Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Ford Escape has an acceptable complaint history so far, with leaking rear window problems showing up as the main concern so far. NHTSA complaint data shows an early pattern of problems with stalling while driving.

Another concern is the 2012 Escape rolled onto its roof during an NHTSA side impact test so it only received a marginal side impact rating ... not good.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,682 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Apr 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle is repeatedly surging without warning or stalling without warning. Often during turns in heavy traffic. Dealer is unable to replicate but suspects throttle body malfunction.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,371 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph and decelerating, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was restarted and resumed normal function. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure and current mileage was 15,371. Updated 04/10/13 the dealer stated the computer did not register a problem. Updated 04/18/13 updated 11/19/13 updated 11/26/2013

- Dana Point, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 272013

Escape

  • 69,016 miles
I was driving my Escape about 15 mph and went to accelerate. When I pushed the gas pedal down, the total car did nothing. I just hesitated and stumbled then finally accelerated. It has done this since new, but thought it was just the drive by wire system they use now. This makes me nervous if in a sudden avoidance situation and can't avoid it.

- Queensbury, NY, USA

problem #7

Oct 172012

Escape

  • 4,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle became unresponsive to acceleration attempts however, the engine rpms increased. There was a twenty second delay in vehicle response. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing on four different occasions and each time the contact was told that the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 4,900 and the current mileage was 9,900.

- Orange , TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 022012

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when depressing the brake and accelerator pedal simultaneously, the vehicle would engage in limp mode and the engine would hesitate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they advised him that there was a switch that would cause the vehicle to hesitate to prevent erroneous acceleration. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 5. the current mileage was approximately 7,000. The VIN was unavailable....updated 04/25/13

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #5

Sep 252012

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
When driving (approx 30 mph), my vehicle suddenly lost acceleration. I coasted into a parking lot. Turned off vehicle and waited a moment. I then attempted to turn the vehicle back on and it started. I was able to drive to my local Ford dealer for repair. Today, nearly 3 months to the date later, I had the same problem. I was stopped at a light and was unable to accelerate when the light changed. Turning the vehicle off and turning it back on allowed me to get home.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #4

Aug 062012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 77 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 10 mph, there was an unexpected hesitation as the vehicle began to surge forward. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis however, the technician was unable to duplicate the malfunction. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 77. Updated 1/15/13* cn the consumer stated the problem was solved on 12/13/12. His right foot was touching the side of the brake and accelerator pedal, causing the vehicle to stall.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #3

Jun 132012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 125 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when trying to accelerate, the vehicle would hesitate and lunge forward. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis. The technician advised the contact that the vehicle was working as normal and that he would have to accumulate approximately 2,000 miles on the vehicle for the lunging failure to stop. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 125 and the current mileage was approximately 700. Updated 12/21/12 updated 1/9/2013

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #2

Dec 122011

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while traveling 20 mph she attempted to depress the accelerator but received no response. The contact mentioned that the gears then engaged which caused the vehicle to lunge forward. After depressing and holdingthe accelerator down, the vehicle began to function normally. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's destination. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was to replicate it twice while test driving the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was 5,100. Updated 11/07/12 the consumer stated the there a definite stronghesitation around 20 mph. There was also a problem at higher speeds.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #1

Nov 302011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle began to hesitate while accelerating. The contact also noticed that the vehicle would decelerate when driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 500. Updated 03/16/12 updated 05/03/12

- Wolfeboro, NH, USA

Not what you are looking for?