Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,401 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #15

Jul 252014


  • 28,000 miles


I was driving on the interstate with my 3 year old son in the back seat. As I was in traffic all of a sudden I felt a loss of power and the wrench light went on. I was almost hit multiple times, but luckily was able to force it to the side of the road. I sat there for a couple minutes and then started the car normally and drove home. It was a scary experience and one that I hope Ford takes care of.

- Bennington, NE, USA

problem #14

May 082014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,400 miles
Ford - complete ac failure/ ac dryer failure when I turned on the ac for the first time this year it made a loud grinding noise then never cooled.took it in to the dealership to check for problem. Car has 41400 miles on it (little more than 5000 over the 36000) but still has 6 months on warranty. The dealer said there was no problem.(roselle Ford)where purchased. Even though a loud grinding sound was present and no cold air.. he told her to bring it somewhere else.. she did, they vacuumed &charged. It worked for 2 weeks then stopped. She brought to another Ford dealer and he said it would cost $2000 and had to replace the whole system.. she went to pick it up and he told her he replaced a resister on the blower switch... I know its not fixed.. we'll have to see.. but if Ford really wants to be our car company, then they should stand behind their product. That's a big repair bill for only 41000 miles. Here is what I have learned so far and no service bulletin on this from Ford. Dealer called and gave the following description of the problem..."in the ac dryer there is a filter bag with "little blue balls" of desiccant. It seems that it is a very common problem that these filter bags burst and flood the entire ac system with the balls (aka "debris") which causes all the parts to fail and or clog. Many of the parts can't be effectively flushed so they have to be replaced." The cost to replace the entire ac system (all valves, tubes, hoses, evaporator, compressor, condenser, accumulator, dryer, etc.) came to $2,022.65. This dryer unit that is causing all the problems is a non-serviceable unit and is in no way affected by regular maintenance, and there is nothing that can be done to prevent a failure. To make matters even worse is that when they do replace the system... they use the same dryer as the one that failed. Unbelievable.

- Roselle, IL, USA

problem #13

Nov 052012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 49,366 miles
Check engine light came on and vehicle lost power and died. Pulled over to the side of the road and turned off the vehicle for a few minutes, then turned it on and was able to proceed for another 5-6 miles, then the issue repeated. Check engine light remained on, however. Finally was able to complete my trip without further incident. This same issue happened again about a week later, with the same outcome as the first time it happened. Scheduled a repair for 11/14/12 at which time I was informed that there was a default code P1450. Cannister was full of fuel. Evaporator canister, pipe and valve were replaced. Total for the repair $557.16 plus sales tax because vehicle mileage exceeded 36,000 warranty ceiling. Then on May 16, 2013, while on vacation, vehicle had similar problems - engine light came on, vehicle lost power and died... pulled over, turned off vehicle, turned it back on and was able to make it to the next town with a Ford dealership where we had a diagnostic run on the vehicle. This time the codes were P0685 and P2112, which required the replacement of the throttle body and motor assembly which cost another $314.18 plus sales tax. I have since received a letter from Ford stating that the throttle body is now being covered under the customer satisfaction program 13N03, but wonder why there is not similar coverage for the evaporator cannister issue.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #12

Oct 152013


  • 44,500 miles


Ever since we bought our 2011 Ford Escape (used in fl--had to drive it to wa state due to military pcs army orders) the car has never gotten more than 20 mpg. It was hesitating consistently after we put 5,000 miles on the car. It started hesitating/ revving rpms at stop/jumping/accelerating then engine would just shut off and power as well. Finally stalled on joint base lewis mcchord, wa (where we are stationed and live) and my husband could not get it to start. The "check engine light" was also then showing. We had it towed to the nearest Ford dealership (lakewood Ford). We had a platinum warranty we paid extra for with our monthly payments. Even with that we still had to get an aer (army emergency relief) loan for the difference (appx. $187) that was not covered. We were entitled to rental car coverage but the Ford dealership did not contact our warranty company in time so we were without a vehicle for 4 days. That was barely 3 months ago. They ended up replacing the throttle body regulator. it is less than 3 months since that was replaced and we are only getting 18.2 miles to the gallon. It is worse when we use the flex fuel. It barely has 47,000 miles and it is unpredictable and I feel unsafe in this car. My husband is being medically boarded from active duty army because he is 100% disabled and a "wounded warrior." The only comfort I have is seeing that we aren't the only ones who have dealt with this problem. That is terrible to say but it is even worse when you cannot rely on a vehicle you bought only 1 year used. We are facing having to drive this back to orlando, fl and now we will probably voluntarily turn it in to the loan company simply because neither one of us feel safe enough to attempt to drive it 3500 miles across the United States, along with the medical concerns.

- Jblm, WA, USA

problem #11

Nov 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
NHTSA action number - DP12006 vehicle stalls going 65 mph. Issue is not covered under the 100,000 mile warranty why"??? why has there not been a recall on this issue?????"

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #10

Oct 052013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Vehicle loses power during operation at various speeds. The engine reverts to idle, revving below 1000rpm. Depressing the gas pedal has no effect on engine RPM or speed. The "wrench" light comes on, but without any code stored. If the car is turned off and then back on, the engine reluctantly starts, and the problem is not present, but the problem soon appears (within seconds). After several incidents today on my way to the auto shop, the "check engine" light came on and I was able to get the code: P2111, "binding throttle body - stuck open" and "tacm open or shorted". taking the vehicle to the auto shop, they told me the throttle body assembly was not functioning correctly and needed replacement. This is currently being done as the vehicle is unsafe to drive in its present condition. This problem happened once before, about a month ago, and I immediately took the vehicle to the local Ford dealership. They could find nothing wrong, but said it sounded like a throttle or electrical problem, as they have seen numerous problems similar to this. They said there was no stored code for the "wrench" light. They told me the car was safe to drive but to bring the vehicle in if it happens again. At that time they would begin replacing parts until the problem went away as they were unable to diagnose the problem with the information provided, even though they had seen this problem before. This is a dangerous situation, particularly when driving on the highway or crossing an intersection, as the vehicle no longer has power to the drive train and can only coast to a stop. There should be a recall on this defective part.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #9

Aug 192013


  • 67,000 miles


Engine loss of power, would. Not accelerate, got out of traffic, put on 4ways, engine would only idle very rough, check engine light and wrench were on, shut off engine restarted after long cranking started resumed trip, about 5 miles happened again did same, after restarted drove 12 miles home. This issue is extremely dangerous. I have found over 2 hundred reports of the same problem upon first try.

- Kittanning, PA, USA

problem #8

Aug 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,500 miles
From a dead stop at a light, pressed on gas peddle and engine didn't die, but would only crawl along at 1 or 2 mph. Made it to a gas station, then turned off engine, restarted, and everything seemed fine. This however happened several times since. Took it to Ford dealership the service rep said it was probably the throttle body. (upon researching, it appears Ford has put defective throttle body parts in several model year's of the Escape.)

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #7

Apr 012013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 19,800 miles
At approx. 19,800 miles was driving along the interstate and the Escape started losing power. I went from running 75 mph to 40 mph. The Escape now has approx. 33,000 miles and is a total nightmare. As of April 28, 2013 it has been in the shop for a total of 46 days and has had 8 repair attempts. No warning lights nor the check engine light has ever come on. This Escape clunks, surges, loses power, cut's off and at times will not even crank. The transmissions has been reprogrammed, the throttle body and motor asy - throttle body air intake has been replaced, the vapor management valve has been replaced, the torque convertor has been replaced. Lost in arbitration with the BBB because Ford said in their last repair attempt that the vehicle has operating as normal. June 5, 2013 car was back in shop because at 7:45 am stopped at a red light, while my foot was on the brake the RPM's surged up to 4000, could hardly keep it from running the light, once the light changed took off and within 4 tenths of a mile lost power and shut off. It took me 8 minutes to get it to crank, drove about 15 miles, surging all the way, and the car died again, taking me 10 minutes to get it to crank. Took the car back to the shop, they kept it for 7 days, returned it and said they could not duplicate problem. June 20, 2013 tried to crank the car at 10:00 am, it would crank, but go dead, finally at 11:10 am it stayed cranked, drove at 3 tenths of a mile, car goes dead. Takes me 5 minutes to re-crank went straight to the shop. This car is dangerous and Ford needs to re-call.

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

problem #6

Jun 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 49,542 miles
I was driving down the interstate and the vehicle suddenly lost power, but the engine was still running.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #5

May 172013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Engine stalls upon acceleration, have to pull over and turn the engine off and then do a restart. It is now at the dealership with a defective throttle body waiting on the part. I now understand it is being re-designed with no eta on manufacture or delivery to my dealer.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #4

Apr 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Engine light came on and vehicle immediately ran rough and lost most acceleration power. Forced to drive on to center median to avoids accident. Brought to dealer and was told was faulty charcoal canister sensor. And other components.

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

problem #3

Oct 172012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact merged to the shoulder and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a technician advised that the throttle body assembly would need to be replaced. The vehicle did not have a diagnostic test performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,500 and the current mileage was 47,000. Updated 01/09/13

- Cape Coral , FL, USA

problem #2

Jul 012011


  • 600 miles
On the 5th day of use of my new vehicle, I was riding at 60 mph on a rainy day when the air conditioner stop working, my windows start fogging. There was no car light alarms, car temperature normal (no thermostat alarm). I took the cat to Ford service, it took 4 days to fix the problem, finding out that there was a problem with the thermostat and as a consequence it afect the air conditioner.

- 1783, PR, USA

problem #1

Apr 042011


  • 2,800 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Escape. The contact stated on three different occasions after slowing down to make a left or right turn the vehicle started to coast and stall. The vehicle would not accelerate to the normal speed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test but there were no error codes. The dealer was unable to diagnose or duplicating the failure. The manufacturer was contacted who stated a consumer representative will contact him within the next two days. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 2,800.

- Leon, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?