Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,246 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

Aug 112016

Fusion

  • 104,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata inflators I recovered a letter 3 monts ago saying my airbag needed to be replaced. The letter stated that I would get a call or email telling me when to taky care for repairs I have not heard anything else.also my steering has gone out in my car I can not get anyone to tell me why they just keep saying I can fix it. Its becoming to the point were I can't drive. What do I need to

- Vincent, AL, USA

problem #52

May 062016

Fusion

  • 115,000 miles
2011 Ford Fusion. The power steering service warning light was illuminated, the vehicle was taken to 2 Ford dealerships for service. Both dealership repaired and cleared the codes, but its still a problem. Its been a problem for 6 months. They want to charge me $3000 to replace the whole steering system. Another issue I have is the driver door will not open from the inside. I have to put the window down to open the door from the outside. This move is unsafe. Ford should be aware of this.

- Mescalero, NM, USA

problem #51

Mar 072016

Fusion

  • 51,000 miles
After many failed temps from Ford for my body throttle issues & Ford dealer refusal to replace the throttle body, bc the code isn't present when they hook up they're device to it(Ford rules). Even though is known with Ford they code will clear when the car is turned off or in my case sometimes shut off by itself when the wrench light appears.06/02/15ford dealer did a PCM update for the T.body & was good to go. Less than a month later issues started again. It has happened countless of times with my bf & w.my kids in the car. I called davidson Ford & spoke to the manger where he stated not to shut the car off so the code doesnt clear & I asked if the tow guy would leave the car on to bring it here. He goes well no! they werenżT of help ever.on 03/07/16 heading home my car went in limp mode & steering went stiff. I couldnt control the car & ended up hitting a guard rail.my car got damage & hurt my back.the officer stated I was lucky bc 20 more ft I would of hit the telephone pole. The tow truck guy also stated the car wasnżT safe to drive.the nxt day my bf called Ford(who open a case)& state farm our insur.co. We went to N.side collison were we explained the situation & recalls on my car.he said he would try & talk to Ford to see what he could do. He couldnżT do anything & we had to deal with Ford.this collison center was on a time frame & real pushy.so I had the car transferred to alan buyer collison center who works w. my insur. & Ford. Weżve played phone tag with Ford csd. The claim was sent to Ford legal general council whose supposed to handle the case & had 15 business to respond. They havenżT responded or try to make contact with us!I was also told by Ford csd not to have the collison center do anything till we hear from the legal counsel. My car has been at the C.C 62+days untouched. I upload letter I sent to Ford company.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #50

Nov 152014

Fusion

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Mpg was not adding up though it was just me than I would notice spots of gasoline on the floor and did a inspection and looked normal until filled gas a bit higher than half and started leaking.and some loss of steering would happen here and there and decided to inspect it to couple of codes would come up in a dtc test.

- Compton, CA, USA

problem #49

Jan 122016

Fusion

  • 160,000 miles
I started my vehicle and let it warm up a couple of minutes before I left my job on cold night. When I backed out of my spot and went forward my service power steering message came on and then service advanced track came on. When I stopped at the light to turn I noticed that I had no power steering. I seen online that there was a recall for this issue. I called my local dealership and was informed my vehicle was not listed in this recall. I then called Ford Motor Co. And neither party could tell me why my vehicle was not listed in this recall when it was indeed a 2011 Ford Fusion without a 3.5 and had the steering issue as described in the recall. Not having power steering all at once with no prior warning can be a very dangerous thing. Luckily in my case it was not a busy intersection at that time. I don't understand why mine or other vehicles with the same issue and possibly the same part is failing yet not covered under Ford recall 15S18.

- Gideon, MO, USA

problem #48

Nov 192015

Fusion

  • 56,751 miles
ż3 May 2013 (mileage 32,800) moab, Utah. Driving in the mountains around moab for my daughters wedding. One passenger in the car beside myself. While driving around a sharp curve, all the electronics in the car went dead. The engine shut down, all lights on the dash, the radio, ac all stopped working. Power steering, power brakes were non-functioning. This happened a total of five times. ż26 August 2015 (mileage approximately 55,600) time: 6:00pm. Driving home from work. IżD stopped at a street light and when I pulled sharply out onto main road, the car went dark again and all electrical systems shut down. I quickly restarted it by shifting into neutral and starting it with the key. Three blocks later, it happened again. This was the first time it had happened on a straightaway. I was driving by myself. ż6 September 2015 (mileage approximately 55,950 between san juan capistrano and lake elsinore, ca. Coming out of a sharp curve in the road while going uphill all electrical components of the car shut off. I shifted into neutral, turned the key, and the engine started up again. ż19 November 2015 (mileage approximately 56,751) went over a speed bump with another passenger in the car. The Ford Fusion shut down again, and after I restarted it, two hundred yards later did it again. żFord has tried to locate the problem three times. Finally replaced throttle body on 22 Sept. And said that fixed problem. It didnżT! Ford corporation customer service now refuses to return my last five calls

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #47

Dec 022015

Fusion

  • 70,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I started the vehicle has loss steering and the "power steering assis fault" message appear. The dealer said that need to be replaced. Ford has a recall for that part (the electric power steering rack) but my VIN number is not included.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #46

Sep 132011

Fusion

  • 5,119 miles
On August 1st, 2015, I was on my way home at about 10 pm at night. I was going up a hill that curved to the left and suddenly lost control of my steering wheel. Instead of turning left the car proceeded to go straight where I then began to panic. I then slammed my brake to the floor and it somehow unexpectedly sped up. I crashed into a power line and smashed the front end into a tree that had totaled my vehicle. I have seat belt burns on my neck, stitches on my knee, abrasions, suffered from a minor concussion, a large amount of bruises, small cuts on my hands and forehead. I have full medical documents of my injuries including pictures. I later found out there were 2 recalls on the vehicle a power steering and 1 full throttle body recall. The power steering was completely replaced previously in 7/16/2013 & 10/26/2013 and there was no solution to the throttle body recall except a extend warranty. I also went to the car dealership where I purchased my vehicle 2 days before the accident and they mentioned nothing about any of the recalls. They also had no clue why it was making the strange noises and told me it was fine after 4 hours of service. IżżM still currently experiencing pain in my shoulder that was diagnosed at the orthopedics on August 18th. I have to attend physical therapy twice a week for 6 weeks. I currently have shooting pains in my left shoulder & muscle spasms. Also my leg has nerve damage where IżżM still experiencing numbness at this time. There is also permanent scarring from the seatbelt burns & the air bag ripping off the skin of my left thumb. We have documentation of everything including the police report, car diagnosis and the vehicle is still at the tow lot. No one else was involved or injured however there is documentation of the previous power steering recall accident.

- Woodbine, MD, USA

problem #45

Jul 312015

Fusion

  • 76,000 miles
Car was traveling 60mph on straight road when it jerked and wrench light and check engine light and ABS and stability lights came on. Pulled to side of road and shut off car. Restarted and drove 100 feet and wrench light came back on and once again pulled over to shoulder to restart car. After 2nd restart it drove fine for 15 minutes and then stalled completely, once again restarted car and drove 5 feet it once again stalled and lost all power. Restarted and drove for 10 minutes to have it start jerking at a stop light and then stall out once I pulled into work.

- Scottsville, VA, USA

problem #44

May 302015

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles
I was driving along a road at 50 mph which was the speed limit, all of a sudden I get signals on the car that there is a power steering malfuntion. The wheel locked up and I could not even turn it to get my car to safety. I hit a sign due to me not being able to turn my vehicle, my foot was jammed and I was tossed into the steering wheel

- Yucca Valley, CA, USA

problem #43

May 152015

Fusion

  • 74,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down the highway came up to a slight bend and when I went to turn the wheel I noticed that it was hard to turn. Thinking it was tire going flat I went to get off the highway when I went to get off on the exit the steering was almost impossible to turn had to slam on the breaks to avoid driving off the exit ramp. With all the other complaints on here it would have been nice to know that this could happen

- Sebirng , FL, USA

problem #42

May 162015

Fusion

  • 70,064 miles
Started my car on Saturday morning at 9am, put it into reverse to back out of my spot, when the "power steering assist fault" and "service advance-trac" errors showed on the display. I promptly shut the vehicle down and waited one minute and restarted it, the errors were still present. I am contacting the local dealership. Thankfully this did not happen while driving on the interstate.

- Dwight, IL, USA

problem #41

Apr 302015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 36,271 miles
I started the car and I got a stabilitrac/power steering error message. The power steering will not work. I tried waiting and restarting as I read online that is a way to fix it short term and it does not fix the problem. It has happened in the past but I did not record the date or mileage.

- Desert Hot Springs, CA, USA

problem #40

Mar 262015

Fusion

  • 92,918 miles
The 2011 Ford power steering unit failed gave a warning to service the car. The dealer found nothing wrong. Vehicle is not safe to drive post failure and the problem is not repeatable at the dealer. The dashboard reads "steering assist failure'.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #39

Mar 102015

Fusion

  • 88,172 miles
Was driving the vehicle on the highway at 70 mph when power steering and electronic stability control suddenly quit working and "service now" message appeared. Reset when I was able to pull off the road and turn the car off and on. Was driving straight at the time, thankfully.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #38

Mar 042015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 35,455 miles
When starting vehicle red brake light on, ABS light, traction control light, check brake system message and service advance trac message on verified by Ford service technician: Ids test had code for B1342, internal fault in control module, needs ABS control module replaced at cost of $860. In researching this on the internet I found that there are many complaints about this faulty module and feel that this should be recalled by Ford Motor Company.

- Milford, IN, USA

problem #37

Feb 122014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
I am filing a formal complaint against Ford Motor Company about sudden and repeated surging occurring on my 2011 Ford Fusion. The first time the car surged as I was braking, the car suddenly surged forward. The surge threw the car approximately 10 feet before it slowed. I was able to turn onto a side street and into a parking lot to turn off the car. After quieting down I was able to start the car, making sure that there was plenty of room between me and whatever car was ahead of me when I braked at a traffic light or stop sign. After the second time it surged, as I was again braking, I had the car checked by a Ford dealership service department that was unable to find anything wrong with the car or its settings. The car did not surge when it was test-driven by the service personnel. Today, Tuesday March 3, 2015, is the third time the car has surged. I was parking the car when, as I was backing into a parking space, the car surged forward.. I turned the steering to avoid the truck parked ahead of me. While there was no damage to the truck, my passenger side rear-view mirror was severely damaged and must be replaced. The Ford service center where I took the car has estimated that it will.cost over $400 to replace the mirror. In addition there are a number of scrapes along the side of the car which a body shop will have to repaint. This is a serious safety issue. Fortunately there have not been any personal injuries as a result of the surges to date but I am very nervous about driving the car. I have now seen identical complaints about this happening with Ford Fusion on this and other automobile complaint sites. This is a factory or product defect that needs to addressed by Ford Motor Company before someone is seriously or fatally injured.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #36

Feb 052015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was backing out of my drive way, my car acts like it was going to die my power steering goes out. Kn the message center it says power steering assists fault and then service advance trac. Have not had power steering since but it has came back on for about an hour at the most three different times.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #35

Feb 182015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 100,331 miles
Pulled into the gas station and my service power steering now came on and service autotrac came on and I now have no power steering. Called Ford and they are telling me either a gear box or rack and pinion and estimate between 1500 and 2000 for repairs.

- Thomasville, NC, USA

problem #34

Jan 282015

Fusion

  • 94,000 miles
Turning corner to park, loss of power steering. Service advancetrac light and also anti slip light came on. I took to dealer and they just reset codes. Worked for 3 days andnthen total failure of advanctrac. Suburban Ford now says I need whole new rack and pinion assembly. Looks like this is a major issue with units.

- Bruce Township, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?