CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 1
Average Mileage:
65,162 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 29)

problem #564

Nov 152016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering assist fault. When I started the vehicle, I cannot turn the wheels, and the dashboard shows "power steering assistance fault".

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #563

Jan 122017

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
Power steering assist failure while driving and turning making vehicle difficult to control. Recall was issued on this and computer upgrade installed. I was not warned that this could be very dangerous and would most likely occur. Shutting off engine and restarting temporarily fixed, but has happened again. Less than 80,000 miles on vehicle.

- Lagrange, GA, USA

problem #562

Jan 092017

Fusion

  • 94,110 miles
Power steering fails. Unable to steer vehicle at all..this has been a problem for quite some time when first starting the vehicle but now has progressed to more frequent and during normal operation on the road.dashboard warning states'power steering assist fault'. this failure has occurred at various speeds but usually at lower speeds.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #561

Jan 012017

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am unsure if my car was included in the air bag recall that I found via google, I was never notified for several recalls involving my car. Now the Ford dealership has informed me that there is an issue with my car as well as several others of the same make and model with code issues. These code issues cause the power steering to fail without warning and cause loss of control as well as something involving service advancetrac. Ford has told me they can reset each time the code messes up but at this time Ford has not ordered a recall and they will contact them to let them know. What am I to do? this is very dangerous!

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #560

Dec 242016

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
Ford offered recall 15S18 to replace electric power steering assist on 2011-2012 Ford Fusion. The manufacture date for the recall begins on Sept 07, 2011. However, my Ford Fusion, manufactured one month earlier (August 07, 2011), has the same issue. The dash message center says "service power steering now" and "service advancetrac". at approximately 85,000 miles I lost power steering at 75mph while passing an 18 wheeler on the interstate. I lost control of the vehicle and had to rapidly decelerate and pull over. I almost wrecked into the bar-ditch, as the steering column violently jerked the vehicle to the right. Now, I still have complete loss of power steering and my local Ford dealership informed me that recall 15S18 won't cover my vehicle repair since it was manufactured a month too early. According to my research, this problem actually affects a number of Ford makes and models, from 2008-2015. The problem is frequent and persistent among 2010-2012 Fusion. Ford should be liable, especially when safety is the issue. The malfunction is incredibly dangerous, and Ford is about to have yet another massive lawsuit for this.

- Fayetteville, AR, USA

problem #559

Dec 262016

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles
Once again, I continue to have issues with my power steering just turning off while in the middle of a turn. This is now happening about 1-3 times a week. This does only seem to happen at low speeds. However that is when it is the most dangerous. Driving through store parking lots or park, it has simply gone out and lost control. I am running out of ways to explain how dangerous the completely unexpected power steering loss on my(and thousands of others) Ford that were not included in the recall actually is. I have already reported that more than several times I was inches from striking a pedestrian due to loss of control after the power steering failed. I really hope we are not just waiting for a fatal accident report to take this seriously. I think Ford has already admitted that they have a probelm with their power steering and its unbelievable that cars with the same exact power steering rig that also display the same exact issues are not included in the recall. My car is even in the same year as other recalled models by am being excluded.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #558

Dec 212016

Fusion

  • 66,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

66,100 miles 12-21-16 the power steering went out suddenly while driving on the fl turnpike highway. The car starting beeping and stated "service advancetrac" and "power steering failure" displayed on dash. Took it to ed Ford in sparta and the wanted to replace the entire assembly for $1600. I defined the service. I am a very small woman and this is extremely impairing and highly dangerous for me because I am now unable to turn the steering wheel at all. Server all complaints found on mine even recalls for this vehicle with my model but not official under the VIN for my car. Please assist

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #557

Sep 012015

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
Steering goes out when I start. Restart and its ok. This happen about 20 times. Now it has no power steering. I know the recall but Ford says my VIN not included.I have the same problem as recall.at dealers and Ford won't cover

- Brandywine, MD, USA

problem #556

Dec 192016

Fusion

  • 142,218 miles
I was driving home on the highway, about 60 mph, my service power steering now light illuminated. Immediately after, my steering wheel locked up, and I lost all steering capability. My car began coasting and scrapped the guard rail on the highway. I was able to coast off of the freeway into a empty parking lot.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #555

Dec 152016

Fusion

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving 30 mph, the power steering assist warning indicator illuminated and the power steering failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The failure recurred twice. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,000.

- New Haven, IN, USA

problem #554

Dec 092016

Fusion

  • 63,349 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

6 months old car had transmition and electrical problems, driver door lock not opening, ac went out! air bags sensor out, and now experiencing 2nd transmition issue. Dealership is not taking full responsibility for it, as transmition was replaced at another garage! have been dealing with this car since 2012. Hard jerking.

- Grand Cayman Cayman Islands, IL, USA

problem #553

Oct 222016

Fusion

  • 157,000 miles
Power steering failed while car is running. Get a warning message "power steering assist failure" as a result of the steering gear failure. Dealer ran a diagnostic and confirmed the steering gear had to be replaced. The vehicle happened to be idling both times the failure occurred. VIN number not covered by prior recall on 2011 Ford Fusion #15V340000 for the steering:electric power assist system.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #552

Nov 282016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
This Ford Fusion 2011 almost got me killed. While driving on a busy road, the power steering abruptly failed and I lost control of the car. The steering wheel locked up and the only thing I could do was break, fortunately other cars managed to avoid me. The car display said "power steering assist fault". the car had to be towed to a bell Ford dealership in colonia NJ. They told me that there is a recall for 2011-2012 Ford Fusion vehicles (recall number 15V340000), but refused to honor the recall, stating that the 2011 car was actually manufactured at the end of 2010 and not applicable for this recall. The Ford dealership is charging me $1950 to replace the power steering gear. When I called Ford customer service, they also refused to cover this very dangerous defect saying "recall is VIN specific". even though Ford corporation know about very dangerous defect, they are putting everyone in danger by refusing to repair all affected cars.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #551

Nov 172016

Fusion

  • miles
On two separate occasions while driving the car said power steering failure and I could not drive by steering the car with the steering wheel because it was hard to turn

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #550

Sep 262016

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the eps warning indicator flashed several times upon starting the vehicle. The contact turned off the vehicle each time, which reset the computer and cleared the code. The vehicle was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The dealer diagnosed that there was an internal electrical failure with the rack and pinion. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 01/10/2017

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #549

Nov 092016

Fusion

  • 102,000 miles
Several times!! while driving the vehicle the "advancetrac" and ABS indicator lights appear on the instrument panel. Information system then shows a power steering fault, advancetrac fault, and says to get steering system service now. Steering becomes extremely difficult. Mechanic has reset the soft codes and problem goes away for awhile; however, comes back. We have repeated this process several times! Ford issued recall #15S18; however, that recall runs from build dates 9/7/2010-2/28/2012. Build date on our Ford Fusion is 8/20/2010. Why is Ford not also repairing / replacing the pscm or steering motor sensors in our vehicles that are having the identical issue? we have had this problem while driving the vehicle, and have also had it occur when first putting the vehicle into gear. In the latter case, shutting the key off for a minute and then restarting cleared the problem. However, when it occurs under moving driving conditions, shutting the vehicle off does not clear the problem. The vehicle then has to be taken to a mechanic that resets the soft codes with a scan tool.

- Cross Lake Twp, ME, USA

problem #548

Nov 102016

Fusion

  • 133,000 miles
This is the second notice of my error message on my Ford Fusion for the "power steering assist fault, " thus enabling me to have power steering on the way home from work. I captured an image, this time for documentation. This is after going to my local mechanic and he said this was a recall issue, but my local Ford dealer (waldorf Ford) said it did not apply to my vehicle.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #547

Oct 212016

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
While I was driving (on hwy 301S, in waldorf, md) I got an error message that said "power steering assist fault." I immediately lost my power steering and I had to make a detour to turn on streets that were not crowded (this was on a 10/21/16 during the evening rush hour). Fortunately, I was not far from my house. I called Ford (in Michigan) the next business day on 10/24/16 and the said my vehicle was not covered under a recall, that included "2011 Ford Fusion, " just not my vehicle. I took it to my regular mechanical and they said it should fall under the recall, but my local Ford dealer (where my car was purchased in waldorf) also said it wasn't included and they couldn't do anything.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #546

Oct 182016

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,184 miles
Power steering recall 15S18 was performed on car 08/01/16. Fourteen months after recall, while driving 40-45 mph on ih-635 in somewhat heavy traffic, I noticed a difference in the car's handling. The advance trac was illuminated in the instrument panel. Attempted to turn it off because I thought I had turned it on by mistake when I turned on the ac. I decided to move over 6 lanes of traffic and exit off the highway. Once on the service road, the steering became difficult to maneuver. Fortunately there was a discount store & warehouse shopping center and upon making two difficult right turns into the parking lot the steering problem proceeded to get worse. Turning into the parking space was extremely difficult. I turned off the engine, did a walk around the car to insure there were no flat tires or debris stuck under the car. I returned to the car to call my husband and turned the key in the ignition to roll down the window, (did not start motor) and the steering wheel was easy to move, not normal but manageable. After a several minutes, I turned on the car and slowly drove approximately 4 miles to reach home on the highway service road (in case it occurred again) until I reached my normal exit. It was without doubt a white knuckled drive home. The car has been sitting in the garage for the last 3 days, I have been using my husband's truck because I'm afraid to drive my car, until I can get it to the dealership to be checked. I'm looking into having it towed or hauling on a car dolly. I do not care to imagine how I or the car might have reacted if traffic was at a normal speed limit or if I had not been able to get off the busy interstate.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #545

Oct 022016

Fusion

  • 94,286 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving 15 mph, the power steering failed. The contact experienced difficulty controlling the steering wheel as it became abnormally stiff. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the rack and pinion failed and needed to be replaced. The dealer stated that the contact would be responsible for the repair cost since there were no recalls relating to the power steering failure. The failure mileage was 94,286. The VIN was not available.

- Wantagh, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?