Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,271 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 18 of 32)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #282

Jun 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 85,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down interstate at 70 miles per hour in far left lane when vehicle unexpectedly loses power. Accelerator pedal completely unresponsive, and engine speed drops to approximately 800 RPM. I had to quickly maneuver across two lanes, which were occupied by tractor trailers to get to right shoulder. Came extremely close to having a major accident during heavy traffic which would have certainly involved 15-20 vehicles due to sudden onset and heavy traffic. Vehicle idled extremely rough upon stop. Vehicle would restart and operate normally for an unknown amount of time, then the same issue would happen again. This appears to be a very common problem for Ford Fusion built prior to late 2011 and Ford escapes. This is a very dangerous malfunction, and a recall should absolutely be issued. Online research has a consensus that the problem is a bad throttle body. There are hundreds and hundreds, if not thousands, of the exact same problem from these vehicles. I have been very satisfied with this vehicle until this point.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #281

Jul 252013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
When traveling down the road in typical conditions the power could cut out on the engine. Electrical power would still be on but no power would go to the engine forcing me to pull off the road and restart. This has happened several times and caused a minor bump with a traffic barrel. Ford lists this as service notice when it should be a recall, I could have been killed had I not had enough room to avoid the semi truck speeding behind me.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #280

Jun 142013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 41,034 miles
While driving the vehicle it seemed to loose power and was idling rough. Was able to pull off the road, opened the hood and the engine was shaking and running rough. Vehicle was only going a couple miles an hour as driver tried to make it back to his motel, when the vehicle just turned off. Driver let the vehicle sit for a minute and then tried to start it again, and it started up. The vehicle would run but it has extremely limited power. Vehicle was taken to the nearest Ford dealership where it was determined that it was a failed throttle body and that the part was on national back order. Had to wait two weeks for the part to become available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #279

Jul 222013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 43,064 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver was driving 2010 Ford Fusion approximately 50 mph when the vehicle started to shake and decelerate. It felt like the vehicle was losing power. Driver had to put hazard lights on and pull off the road. The vehicle was turned off and the driver was able to restart the vehicle and drive slowly to a convenience store where she was able to call to be towed to the nearest Ford dealership. When the vehicle arrived at the Ford dealership it was diagnosed as having a throttle body failure. The vehicle is currently still in the shop waiting for the throttle body assembly to be available to replace the faulty part. Currently the driver is without the vehicle that is required for them to do their job.

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #278

Jul 192013

Fusion

  • miles
I was driving to my friends and all of a sudden my car stalled on me. It wouldn't move when I pushed on the gas it just slowed down while my battery light wrench light and engine light came on. It was dead. I shut the car off and turned it back on and it was fine like nothing happened. Less than a mile it did it again on a busy road. I was freaking out and worried about my life on the busy road. So I shut it off again and started and lucky I made to the Ford service before it did it again and decided to have them check it out. The throttle body gad to be replaced and was the reason why my car was acting up. I thank god that I wasn't on the freeway around rush hour time.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #277

Jul 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 85,544 miles
Car was idling in park. Put car in drive, started moving forward slowly and the engine started to shake, lost throttle control, check engine and wrench lights illuminated. Engine died within about 10 seconds. Turned the ignition off and restarted the car. It ran normally for about 25 feet and exhibited the same symptoms as before. Restarted the car again and was able to limp the car to a suitable parking space about 250 feet away. After sitting for a minute with the car off, I started it again and it ran normal for the rest of the day. I drove to the nearest autozone and had them scan the computer codes. Found P2111 - throttle actuator control.

- West Chicago, IL, USA

problem #276

Jul 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While accelerating up a hill or incline, the motor powered down to the point of stalling, whereby I was almost involved in an accident. This has happened twice today, and on one occasion in December 2012, but the specifics I cannot recall.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #275

Jul 222013

Fusion

  • miles
Engine is surging when stopped at lights and now when air conditioner is on it goes almost off while the surge happens then comes back on when the surge stops. I have to keep my foot on the brake tight as the car wants to move. Happens every 5-10 seconds or so and every time I am at idle. When pulling into garage at slow speed the car surges so I have to drive with my foot on the brake.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #274

Jul 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 42,400 miles
I was very worried when my car appeared to just turn off as I was slowing down from the interstate. I thought it was a fluke, bad connection and hoped it would never do it again. Car did start back up with no issues, that day. Unfortunately, it happened a lot on Saturday 7/20/13. I parked the car and never drove it Sunday. Called Ford first thing Monday - 7/22/13 and they were too busy to help. I had to take my car to a non dealership and they confirmed it was the throttle body. I had previously researched and wrote down the codes that would possibly come up. As the other company stated this is a known issue, I thankfully have an extended warranty to cover cost but I was advised that this is around $1,000. Ford is charging me my deductible for a known safely issue that has not been recalled" why? when" im hoping by adding to the list we can make sure they take care of their customers before they issue arises rather than after we are stuck on the side of the road. I've been without a car for 2 days and no concern of Ford. I need a reliable car, as im still paying for it. All of the issues are exactly following these articles - www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2013/02/25/probe-Ford-cars-SUVS-stalling/1945799/ and www.foxnews.com/leisure/2013/02/25/feds-probe-725000-limp-Ford-Mercury-vehicles-for-fault/ I've had horrible service from Ford and would prefer a non partisan company to fix but I am forced to go back to them to take car of issue.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #273

Jul 032013

Fusion

  • 66,000 miles
While driving on a crowded highway the vehicle lost all ability to accelerate or maintain speed. Wrench light was illuminated, car did not stall. Once brought to the dealership no code was available.

- Sunapee , NH, USA

problem #272

Jul 152013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 41,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car stalled 3 times while driving at various speeds. Took it to local repair shop. Shop was unable to obtain part #ds7Z*9E926 throttle body from 11 dealerships until mid August. I was concerned that any replacement part we would find would also be defective and I didn't want to pay for the repair twice. I called my dealership directly and was told that they had 8 parts in stock, but they were "service only" parts for the dealership service department. I said I already had time and labor invested at the shop and didn't want to have to pay twice. I also asked if the parts they had in stock were "good parts" and asked why they were on backorder almost a month. Not having my car repaired was not an option and I made that clear to the dealership parts department as well as the service department. They finally agreed to sell me the part and assured me that the parts they had in stock were "good parts". I kept all of my paperwork as well as the defective part. Seems like a strong candidate for a recall if 11 dealerships were unwilling to sell this part to local repair shops.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #271

Jul 152013

Fusion

  • 46,000 miles
I was driving my 2010 Ford Fusion on highway 31, it was very cloudy and hard rain was coming down fast. I reached 40 miles an hour after almost pushing my foot so hard on the peddle. All the sudden the car started losing power, slowly going down. Wrench light came on, vehicle started shaking, and right at the best time I hit the brake and the car turned off, it would not turn back on. I had to have my vehicle towed to the Ford dealership. My vehicle has been in the shop a total of 4 times and this problem is still not fixed, I am so uneasy when driving my car, hoping it will not turn off and leave me stranded. I am very scared to drive my vehicle, it is the only way of transportation for me. I am very upset about everything and it still is not fixed. Terrible vehicle, terrible service from the Ford service people. Totally devastated that I make a car payment on my vehicle which is covered under warranty and I am in harm.

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #270

Jun 202012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle goes into "limp-home" mode suddenly and unexpectedly. Happened on I-95 and was lucky I could pull over without getting killed. Dealer could not find problem although this should have been well-known to them by then. Happened several times since and got worse and now car is immobile and too dangerous to drive. Apparently a problem with fuel injection throttle body which Ford is well aware of and part is back-ordered 7-10 days (they say). NHTSA initiated an investigation of problem in Feb 2013 but Ford has not informed customers of this very dangerous situation nor offered any fix. Seems unconscionable to me. What does NHTSA propose to do about this and why hasn't it done so" this situation is literally without exaggeration a danger to human life and the manufacturer does nothing. What is NHTSA for"

- Maspeth, NY, USA

problem #269

Jul 182013

Fusion

  • 63,000 miles
I was at a left turn light and when I drove through the light to make the left turn my car started shaking and the wrench light came out. When I was hitting the gas it didn't go so I pulled over and turned the car off. I waited a while and turned it on and it started up fine. So I started driving a little more and it did it again. I turned the car off for a while and I turned it back on and was able to drive it home since I lived close by. The wrench light turned off but the engine light stayed on. I got up that morning and drove it to a neighborhood shop and they said the only thing wrong with it was a security error and that it was fine. I picked it up from the shop and I was able to get down the street when my car cut off. Radio and all the interior lights were on but the car itself cut off and the battery light showed up. I was able to again drive it home. I did some research and I didn't realize how many other people were having this same issue and they said it's the throttle body which would cost about 600 - 800 dollars to fix. There should be a recall on this because this is happening to way too many people and this is a three year old car. I had my daughter in the car both times.

- Cheverly, MD, USA

problem #268

Jul 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 55,400 miles
60 mph on highway. Wrench light came on. Lost power. Coasted to side of road (luckily safely). Turned car off. Restarted after a few minutes. Continued about 1/2 mile. Happened again. Did same thing. Continued another 1/2 mile. Did it again. Engine shuttered this time. Check engine light remains on. Was able to restart vehicle and get home (approximately 2 miles). Happened once shortly after used vehicle purchase in 2011 but never did again until now. Internet search indicates defective throttle body part is cause. Very unsafe particularly in highway driving when this happens! just purchased a second 2011 Ford Fusion SE (2011) for our teenager. Concerned about our child's safety. Ford needs to issue a recall!.

- Norton, OH, USA

problem #267

Jul 202013

Fusion

  • 49,824 miles
Leaving driveway vehicle appeared to loose all power from the engine, it did not stall, engine indicator light came on the first attempt to leave backed car up into drive way. Checked all fluids engine oil, transmission oil were both in the appropriate range. Restarting the car engine light cleared, second attempt to leave car hesitated and then did stall check engine light returned and stayed illuminated. Restarting the vehicle and returned home. Let vehicle set about ten minutes, restarted engine light stayed on, drove car short distance about.25 miles did not stall or hesitate however check engine light remained illuminated.

- Coweta, OK, USA

problem #266

Jul 192013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 47,670 miles
Traffic slowed suddenly from about 65mph to about 20-30 mph so I had to apply my brakes very suddenly and hard to avoid rear ending someone. Traffic kept moving and I regained a speed of about 40 mph just after this I felt the car make a sudden hard jerk and car started decelerating on it's own. I tried pushing the gas petal, but nothing happened it would not speed up it kept loosing speed and eventually got down to 1 - 2 mph. I pulled the car over into the edge of the right lane so I was partially on grass and on part of the road. I put my hazards on and kept coasting because it felt like the car was going to stall it was shaking and jerking like it wanted to stall out. I stopped the car and left it running I was afraid if I shut the car completely off that it would not re-start again. I then drove the car home with my hazards on doing 1 to 5 mph on the way home for about 2 miles. The wrench tool light had come on when this happened. Once I got the car home I shut it off and restarted and just drove back and forth in my driveway. I shut the car off and on about 3 times and then it seemed to be running normal and the tool wrench light shut off. Not going to drive it until I can get it to the Ford dealer to have it looked at.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #265

Jul 122013

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
I was driving my car and had gone approx 1-1/2 - 2 miles down the road and the car was driving fine then all of a sudden my car started to hesitate and would barely move. I pulled over on a side road and turned my car off and restarted it sounded fine I turned around and pulled onto main road again and again the car started puttering and would barely move I managed to get car off the road. I had it towed to tasca Ford where they said the throttle body needed to be replaced. It has been a week now and I still don't have my car and they can't tell me when the new part will come in because it is being manufactured? they are also stating they have 18 - 20 cars waiting for this same part.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #264

May 212013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 62,297 miles
First incident: On 05/21/2013 car hesitated when pushing accelerator pedal after going downhill to a stop and then attempting to reach normal speed in our housing development (see earlier report on 07/18/2013 for confirmation number: 10525593 and car dealer receipts enclosed for 05/21/2013)....updated 08/16/13 second incident: On 06/21/2013 car did not respond beyond idle speed after pushing accelerator pedal to move from stop light and drifted to nearby parking lot with no accelerator pedal response beyond idle power (see earlier report on 07/18/2013 for confirmation number: 10525593 and car dealer receipts enclosed for 06/21/2013)...updated 08/16/13

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #263

Jul 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,745 miles
While accelerating, cruising or at idle, the engine stalls then dies. When restarting engine stumbles badly and dies. This happens in traffic, accelerating into intersections, at highway speeds, etc. Mil is now on constantly. Vehicle is completely unusable because it is past the warranty period. We will be replacing the throttle body at our own expense, but would like Ford to reimburse us.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?