Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,821 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #60

Apr 132014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,220 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife, [xxx], was driving our Fusion. She had traveled approx. 1/4 mile and was approaching a stop sign at bayside dr. Newport beach, ca at the harbor is. Dr. intersection. Suddenly, the car accelerated, catching her by surprise she went through the intersection and was narrowly missed by two oncoming cars. She told me later that it happened a second time on the freeway (she was on her way home) but was not in immediate danger when it occurred. We have traveled these streets several times. Had just left the restaurant where we had lunch....was riding my bicycle home and watched her go through the intersection....very scary!! note: The throttle positioner was replaced on this vehicle a couple months ago. It had failed to 5mph. Villa Ford in orange ca did the repair. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 10/7/2014

- Orange 92867, CA, USA

problem #59

Dec 302013

Fusion

  • 11,000 miles
Battery goes dead after sitting a few days. Possible sign of electric throttle body failure.!!"?" battery replaced twice in 4 months, charges normally. While looking for possible electrical problems associated with the 2011 Fusion (11K miles) I discovered there is many, many people complaining of throttle body failure. I went to the local dealer and called Ford and asked them to replace the throttle body and trace the electrical problem. I was told that they would only honor their "customer satisfaction program" concerning the throttle body if it fails!!!!!! I explained that I was afraid to drive the vehicle and if they had an updated throttle body and "limp home" update they should install it and make corrections. A call to Ford and they refused to fix the potentially deadly problem. So what recourse is there?? my Fusion and F-350 are both headed for trade at a no nonsense dealer. Lacrosse and Silverado, here I come!!!!!!! I suggest you do something similar.

- Mt. Holly, NJ, USA

problem #58

Feb 032014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to throttle body customer satisfaction program recall notice.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #57

Jan 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 27,875 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Ford Fusion lost power and stalled and found out that the electrical throttle body needed to be replaced for a cost of $500.94 by a mechanic because it is not covered by Ford even thought there are many complaints about this bad part in the Fusion. There should be a recall on this and/or reimbursement for getting it fixed. Only had the car 6 months with less than 28K miles on it.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #56

Nov 152013

Fusion

  • 30,000 miles
I was driving downtown and next thing I know my wrench light comes on and I lose all power to my Ford Fusion. I was scared because I didn't know what was going on. I couldn't do anything until I pulled off the road and shut my car off and restarted it. This problem has happened to me multiple times within the past 3 weeks. I would have to say its happened at least 15 times in those 3 weeks. I am starting to get annoyed with this problem because I took the car to the dealership and they constantly tell me nothing is wrong with my car, yet I know there is definitely something wrong. The problem happened again on 11/26/2013 and when it did my check engine light came on with the wrench light so I took it to autozone for them to check the engine light code and the code was P2111 and the description it gave was that the throttle actuator control system was stuck open. I now have proof to take to the Ford dealership that something is wrong with the car. They better fix this problem!

- Alamogordo, NM, USA

problem #55

Nov 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,984 miles
The error occurred as I was driving on a major 8-lane highway. I was about a quarter-mile from my exit (after being on the highway for 60 miles) when I felt a "clunk" and an orange-lit wrench appeared on my dash. As I turned onto the exit ramp, I slowed to a stop at a stop-light, waiting to turn left. While the brake was depressed, the car was attempting to move forward very abruptly, as part of it's "limp home" feature. When the light turned green, I released the brake and attempted to accelerate through the intersection, but pressing the gas pedal produced no response from the car. After limping through the intersection, I shifted the car into park and turned the engine off. After waiting 10-15 seconds, I restarted the car and the throttle issue and dash light were both gone. I have since driven ~100 miles without seeing the issue re-appear.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #54

Nov 142013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 44,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the highway at about 65mph, I began to exit and came down to 40. Once I started to slow down I felt the car tug, it was odd because it had never done that before but I finished exiting and tried to pick up speed again but couldn't. the RPM went down, wrench signal came out on dash, I pushed on the gas and nothing, it did not have anymore power. Luckily there were many businesses to my right to where I was able to park safely, if I was still on the highway while this happened I could have easily been rear ended or worse because the car slowed on its own and I was unable to control the gas. As I pulled over the car began to shake, I turned it off quickly and called for help. A relative came to my aid to check it out but we couldn't find anything visible, we cautiously turned the vehicle back on and the wrench signal turned off, no more shaking, it was odd that it just completely lost power a few minutes prior and now it was back to normal. We drove it around the parking lot to test it, didn't want to leave it behind due to the area and possibility of theft, also could not afford a wrecker to pick it up. I ended up heading back home with my relative behind me. It was very uncomfortable, I'm so glad it was myself and not my wife and kids as this is her vehicle. I know they are numerous knows issues on the throttle body with this vehicle. It is sad that it has not been recalled yet, please take a stand and do not wait until somebody is seriously injured or worse.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #53

Oct 302013

Fusion

  • 87,500 miles
Lucky me, I happened to have two of these failed designed vehicles. My wife has a 2010 that developed throttle body problems at 35000 miles and now mine at 87500 miles. The 2010 left her stranded with zero engine power, in the middle of busy roads a total of two times before the dealership (palm coast Ford) on the third visit decided that just cleaning and spraying down the failing hardware didn't cut it and finally put a new one on, luckily still under warranty. The mechanic did however say that this is a common occurrence for these Ford products and that the same thing would probably happen to the throttle body he just put on. Why Ford did not fix the problem sooner at that point in time? my guess, not enough people had a direct link to their death from car accidents at that point in time! 20,000 miles later so far no other problems. Now my 2011 Fusion is a manual 6 speed. When my throttle body failed this morning while going to work I noticed that while in cruise control the speed was pulsing down and up around two mph. This would happen for a short time and then stop and be functioning properly for a while and then do it again. Finally at a light I noticed the idle up and down and after accelerating to 60 it suddenly went to idle of 900 RPM. No power from the engine. You could floor it and nothing. Well once again like many others that have had the same Ford failure experience I almost was hit by another vehicle because of no where to pull over. I will purchase the part and replace it myself. I thought I would give Ford a try again from years ago when I had a lynx that caught on fire, and a Taurus sho with a poorly engineered clutch design, but they failed me again.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #52

Oct 092013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Was traveling 45 mph wrench light came on and stalled.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #51

Oct 132013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 51,960 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the battery cable assembly was burned, causing five fuses to malfunction. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 51,960. Updated 01/07/14 updated 1/17/2014

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #50

Oct 092013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at all times, the vehicle would start to surge and buck then loose power. It never completely died but when I pulled over it ran terrible and would not accelerate. I turned it off for a few seconds and restarted it. It would run for a while, good, then the problem would reoccur. The engine light came on, I had the code checked. The result was a faulty throttle body or sort in the throttle body module.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #49

Oct 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 60,717 miles
My wife had my 6 month old sign in the backseat when she was pulling out from a stop sign into a 4way when the car lurched and the accelerator quit responding in the middle of the street a truck nearly T boned her on the driver side where our son was in his car seat upon diagnostics the electronic throttle body was stuck open. I've found similar issues with similar vehicles although the dealership informed me my vehicle is not currently on a recall list.

- Cherokee Village, AR, USA

problem #48

Sep 252013

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
This has happened multiple times varying from accelerating from a stop to highway speeds of 60+ mph. 2011 Ford Fusion sel suddenly loses all power and wrench icon illuminates and no acceleration happens at all. The engine remains at idle with fluctuations from 800-1200 rpms. Had to cross multiple lanes and was almost ran into by three cars going a lot faster than me while I was listing to the emergency lane. Once car is turned off and restarted the problem will go away. After much research and the one time it showed a check engine light I ran the codes and it all was pointing to a defective throttle body. I noticed that there are a lot of complaints with this aspect on this car and just hope someone doesn't have to get killed on the road like I almost did to get a recall on this car and part.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #47

Sep 152013

Fusion

  • 34,000 miles
On September 15, 2013 I was driving on a major surface street at approximately 35 miles per hour when the car just stopped working. Completely powerless. I saw two lights on the dashboard: The battery and the oil. There may have been more but I was more focused on safety and oncoming traffic than the lights on the dash. I decided not to take a chance of getting rear ended (injured or killed) so at the first big break in traffic I safely exited the vehicle and walked over to the sidewalk (one lane over). A local apartment resident saw the incident and grabbed a safety cone to put behind my car as a warning. Thankfully there were no accidents but there were some close calls and last minute lane changes as drivers came upon my car. I called Ford roadside assistance and they sent a tow truck to get the vehicle. It started up perfectly for the driver, but I had it towed anyway. It has been at the dealer for two days. They have been unable to duplicate the situation and have received no "codes" to indicate a problem with the vehicle. They have called Ford to ask for assistance and Ford has asked them questions regarding lights going on, my speed at the time of the incident, how far I had been driving the car before the incident, etc. This is the second time I have had a problem with my 2011 Fusion completely failing. The first time was in September 2012 when the throttle failed on the freeway. It was supposedly fixed. This time the lost of power did not feel like the throttle. It just stopped working. Had power. Didn't have power. I am extremely concerned that the dealer will find nothing wrong with the vehicle and it will be returned to me in an unsafe condition. Others have reported this and similar issues. Please get these vehicles recalled before someone loses a life.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #46

Mar 052013

Fusion

  • 37,245 miles
Car dies while driving, surges at times, had been happening on and off. Died part way through a large intersection on 7-13-13, luckily I just avoided a collision. It would start and go a few feet, then surge and die. Called crater lake Ford in medford, or, they stated very busy that day and had not heard of the symptoms I described. Placed a call to dave's import service they said they would look at the car. Within 45 min they had diagnosed failed throttle body.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #45

Aug 102013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,300 miles
I left from my home in the early afternoon. The car had not been used since the previous evening. About 2 miles from my house I got onto a state route and started to go up a slight hill. I had accelerated up to approximately 45 mph and the engine started running really rough, then stalled. The check engine light lit up. It seemed to go down to idle with no response from engine while pushing the pedal. I glided to the side of the road and crested the hill, then let the engine sputter at around idle as I was able to put it in neutral and let gravity take me to the bottom of the hill where I could glide around the corner into a safe parking lot. I shut the car down, waited a minute and it started back up as though nothing had happened. The check engine light was clear. I have not tried to check to see if it stored any codes yet. I had experienced 2 previous events in the previous 2 weeks with this car. The car has been serviced regularly.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #44

Sep 112013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,250 miles
My wife was driving down the highway and the engine bucked and seemed to stall, then recovered. The previous week it had stalled completely. Shortly after it stalled while I was driving it again and did not recover.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #43

Aug 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,100 miles
Drove a mile from our home to pick up pizza. Went into the shop for about 5 minutes, came out and started the car. Backed out of the space and pulled across a divided road to head home and the car sputtered and lost power so that I had to pull over to the side. The check engine light was lit. I shut down the car and it started right up and the check engine light was clear. It repeated this issue again about 1 week later on the highway for my wife though recovered. Then again for me while accelerating up a state route but did not recover.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #42

Sep 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,194 miles
I have been sensing a surge in engine power for several months in my 2011 Fusion. I suspected a throttle body problem and googled for information. I found all of the information on the NHTSA website about throttle body problems for this car as well as information in other forums. It was a good thing as I was prepared for what happened today. I had just left my house when the dreaded (and expected) loss of engine power with the wrench light being illuminated. I experienced the same symptoms reported by so many complaints logged for this issue: Loss of power, rough idle, just enough power to barely move the car, certainly not enough to limp anywhere, much less home, even though the engine was in "limp home" mode. I had my code scanner with me and was able to retrieve the P2111 (throttle stuck open) code before I restarted the car to restore full power. This only worked enough to get the car turned around when limp home was triggered again. I restarted again and was able to get within a block of my house when limp home triggered once more. The third time I was able to get to my house. I called the dealer and then roadside assistance to get my car towed to the local Ford dealer after verifying that they had a throttle body in stock. The car was towed there and a defective throttle body was diagnosed and replaced. This is not a case of if the failure will happen, but rather when. I was fully expecting it any day and sure enough, it happened. I was extremely fortunate as I was less than a mile from home, knew what to expect and how to deal with it, and my car was still in warranty, but only by 1,806 miles! any other situation would have resulted in me being in a very dangerous predicament with a car that was basically dead in the water. I was almost to the point of purchasing a new throttle body on my own in the interest of being proactive rather than being stranded.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #41

Aug 282013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Car experienced a sudden loss of power during acceleration from a stop sign. Lost 99% of power and missed heavily. Nearly rear-ended. Pulled over, turned car off, waited a few minutes and restarted the car. Ran fine. Drove approximately 15 miles and 25 minutes before parking the car; problem did not recur. Drove approximately 20 miles and 30 minutes to dealership; problem did not recur. Dealership diagnosed the problem the same as many of the complaints on this website - the throttle body actuator is sticking. $400 repair. Information online indicates that this is a new throttle design by Ford, so in essence, Ford is experimenting on my dime. Not acceptable.

- Strasburg, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?