problem several times before.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #9

Jan 022013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
While driving in medium traffic, the engine died and the check-engine-light appeared on the dash. I was able to pull to the side of the road and re-start the car. Once back on the highway, the engine died again less than a quarter of a mile later. I started the car a second time and the engine once again died. By this time, traffic was beginning to back up behind me and I was entering an area where there was no shoulder to Escape to if it happened again. I pulled off the highway and called for a tow. The local Ford dealer said the throttle body had failed, they had recently replace a couple of others. Cost of the repair was $400. Ford said it was not covered under warranty. I retained the failed part and have it available for inspection.

- Aloha, OR, USA

problem #8

Dec 182012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


Driving and wrench light came on at the same time that the vehicle lost power. This had happened previously on 11/25/12 and the dealer repair was replacing both vct solenoids and valve cover gaskets. Both times when this had happened before I turned the engine off and restarted after 3-5 minutes. I was able to go another 6-8 miles and then the wrench light came back on. The second time, the check engine light came on and then seconds later 8 other lights were lit on the dash. I turned the engine off after coasting to the median of the highway (was in left lane with traffic at 55mph) and waited for a tow from the dealer. Now the dealer is telling me this repair (replacement of throttle body) is not covered as the vehicle is more than 3 years old (actually, I've had it for 44 months). I want Ford to pay for this repair as it seems rather common from what I'm seeing on-line.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #7

Jul 152012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 29,500 miles
I was driving on a freeway going approx 55 mph. After driving approx 6 miles the RPM's started to rev up and down from 500 to the max RPM. I could hear the engine revving but my speed was not changing. I could not accelerate, I could only break. I quickly pulled to the side of the road, shut off the engine and waited for approx. 5 minutes. I restarted the engine, revved the engine a few times. All seemed normal. So I continued slowly. Nothing further happened for 3 weeks. Then it happened again, also on the freeway at the same approximate speed. I did the same thing and had no issues until recently. Since then my mpg has gone down from avg 28 to avg 24 mpg. The engine/trans? always hesitates to shift and occasionally the RPM's go higher then they should before the engine shifts back down. Two days ago on 11/22/12 I was stopped at a red light after getting off the freeway (70 mph). After sitting through the red light I attempted to accelerate, my car would not move. The RPM's did not move either, they were steady at idle RPM of about 1500. I hit the gas peddle again and finally my car jerked into gear and revved up to about 3000 RPM. I tried to replicate this at the next stop light but it hasn't done it since. I will be taking my car in on Monday to have it looked at but fear that dealer will again find nothing wrong. After my first incident I took it to the dealership and they found nothing wrong with it. I was told it was probably just because it was hot outside.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #6

Nov 142012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
My 2009 Ford Escape stalled (engine running but no forward motion and no response to accelerator) while driving. This happened while attempting to enter heavy traffic. I was almost rear-ended by oncoming vehicles. The problem was diagnosed as a problem with the throttle body by dealer. I had to pay to have the throttle body replaced. This is known defect, very similar to NHTSA action # DP12006: "...vehicles that were diagnosed as failed throttle bodies with diagnostic trouble codes P2111, throttle body stuck open, and P2222, throttle body stuck closed. The petitioner indicates that the owners of both vehicles reported experiencing repeated incidents of stalling..." Ford has "released a number of technical service bulletins that cover a wide range of vehicles and throttle body issues related to hesitation and stalling, including 08-18-2 and 09-23-5." this is a serious safety issue. I contacted Ford (both corporate and the dealership) and they have indicated that they will not take action to address this issue until a recall is initiated by the NHTSA.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #5

Oct 122012


  • 94,000 miles
While driving my 2009 Ford Escape at around 40-60 mph the car suddenly and without warning lost all acceleration. At the same time the orange wrench came on my dashboard. I was able to pull to the side of the road and when I came to a stop, the engine almost died, but never did. Putting the car in park and turning it off and back on again seemed to alleviate the problem - and the orange wrench went away, until it happened again a few miles down the road. That morning it happened 5-6 times within a half hour or so and the check engine light came on the last time. This problem has occurred once randomly before but the mechanic could find no reason for it to be happening. Since the check engine light remained on this time he ran a diagnostic test and concluded the throttle body was dirty. After cleaning it, the car ran fine for about 5 days when it started happening again.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 272012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
We were driving our Escape back from the store and all of the sudden it lost power and the throttle did not respond, this happened several times over the next few days. We took it to the shop and found out the throttle body was bad, there is no reason the throttle body should fail at all much less in a newer model car with low mileage. Had we been pulling out on to a road we could have been involved in an accident! I don't think ours is an isolated indecent from what I have read online.

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #3

Aug 012012


  • 108,000 miles
While traveling at 70mph, vehicle suddenly stalled while driving in the center lane of a highway in heavy traffic. No warning signs were displayed. After pulling to the shoulder, vehicle was able to be restarted and seemed to be fine. Service technician found a failure code for 'throttle stuck closed' with 'freeze data' showing it happened at 71mph. He inspected the throttle and found no problems. As a precaution, he cleaned the throttle blade with a cleaning wipe. A week later, the vehicle stalled again as I was pulling into traffic. In order to keep the vehicle running, I then needed to keep my foot on both the gas and brake while at stops. Return to my technician and he diagnosed the problem as a defective throttle body. He said that the computer data showed the throttle open only 52% when the throttle was wide open. Vehicle has not yet been repaired.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #2

Aug 102012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 75,094 miles
While driving at a constant speed the throttle control actuator inside the throttle body can become stuck and cause the driver to loose all throttle and speed control. Problem will present itself as a transmission issue as shifting through all the gears will not clear the problem, until engine is powered down and restarted. This is a clear and evident problem that appears at or around 75,000 miles. Ford refuses to acknowledge that this is a problem with the factory model throttle body installed in most Escape model vehicles. Regular engine diagnostics do not display an error code unless the diagnostic computer is connected to the car at the time of incident and warning light is on.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #1

May 252010

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
I was sitting in the bank line with my foot on the brake, waiting to get to the drive-up atm when my car suddenly accelerated. I immediately applied the brake harder to stop the car from moving forward. This happened on two other occasions. When I mentioned it to my service specialist he said he checked the car and there were no problems indicated. I have a 2009 Ford Escape XLT V-6.

- Washington, DC, USA

Not what you are looking for?