Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,105 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Jul 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my 2011 Ford Fusion S with a V4 engine on 07/03/2013 at approximately 19:15 in the evening. I was traveling on a slight incline on a two-lane road at a speed of approximately 50 M.P.H. when all of the sudden the car stalled and would not longer accelerate. I pulled off the road and the car began to shake and the transmission slipped while shifting down. I turned off the car and then turned it on again. I drove to my destination 2 hours away without further incident. I drove the car a second time and the incident did not recur. The third time I drove the car after the first incident, the problem occurred again, which was on 07/05/2013 at approximately 17:00. It occurred in the middle of an interstate and I had to pull to the side of the road by cutting across traffic without the ability to accelerate!!! I took the car to a Ford dealer and they diagnosed the problem as a faulty throttle control. I had to pay for the repair out of pocket because the warranty expired at 36,000 miles (my car has 38000 miles). This is a serious public safety concern. I have read that 2010 Ford Fusion also have a history of the same problem at about 2-3 years after purchase. I am grateful to have avoided a crash, but one could easily find themselves in a situation where they cannot accelerate because of this problem and end up seriously injured or dead because of a crash that it could cause. The car suddenly stops accelerating and this happens apparently at random, usually within 10-15 minutes of turning the car on.

- Lewis Center, OH, USA

problem #21

Jun 212013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
2011 Fusion w/ 3.0 liter 6cyl. While traveling at approximately 50 mph the engine suddenly bogged down. I pressed the gas pedal and nothing happened. I was able to pull over to the side and the engine was still running. A wrench light came on. I put the car in park and tried the gas pedal again with no response. I turned the engine off, waited a few seconds, then turned it back on. I was able to drive home, then to the Ford dealership with no incident. I was told that the problem was the throttle body which is on national back order. Ford would not cover the repair even though car was just over the warranty mileage limit. I found out that the NHTSA started an investigation on this issue in February 2013 and Ford is aware of the multiple complaints of this same problem. I was lucky no truck was behind me since my car slowed quickly and suddenly with no warning. The internet is filled with complaints of this same issue. Please do something before someone is killed!

- Schererville, IN, USA

problem #20

Jun 142013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
I was driving on the freeway at 65mph during heavy afternoon traffic when my car all of a sudden died and I had to quickly veer off to the service lane dodging honking, angry drivers nearly almost getting hit by one. Luckily an accident was diverted by smart driving by me. After coasting to a stop, I turned the car off and turned it back on. Thinking it was a minor hiccup, I drove back onto the road. After 10 miles the incident happened again and nearly another brush with death/accident, I got off the freeway and drove slowly all the way home which it died 2 more times.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #19

Feb 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 38,281 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the morning of February 7th 2013, I noticed the vehicle's acceleration and deceleration was ridged and jumpy. Prior to this problem, the vehicle has shut off randomly approximately three times while in drive and in motion. This prompted me to bring the vehicle in for maintenance at a Ford dealer auto center. They determined the power takeoff unit and drive shaft were faulty, replaced both parts and returned the vehicle to me on February 15th 2013. On March 18th 2013, the vehicle shut off again while driving at highway speeds on a busy road, forcing me to navigate cautiously to a shoulder. The engine light and wrench light were illuminated this time. I shut the vehicle off, waited 5 minutes, and restarted. The engine light remained on and the vehicle was drivable. I quickly returned the vehicle to the previous Ford auto center, in which they discovered the throttle body was faulty. They replaced the throttle body and returned the car to me on March 21st 2013. On March 22nd 2013, the engine cover fell off while the car was in motion, I immediately returned vehicle to the previous Ford auto center, they replaced with new engine cover. As of today, the vehicle is again showing hesitation at acceleration and deceleration, RPM dash meter needle bounces plus minus 500rpms during acceleration and deceleration. Breaking is not smooth or instant, the vehicle tends to jump during breaking. At coasting speeds, the vehicle also jumps. These are similar problems that occurred prior to the vehicle spontaneously shutting off. This problem is alarming and an extreme safety hazard to yourself and others around you, notably at high highway speeds. Ford has been presented with the issue and has claimed that the issues are all unrelated, even though the vehicle shuts off each time. I am concerned for my safety and the safety of others driving this model, 2011 Ford Fusion sel AWD.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #18

Mar 292013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the air conditioning system failed. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #17

Apr 252013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 18,200 miles
Was driving 2011 Ford Fusion then shut down to idle, no power, almost got re ended, pulled over and put in park turned off and restarted problem was gone but recurred less than 2 tenths of mile. Repeated steps with caution floored gas peddle but still happen. Autozone checked it and cleared the computer. Happen right away after leaving. Called Ford could not repair because no codes. Problem came back 5 days later. At intersection light change green car did same thing, stuck in middle on intersection. Put in park and restart was hard to start. Red light now just got out of traffic way. Car is at Ford now. This is a very bad safety feature and will cause an accident sooner or later. Ford said they have had a few problems but no recall.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #16

Apr 072013

Fusion

  • 34,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As we were driving in the freeway at about 70 mph on April 7th 2013, the car lost power and stalled out in the middle lane of the freeway. At that exact moment the car felt like it jerked hard and then stalled and the light with the wrench symbol came on in the dashboard. Then it immediately disappeared after being on when the car jerked and stalled. Manage to put hazzard lights on and make it safely to the freeway shoulder where the car after a couple of minutes trying and waiting started again as if nothing happened. After turning the car off the car would not turn back on and sounded like the engine was struggling to keep up after the car was jump started. The car then was making sounds in the engine bay and managed to make it to a gas station couple feet away and the car died again after turning it off to refuel once again had to get the car jump started. Car once again started to feel and sound as if it was struggling to stay stable. Had the car towed the next morning to local Ford dealership where they replaced the battery and install a new throttle box. Computer code at dealership determined cause of problem was due to faulty throttle box.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #15

Jan 312013

Fusion

  • 21,500 miles
Car bucked then completely died (in the middle of the street)! lights that came on: Stop safely now, wrench, engine, triangle with exclamation point. Took a few times to start back up. Took it to the dealer and they said they did not have a code but did not find anything wrong. A few days later, it happened again. This time in the middle of the intersection! ( same codes) brought it to dealer again, this time apparently they found the code. The dealer said gas was going in the wrong place and replaced a valve. It has since happened more than five times, all happening at less than 5 mph when starting after a stop. Currently with another Ford dealership (given the previous one cracked the windshield but claimed it was already there, not to mention the poor service to the car). This latest incident we had the car towed. This was at the recommendation of the Ford regional representative who has been extremely helpful. (by the way, this Fusion is a hybrid.) currently waiting for diagnosis.

- Portsmouth , NH, USA

problem #14

Nov 242012

Fusion

  • 8,000 miles
At sometime, after car was shut off, the driver, passenger windows and sun roof opened. This has happened 6 times.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #13

Dec 192012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I have now twice experienced the same problem described in the news articles from this date regarding engine stall. The first occasion, the vehicle was driving on a surface street at approximately 40 mph when it suddenly stalled. The second occasion was while I was trying to enter a freeway at between 50-55 mph. After the engine was turned off for a minute, the vehicle started working again properly.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 022011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 7,581 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This happened sometime back, however it could be related to your current investigations. When I had approx 1900 miles on the car and while I was going around 70 mph, the car went into limp mode and I lost all throttle control. After nearly getting hit from behind from a truck (cause I lost speed), I managed to pull over to safety and saw I had no throttle response. I turned off the car, and then turned it back on to find it out it wouldn't start. So I turned it off once again, waited 20 or so seconds, and turned the car back on and proceeded to work. Later on that night, I pulled the codes off the system and kept them as pictures (P2104 and P2112) just in case the codes cleared (cold cycle). Sure enough I go to the dealer the next day, no codes found and there is nothing they (Ford) can do. I showed them the pictures, however I was still turned away. Later on at around 7500 miles, this happened again and this time I was close enough to the dealer to run the codes. They performed tsb 11-4-23 on the engine throttle body and ECU, and installed a new wiring harness. Little did I know at the time, but this states that under rare conditions the engine will emit those codes while the wipers are on.

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jan 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I bought this 2011 Ford Fusion at 40,000 miles and since it has been at 45,000 miles I been having stalling and idle problems. I thought I was going crazy until I seen an article in the news today. My car has stalled on the hwy to where on numerous occasions I have almost been hit. I have had to pull over and restart it. I also see the wrench when it happens. I also have been sitting still at lights to where my car would idle up real fast. My car also pops and gets stuck when I change gears. I hate this car. I just pray something gets done before someone really gets hurt including myself....

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #10

Jun 012012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
2011 Ford Fusion -while driving on the interstate at 70 mph, vehicle suddenly lost acceleration, tachometer started going up and down, traction light came on, fuel gage going up and down, a lock light was illuminated, bells were going off and car began to de-accelerate. When I pulled the car to the shoulder turned the car off and back on the problem continued. I immediately drove to the Ford dealer which was close by at the time and had the manager view what was happening. He pulled the car into the shop, shut off the engine and it never restarted. This could have caused a serious accident if I was not able to react as quickly as I did. The car has only 37000 miles. This problem has been intermittently occurring in this vehicle for a year now. The car is not safe! when is Ford going to recall this car!!!

- South Rockwood, MI, USA

problem #9

Apr 032012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
I bought my car on December, 2011. 1st problem was the dashboard turning off for no reason. The 2nd problem is life threatening. I am driving down the road and out of no where the dash board lights up, the readers go crazy, and my car will decelerate to 25mph and will not go over that speed. Every time I have had to pull over and when I do the car shakes. I turned my car off and when I turn it back on its like it never happened. No lights stay on and the car drives like a champ. It does it at random times, and random speeds. I took the car to a Ford dealership in May 2012 and they could not find a problem with it. This happened 3 times and in August I took the car in twice, the first time nothing was found, the second time they change the throttle body on it. Problem fixed right?? not even close. In November it did it again. I called the dealer but they could not see my car for a few days and didn't have any loaner vehicles. The car then began to randomly jerk at a stop lights or when I changed gears. This week the flare up happened again but this time the car jerked when I put it in drive and the engine light and wrench light both turned on. I continued to drive and right when I started going up a hill the dashboard lit up, the readers went crazy and my car started rolling backwards. I was able to break but when I pushed on the gas the car barely crept up the hill. The wrench light then turned off but the engine light stayed on. The next morning I took it to the dealer. When I took it in the engine light was on but when they checked it the engine light was off and there were no codes on the computer. I am scared of the car I am driving. I know the car has a problem and so does the dealer but they just can't figure out what the problem is. I called Ford but all they said was that they were working with the dealer. I am paying for a car I can't drive.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #8

Oct 162012

Fusion

  • 56,625 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph, the power steering and traction warning lights illuminated. The contact merged to the side of the road where the vehicle was restarted. Upon restarting, the vehicle became difficult to steer. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's home and was later taken to a dealer where it was determined that the computer needed to be reset. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the issue. The failure mileage was 56,625 and the current mileage was 56,708. The VIN was not available.

- Tullahoma, TN, USA

problem #7

Mar 292012

Fusion

  • 12,512 miles
Steering just quit all kinds of lights came on the dash they replaced it twice. And it still isn't right.

- Lake City, FL, USA

problem #6

Sep 072012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The fan blower to the air condition failed to work after a short park. The dealership told me the wire and resister had burned, did not know which happened first. I was told it could cause a fire so the parts were disconnected. Until new parts were installed. My concern is this vehicle was parked in my garage and this could have been a much bigger problem. I also am concerned that I am not the only one. Why should this happen to a car less than 2 years old.

- Clinton Twsp, MI, USA

problem #5

Aug 102011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the icons and buttons that were used for turning on the air conditioning, heat, radio and other components was too hard to reach. In addition, the contact stated that it would be hard to see the buttons for senior citizens. The contact would for the vehicle design to be changed with senior citizens in mind. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The current mileage was 6,000 the failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 09/05/12

- Highland Park, IL, USA

problem #4

Jul 142012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 42,175 miles
Vehicle lost power. Trouble light was a wrench. Turned ignition off and restarted ok. The next day the same thing happened. Oddly both times this occurred after making a right turn.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #3

Sep 152011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 5,700 miles
On September 15, 2011 I was driving my 5 month old 2011 Ford Fusion hybrid with 5700 miles on it when a brake warning light came on and a warning tone sounded in my vehicle. I pulled over and stopped the vehicle. I called walker Ford in clearwater and they said it probably was only a defective rear brake light and bring it in when you have time. I restarted my vehicle and the warning light and tone were gone. I continued driving home and when I was almost home, the brake warning light came on again and so did the warning tone. But this time I noticed my estimated miles per gallon on the onboard computer system was going up and down and the vehicle no longer went into the electric hybrid mode. I called walker Ford and told them I was going to bring the vehicle in on the morning of September 16th. I brought it in and all day long they troubleshoot it and walker Ford could not figure out what was wrong with it. They put a call into the Ford technician hotline to find out what was wrong with the vehicle. At the end of the day they did not hear back from the hotline and I needed a vehicle to get home. Walker Ford wanted to give my vehicle back to me to drive home and use over the weekend. I refused saying that the manual said to bring the vehicle in for service for the brake warning light and the electric/hybrid system not working. Nothing in the manual said to continue driving the vehicle. So walker Ford finally gave me a loaner to drive. Monday September 19th they got an answer from the hotline and it said a vacuum hose/assembly was bad and they put one on order. The next day the part was not delivered but a notice that the part was not available but back ordered and it would become available sometime around October 14th. I contacted Ford customer service and made a complaint case # [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Trinity, FL, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?