If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2010 Ford Fusion has a massive number of NHTSA complaints (over 1,000) about sudden deceleration while driving.

The Federal investigation was closed in March 2014 when Ford agreed to a voluntary "customer satisfaction program" covering 1.6 million vehicles that extends the warranty on the throttle body to 10 years/150,000 miles.

Unfortunately it's not a recall, so Fusion owners have to wait for the inconvenience of the throttle body failing before Ford will fix it.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,101 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #64

Aug 022013

Fusion

  • 49,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my morning commute doing about 65 mph on the interstate when there was a clunking type noise from the engine and then the car just would not accelerate. I was able to pull over to the shoulder, put it in park and turned it off. I then restarted the car and it drove just fine. I took it to the dealership that morning and after having the vehicle all day I was told they could not find anything wrong and just reset the computer because they said there was probably a malfunction with the computer that sent a signal to the engine which caused this to happen. That cost me $103 to just reset the computer. Then 4 days later it happens to me again while driving about 60 mph on a highway. I did the same thing by putting it in park, shutting if off and then restarting it. At that point I decided to drop it off at the dealership for them to check the next morning beings it was after hours and they obviously did not fix the problem the first time. On the way to dropping it off at the dealership it happened again while getting on the interstate. I guess we will have to wait and see what lame excuse they come up with this time.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #63

Aug 052013

Fusion

  • 33,817 miles
Driving about 35 miles an hour when the car makes a muffled clunking noise and the speedometer starts going towards 0. I pull over, turn off the car turn it back on and it runs fine for about 5 miles and does it again, this time the noise is louder, the engine light comes on and I can smell burning. I was able to pull into a parking lot, called a tow truck and had it towed to the dealership. I've just been told it is the throttle body and it will be about $600 to repair it. My warranty expired 34 days ago.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #62

Nov 282012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 69,949 miles
While driving on the freeway in November 2012, going about 70mph my car lost power and began to shake, my check engine light came on as well as the transmission light. I turned the car off and then it started it and it was fine. I took it into my local Ford dealership and they said they couldn't find anything wrong with it. July 25 2013 I was only going about 10mph and the same thing happened again, from July 25th till Aug 3 this happened about 10 different times all going about 30mph. The check engine light stayed on for 2 days Aug 2/3. I took it in again to my local dealership on Aug 6 2013 were they told me my electronic throttle body was bad and need replaced and was going to cost me around $670, and my car is under warranty but this part is not covered. I see that alot of other have had the same problem and this part should be recalled asap. Im not paying to fix and part that is faulty in so man Y vehicles.

- Berry Creek, CA, USA

problem #61

Jul 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving and just stops on me.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #60

Jul 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 94,432 miles
Car shut down when I was on 288 running 70 had to pull over cut car off start it back up then it did it again 15 min later on 95 I bought a new throttle body installed it and now its doing fine.

- Petersburg, VA, USA

problem #59

Jul 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,200 miles
Driving in the middle lane on the free way, going 75 miles per hour and my Fusion went into a power down mode. I tried stepping on the gas and the car just slowed down. I got to the shoulder and when the car fully stopped it starting shaking uncontrollably until I turned it off. I gave it a minute, turned it back on and waited for a break in traffic. I got back into the right lane and made it about 200 feet before it did it again. I pulled over again and gave the car another minute and when I tried to turn it back on it hesitated for about 10 seconds before it started again, and I creeped off the freeway going about 10 miles an hour until I reached a safe spot to park it. It was towed to the dealer and it is waiting to be seen by a mechanic.

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #58

Jul 142013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 18,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Went to start car in driveway and it started in limp mode. Let it sit overnight and it started fine and ran okay for another 9 days. Then while driving down rural highway at 60 mph it went into limp mode again. Pulled over, waited, restarted, hoping to get to the next city. However, after another 7 or 8 miles, it went into limp mode again and I pulled off into a parking lot. Had it towed back to deal. Ford service told me this was the third instance they had in the last week or two, that Ford is not producing these parts (for a known defect!), and that it took them eight days to get the last part. Besides this being a huge safety issue, it is a major inconvenience that parts are unavailable as well. Ford needs to rectify this problem asap before someone is killed! my father retired from Ford and we have never driven any other kind of vehicle but this situation is making me re-evaluate my loyalty to Ford products.

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #57

Jul 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
Vehicle acted as if it was going to cut off but did not cut off acceleration was impossible unless I cut the car completely off and restarted it then was able to continue on for about two minutes then same thing happened.

- Park City , KS, USA

problem #56

Mar 312012

Fusion

  • 74,080 miles
We bought our 2010 Ford Fusion used and the day we purchased the car we had a problem. The check engine light was on and when we asked the dealership we were told it was because they had just changed the oil and needed to reset the computer. We noticed that when we stopped the car would jump forward and stall. We called the dealership and were told to bring the car back and they would fix it and provide us with a loaner in the meantime. When I called back to schedule the service I was then told they would not fulfill there statement. We called, sent email and never received and response. I had pretty much given up on help until by mistake they had called us about our recent purchase and they had stated they had called the wrong person, I voiced my concern as the car had been getting worse and the stalling, especially when driving on the interstate was becoming more frequent and dangerous. We have had the car diagnosed, and some repair. We were recently informed that the problem in the throttle body which I have found out is on back order and was told the manufacturer is no longer making. I have found many complaints about the issue on the same make/model. This is a big safety hazard. Unfortunately when you are a one car family you cannot just set your car aside and not go to work or other necessary places. I do not understand why after at least 2 yrs of complaints on this issue it has not been taken care of so far. Someone will, if they have not already be seriously injured or killed due to this problem Ford and others are definitely aware of this issue since it cannot be repaired due to no part. These cars need to be recalled immediately,

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #55

Jun 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Coming home from work my car started to have difficulties keeping speed. Soon after my car lost engine power. This happened twice while on my way home within 15 minutes of each other. When I brought my car in the report I was given says "code P2111 present" when means that the throttle body needs to be replaced. I haven't even had my car for a year.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #54

Jun 242013

Fusion

  • 91,234 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving and all of sudden my car stalled in the middle of traffic and almost caused an accident. A wrench symbol displayed on the dash as I tried to accelerate on the gas but could not move. I to hurry up and pull out of traffic before I got it. I turned the car off and waited a few minutes started it back up drive two blocks and it did it again. I only had the car less than a year and could have a caused a bad accident with the car stalling in the middle of traffic. I thanks god for watching over me. Im a single parent and need a vehicle and don't have money for costly repairs.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #53

Dec 162012

Fusion

  • 52,100 miles
The car suddenly lost speed, then went very slowly. A warning light came on so I stopped the car and turned off the engine. I restarted the engine and it seemed fine so I proceeded and it went approximately 150 yards and then repeated the sudden losing power. A warning light came on. I looked in the manual and it said I stopped the car, turned off the engine, then restarted the engine. The warning light went off but the check engine light came on. Since it was a Sunday and 200 miles from the dealer who had just repaired a problem two days prior to this incident, I decided to return home and take it to the dealer on Monday. It did not lose power during the trip and after the third time of stopping the engine, the check engine warning light went off. Although the warning light went off, I took it to the dealer on Monday..the service dept. Person said it was a throttle body stuck open. I contacted the Ford customer service representative who offered to pay half of the repair.

- Pikeville, KY, USA

problem #52

Sep 272012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My wife was driving with my niece at approximately 45 mph, when the vehicle lost power and started to spit and sputter, then the "wrench" light illuminated as well as the check engine light. Luckily she was able to pull off the road with no harm or damage, when I checked for a dtc it pointed to the throttle body, $200 dollars for the part, Ford should have replaced this for me, especially since there is a tsb for this issue.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #51

Apr 092013

Fusion

  • 87,689 miles
I was driving my 2010 Ford Fusion home from work late at night and it started sputtering and slowing down. The car shut down in the middle of an around about, thank god a policemen was behind me, because if not I would have been hit from behind. I went the next day to have the code pulled for the check engine light and found out the throttle body is sticking or going bad. Upon my research on the internet I found out that is a common problem for the 2010 Ford Fusion and Ford has refused to issue a recall on this part. I continue to drive the car because I didn't experience anymore problems until again I was on my way home from work, late at night and the car did it again this was 5/21/13, did I mention I am 6 months pregnant. I was almost rear ended because the car slowed now in the middle of a 2 lane road and then came to an complete stop. I turned my flashers and the car that was behind went around, I finally was able to pull over and wait about 10 minutes and the car started back up but it was still sputtering like it wanted to cut off, but I was able to make less than one mile to my home. This part going bad on these Ford Fusion is an serious issue and needs to be address by Ford, an recall needs to be issued. This is very dangerous and now that I am ready to replace the throttle body it is on backorder here in ga and the dealerships have no idea when they will receive any shipments. Please issue a recall for this part and make Ford responsible for the financial cost of these repairs.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #50

May 192013

Fusion

  • 53,000 miles
My Fusion was towed to the Ford dealership in anaheim ca. I am having to replace my 2 year old cars: Electronic throttle malfunctioned while I was driving on the freeway it kept stalling even though the engine is still running, this also happened a month ago and I took it in and a diagnostic was done finding nothing wrong it showed no problems, I also video taped the event. This happened both at speeds of 60-65 and 40 miles per hour. I am on disability and it is now going to cost over $400 that I cannot afford.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #49

Apr 152013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 66,348 miles
1st incident: Car stalled in traffic while going 40 mph, coasted into parking lot, restarted car and drove fine - no warning lights 2nd incident: 6 weeks later with no issues or warning lights car stalled again late at night while going 35 mph up a small rise 3rd incident: 2 days later - still no warning lights, car suddenly lost power, did not stall, but would not go over 5 mph while entering attempting to enter interstate. Sat on side of interstate for 45 minutes waiting on a tow truck. I had the car towed to a Ford dealership. They replaced the throttle body which cost $385. The notes on the invoice state they "retrieved code P2111 throttle system stuck open." I feel certain Ford has some serious issues with these cars as the transmission has already had to be rebuilt.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #48

Apr 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford Fusion 2 years ago and I have been happy with it up until just recently. The other morning I was on my way to the gym and the car lost total power, sputtered then just died. It started up right away and I was able to make it back home. Needless to say, it had to go to the dealer and the problem has been diagnosed as a throttle body problem. Apparently this has been very common in this year of the Ford. It is extremely upsetting as if this had happened when I was on the freeway, it could have been a real problem. The total cost for the repairs was $600. I really hope Ford places a recall on these throttle bodies, this is a dangerous situation. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chico , CA, USA

problem #47

Oct 062012

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
Driving at 40 mph engine went into "limp mode". the engine remains running, but no power. Pulled over and shut engine off. Restarted and ran fine except the problem recurred several times over the next few days at all different speeds. Losing power and/or speed at highway speeds or in traffic could prove to be very dangerous. Took the vehicle to a Ford dealer. They informed me that the throttle valve was sticking and the throttle body needed to be replaced. I was also told that this occurred because of the gasoline additives that the federal government mandates, but now I am hearing that it is probably from a defective circuit board. Very expensive repair for a fairly new vehicle. Problem has not happened since the repair was done.

- Sykesville, MD, USA

problem #46

Jan 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 41,400 miles
While I was driving on a county highway at almost 60mph the car shook/shuttered, then a wrench warning light appeared and I pulled onto the shoulder of the road because it felt like the car was losing power. I had just gotten off of the highway and it stalled. I called my husband to come and because it was dark and only 20 degrees outside I started the car again about 15 minutes later. It started right up but we had it towed to a mechanic anyway and they found nothing wrong with it. Because I was scared to drive it after this I took it to a Ford dealer (ewald in hartford, wi) to have it checked over. They could not find anything wrong with it. Then this same scenario occurred again about 3-1/2 weeks later at 5:15am on my way to work. This time I was just pulling away from a stop sign and barely going 20mph. It did the same thing with shaking, the wrench light coming on and the car stalling. There was no shoulder where I was so I didn't want to wait for a tow truck or help. I started it back up and took it back home where it sat in the garage for 1-1/2 days until I could get it to a dealership. Ewald Ford looked at it for me again but they said they could not find any issues. They told me not to start it again if it happens or the codes will clear out so I will need to have it towed or put a portable code reader on it to see if I can get something for them. I just saw an article in our milwaukee paper stating that you are investigating these issues and I wanted to let you know that I've had the same problems. Please help to force a recall before someone gets killed. Thank you!!

- Jackson, WI, USA

problem #45

Nov 262012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,449 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle went into limp mode then stalled. The contact also stated that the failure occurred when at a complete stop or driving 65 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice who ran a diagnostic test and the codes showed a throttle body failure. The dealer cleaned the throttle body but the failure recurred. The contact then took the vehicle to a private mechanic who replaced the throttle body. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 71,449 the consumer stated the problem occurred at idle and highway speeds. The vehicle would have no throttle response, and the engine would go to idle or completely stall, and the wrench and check engine light would illuminate.

- Onancock, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?