Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,821 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #120

Aug 192016

Fusion

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drivers side inside door latch broke. Could not open door from inside the car. Had to put window down and reach outside the car to open door.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #119

May 082016

Fusion

  • miles
My driver side door latch would not open... went to the dealers and they told me that 2012, 2013 have been recalled buy not my year.

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #118

Aug 012016

Fusion

  • 93,545 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled more than four times after the warning indicator wrench illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was also taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) and 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 93,545. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #117

Jun 152016

Fusion

  • 44,557 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the air conditioner began to blow cold air, but changed to hot air independently. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,557.

- Bessemer, AL, USA

problem #116

Nov 212013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
Began having problems with this vehicle the second month after purchase. The first incident was steering wheel locked and I could not control the direction of the car. I ended up on the left side of the road off the shoulder before I could stop it. It happened on several occasions. Car dies for no reason. I end up having it towed or restarted by charging battery. The battery always has a full charge. Also I have been shopping and get in the car to start it and it will not start. Door handles would not work from inside. Windows would not open. Had to force window down enough to open from the outside. Had front door handle assemble replaced had transfer case resealed horrible smell, new tires 3 times since it was purchased had rear drive shaft replaced, fuel pump replaced had taken it to Ford just recently for what I deemed was computer problems, of course they could not find anything wrong. I was told by my mechanic the last time I had new tires put on the car that I would need new rims soon. The rims are eroding from the inside out. I have several invoices for work that was done and a few more I can't locate at this time. I would like to send them all to you. Purchase car 12/1/12.

- Gales Ferry, CT, USA

problem #115

Jan 262016

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that there was an odor of fuel coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline). However, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/20/16 the consumer stated there was a problem with the transmission and the steering. Also, the vehicle would suddenly stall, while driving. Updated 05/11/16.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #114

Jan 302016

Fusion

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle is very hard to steer. Electric power steering is out

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #113

Jun 252014

Fusion

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving at low speeds, the steering wheel seized and the battery warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact stated that the heated seats failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer numerous times where the failure was not duplicated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 78,000.

- South Field, MI, USA

problem #112

Jan 042016

Fusion

  • 91,000 miles
Electric locks on drivers door will not disengage by hitting the door button or the remote -must lower window and reach through to unlock from the outside. Being trapped inside the car is a safety issue. Mileage when problem first occurred was approximately 91000.

- Walton, KY, USA

problem #111

Nov 192015

Fusion

  • 56,751 miles
┐3 May 2013 (mileage 32,800) moab, Utah. Driving in the mountains around moab for my daughters wedding. One passenger in the car beside myself. While driving around a sharp curve, all the electronics in the car went dead. The engine shut down, all lights on the dash, the radio, ac all stopped working. Power steering, power brakes were non-functioning. This happened a total of five times. ┐26 August 2015 (mileage approximately 55,600) time: 6:00pm. Driving home from work. I┐D stopped at a street light and when I pulled sharply out onto main road, the car went dark again and all electrical systems shut down. I quickly restarted it by shifting into neutral and starting it with the key. Three blocks later, it happened again. This was the first time it had happened on a straightaway. I was driving by myself. ┐6 September 2015 (mileage approximately 55,950 between san juan capistrano and lake elsinore, ca. Coming out of a sharp curve in the road while going uphill all electrical components of the car shut off. I shifted into neutral, turned the key, and the engine started up again. ┐19 November 2015 (mileage approximately 56,751) went over a speed bump with another passenger in the car. The Ford Fusion shut down again, and after I restarted it, two hundred yards later did it again. ┐Ford has tried to locate the problem three times. Finally replaced throttle body on 22 Sept. And said that fixed problem. It didn┐T! Ford corporation customer service now refuses to return my last five calls

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #110

Jun 102014

Fusion

  • 38,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle experienced a loss of power; however, it still had some electrical function. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was remedied under Ford's customer satisfaction program 13N03, but the failure recurred. The throttle body was replaced and the vehicle was reprogrammed three times. The failure occurred seven times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,500.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #109

Mar 092012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the rear tail lights failed to fully illuminate. The socket prematurely rusted and caused an internal failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 1/12/16 updated 02/04/16.

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #108

Sep 112015

Fusion

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 50 mph, there was a burning odor coming from the passenger side glove box. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. On another occasion, while turning left or right, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician informed the contact that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 118,000. Updated 11/19/15

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #107

Sep 252015

Fusion

  • 30,000 miles
The above car displayed a trouble light. A mechanic used an odb II scanner and diagnosed the engine problem with the code "P2119" I did some research on line and found out that this is a common problem involving the throttle body. Is this a recall item?

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #106

Sep 072015

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles
We had a recall on power steering.had it checked by dealer told it was good then few days later power steering went out. The dealer worked on it 3 times then sent it back still tore up. The dealer is ed sherling Ford in enterprise al 36330.

- Enterprise, AL, USA

problem #105

Oct 252012

Fusion

  • 42,000 miles
First at about 42000 miles in October 2012 the driver seat became so hot it created 1st degree burns on my husband. The seat heater went out soon after. Needs to be fixed. The seat could cause a fire at 55000 miles the driver door handle became unlatched within the door and stopped opening from the inside. What if I had a wreck and couldn't get out? needs to be recalled for this issue. I've heard it's common on the Fusion. The front door speakers went out soon after all of this. At 90000 miles the passenger seat heater went out. Same burning hot thing but this time no one was burned. At 95000 miles the safety system has now gone out. It flashes that there is a problem with the rear park aid and a fault with the cross traffic system. I've read that the rear driver side speakers cause this. The front driver side speakers went out 2 yrs ago. Maybe these are connected. It seems the whole car has problems with fuses and electrical wires either burning out way too quickly. My vehicle is a 2011 manufactured in October of 2010

- Murfreesboro , TN, USA

problem #104

Aug 202015

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer on August 20, 2015 to complete the recall repair for NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The contact was not experiencing any failures before the recall was completed. Within a week, the advanced track warning light illuminated and the various gauges and warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. After the software update, the vehicle had a sudden loss of power. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that there was an electrical short within the module connections associated with the power steering. The vehicle was at the dealer for weeks as they diagnosed the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified and provided no remedy. The failure mileage was not available. MA 10/25/15

- Port Royal, SC, USA

problem #103

Aug 282015

Fusion

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle jerked, all the instrument panel lights illuminated, and the vehicle stalled. The contact restarted the vehicle, but the failure recurred three times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 126,000.

- Edgewood , MD, USA

problem #102

Jul 312015

Fusion

  • 76,000 miles
Car was traveling 60mph on straight road when it jerked and wrench light and check engine light and ABS and stability lights came on. Pulled to side of road and shut off car. Restarted and drove 100 feet and wrench light came back on and once again pulled over to shoulder to restart car. After 2nd restart it drove fine for 15 minutes and then stalled completely, once again restarted car and drove 5 feet it once again stalled and lost all power. Restarted and drove for 10 minutes to have it start jerking at a stop light and then stall out once I pulled into work.

- Scottsville, VA, USA

problem #101

May 022013

Fusion

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving at various speeds, the check engine light would illuminate and the vehicle stalled. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The contact indicated that the PCM was re-programmed, but the vehicle continued to experience the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000. The VIN was not available.

- Medina, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?