Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 9 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #580

Dec 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles


First incident - I pulled out onto a main street & the motor cut out. Also when I was on the interstate (going to work) was going about 65 mph...and the motor cut out. I had to pull over on the berm of the road- shut the car off & restart it. This is very dangerous as I cannot tell when it will shut down & where I am at on the highway...& if I can get off the road before someone hits me! this has happened a total of 5 times now & I am afraid to drive it for fear of getting hit by another car! (a wrench shows up on the instrument panel each time this happens!)

- Mineral City, OH, USA

problem #579

Dec 262012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 41,339 miles
Vehicle lost power when driving. The rpms went to about 1000 RPM (jumping up and down). This caused me to have to pull to the side of the road. After stopping and restarting the car the car drove fine. This happened a few times. Luckily I did not have accident. I brought the car in and diagnosed by Ford service on November 29 as faulty throttle body. The car has @ 41339 miles and this was not covered by warranty.

- Merrick, NY, USA

problem #578

Aug 222013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Was traveling on 696 in detroit area at 70 mph when my 2010 Ford Fusion suddenly lost 'power' to the power train, it lost all velocity and the ability to accelerate. It went from 70 mph to 0 mph in seconds! I have never been so scared for my life as I was at that moment watching cars 'jump' lanes to avoid rear ending me due my sudden loss of power. I thank god I was able to cross multiple lanes making near the shoulder as the vehicle came to a stop! the engine was still running but list ability to move. Dealership charged $600 to repair my vehicle which was 2 weeks out of warranty with 30,000 miles! when asked what happened the service manager said sometimes parts go bad. After reading about the issue, it sounds bigger problem than that. Let me know what info you need.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #577

Nov 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,580 miles


I own a 2010 Ford Fusion SE. Six weeks prior to November 13, 2013, the vehicle would sporadically shake or sometimes jerk! on the evening of November 13th, I was driving a short distance from home in the dark. I came to complete stop at a very busy intersection and the vehicle began to shake violently three times and then the engine stalled! I was stuck at a right turn lane with no place to pull over or to let any cars go by! in fact many drivers behind me were very impatient honking their horns and squeezing by around the corner! as I was panicking I noticed the battery and oil light on and did not noticed any other idiot lights on. I pressed on the accelerator and could not move, I noticed I could put the car in gear and luckily I was able to start the vehicle! I was able drive around the corner into the gas station, and all of a sudden the vehicle's transmission jerked and made a loud "clunk" noise while accelerating lightly, the vehicle "surged" thru the gas station, finding myself at a fast speed I had to slam on the brakes! that evening I went onto the internet and saw hundreds of complaints on the "electronic throttle body!" all of these customers had the same experience or very similar to mine! I was very scared to drive the car twenty miles to a local dealership. Fortunately the vehicle made it there without stalling. The technicians ran a test on the "electronic throttle body"and to my surprise the vehicle passed with flying colors. Also one of the technicians took the car home to see if it would happen again so the extended warranty would cover this expense with a rental car! for the safety of myself and others the "electronic throttle body" was replaced at my expense of $430. I knew the problem would not disappear or go away or improve and nobody's life is worth a few hundred dollars!

- Uoland, CA, USA

problem #576

Nov 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,780 miles
Driving on highway at approximately 60 mph when all power to the engine was lost. The vehicle decelerated quickly as I pulled over to the side of the road. An orange "wrench" light was illuminated on the dash, but no check engine light. Engine was idling roughly and a loud misfiring sound was coming from the exhaust. No matter how hard I pushed the gas pedal, I could not get above 3 mph. I re-started the car, and the engine ran normally. However, the messages "service advancetrac" and "check brake system" appeared on the screen while two yellow traction control lights and the red brake light were illuminated. Upon restarting the vehicle once more, both of these indicators were gone. I was able to drive safely to the dealer who didn't perform any diagnostics nor drive the vehicle, but was still "90% sure" that the problem is the throttle body. Ford does not cover the throttle body under the 5 yr/60,000 mi powertrain warranty, nor will my aftermarket "exclusionary coverage" warranty by portfolio. The estimated cost to install a new throttle body is $321 without diagnostics. No repair has been done yet at this time, as I am waiting to hear back from Ford Motor Company as well as the dealer that sold me the vehicle used.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #575

Nov 192013


  • miles
This is approximately the 6th time this has occurred with this vehicle with no resolution from Ford. While driving, the rpms will randomly dip drive, the engine and oil lights come on, and the car shuts down either to an idle, stall, or completely down. It will turn back on with no issues after powering down the vehicle and has no lights on upon restart. The problem with this is that it is intermittent and the codes are not being saved to the unit per Ford. Because of this, they state they cannot replicate the problem and therefore it cannot be fixed. This creates a tremendous safety hazard as the vehicle intermittently shut downs in the middle of driving with no warning and can cause serious injury or accidents. This has been occurring on and off now for months in which I have had to be at the dealership for the same issue almost monthly and still get no resolution. In addition, this appears to occur in most vehicles coming near their 60K mile warranty expiration in which Ford will not cover the issue if it replicates after this time.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #574

Nov 232013


  • miles


Saturday afternoon on 11/23/13 we were driving 57 mph when the car buckled and the little wrench came on. We were barely able to get off side of the road since there was a ditch beside us and we were on a state route so there were cars coming towards us and vehicles behind us. We waited a few minutes started the car and headed on our way. Later on that same day around 10pm the car did the same thing and we had no power while trying to accelerate in the middle of the night and the little wrench comes on. This time there was less traffic at night so we were able to somewhat get off the road. Again we sat there for awhile, started it back up and headed straight back to our house. Since we know what the problem is already due to my wife having the same make, model, year of the car and her own mother having to replace the same thing. The dealership said it was the throttle body that needed replace. We are able to call the same dealership that my car was originally purchased from the same place where my wife got her car from and get the part needed. My wife's story with her car is a bit more intense while I was driving on the highway of 70 mph the car buckled and lost all power and cars were flying by almost not allowing me to get off the side of the road. Almost got into an accident because of it. If they really want me to be a happy Ford customer I would hope they would recall this knowing peoples lives and safety are at risk when the car loses all control while driving. Only time will tell if I have to come back and voice another complaint. I come from a family of Ford owners and I'm thinking it will stop with us.

- Pandora, OH, USA

problem #573

Jul 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I was driving at 35 mph all of a sudden my wrench icon came on and lost acceleration. I was able to pull to the side of road and the car started to shake and wanted to stall. I shut off the car for a min and started it back up. It hesitated but it did finally start up. I drove 2 miles and it did it again. Since then this happens frequently without any warning and at varied speeds. This problem has happened a few times on the highway and my children and myself almost got rear ended. My engine light came on I had it tested and the code was P2111 tac stuck open. The problem is the throttle body. This problem is very serious and dangerous.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #572

Nov 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 86,500 miles
The vehicle lost power and began to shake and a wrench light came on the dash. I shut the vehicle off and restarted, at that point it was ok. Many other complaints made in forums about this same problem, it needs to be addressed immediately by Ford before someone is seriously injured or killed. From my research online, everyone that has had there vehicle checked stated it was a throttle body issue.

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #571

Oct 312012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford Fusion sel with 29,493 miles. I had under 2,000 miles when I began having trouble. This day I had only driven about six miles from home when I came up to a stop sign. While trying to accelerate, around 15 mph, the wrench light came on and I lost all power, the engine dropped speed rapidly bucking, surging and chattering as if it jumped time. Since I had no power, I dropped into neutral and coasted on to the shoulder of the road. At that point, it would only go forward with the same symptoms, so I put it in reverse and backed onto a side road and turned it off. I turned the flashers on and called a tow truck. They took the car back to the dealership. I called the mechanic the next day, then after waiting 24 hours with no response, I called back again, and the mechanic said they couldn't find nothing wrong with it. I then spent hours on line looking for what might be causing these symptoms and found hundreds of complaints about the exact same issues determined to be a defective electronic throttle body failure (etb). I found out since the engine was off, and check engine light never came on, the computer reset itself so there was no code. Then I also saw a video of another Ford reacting with the exact same symptoms as mine and learned Ford has modified the design of defective etb. After citing what I found to my mechanic, he decided to replace the defective part with the updated, modified part number ds7Z 9E926 D. the car was manufactured January 2010 so by November 2013 the warranty was up by 10 months. ( 3 year or 36,000 miles). I paid the amount $285.36 in full on November 02, 2013. Regarding Ford, why are they ignoring to acknowledge this as a safety issue " if I had a tractor trailer behind me going 65 mph and my car lost all power with no brake lights" there could have had been a very different outcome.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #570

Nov 162013


  • 51,997 miles


I was on an on ramp on the way in to work in the morning when my vehicle lost propulsion. I was accelerating and then the accelerator became unresponsive and the engine idled roughly between 750-1000 RPM. The 'wrench' light came in and I was able to roll to the side of the freeway. I turned off and restarted my vehicle and the malfunction had apparently cleared as the issue has yet to return, but will. I say 'will return' because the exact same thing happen 23sep while on the freeway traveling 35mph during morning rush hour. I brought the vehicle to the local Ford dealership for a diagnostic test ($) and they found nothing and had no ideas as to the potential cause. I was willing to accept it as a fluke, but now that it has happened again I know there must be a problem. I am hesitant to return to the dealership for another $80 diagnostic test when it seems that this is a prevalent issue... (nearly 95% of the complaints of this vehicle on this website). Is there a recall in the works for this vehicle malfunction?

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #569

Jul 092012


  • 110,000 miles
Only had my 2010 Ford Fusion for 2 weeks when I had my first incident. I was making a turn on to another street and upon accelerating it jerked and lost power. Luckily there was no one behind me and I was able to be close enough to the side of the road to turn the ignition off and then restart it, and it seemed to be ok. Unfortunately their has been several other incidences in the last 2 months that I see a pattern of this happening after I have been driving especially in stop and go traffic and try to accelerate from a stop that it jerks and unless I let of the gas a little it will stall or if I am on the freeway I cannot make any quick lane changes for fear the it will give out on me in the middle of traffic causing an accident. I am very nervous about driving this car and don't drive it any more than I have too, until I can afford to get it fixed. After seeing others complaining about the same thing I hope their is a recall before someone is seriously injured. A definite safety issue!

- Fountain Valley, CA, USA

problem #568

Nov 112013


  • 69,690 miles
The Fusion will stall at highway speed. When driving the "wrench" light will come on and the gas pedal becomes useless and it is left to coast down the road. The only thing you can do is pull over, if possible and put it in park and shut it off. Then the car shakes like crazy like the engine will explode if you don't shut if off fast enough. There entire time the tachometer is bouncing up and down and gas pedal is useless. Putting it in park does not fix the problem. You have to shut down the car. Once shut off, you can wait a few seconds and restart the car. This will usually start decent but sometimes will be hard to start. Then it will drive normal. This has happened multiple times and 2 X today while on the interstate. There is no chugging or warning, it will just stop letting you use the gas pedal and starts shaking violently. I found out it is a problem with the throttle body. This is expensive to fix and dangerous if you don't as you can not always simply pull to the side and restart your car. Not safe for me or my pregnant wife. Fix the problem Ford.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #567

Nov 142013


  • 36,200 miles
Nov 14, 2013 - burleson, tx - power train I had almost the exact same issue as the person who posted on 11/14 from burleson, tx. While driving home from work, the wrench light came on and the car seemed to go into neutral and stopped accelerating. I pressed the gas, but it didn't help. I turned on my flashers and did manage to pull into a nearby hotel parking lot. Shifting it into manual, 2nd gear, as I was doing this seemed to provide a little power. I shut off the car and sat for a couple of minutes. When I restarted the car, it drove like normal, then repeated the issue after I made another stop on the way home about 10 minutes later. I have scheduled it for service for Monday, 11/18 so I don't yet have the dealer diagnosis, but given the number of similar issues I'm seeing on this site, I wanted to get my incident in as well as it appears that this may be a recall issue, so my complaint very much mirrors the one from burleson, tx, where he or she found 10's of thousands of 2010 Ford Fusion owners facing or having faced this same issue.

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #566

Nov 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,479 miles
While driving home from work, the wrench light came on. The car seemed to go into a neutral drop and stopped accelerating. I pressed the gas, but there was no use. I had to turn on my flashers and pull over to the side of the road. I shut off the car and it shook for a few seconds. When I restarted the car, it drove like normal, and then repeated the issue. I took my car in to Ford today, to fix the issue. I was called 6 hours later and told that the "throttle body" needed replacing. After researching this online, it appears that there are 10's of thousands of Ford Fusion owners (same year, same model) facing or had faced this same issue. I called Ford, to see if there was a recall issued. The customer service rep said that there was not enough evidence to merit a recall. This is a safety issue if I had been on the freeway or a road with no shoulder, I would have been rear-ended for sure. This makes me question Ford's commitment to quality and safety with their products.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #565

Nov 112013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Instance #3 (in 2 days). After I left the breakfast place (see instance #2), I drive about a mile and it started shaking again and would not go. I turned it off and restarted. This was at a light that just turned green in heavy atlanta morning traffic btw. ~~I drive it to the dealership and explained what it was doing. Interesting thing is the service writer said he was pretty sure he knew what it was and said throttle body but could be the engine. ~~ he said he thought it was under warranty but I got a call later saying, sorry, no the throttle body is not covered under warranty. I did an internet search and found with five other owners of this made, year and model that had this same exact problem in 2013. Add to this the service writer at the dealership knew what the problem was just by my initial description. Why is this not a recall? a car suddenly loosing all propulsion is a danger to the driver and others.

- Sandy Springs, GA, USA

problem #564

Oct 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,066 miles
I was driving South on I-95 in northern Florida doing 73 mph.. my vehicle suddenly lost all power and would not respond to pressure on the gas pedal. The highway was under construction at the time and I had to make an emergency maneuver between safety cones to pull over to the shoulder. The dashboard displayed two warnings: A 'wrench' figure and the engine trouble light. I restarted the vehicle and tried to resume my journey. The same thing happened one minute later and I again had to make a desperate turn onto the shoulder. I had my vehicle towed to a Ford dealer. After they checked the vehicle they told me the message that came up indicated the 'throttle body' needed replacement. The repair was not covered under their 5 year/60,000 mile powertrain warranty! I have since found out this part has been very problematic for this make/model. I believe this part should be covered and a recall issued. This part failure at highway speed causing a total loss of power is very dangerous and put my life in danger. Please help me and other Ford Fusion owners.

- Voorhees, NJ, USA

problem #563

Sep 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
While I was entering the highway my car lost power and I had to pull over on the shoulder. The throttle body needed to be replaced.

- Ossining, NY, USA

problem #562

Oct 012013


  • 52,000 miles
Was driving my Fusion and the colder the weather gets the more the transmission messes up. I was told by the dealership on multiple occasions that this is normal and that there is a defect in the transmission that Ford is unwilling to fix causing long pauses between first and second gear and second and third, with high rpms (3500-4500). I have done research and found that there are hundreds of people with the exact same problems I have. I live on a main road and a few days ago I went to pull out and it was slick and a truck almost hit me when my car paused before shifting gears so that I can go. This makes a very dangerous situation and I would love to see the transmissions get fixed before something terrible happens. As of right now the dealerships are saying that Ford is not allowing any further servicing on the vehicles as a preventative measure.

- Garfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #561

Nov 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,978 miles
While driving near my home at about 25 mph my 2010 Ford Fusion suddenly decelerated to about 2 mph and I had no control over the accelerator. Since I was only about 100 yds from home I let the car creep along and as I reached my driveway, it suddenly bucked and briefly accelerated. I parked on the side of the garage rather than drive inside as I was afraid it might accelerate inside the garage. I had it towed to the dealer the next day. There it was diagnosed as having a faulty electronic throttle body. A brief online search indicated that this is a rather common problem in the 2010 Ford Fusion. I was very fortunate that is occurred on a quiet side street with no other vehicular traffic. It could have had tragic consequences had this happened while driving on the highway.

- North Kingstown, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?